zenith hd 520 - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 879 Old 10-29-2002, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
vdelauz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahhh..busted! :eek:

The gray area at its best!!!

Have I mentioned that you are one sharp cookie? :p
vdelauz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 879 Old 10-29-2002, 10:46 AM
Member
 
azazel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The SAT520 does not come with a DVI cable, but according to the .pdf, it comes with a set of component video cables. Not too shabby I guess.
azazel is offline  
post #183 of 879 Old 10-29-2002, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Calabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: E. Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by azazel
The SAT520 does not come with a DVI cable, but according to the .pdf, it comes with a set of component video cables. Not too shabby I guess.
Yes, the DTV1080 came with just about every cable you needed, including component, S-Video, and a digital audio cable. Not too shabby! ;)
Calabs is offline  
post #184 of 879 Old 10-29-2002, 05:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomrhyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Greensboro, Georgia
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone located a pdf file of the owners manual for the 520?

Tom
<><
tomrhyne is offline  
post #185 of 879 Old 10-29-2002, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MDRiggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Baseline
Quick question... On the new Sony and Zenith models, are the S-Video and component and/or RGB outputs live simultaneously? Thanks.
They may be if all are set to 480i output. When output from component is anything other than 480i, the S-video is off.
MDRiggs is offline  
post #186 of 879 Old 10-30-2002, 07:21 AM
Member
 
tqng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northern VA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since no one has the unit yet, so just read the manual while waiting. Go to directv.com, click on site search, type "manual" and look for the model. The pdf file has about 104 pages. Have fun reading/printing ...
tqng is offline  
post #187 of 879 Old 10-30-2002, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomrhyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Greensboro, Georgia
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tgng,

Thanks so much. I've been trying to find a pdf for the manual for some time. Zenith doesn't have it on their website.

Tom
<><
tomrhyne is offline  
post #188 of 879 Old 10-30-2002, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can also go to the LG Electronics website and search for it there.
s2silber is offline  
post #189 of 879 Old 10-30-2002, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
meany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a phone call back from Zenith and they told me the hd520 IS IN THEIR warehouse and are being inspected. They should start leaving the warehouse around NOV. 4th being shipped to all the stores. Zenith said that there is enough product for all the back-orders. I guess we will be seeing this unit pop up around NOV. 11 or so if everything goes well. :D
meany is offline  
post #190 of 879 Old 10-30-2002, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I am testing out the sony unit, and after reading the zenith manual, this is the EXACT same unit as the sony, only with a slightly different remote contol, and a few nomenclature changes

I am dissapointed that they call it a "native" mode when 480I is in fact upconverted to 480P which then causes my dispaly unit to automatically lock into full mode.

I then have NO aspect ratio control of my SD programming and everyone has FAT faces. I would prefer to view 480I and then let my display unit go into "just" aspect ratio and have it that way.

I also dont like how 480I (forced) mode is ONLY thru NTSC outputs and not thru component as well (the old crappy Panasonic HDS-20 has 480I thru both)
billmich is offline  
post #191 of 879 Old 10-30-2002, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is "just" aspect ratio? Also, can't you use the STB's panoramic mode to display programming upconverted from 480i to 480p? Finally, can you use the remote to change the display format from "Native" to 480i to enable your display's aspect ratio control?
s2silber is offline  
post #192 of 879 Old 11-08-2002, 05:21 AM
Newbie
 
cyress13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully this is good news as J&R are now alerting of available units of the Zenith HD - 525!!

"We are pleased to tell you that the following items have just become
available for shipment. Order now by clicking the link next to the
item(s) you wish to receive.

ZENITH HD-SAT520 HD / DIRECTV Digital Set Top Receiver
http://www.jandr.com/JRProductPage.p...rce=stockalert

Order now by clicking the link above.

At the time of this mailing, these items are in stock. Orders will be
filled on a first-come, first-served basis."

I put an order in for next day delivery ....
:)
cyress13 is offline  
post #193 of 879 Old 11-08-2002, 05:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cousins Shipped Zenith 520 today (but not at 699 price, will get that corrected).

Question for the Forum:

Can one of the inputs take a diplexed signal (SAT + OTA) like the Hughes/Mits/Toshiba receivers?

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #194 of 879 Old 11-08-2002, 06:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the Manual Link, incidentally

http://www.directv.com/learn/pdf/Sys..._HD-SAT520.pdf

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #195 of 879 Old 11-08-2002, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
I am dissapointed that they call it a "native" mode when 480I is in fact upconverted to 480P which then causes my dispaly unit to automatically lock into full mode.

