AVS Forum banner

Fort Walton Beach, FL antenna help

5K views 43 replies 12 participants last post by  ProjectSHO89 
#1 ·
I live in the Fort Walton Beach, FL area and I'm looking to cut the cord from Cox Cable. I would post my TVFool report but I'm unable to post images or weblinks until I get 5 posts. My zip code is 32569 which is technically Mary Esther, FL, a suburb of Fort Walton Beach.

#2 ·
Additional information, I'm a rookie when it comes to getting over the air TV signals, been with cable for over 20 years but tired of the constant increases in prices. I'm a Computer Support Lead so I'm not scared of technology. I currently have Amazon Fire HD in addition to Cox Cable. I'm looking for the best Outdoor Antenna I can buy without breaking the bank but not looking for cheap by any means. I'll save over $100 a month once I make the switch so I'm ready, just want to learn all I can before I make the leap. Thanks in advance for your help!

#13 ·
Thanks for the advice John. I do have a question based on what you said. So if I get a VHF and separate UHF antenna how do I bring both signals together into my house and TV's? I have multiple TV's so I'd want to send both signals to all the TV's if that's possible.

#5 ·
Skip that particular Winegard antenna.

Getting a Fox station is going to be VERY problematic.

You have two Fox stations in the area. WALA is 70 miles away towards Mobile and WPGX is 73 miles away in nearly opposite direction. And, just to make things more difficult, they're both on VHF channel 9. Can anyone say "short-spaced" or "co-channel interference"? Given that you're in a built up area, the elevated noise floor on VHF may make reception of either station impossible, even with the big 10 element VHF Yagi.

The rest of your stations towards Mobile are UHF and should be readily received with even a modest UHF antenna.

#6 ·