Holyoke MA OTA Help - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 93 Old 12-05-2016, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Holyoke MA OTA Help

I am going to get the DirecTV Now offering and will need to receive local channels OTA.
I recently tried two indoor antennas from a previous address and get little/nothing here.

I can actually see the antenna farm for several stations from my front yard, but there are many trees here.

What would be a good antenna for this area? I was thinking Channel Master CM-4228HD mounted on the chimney of a two story house.
TV Fool plot is here for any who may be able to help.

I can find nobody in the area who installs except for BB, and I have had zero luck with them in the past, so it'll be a DIY thing.
GHammer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 93 Old 12-05-2016, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
TV Fool plot is here for any who may be able to help.
I don't see it here, but I think I found it on your other post:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf6bc06fbc04


Is that it?

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #3 of 93 Old 12-05-2016, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 5,361
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 284
PM Dr. Don with the link to your TV Fool so he can post it for you. We need to see that to help you.
Calaveras is online now  
 
post #4 of 93 Old 12-05-2016, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
What channels are most important to you? Would you settle for ABC, PBS, and NBC? Anything more gets complicated.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 12-06-2016 at 04:44 AM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #5 of 93 Old 12-05-2016, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Quote:
TV Fool plot is here for any who may be able to help.
I don't see it here, but I think I found it on your other post:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf6bc06fbc04


Is that it?
Yes, that's the link.
I have PMd to have it added.
I'm interested in the Big 4 plus PBS
GHammer is offline  
post #6 of 93 Old 12-05-2016, 08:23 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 14,748
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1320 Post(s)
Liked: 2555
DrDon is offline  
post #7 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 03:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,572
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Clarifying three missing elements here:

CW is on WWLP 22-2.
FOX is on WGGB 40-2.
CBS is on WSHM-LD.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #8 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 04:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Clarifying three missing elements here:

CW is on WWLP 22-2.
FOX is on WGGB 40-2.
CBS is on WSHM-LD.

- Trip
That is correct.
GHammer is offline  
post #9 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Thanks, Trip; that helps for a difficult location.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #10 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 5,361
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 284
You ARE in a difficult location, just 4 stations to receive yet they are in 3 very different directions on high VHF and UHF.

I think what I'd try is a DB4 for UHF pointed at WSHM. WGGB and WGBY are incredibly strong so you should receive them off the back of the antenna. The Front-to-Back ratio of the antenna will attenuate those two extremely strong signals which will actually reduce the possibility of overload from those. It will also reduce the possibility of an adjacent channel issue where WGBY (22) prevents reception of the weaker WSHM (21).

For WWLP I'd use a separate VHF antenna pointed at it.

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...eo+retargeting

Use a VHF/UHF diplexer to combine the two antennas.

No preamp should be used.

Last edited by Calaveras; 12-06-2016 at 07:43 AM.
Calaveras is online now  
post #11 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Here is a network list:


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GHammerAVSre.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	179.5 KB
ID:	1812153  

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #12 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 5,361
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 284
The signal strength and signal path for WGBY doesn't make any sense in the table above. It shows 2 miles from the transmitter yet the signal strength is -50 dB and a 1 edge path. That does not agree with TV Fool. It should be similar to WGGB which appears to be correct.
Calaveras is online now  
post #13 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
The signal strength and signal path for WGBY doesn't make any sense in the table above. It shows 2 miles from the transmitter yet the signal strength is -50 dB and a 1 edge path. That does not agree with TV Fool. It should be similar to WGGB which appears to be correct.
Indeed they are in the same location.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sig-01.PNG
Views:	33
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	1812265  
GHammer is offline  
post #14 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
You ARE in a difficult location, just 4 stations to receive yet they are in 3 very different directions on high VHF and UHF.

I think what I'd try is a DB4 for UHF pointed at WSHM. WGGB and WGBY are incredibly strong so you should receive them off the back of the antenna. The Front-to-Back ratio of the antenna will attenuate those two extremely strong signals which will actually reduce the possibility of overload from those. It will also reduce the possibility of an adjacent channel issue where WGBY (22) prevents reception of the weaker WSHM (21).

For WWLP I'd use a separate VHF antenna pointed at it.

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...eo+retargeting

Use a VHF/UHF diplexer to combine the two antennas.
This is what I will purchase tomorrow then. All from MCM Electronics.
I understand I'll need a mount, coax, and connectors as well, but those are common items.

30-2475 - Fringe Directional Antenna VHF-Hi HDTV 174 - 230MHz
Stellar Labs : 30-2475

33-2230 - UHF - VHF Antenna Combiner
Stellar Labs : 33-2230

30-2425 - HDTV 60 Mile Fringe Bowtie Television Antenna
Stellar Labs : 30-2425

Last edited by GHammer; 12-06-2016 at 06:25 PM. Reason: Spelling
GHammer is offline  
post #15 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 5,361
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHammer View Post
This is what I will purchase tomorrow then. All from MCM Electronics.
I understand I'll need a mount, coax, and connectors as well, butt those are common items.

