DirecTV Sat 110 down? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 05:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
winman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, i just got off the phone with them, and the 1st level didnt have
a clue. Had me check all connections, etc, etc. When i reported that
other AVS members were reporting the same issue, she sent me to
Level II, who also didnt know anything. She put me on hold, came back,
and informed me that the problem is at THEIR end, and technicians are
working on it. Advised me it could take 24 - 48 hours to fix the problem.

She says the lost a channel, then lost all channels on the 110 sat.

Winston
winman42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 05:55 AM
Member
 
jeffsg4mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canterbury NH
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I am new to this forum, I asked this question on another thread but it seems like I should ask it here. I was trying to install a new dish when all of this happened, should I wait untill they solve their issue then realign the dish per the instructions that came with it? It says to align the dish with sat b then fine tune with a and c should be correct. Is this good info? I was trying to align my new dish when this mess started and I was going insane:(
jeffsg4mac is offline  
post #93 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Other than the overcompression and "soft" look AT TIMES of the HD channels, I haven't had any problems like loss of signal or severe macroblocking.

My current signal strengths on the 110 Sat C transponders are:
94, 95, 94
arxaw is offline  
post #94 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:46 AM
Member
 
ponnie1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
seems to be affecting most of us on the eastern seaboard, primarily the northeast. still getting crappy signals (39 sig strength) as of this writing, though better than last night (zero signal)
ponnie1996 is offline  
post #95 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a related thread.
arxaw is offline  
post #96 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jeffsg4mac,

Wait. The instructions are correct.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #97 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
xris2o0o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Outside of Boston
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is it really their problem or do us people on the east coast just have to readjust the dish to where the new satellite location is?

chris

i have a budget bigger than my budget.

xris2o0o is offline  
post #98 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: East Bridgewater, Ma., U.S.A.
Posts: 3,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by xris2o0o
is it really their problem or do us people on the east coast just have to readjust the dish to where the new satellite location is?

chris
I would say definately not. You mess with your dish and lose A and B. If A and B are strong, C has to be strong as well, otherwise DIRECTV must make adjustments, not us.
Benji is offline  
post #99 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off no one should adjust their dishes unless you just have nothing else better to do. These problems are a result of the satellite move, which apparently they are in the process of fine tuning.

The problem is not just isolated to the New England area either I am in southern New Jersey and have experienced the loss of signal on the 110 bird last week for about 24 hours.

Everything came back by Friday the only after affect being Showtime HD has audio dropouts and sporadic blocking of the picture. Also the 119 bird went out for a few hours last night but is now back and working perfectly.

There was also a 5-minute interruption on the 101 birds yesterday about 8:30 pm EST. It is obvious that DirecTv still has some work to do; I am not defending their lack of communication to their CSR's about the general problem that’s unconscionable and just bad business practice. But if they kept trying to provide blow by blow updates to their CSR’s that to me means that they are not working on the issues.

These satellite moves can be very tricky and even once the bird is in it's established orbit there are hours of drift adjustments that have to happen. This is not to say that this situation will go on forever (this is not the first move DirecTv has performed) it just takes a little time to adjust things.

To keep from getting aggravated document the total time that you have experienced your outage and once things have settled down call DirecTv customer service and ask for a credit its that simple. I have been through this once before with DirecTv a few years ago with satellite moves.

And before anyone asks yes I called customer service a few days ago if for nothing else to document my name so when I call back in a few days to have them give me a make good or a credit they have it in their system that I was an affected customer.
wward is offline  
post #100 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 10:09 AM
Member
 
jhoppy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Weymouth, MA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still getting zero signal on all three transponders from Sat C at 1pm on Sunday ..... yesterday I was getting blips of signal, but as of last night, nothing .... Sats A (100%) and B (80%) coming in loud and clear ....:confused:

Jim Hopkins
jhoppy1 is offline  
post #101 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 10:22 AM
Member
 
metamatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just called D* and they said they are still working on it. I note that the HDTV SAT C channels come briefly in and out. They now know that the Northeast is generally out.