I then have NO aspect ratio control of my SD programming and everyone has FAT faces. I would prefer to view 480I and then let my display unit go into "just" aspect ratio and have it that way.
Anyone have the answer to this?
Tom Roper is offline  
post #196 of 879 Old 11-09-2002, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomrhyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Greensboro, Georgia
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom, you are right. On page 11 of the manual it states that in Native mode both 480i and 480p are output as 480p. Maybe they should label this as "Almost Native Mode". The only way around this, as I see it, is to directly select 480i mode directly.

Tom
<><
tomrhyne is offline  
post #197 of 879 Old 11-09-2002, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't you still use the HD receiver's own stretch modes to change the aspect ratio?
s2silber is offline  
post #198 of 879 Old 11-09-2002, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
I am dissapointed that they call it a "native" mode when 480I is in fact upconverted to 480P which then causes my dispaly unit to automatically lock into full mode.

I then have NO aspect ratio control of my SD programming and everyone has FAT faces. I would prefer to view 480I and then let my display unit go into "just" aspect ratio and have it that way.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can't you still use the HD receiver's own stretch modes to change the aspect ratio?
That's the $64,000 question. Can you?
Tom Roper is offline  
post #199 of 879 Old 11-09-2002, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, you can on the Samsung TS160, even when the back of the receiver is set to 1080i while using DVI cables. The only time the picture completely locks into full is during an HD broadcast. Why would the Zenith be any different?
s2silber is offline  
post #200 of 879 Old 11-09-2002, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Because it's being reported you can't! Somebody needs to confirm this!

[selfish_mode_on] I have an HD200 on order. If it can't do the 4x3 aspect SD in upconverted 720p and 1080i, it's majorly flawed for me. [/selfish_mode_off]

Tom
Tom Roper is offline  
post #201 of 879 Old 11-09-2002, 03:49 PM
Member
 
LarryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

========================================

Because it's being reported you can't! Somebody needs to confirm this!

[selfish_mode_on] I have an HD200 on order. If it can't do the 4x3 aspect SD in upconverted 720p and 1080i, it's majorly flawed for me. [/selfish_mode_off]

Tom

==========================================


Tom,

I think you might need to start a new thread that is directed toward both Sony HD200 and Zenith HD520 users regarding SD programming and aspect ratio. The reason I say this is because many of the people on this thread are still waiting to receive their HD520. I would think some of the Sony HD200 users would have answers to your question since they have been out for several weeks now. My HD520 is on order and I am hoping to get it by next week.

I share your concern on how SD aspect ratio is handled. My plan was to use "Hybrid-1" output setting. So long as it will convert 480i to 480p my Toshiba H82 should be able to use it's own stretch mode. I've only seen my set lock in full mode with a true HD signal being fed to it i.e. 720p/1080i.
LarryS is offline  
post #202 of 879 Old 11-10-2002, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by tomrhyne
Tom, you are right. On page 11 of the manual it states that in Native mode both 480i and 480p are output as 480p. Maybe they should label this as "Almost Native Mode". The only way around this, as I see it, is to directly select 480i mode directly.

Tom
<><
unfortunately, when 480I mode is manually selected, no signal is sent out via the component outputs, ONLY the s-video and composte

so unless you want to switch tv inputs constantly.......

in addition the is box DOES have stretch modes, but ONLLY when the format is set to 1080I or 720P, NOTHING available when its in variable 1/2/3 modes (or native 1/2/3)

thats my bone of contention
billmich is offline  
post #203 of 879 Old 11-10-2002, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Tom Roper
Because it's being reported you can't! Somebody needs to confirm this!

[selfish_mode_on] I have an HD200 on order. If it can't do the 4x3 aspect SD in upconverted 720p and 1080i, it's majorly flawed for me. [/selfish_mode_off]

Tom
Tom,

I have the HD200. When the output is set to 1080i or 720p you DO have control over the aspect ratio. This is available to any programs that originate in 480i (DirecTV and some digital OTA if they are broadcasting 480i). You can select from wide, panorama, zoom1, zoom2, and normal w/ sidebars. You do not have AR control for any programs that originate in HD. I would assume the Zenith is the same.
GScott is offline  
post #204 of 879 Old 11-10-2002, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Gscott:

call me a stickler, but i want to watch 480i programming in 480I, NOT upconverted to 720P/1080I....i hate those conversion artifacts

what i wish for is that in the variable modes you could have aspect ratio control, which you do not have currently
billmich is offline  
post #205 of 879 Old 11-10-2002, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks GScott. That is the answer I was looking for.

