DirecTV Sat 110 down? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 06:18 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 217
What really hurts is that tranponder 91 reading on 119. I'm guessing that must be where DirecTV puts its Customer Service training videos <g>.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have sent emails to Mr. Powell at the FCC and Mark at HDnet pointing them to this thread. I don't know if they will get the emails, but maybe one of them can pressure D"wrecked"TV to give us some timeframe as to when this will be resolved. If Dish had an equivalent offering right now, I would be gone, despite the fact that I would need to purchase new receivers!

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #183 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 06:30 AM
Member
 
bfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Raynham, Ma
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just fired off an email to news.com and included a link to this thread. Perhaps they'll pick up the "story".
bfriend is offline  
post #184 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
fourthstooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port chester, ny
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So let's set a date and time for all NE subs to cancel the HD package simultaneously. I propose Monday, July 28, 9 AM if the problem is not resolved by then.

You don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.
---Ray Bradbury
fourthstooge is offline  
post #185 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sdf777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Williamsburg, VA / Kennebunkport, ME
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I'm screwed. I decided to try the csr's advice and deselect & reselect SAT ABC. Now my program guide is missing all the 110 sat channels. Tuning manually now says "not available" rather than "no signal". :mad:

Steve
sdf777 is offline  
post #186 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by fourthstooge
So let's set a date and time for all NE subs to cancel the HD package simultaneously. I propose Monday, July 28, 9 AM if the problem is not resolved by then.
Talk about cutting your nose off to spite your face!!! Where do you intend to get the programing other than D*? Although we are all very frustrated I think anyone would be jumping the gun to cancel over this.
steverobertson is offline  
post #187 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 07:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have to agree with steverobertson... E* doesn't have triple LNB dishes out yet, and I don't think we want to start using the 60/140 sats for HD!

I hope/think D* will look at this a bit after the fact, especially if you (I'm not installed yet, so it's not a 'we' :D ) all call and get the refunds for the x days of service lost. The costs of the refund processing is probably more than the actual $$ involved and refunds will show up somewhere. And/but, of course, as someone said, the HD users aren't a large force yet. Sigh...

sdf/Steve, your predicament has me thinking I'd never switch to/from a sat lineup without confirmation from here that there's nothing wrong with the sat! :)

-Lee

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #188 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
fourthstooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port chester, ny
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by steverobertson
Talk about cutting your nose off to spite your face!!! Where do you intend to get the programing other than D*? Although we are all very frustrated I think anyone would be jumping the gun to cancel over this.

What good is it to us now anyway? If and when they fix it, we can always add it again (if we're not totally disgusted by then). This may be the only way to get their attention.

You don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.
---Ray Bradbury
fourthstooge is offline  
post #189 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just received an email from Stephanie which stated that she is out of the office but would have someone contact me. Stephanie has been great in responding to me in the past and I suspect I will here something today. She said if I didn't to let her know.
steverobertson is offline  
post #190 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
SolidSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HQ Detroit Metro
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We have been selling hundreds of Sat C kits in the last few day. Mostly to the eastern Sea Board. We get the order and and call the customer. We ask if they are replacing Sat C because it just stopped working! The answer is almost always YES. We explain that something is wrong with Direct TV and cancel the order! What a pain!

SS@SolidSignal
SolidSignal is offline  
post #191 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
HofstraJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Coral Springs, FL 33071
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by SolidSignal
We have been selling hundreds of Sat C kits in the last few day. Mostly to the eastern Sea Board. We get the order and and call the customer. We ask if they are replacing Sat C because it just stopped working! The answer is almost always YES. We explain that something is wrong with Direct TV and cancel the order! What a pain!
That's admirable on your part that you make that effort. More unscrupulous dealers would simply make the sale and deal with the small percentage of inevitable returns (I'm sure that once they go up to the roof, change it, and realize it still doesn't work, then figure out that it is DirecTV, many would just leave the new one up there and say "oh well, I have an extra one now). Kudos to you. :D
HofstraJet is offline  
post #192 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sdf777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Williamsburg, VA / Kennebunkport, ME
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a giant conspiracy by the Sat C lnb manufacturers. :)

Steve
sdf777 is offline  
post #193 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 08:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SolidSignal, do *you* have any contacts higher in D* that you can scream at and tell them how much they are p'ing people off? Especially, as said, those who buy Sat-C kits from other vendors on D*'s 'advice' and don't need them.

-Lee

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #194 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
SolidSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HQ Detroit Metro
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lee,
"Been There, Done That!"

They are aware and they are understaffed!

Customer service is a good as they can afford right now!
Hughes (the Parent of Direct TV) only made 20 million last quarter on over 2 billion in revenue.
They are coming off of my quartes of losses!!

SS@SolidSignal
SolidSignal is offline  
post #195 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Such's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What still does not make any sense to me is that my two HD STB's are experiencing different things. I did a swap of the box's last night to make sure the cabling/multi-switch ports are not part of the issue - they are not.

My Samsung gets 50's to mid 60's on the 110 Xponders.

My Mits/Hughs gets 0's, flat, not a blip.

Wondering if there is something with the older technology and the software glitch they are having (my Mits is almost 3 years old, Samsung is brand new)?
Such is offline  
post #196 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Solidsignal,

Thanks for your posts do you know if they are even working on this problem?
steverobertson is offline  
post #197 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:11 AM
Member
 
metamatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Such
What still does not make any sense to me is that my two HD STB's are experiencing different things. I did a swap of the box's last night to make sure the cabling/multi-switch ports are not part of the issue - they are not.

My Samsung gets 50's to mid 60's on the 110 Xponders.