Will we get a refund for days of no service?
metamatt is offline  
post #102 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 12:10 PM
Member
 
bmulberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My signal strength is still in the low to mid-40's on the 110. 101 and 119 are normal. I'm disgusted at Directv's lack of acknowledgement when these issues occur. I talked to the technical people today who assured me there have been no calls and no problem in the NE area. I told him that the problem doesn't irritate me nearly as much as your company's lack of ownership for these problems. I expect some quirks; but still choose Directv over cable for the past 5 years. I just want someone to tell me if the problem will be resolved or do I need to adjust my dish. The guy I spoke to told me to adjust my dish! I think that is absurd to instruct people to do if they know this is a temporary problem.

I just want these jerks to acknowledge the problem and tell me if it's temporary or permanent. If it's permanent then I'll have someone adjust my dish alignment. I'm just sick of having my intelligence insulted by these people. My Sat-C just didn't all of a sudden become misaligned with no problem on the other 2 LNBs. Get real.
bmulberry is offline  
post #103 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 12:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The company is doing an incredibly bad job of getting information from their technical staff to their CSRs. Chances are the people you talked to haven't a clue and are just operating from their standard remedies. Look at the previous posts to see how much work it was to find somebody to recognize there was a problem.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #104 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 04:53 PM
Member
 
HammerNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of you get a week signal on C? I am in NJ as well and get zero.

I thought the LNB took a hit from a recent thunderstorm.
HammerNY is offline  
post #105 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 05:45 PM
Member
 
eorcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tolland, Ct.
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just sent an Email to D* telling them they need to post a message here explaining what the problem is with Sat C and how long it will take to get it fixed. Their silence is hurting their reputation badly.
eorcman is offline  
post #106 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my current signal strengths (Toshiba DST-3000, older 24" oval dish). I suspect that those receiving a signal from 110 don't have there 101 and 119 optimally pointed. My dish was professionally installed by NE Antenna over a year ago.

Satellite 101 (A) Signal strength
x01 93-94
x02 86-87
x03 92-93
x04 100
x05 89-90
x06 94
x07 94-95
x08 90-91
x09 95-96
x10 93-94
x11 95-96
x12 100
x13 90-91
x14 94-95
x15 94-95
x16 85-88
x17 90-91
x18 100
x19 94-95
x20 100
x21 91-92
x22 91-92
x23 91-92
x24 74-78 (this one must be sick!)
x25 92
x26 90-91
x27 96-97
x28 98
x29 90-91
x30 97-98
x31 96-97
x32 95-96

Satellite 119 (B) Signal strength
x22 82-83
x23 83-85
x24 83-84
x25 92
x26 76-78
x27 90-91
x28 89
x29 91-92
x30 88-89
x31 92-93
x32 89-90

Satellite 110 (C) Signal strength
x08 00
x10 00
x12 00

There is no way I am going to mess with the pointing of the dish given the great numbers I get for sats A & B. If D"wrecked"TV (invented here!)doesn't fix it, I will get NE Antenna to install Dish instead!

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #107 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by greywolf
The company is doing an incredibly bad job of getting information from their technical staff to their CSRs.
If they care, I'd give them a wooden nickel. We are part of 12 Million and from what I last heard, 8% of it. Why would they care?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #108 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 191
I get a solid 80 average on 110.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #109 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:43 PM
Member
 
jeffw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wakefield, MA USA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still all zeroes here. At least DTV is admitting the outage.

I plan on pressing DTV for more 3 or 4 days credit. Let's all put the pressure on for a free month.
jeffw is offline  
post #110 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:47 PM
PT1
Newbie
 
PT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here In Milwaukee, WI I get only Channels 73 and 79. Channels 76 and 81 are pixilated. As of July 20,2003 8:50 pm Central time.

I get the following signal strengths for the new HD stations:

Channel 73 - Sat 110 - Transponder 8 has about 79 for Signal
Channel 76 - Sat 110 - Transponder 10 has about 44 for Signal
Channel 79 - Sat 119 - Transponder 25 has about 90 for signal
Channel 81 - Sat 110 - Transponder 10

I get 0 for transponder 12.

Any one else Experiencing the same in Wisconsin?
PT1 is offline  
post #111 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
fourthstooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port chester, ny
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jeffw
Still all zeroes here. At least DTV is admitting the outage.

I plan on pressing DTV for more 3 or 4 days credit. Let's all put the pressure on for a free month.
ABSOLUTELY! Especially because they've been so utterly retarded about knowing what the f* is going on!!! They owe us an apology and a good faith gesture, and I for one, will not let them off the hook on this one.