30-2475 - Fringe Directional Antenna VHF-Hi HDTV 174 - 230MHz
Stellar Labs : 30-2475

33-2230 - UHF - VHF Antenna Combiner
Stellar Labs : 33-2230

30-2425 - HDTV 60 Mile Fringe Bowtie Television Antenna
Stellar Labs : 30-2425

Yes, that should do it.
Calaveras is online now  
post #16 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
Yes, that should do it.
Thank you for the expertise!
It was very puzzling as to why I could see two towers but not get any signal.
Overload sounds right to me. And the VHF-Hi I'd have never received with the old antenna.
GHammer is offline  
post #17 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
I have heard some bad reports about the MCM UVSJ. I prefer a different brand.

Rabbit Ears rounds distance to the closest mile; tvfool to the closest 1/10 of a mile. Ask Trip why they don't agree. I used GHammer's exact address for the Rabbit Ears report.


Anyway, it doesn't change the networks, which is what I was trying to show

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #18 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
I have heard some bad reports about the MCM UVSJ. I prefer a different brand.

Rabbit Ears rounds distance to the closest mile; tvfool to the closest 1/10 of a mile. Ask Trip why they don't agree. I used GHammer's exact address for the Rabbit Ears report.


Anyway, it doesn't change the networks, which is what I was trying to show
I have no idea either, but do know both those stations towers are nearly side-by-side within my visual range.
So, what brand do you like? I'm not ordering until tomorrow. Just for instances like this where I may get more info.
GHammer is offline  
post #19 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHammer View Post
Indeed they are in the same location.
That's a nice chart; who does that?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GHammerAVSchart.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	149.9 KB
ID:	1812881  

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #20 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
rabbit73 is online now  
post #21 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
That's a nice chart; who does that?
http://copradar.com/dtv/tvtower/index.html
GHammer is offline  
post #22 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'll certainly take a look.
Unless there is some compelling reason, I prefer to have one-stop shopping to keep shipping within reason.
GHammer is offline  
post #23 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Thanks for the link for the tvtower chart source.


Quote:
Unless there is some compelling reason, I prefer to have one-stop shopping to keep shipping within reason.
It's your antenna, your money, and your choice.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #24 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Thanks for the link for the tvtower chart source.


It's your antenna, your money, and your choice.
Make it easy, what's the compelling reason?
GHammer is offline  
post #25 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Reports of problem with MCM UVSJ acting more like a splitter in reverse as a combiner with excessive loss; could be an isolated instance.

Personal bias because the Stellar Labs 3 ft coax jumpers that I ordered were poor quality. The description made them sound like there were equivalent to Monster Cable jumpers at 1/4 the price. The four cables that I received could not be used because the hex nuts would not turn; they were frozen. Ain't nuttin' easy anymore when buying online. I bought a camera tripod that had a defective camera mounting screw which wouldn't even go unto the camera tripod socket.

I had fun playing with the tower site after dinner. I didn't know about that one.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 12-06-2016 at 04:30 PM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #26 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm glad I could give back something that you find useful.

I read about a substitute on their site, but it seemed to be a one off.

Now, poor quality wiring is a different subject.
I have RG6 and compression fittings, so won't need that.

I just want this to work properly first time.
Nothing says 'Fail' to my wife quite like having to add equipment after the fact.

If I spend it all up front, all is well.
Within reason, of course.
GHammer is offline  
post #27 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,572
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Rabbit Ears rounds distance to the closest mile; tvfool to the closest 1/10 of a mile. Ask Trip why they don't agree. I used GHammer's exact address for the Rabbit Ears report.
First thing I'd note is that WGBY is 50 feet lower in height than WGGB, and I know the terrain in that area is difficult. I had trouble there while traveling through because I stopped somewhere that, although near the transmitters, was completely terrain shielded.

All of that being said, trust TVFool over what I provide. I've always wondered a bit if the SRTM terrain data that SPLAT uses is off a bit. I do have a number of issues with maps not generating properly because the tower is seen as just slightly down the side of the mountain instead of on top. I think that's probably the explanation.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #28 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
First thing I'd note is that WGBY is 50 feet lower in height than WGGB, and I know the terrain in that area is difficult. I had trouble there while traveling through because I stopped somewhere that, although near the transmitters, was completely terrain shielded.

All of that being said, trust TVFool over what I provide. I've always wondered a bit if the SRTM terrain data that SPLAT uses is off a bit. I do have a number of issues with maps not generating properly because the tower is seen as just slightly down the side of the mountain instead of on top. I think that's probably the explanation.