My Mits/Hughs gets 0's, flat, not a blip.

Wondering if there is something with the older technology and the software glitch they are having (my Mits is almost 3 years old, Samsung is brand new)?

This is most interesting. Could you give locations and also the software version on your new Samsung? I have a recently purchased Zenith 520 and it comes up zeros on all the 110 Xponders.
metamatt is offline  
post #198 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been said D* is working on it and I thought I saw posts where New England was seeing higher levels again (40 vs. 0)...

SolidSignal, agree on the staffing and budget issues, but don't you think they could fix the main communication problem here by an email to all the CSR supervisors or whomever controls the Level 1 contractors? That wouldn't take much to get the word out to all, I wouldn't think...

-Lee

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #199 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote; It's been said D* is working on it and I thought I saw posts where New England was seeing higher levels again (40 vs. 0)...

This am I was still registering 0's across the board that was about 6:30
steverobertson is offline  
post #200 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:19 AM
Member
 
ghardenb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Such
What still does not make any sense to me is that my two HD STB's are experiencing different things. I did a swap of the box's last night to make sure the cabling/multi-switch ports are not part of the issue - they are not.

My Samsung gets 50's to mid 60's on the 110 Xponders.

My Mits/Hughs gets 0's, flat, not a blip.

Wondering if there is something with the older technology and the software glitch they are having (my Mits is almost 3 years old, Samsung is brand new)?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Same here. My Hughes analog box is returning 30'ish on all 110 transponders, while my Samsung is showing higher readings.

Talked to a "tech" person again this AM. They try first to tell you that it's "your" problem, then admit - under pressure - that they know there's a problem and we'll have to be patient. This has been the pattern with each phone call.

How is DISH for HDTV? Do they have the same offering? Is this D* nonsense sufficient grounds to bail on a one-year commitment?

Gary
ghardenb is offline  
post #201 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
pat2joy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Have two STB's, one SDEF and the other HD and both are seeing the same signal indications. Seems that the border of where the problem exits is from about Buffalo NY down to somewhere south of NJ. It seems like it is a antenna pattern problem. don't know why, could be positioning of the sat (not position in sky). Damaged antenna, misunderstanding of the antenna pattern. Seems that those that are in the pattern have very good signal levels and are receiving signals with no problems with age of STB. The problem may be unresolvable.

Pat
pat2joy is offline  
post #202 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:28 AM
Member
 
ghardenb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I came in an hour ago and found my Samsung with a frozen picture and "stuck" sound, like a skipping record. I powered it down and, after it redownloaded the guide data, it came unstuck. I found, though, that all guide listings after about 2:00pm today said "to be announced". Is this related to the signal power issue? What sat/trans carries the guide data?

FWIW, my channels 73 and 76 are now at 30% and breaking up.

Gary
ghardenb is offline  
post #203 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does D* have any room on the 119 to move the channels over to until they get this straightned out? I really hate the thought of not seeing the Red Sox and Yankees game this Sunday in HD
steverobertson is offline  
post #204 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich Peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: St Paul, MN
Posts: 2,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Does D* have any room on the 119 to move the channels over to until they get this straightned out? I really hate the thought of not seeing the Red Sox and Yankees game this Sunday in HD
Moving the channels to 119 would require the use of 3 complete transponders there which of course they do not have available. Even if they got rid of all their PPV (temporarily) they wouldn't have enough.
Rich Peterson is offline  
post #205 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Such's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have the SW rev. numbers at my fingertips. Will get them when I get home tonight. I do know that a few weeks back (Week of 7/7) I had a similar issue with my older Mits/Hughs box - no 110 readings. I thought it was my problem (as I've had some stability issues with the box in the past). Brought it back to the retailer (had purchased extended warranty) and they did me a favor and swapped it for one they had on hand (used demo).

After the swap the replacement worked fine - also noticed it immediately knew it had an upgrade waiting and did the upgrade the night I swapped it. It still worked on the 110's after the SW upgrade (know this because I kept checking as this was the problem I had). All the while, my Sammy STB worked fine - and as stated, still does.
Such is offline  
post #206 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hope this is not another case of software frying all of our STB'S. I remember the last time this happened and I ended up having to get a replacement sent to me twice befor it finally worked.
steverobertson is offline  
post #207 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
mythical_phenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just took a break from chipmunk hunting to check things out. Last couple of days on my DTC-100 I was seeing signal levels roughly 30-40 on all three transponders. Right now, they are all around 55, and I can get ESPN,Disc,HDNetMovies without problem (last couple of days I either couldn't get them, or they would continually break up). However, now I'm having trouble with HBO-HD, breaks up and no sound. Have to admit the picture (when its there) is really good right now.
--
mythical_phenix is offline  
post #208 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
fourthstooge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: port chester, ny
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My readings as of 1:40 pm:

xp8 - 50-60
xp10 - 43-53
xp12 - 0

slight improvement over yesterday, but not close to the pre-7/18 levels in the 80's on all 3, and certainly not strong enough to sustain any weather related degradation.

You don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.
---Ray Bradbury
fourthstooge is offline  
post #209 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe they are making progress!!! any other reports out there?
steverobertson is offline  
post #210 of 1150 Old 07-22-2003, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Franklinton, NC, USA
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't noticed any reports from this far north, but in Central Maine (Lewiston area), I'm not getting any signal from 110 (i.e. HDNet Movies, DiscoveryHD, ESPNHD) either. Haven't for several days, but haven't had time to complain about it. I have an RCA F38310 HDTV (with an integrated DTC100 tuner).


Later

Joe

Home Page (click to enter)
RCA Television Service Information (DTV306/7 and ITC222)
DrJoe is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off