Dish Network 811 News (Old topic - PVR 921, 811 & 5000 News) - Page 38 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1126 Old 01-09-2004, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ismeltitudeltit
Can someone explain how the 811 is different than the 6k + 8vsb + 8psk?
It's newer and can not do RGB output.
Joe Q is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1126 Old 01-09-2004, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Chriscpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just installed my 811 and the DVI is a disappointment. I have my 6000 on the 15-pin (graphics) input and the 811 on the DVI. The graphics input is clearly better. The DVI has visible motion and just isn't as good. The difference is about what I expected, just in the opposite direction.

Also, I though I saw mention of a problem with the 720p output. My 720p works fine.

My whole plan for the 811 was the DVI output. The 6000 sells used for more than the 811, so I though it was a safe bet, but now I don't know what to do. If Dish plans on patching this, I should stick with my plan.

Chris

Chriscpm is offline  
post #1113 of 1126 Old 01-09-2004, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jetlag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: FL370
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is my Dishnetwork CES experience to add to what Don posted:

921
Jetlag is offline  
post #1114 of 1126 Old 01-09-2004, 06:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Considering the confusion here- I will post any new information on satguys site.
Don Landis is offline  
post #1115 of 1126 Old 01-09-2004, 07:37 PM
Member
 
visko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca 95746
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Chriscpm
I just installed my 811 and the DVI is a disappointment. I have my 6000 on the 15-pin (graphics) input and the 811 on the DVI. The graphics input is clearly better. The DVI has visible motion and just isn't as good. The difference is about what I expected, just in the opposite direction.

Also, I though I saw mention of a problem with the 720p output. My 720p works fine.

My whole plan for the 811 was the DVI output. The 6000 sells used for more than the 811, so I though it was a safe bet, but now I don't know what to do. If Dish plans on patching this, I should stick with my plan.

Thanks for the post ....it confirms what I have been reading stick with the 6000 and 8VSB module.
Your post address a technical observation which is good for all of us to read.
visko is offline  
post #1116 of 1126 Old 01-10-2004, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Chriscpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by visko
Thanks for the post ....it confirms what I have been reading stick with the 6000 and 8VSB module.
Your post address a technical observation which is good for all of us to read.
Well, all is not lost. The 811 is buggy, but I have had some luck tweaking it.

First, I tried switching over to 1080i to see if that was any better (even though I have a 720p projector). It was really weird - the 811 produced 1980 x 540 on the DVI. Hmmm ... Back between 720p and 1080i a few times and the same deal.

Then I tried the component connection. It gave me the correct 1980 x 1080i and 720p signals. Hmmm. The back to the DVI and now I get proper 1980 x 1080 and 720p signals. Now going back to the original comparison between the DVI 720p on the 811 and the 720p on the 6000 through the RGB and they look pretty close - I think something was wrong on the original 720p signal, even though my projector reported the right number of pixels.

The good news (for me at least) is that the 811 does kick out DVI and component at the same time. I wasn't sure this exact combinations has been reported yet. For me it will let me pull a long component run to my bedroom (instead of a lowly composite signal).

Also, the component output of the 811 is not as good as the DVI of th 811. I have it set up now to switch between:
A-component from the 811,
B-RGB from the 6000, and
C-DVI from the 811.

I can switch between them with the inputs on my projector with only a 1 second or so delay. I'm waiting for some decent programming.

Now the joke of the day - what would dishnet put a label on the rg59 cable included in the 811 package that says it is only to be used between the receiver and a TV? First, it did work to extend my antenna signal. Second, the 811 doesn't have an output for this cable! ... If only George Carlin were on this forum ...

Chris

Chriscpm is offline  
post #1117 of 1126 Old 01-10-2004, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpflepsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NE
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm guessing the RG59 can be used to hook the ANT out on most TV's to the 8VSB ANT IN on the 811. This way folks can utilize the better OTA analog tuner in the TV instead of the crappy OTA analog tuner in the 811.

But in actuality it's just a convenience and an included cable in a standard cable pack. If it's extra, put it up for sale on EBay. :)
gpflepsen is offline  
post #1118 of 1126 Old 01-10-2004, 10:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Chriscpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The AFC game gave me a good chance to look at the 811. The motion problems were obvious with the names and numbers on the uniforms. Suprisingly, there are there for both the DVI and the component outputs. I'm really dissapointed and will try to return this box.

Chris

Chriscpm is offline  
post #1119 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 07:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the current best offer by Dish for existing customers for the 811?
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #1120 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Chriscpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Rob Tomlin
What is the current best offer by Dish for existing customers for the 811?
Mine was $399 shipped.

Chris

Chriscpm is offline  
post #1121 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpflepsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NE
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I still believe the 149/199 deal is available, but the product might not be.
gpflepsen is offline  
post #1122 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Apparently I have missed out on this discussion.

What exactly is the "149/199" deal?

Thanks!
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #1123 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 09:38 AM
Member
 
gpttigers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Chriscpm
The AFC game gave me a good chance to look at the 811. The motion problems were obvious with the names and numbers on the uniforms. Suprisingly, there are there for both the DVI and the component outputs. I'm really dissapointed and will try to return this box.
Maybe it is your setup or the box itself. I had zero problems with the picture last night via DVI.
gpttigers is offline  
post #1124 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gpflepsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NE
Posts: 1,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
gpflepsen is offline  
post #1125 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
LesMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cayucos, CA
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no "motion problems" last night via component. I have noticed motion problems on all HD channels when you have not chaged the channel in a long time (>8hrs) Simply changing to another channel and changing back clears the problem for me.

The reason I see this problem at all is that I never turn my 811 off to avoid the dreaded "check switch" problem.

Quote:
Originally posted by Chriscpm
The AFC game gave me a good chance to look at the 811. The motion problems were obvious with the names and numbers on the uniforms. Suprisingly, there are there for both the DVI and the component outputs. I'm really dissapointed and will try to return this box.
LesMoss is offline  
post #1126 of 1126 Old 01-11-2004, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Chriscpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by gpttigers
Maybe it is your setup or the box itself. I had zero problems with the picture last night via DVI.
What type of display are you running. I'm running a 119 inch 16x9 projector, which will show more than even a big rear projection. I'm not sure if there is anything more I can do with the (box?) setup. Any suggestions?

Chris

Chriscpm is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off