- Trip
Thanks for the confirmation.
The closeness of the mountains play havoc with cellphone and radio reception too. Walk 100 feet and you get entirely different signal.
At least once I get the proper hardware installed and dialed in, it won't move.
GHammer is offline  
post #29 of 93 Old 12-06-2016, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,434
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Thanks for the explanation, Trip. When the tvfool site is down, I head for your site. And when I have doubts about the channels listed, your site is more up to date.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is online now  
post #30 of 93 Old 12-07-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHammer View Post
I entered my street address into above website....dBm signal level (before Antenna Gain) results for my Hi-VHF Stations [ABC Ch10, CBS Ch8] were incredibly HIGHER than TVFool calculations by about 30 dB, although dBm levels for four LOS UHF stations much further away [that I DO receive] were in approximate agreement. BTW: NEITHER website has the Topographical resolution to "see" that my backyard is a 60-ft high Hill in direction of Hi-VHF Stations [clearly they both think my house is on TOP of that Hill]. BTW: I CAN NOT Receive either Hi-VHF station, even with a 10 dBi Hi-VHF Antenna at 15-ft Height.....and since I have Cable, it's not worth TRYING 35-ft....

I ran into the SAME kind of problem using Antennaweb.com....

I would recommend sticking with TVFool...it's much more believable....based on having looked at perhaps THOUSANDS of predictions over the years using TVFool...which in the Early Days of DTV, I verified Prediction Accuracy against user Reception Reports, incl. against the well respected RADIO MOBILE Propagation Prediction Program.

FYI: Best Resolution of TVFool Report Calculator, using SRTM-1 Topographic Database [about 300-ft Resolution], is about half the size of a Football Field....so it CAN'T see my little hill....
ALSO, when I look at TVFool's On-Line Mapping Display for Hi-VHF station [lower 1000-ft Resolution], the BLUE color encircles about 1/4-mile in every direction....it doesn't even see the 60-ft Elevation Height difference between TOP of hill and the lower ground where my street is located. Indeed, color change to PURPLE (weaker) only occurs up against the "back" side of 450-ft higher hills several miles away, diffracting Hi-VHF Stations towards the TOP of my hill. COPRADAR and ANTENNAWEB apparently DO NOT "see" these local "mountains", since signal levels are more consistent with LOS predictions.....

My CURRENT TVFool Report is correctly seeing the 2Edge Path as it goes over Mt. Carmel, but apparently does NOT "see" the 60-ft hill in my backyard, cuz I do NOT receive Ch8 and Ch10 as implied by this Report]:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf7984c3ea25

Here is Path Calculation (Mar2005 using RADIO MOBILE with SRTM-1 Topo Database with about 300-ft resolution) for UHF (prior to Hi-VHF reassignment) to my location ("RH")....SNR is "RX Relative" of 14.5 dB....not quite enough for ATSC (needs 15 dB SNR MINIMUM). Note that in RM, it is ACTUALLY a 3-Edge Path....TWO on top of Mt Carmel (400-ft higher than my elevation, it's a secondary ridge on the side of 1500-ft Black Mountain) and it APPEARS it is also accounting for the 60-ft drop from Mesa above me down to my location. BTW: Actual Antenna Heights are embedded into the TX and RX site definitions (not shown):




Here are my CURRENT ON-LINE TVFool Map Calculations for Hi-VHF Ch10 to RH (holl_ands) location [20.7 kW ERP in my direction].....note that Topo Resolution is VERY BROAD and does NOT see the 60-ft Hill in my backyard [to SW, towards Ch10)...makes NO DIFF in signal strength all around my neighborhood....and not much difference between 15-ft and 35-ft Antenna Height. Note that ON-LINE Maps are calculated ONLY to 1000-ft resolution, whereas On-line TV Signal Locator calculations are at full resolution supported by SRTM-1 [300-ft resolution, or about 1/2 a Football Field....a 3.3X improvement]:
http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...ask=view&id=21






And here is a look at that 60-ft Hill [peak of 100-ft is further away] in my backyard (Tiny Blowup several 100-ft around my lot) showing Resolution available in SRTM-1 Topo Database as viewed in RADIO MOBILE, where I set Colorization controls for 6-ft increment between Contour Lines. Note that there must be some variation in the SRTM LSB's for Height....I15 runs N-S about 100-ft East of me [Yellow colored "canyon"]....it SHOULD have registered as FLAT with 8 plus 2 separate HOV lanes in the middle, with upward slope going North, rather than the series of "pot-holes" implied by SRTM (which orbited in 2000, well after I15 Car-Pool lanes were added):


Last edited by holl_ands; 12-07-2016 at 02:49 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off