Tom
Tom Roper is offline  
post #206 of 879 Old 11-10-2002, 11:38 PM
Member
 
LarryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by GScott
Tom,

I have the HD200. When the output is set to 1080i or 720p you DO have control over the aspect ratio. This is available to any programs that originate in 480i (DirecTV and some digital OTA if they are broadcasting 480i). You can select from wide, panorama, zoom1, zoom2, and normal w/ sidebars. You do not have AR control for any programs that originate in HD. I would assume the Zenith is the same.
Please tell me if I am understanding this correctly. So if I were to use Hybrid-1 mode watching Directv (Non-HD channels), the format output would be 480p. My concern is will the HD200 output the 480p with side bars, or will it just send the 4:3 480p picture and let my HDTV set deal with the aspect ratio? I would not be able to use the stretch modes of the HD200, but I should be able to use the stretch modes on my Toshiba H82 TV, correct?
LarryS is offline  
post #207 of 879 Old 11-11-2002, 12:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
LarryS, I think I can now answer your question based on the information GScott provided in answering mine.

In Hybrid 1 mode, watching the non HD channels in the 480p output, your H82 screen will be locked into full mode, from which you cannot re-scale either from the H82 or the HD200. But if you selected the fixed 1080i output, you would be able to use the stretch modes of the HD200 giving you the option of full, zoom 1,2, panorama, and 4x3 with side bars.

If your set was not a crt, but instead a native display panel type, (LCD,DLP etc.) the Hybrid 1 mode under the same circumstance would still allow no aspect control from the HD200, but the tv set itself would allow an "extra" display mode, a native 720x480 bit mapped pixel for pixel to the display panel. If the panel resolution was 1024x768, then the image would only fill 480 pixels vertically, resulting in the image having both vertical and horizontal bars, but no scaling artifacts.

These native pass through modes as implemented in the HD200 seem worthless for CRT, and only slightly more than worthless on a native display panel, since not many people will want to view their programming in a small box in the center of the display, even if free of upconversion artifacts. Most will probably want to view the image filling the vertical dimension, and either stretched or with side bars added to fill the 16x9 display.

As GScott pointed out, the better solution for you will be to select a fixed 1080i output. Your H82 will still be locked into full mode, but the stretch modes of the HD200 will be enabled, allowing you full, zoom 1,2, panorama and 4x3 w/ side bars.

Tom
Tom Roper is offline  
post #208 of 879 Old 11-11-2002, 10:09 AM
Member
 
azazel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found out just now that mine shipped from JandR last friday. Figured I'd be notified or something but I wont complain.
azazel is offline  
post #209 of 879 Old 11-11-2002, 10:06 PM
Member
 
LarryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Tom Roper
LarryS, I think I can now answer your question based on the information GScott provided in answering mine.

In Hybrid 1 mode, watching the non HD channels in the 480p output, your H82 screen will be locked into full mode, from which you cannot re-scale either from the H82 or the HD200. But if you selected the fixed 1080i output, you would be able to use the stretch modes of the HD200 giving you the option of full, zoom 1,2, panorama, and 4x3 with side bars.

If your set was not a crt, but instead a native display panel type, (LCD,DLP etc.) the Hybrid 1 mode under the same circumstance would still allow no aspect control from the HD200, but the tv set itself would allow an "extra" display mode, a native 720x480 bit mapped pixel for pixel to the display panel. If the panel resolution was 1024x768, then the image would only fill 480 pixels vertically, resulting in the image having both vertical and horizontal bars, but no scaling artifacts.

These native pass through modes as implemented in the HD200 seem worthless for CRT, and only slightly more than worthless on a native display panel, since not many people will want to view their programming in a small box in the center of the display, even if free of upconversion artifacts. Most will probably want to view the image filling the vertical dimension, and either stretched or with side bars added to fill the 16x9 display.

As GScott pointed out, the better solution for you will be to select a fixed 1080i output. Your H82 will still be locked into full mode, but the stretch modes of the HD200 will be enabled, allowing you full, zoom 1,2, panorama and 4x3 w/ side bars.

Tom
Tom,

Thanks for your response. I have not yet seen what a SD 480 DirectTV picture will look like upconverted to 1080i. Is it watchable? or should I expect a far worse picture than the current SD 480i picture that is upconverted to 540p on my H82 set?

Thanks,
Larry
LarryS is offline  
post #210 of 879 Old 11-12-2002, 04:27 AM
jlm
AVS Special Member
 
jlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ny,ny,usa
Posts: 1,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the zenith HD1080 did a very good job of upconverting 480i; I ended up viewing all sd this way, using the zenith zoom controls. I also had the s-video lead hooked up, but the bother of going to the set to change the rear panel switch was too much, esp in comparison to the quality of the zenith upconvert. Since I use a plasma, the ability to retain the zoom out of 4:3 to fill the screen without stretching was important: the plasma zooms won't work once the signal in is 1080i, so the zenith zoom is crucial.

john
jlm is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off