DirecTV Sat 110 down? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 03:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching ESPNHD and at around 4:56 it stopped working. Also, no other tranponders from the 110 satellite are either. Does anyone know what's going on?

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 06:11 AM
Member
 
BobMerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the same thing.. checked signal strength and had dead 0. Thought maybe it was my equip and left myself a note to reboot the Hughes and disconnect the dish when I got home this evening, but my wife called after 7:00am and said it was all back up.

I guess D* did some work this am? reboot the sat?? :):) LOL

-Bob-
BobMerritt is offline  
post #3 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 06:15 AM
Member
 
BobMerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BobMerritt

I guess D* did some work this am? reboot the sat?? :):) LOL

[/b]
Ohhhh... I just saw the other thread... D* was moving the SATS around this morning. That explains it.
BobMerritt is offline  
post #4 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 08:07 AM
Member
 
bfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Raynham, Ma
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got no signal on 110 at all. Tried rebooting and disconnecting the dish. D* was no help at all. Said there were no problems on their end. Everything was working fine yesterday
bfriend is offline  
post #5 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken Erickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Willis, TX 77318
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears that all is well now - 10:55 est.
Ken Erickson is offline  
post #6 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 09:08 AM
Member
 
bfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Raynham, Ma
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not for me.
bfriend is offline  
post #7 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Skyboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone check the transponders yet?
Skyboss is offline  
post #8 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 09:21 AM
Member
 
bfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Raynham, Ma
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all comming up 0 for me
bfriend is offline  
post #9 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 09:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my Hughes GAEB0 SD receiver, I get 92, 95, 88 for transponders 8,10 and 12 today. On my Hughes E86 and Toshiba DST-3000 HD receivers, I get 84, 89, and 58. This is down from 90, 90, 71 I've had lately, the 90,90,89 I had a few days ago, but up from the 78, 82, 58 I had from before the July programming came up. Something's going on. Lots of folks have reported Sat C problems over the last 2 weeks.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #10 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 11:02 AM
Member
 
bfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Raynham, Ma
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D* really needs to get their act together. I just spent 45 minutes on the phone and was transferred through 3 levels of tech support before they acknowledged the problem was on their end. You would thing they'd make their lower level support people aware of any system problems before wasting their time and mine.
bfriend is offline  
post #11 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by bfriend
D* really needs to get their act together. I just spent 45 minutes on the phone and was transferred through 3 levels of tech support before they acknowledged the problem was on their end. You would thing they'd make their lower level support people aware of any system problems before wasting their time and mine.
That is typical that is why I always come here first
steverobertson is offline  
post #12 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to let you know, after I made the original post, I check about one hour later and the 110 channels were back up and running. So it seems they've gone down again since then based on the time of these posts.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #13 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 03:33 PM
Member
 
psenior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just put on the tv and all my HD channels on the 110 are down (no signal)....... Anyone else with this issue..... I am in Mass...

"Don't ever let anyone tell you you have a ten cent fart for a brain unless you only have a dollar in your pocket !!"
psenior is offline  
post #14 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 03:44 PM
Member
 
GePapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is gone too. I am in Mass also.
GePapa is offline  
post #15 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Hanstoffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
110 is there for me, but the signal is weaker than it used to be so all the HD channels besides HDNET and HBO and going in and out.
Hanstoffel is offline  
post #16 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash_Corrigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Saint Charles (St. Louis suburb), Missouri
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDNet and HBO HD aren't on SAT C 110. Do you mean SAT B 119? I'm in St. Louis and my reception of HDnet and HBO HD has gotten progressively worse in recent weeks, to the point where they're almost unwatchable. I'll check when I get home tonight.
Crash_Corrigan is offline  
post #17 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Mike5454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Franklin,MA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Mass and no signal
Mike5454 is offline  
post #18 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 04:36 PM
Member
 
psenior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess they are not redsox fans, but it better be there for the 27th !!

"Don't ever let anyone tell you you have a ten cent fart for a brain unless you only have a dollar in your pocket !!"
psenior is offline  
post #19 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StreetPreacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Frozen North
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope there's not a problem wit the satellite. D* can't stand to lose any bandwidth.

Does anyone have a telescope? :)

-Sp
StreetPreacher is offline  
post #20 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 05:41 PM
Member
 
eorcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tolland, Ct.
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone still having a problem with sat c? I am getting breakup on ESPN HD. I am not getting Discovery HD theater and HDNet movies. I am getting HDNet but I think that is on 119. My transponders show almost 0 on sat C. I am only getting only 20 - 30 on transponder 8. Transponders 10 and 12 are showing 0.

I talked to D* today but they say they are not having any problems. Based on the number of posts today, that is hard to believe. It is now 7:40 PM EST Friday 7/19.
eorcman is offline  
post #21 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 05:43 PM
Member
 
bfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Raynham, Ma
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine's still out here in Boston. I posted earlier that D* did say the problem is on their end (after going through 3 levels of tech support).
bfriend is offline  
post #22 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm at normal strengths on all tranponders for 110.

Was wathcing ESPNHD earlier for awhile with no breakups.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #23 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
SteveWinNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From someone at Global Space Systems Loral, the guys who fly the sats, they are switching programming from Directv1 to Direct6 today. You may notice some reduced signal strentghs or dropouts for those who already have a marginal signal. It will take a day or two until the new sat is properly oriented. ;)
SteveWinNJ is offline  
post #24 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 07:13 PM
Member
 
qrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Groton, CT
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no signal as of this time on Sat C (it is raining lighty also), but I have good signals on the other Sats...Just to let you all know....
qrazy is offline  
post #25 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i am seeing NOTHING on espnhd but i'm getting the rest.
oleus is offline  
post #26 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ragedogg69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 3,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hdnet movies was just on showtime hd for about 15 secs. :rolleyes: we are getting this month free right?

My DVD Collection
GO CHIEFS, WILDCATS, SUNS, DIAMONDBACKS, COYOTES, RATTLERS, AND LUMBERJACKS!
"Asking if an HDTV is too big, is like me asking you if the diamond on your wedding ring is too big." -- My dad's response to my mom's question about my 65" HDTV.
ragedogg69 is offline  
post #27 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
HDorBust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester, NH area
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no signal on any of the 110 transponders.

Level 1 support said they are not moving sats!

[10:30] I am on hold for level 2 support (I want to at least get a credit!)...

They are currently experiencing higher than normal call volumes... Gee, I wonder why?

[11:00] Level 2 support wanted to schedule a service call, I explained that I was not the only one with the problem, they checked and realized that there was still a problem, doh!

If they restore service within 24 hours, I guess I will get about 30 cents for a 30 minute wait on the phone! But I have the satisfaction of getting level 2 to admit there was a problem...

Geesh,

-Dave
HDorBust is offline  
post #28 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 08:36 PM
Member
 
mikepa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All out in Acton. This thread just saved me 30+ minutes on hold with D* CSRs. Thanks everyone.

This Internet thing may just catch on.

mikepa
mikepa is offline  
post #29 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 09:11 PM
Member
 
pjpereira74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lowell,MA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
out in lowell, mass.get 0 on all transponders on 110 sat. hope they have the sat switched soon.I want my hdtv
pjpereira74 is offline  
post #30 of 1150 Old 07-18-2003, 09:17 PM
Member
 
MJburt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess I'm glad I don't live in Mass. Haven't had any problems all day except for a couple drop outs during Dead Like Me on ShoHD. Why would it only be in certain areas? I've had full strength all day here.
MJburt is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off