DirecTV Sat 110 down? - Page 39 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1141 of 1150 Old 12-22-2003, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Brewster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the first Hughes E86 and put up a 30 inch round dish just for the 110 sat last summer during the big issue with the signal from the 110, as of 1:18 EST today I was getting x8-91, x10-91 and x12-88, the readings do generally drop some at night. For a comparison I use a separate 24 inch round dish for 119 sat and I am getting 98 on x25.
Brewster27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1142 of 1150 Old 12-22-2003, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
TomF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My last update on this problem was that after going round and round with DirecTV, they agreed to send out an installer at no charge to figure out what the problem was. The installer immediately hooked the Sat C directly and the problem went away. He said it was a bad combiner but didn't have one in stock. I had to order a new Sat C kit from DirecTV. I just used the new combiner and the problem was solved.

In the last few weeks however, the signal has dropped back down to the high 30's/low 40's and then finally just went away completely. I now have )0 signal strength on all three transponders.

Another call to DirecTV today and they are sending out an installer again tomorrow at no charge as a warranty call.

Each time I've asked DirecTV for a new Phase III dish, but they insist on sending out an installer first.
TomF is offline  
post #1143 of 1150 Old 12-22-2003, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XP - transponder
old - Phase III dish (12/15/03 8:45AM)
new - GainMaster dish (12/16/03 8:45AM)

SAT A 101°
----------
XP old new
----------
01 085 083
02 082 084
03 090 092
04 100 100
05 077 083
06 071 068
07 081 085
08 052 061
09 061 081
10 055 067
11 066 083
12 098 098
13 041 062
14 045 045
15 053 070
16 039 052
17 037 060
18 097 098
19 064 077
20 094 095
21 059 062
22 058 066
23 080 086
24 061 070
25 077 073
26 090 092
27 094 090
28 100 100
29 087 089
30 053 058
31 097 098
32 073 063

SAT B 119°
----------
XP old new
----------
22 077 073
23 045 062
24 073 079
25 062 083
26 076 089
27 069 085
28 088 092
29 081 089
30 090 096
31 090 096
32 094 094

SAT C 110°
----------
XP old new
----------
08 054 069
10 045 081
12 000 055

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #1144 of 1150 Old 12-22-2003, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At the moment I am getting x08: 66, x10: 78, x12: 49

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #1145 of 1150 Old 12-24-2003, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my new Sony SAT HD 300 I am getting: x08: 87, x10: 89, x12: 85
Toshiba and Sony may have different methods for measurement, so I can't say this is an apples for apples test.

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #1146 of 1150 Old 12-25-2003, 08:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For comparison, on my Sony 300 here, 110 is 90/95/89. (Dunno about other HD boxes if they have it... but I love the Sony... all the xponders on one page for one sat!)

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #1147 of 1150 Old 12-27-2003, 08:17 PM
Member
 
steveg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Bristow VA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 110 reception had been working fine after D did what they did, but for whatever reason now its not working on the 110 at all.

Anyone else having issues?
steveg is offline  
post #1148 of 1150 Old 12-27-2003, 08:45 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,775
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 284
steveg

No issues here. Matter-of-fact, ESPN-HD looked the best it ever has, tonight (12/27). Time to check your connections and positioning, I guess.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #1149 of 1150 Old 12-27-2003, 08:50 PM
Member
 
JEFFDUBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't try to get D* customer service people to give you straight answers...they are not in the loop. Company policy. Keep them in the dark and we have less problems.

Jeff Dubiel
JEFFDUBE is offline  
post #1150 of 1150 Old 12-29-2003, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone having problems on 12?28 with ESPN duringt he game? I had constant audio and video dropouts all during the game.
wward is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off