You don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.
---Ray Bradbury
fourthstooge is offline  
post #112 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
woodworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: "chest hair", NH
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I thought I was being helpful by calling Directv back after 24 hours like they asked me to. I told the person at the tier II phone number that I had reported the problem yesterday and was just calling back to let them know the problem still exists as it has since Friday. I was put on hold for just a minute and then the person came back and confirmed that they were having satellite trouble but it had only been for the last day so any problem I had before yesterday must have been with my equipment.

No, I did not let this person get away with that. I told them that I appreciate that they finally admit that they are having problems but why do they still try to throw it back on their customers as somehow being partially our fault? I am sure it went in one ear and out the other.
woodworm is offline  
post #113 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:14 PM
Member
 
jeffsg4mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canterbury NH
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here I get mid 90's to 100's for sat a, 70's to 90's for sat b and big fat 0's for sat c. At least I know that I installed this thing correctly the first time on friday. Boy I had good timing huh?
jeffsg4mac is offline  
post #114 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zero signal here on 110, looks like D* made a mistake...

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #115 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:32 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 222
For grins, someone in the NE should TRY to sight 110 irregardless of the other birds just to see if it can be done and what the elevation or azimuth difference is. Of course, D* shoudl fix things, but in the meantime, it would be interesting to know if it is possible to lock on to. Just a suggestion.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #116 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just out of curiosity...... Is D* trying to put Bravo-HD on? anyone have an Engineering guide?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #117 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DrDon

Someone either earlier on in this thread or in another thread tried that the person had to readjust the tilt which of course knocked out receptionon on the 101 and 119 birds.
wward is offline  
post #118 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Carl Romanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re-pointing your dish is not likely to improve the situation.

I think the problem is that they just moved DirecTV 6 into the 110 slot and are trying to transfer these transponders over from DirecTV 1.

It looks like DirecTV 6's antenna needs some adjustment so its footprint covers New England adequately.

Out here in CA, the signal's never been better. ;)

Carl
Carl Romanik is offline  
post #119 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 11:29 PM
Member
 
sha_now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Malden, MA
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also in Massachusetts, and also no Sat C ! Glad I checked here to see I'm not the only one. I get zero signal on all transponders, and I typically get 90-100 on them. I thought the lightning Friday Night/Saturday Morning somehow fried my Triple LNB, but I see that's not the case.

What the heck is going on with Sat C in MA ??? Strange indeed !
sha_now is offline  
post #120 of 1150 Old 07-20-2003, 11:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 382
So the satellite gets moved into place by having it's normal geosynchronous orbit intentionally thrown out of whack. This then causes the satellite to slowly drift from its old position to its new one as it orbits the earth.

Normally, the satellite orbits the earth in a manner such that it stays, quite literally, over the very same spot on the equator despite the fact that it is moving through space at many thousand miles per hour.

Well, this intentionally wobbly orbit has to be "righted" once the satellite comes to it's correct location and "geosynchronicity needs to be re-established at the right location.

Then there is the matter of the fact that the "attitude" or orientation of the satellite also must be pretty precise as the transmission beam has a shape that is designed to roughly conform to hitting the continental U.S. (and sometimes Alaska and Hawaii). The transmission beam is not supposed to spew American satellite over a much larger range than is necessary to avoid interference elsewhere.

[n.b. It is possible to pick up all "our" satellites in parts of Canada and Mexico and sometimes elsewhere, but the satellites are supposed to be good citizens and the idea is to keep the beam primarily over the U.S.]

My sneaking suspicion is that 6 has a narrower beam than 1 did, as well as having more power to work with. What probably happened is that when the initial "stop" was achieved, the beam was a little skewed such that it was essentially missing the northeast and is probably doing an equisitely fine job of serving a few pleasure boats that are looking to replicate the journey of the S.S. Minnow. :)

A very subtle use of the thrusters may be in order here (unless the transmission beam is electrically steered, which might be possible ?!?) to get the beam "painting" the U.S. as tightly and strongly as possible.

If all goes well -- once everything is done -- it's still possible the stronger signal, or EIRP, might allow a lower FEC (forward error correction) and therefore a higher-bit rate, i.e. less pixelation, et al.

But we'll see.

For all of you in New England, et al., who have lost your channels temporarily... I am truly sorry for you. They will likely fix it soon!

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off