PVI VeCOAX MicroMod - Experiences? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ctdish
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2014, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
PVI VeCOAX MicroMod - Experiences?

Can anyone comment on their experiences with the PVI VeCOAX MicroMod?
http://www.pviusa.com/MICROMOD-Compa...ator_p_30.html

I just test mounted some TVs in my basement to set up a sports bar. I'm looking at using one of two of these... or going the HDMI matrix splitter route. Either way I've got to run Ethernet and RG6 to the sets. I already have a giant box of Cat6 and a reel of RG6 with the tools to make connectors on each end. I have to cut into the drywall regardless - use of existing cabling isn't really an issue.

What I am looking for is something that works well and does so reliably.

How is the quality of the video output? Any freezes, macroblocking, etc?

Has HDCP given you any problems?

Are you using QAM or ATSC? Why?

It hurts to pay more for one of these boxes than I paid for each of my 60" TVs, but it doesn't look like there is an easy/cheap way to do this. At least with these, I can inject the signal into my antenna feed and see it all over the house (as opposed to being limited to... say, 4 outputs before the price goes into the stratosphere).
PerryH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 23
See
HDTV Distribution on a budget. Any suggestions?
and
HDTV Modulator, CONTINUED HERE!
John
DrDon likes this.
ctdish is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW - I did use the search function, and I did read the first thread posted there. I did not read the second. That thread did not come back in my results, but it appears to be mostly posters picking nits at each other with the final post being a 2.5 year old insertion of a PVI supplied image and specs.

I was PM'ing with Mr. Rubin in concert with my post. As a result, I'm going to try one of these out, but I'm still interested in hearing about any actual experiences. There seems to be dearth of those on the Internet.
PerryH is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,452
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerryH View Post
FWIW - I did use the search function, and I did read the first thread posted there. I did not read the second. That thread did not come back in my results, but it appears to be mostly posters picking nits at each other with the final post being a 2.5 year old insertion of a PVI supplied image and specs.

I was PM'ing with Mr. Rubin in concert with my post. As a result, I'm going to try one of these out, but I'm still interested in hearing about any actual experiences. There seems to be dearth of those on the Internet.
It's suspicious to me that you have to sign up to find the prices. Also that there are no other dealers.
olyteddy is offline  
Old 08-25-2014, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
PerryH is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another similar device, from an eBay seller, but like the PVI, with few, if any, other sellers, and limited info:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/THOR-HDMI-to...item19f294892e

On the Thor web site:

http://thorbroadcast.com/sklep-205/produkt-162
Channel99 is offline  
Old 08-30-2014, 09:41 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 466
just wanted to add:

I got latest QAM firmware 2.09 HW 1.4A and installed it on 3 single channel modulators

learned from Robert at PVI setting Encoder/Video/low delay> to >mode 1 (fast) or mode 2 (medium)

selecting mode 1, if the encoder in the TV is fast enough to accept it, greatly reduces the latency I saw in the remote control response: all my TV's in the house accepted mode 1 (some 10 TV's) and remote response is noticeably faster

Stay in normal mode if low delay is not needed: switch to mode 2 if mode 1 does not work etc...

this is a great modulator

Last edited by markrubin; 09-01-2014 at 05:26 AM.
markrubin is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off