Dish Network 811 News (Old topic - PVR 921, 811 & 5000 News) - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
TiVo_Al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the last Charlie Chat you'll eventually need the SuperDish when all the HD channels are moves.

Since it looks like a SuperDish + 821 will be $399 with 1 year commitment to HD package, I'd hold off for awhile.
TiVo_Al is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The 811 will be a better receiver.

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
post #93 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ten 99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And just for an update on this, WHEN is the 811 receiver supposed to be available?

I like that $399 deal, and I'm all over it if they'll just bring it to customers some time soon.

Chris
----------------------------------------------
Ten 99 is offline  
post #94 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 811 is SUPPOSED to be avialable by mid-October but we will see!

As for the statements of $399 for the receiver and Superdish I have yet to hear anything from Dish as to any program like that (I am a Dish Retailer). I do know the stand alone price (receiver be itself) is $399.
FrankS is offline  
post #95 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 07:56 PM
Member
 
AndyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: L.I., NY
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just spoke to an E* CSR and a "order confirmer" (or whatever they call them) and was told that the 811, stand alone, would be $299 for their 'best' customers. I'd like to believe it will be true. Lends credence to the rumoured $399 w/ Super Dish install, though. Who knows, maybe Charlie, in his generousity, will have a really special deal for loyal subs? Time will tell.....
AndyMon is offline  
post #96 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 08:13 PM
DP1
AVS Special Member
 
DP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well in effect the 399.00 will "include" the Superdish because the Superdish will be a "free" upgrade regardless (at least during a certain time frame). Unless I guess if a person has a hard time dealing with the AT-50/HD Pack for 1 year commitment.

Dan

Don't confuse me with facts...
My mind is made up.
;-)
DP1 is offline  
post #97 of 1126 Old 09-20-2003, 08:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ten 99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I sure hope it's true. I'm gonna stay tuned to this thread (and any others) that pop up regarding the new equipment. I'd jump on the 6000 deal, but I'd rather wait for the newer technology STB. I wish they'd let me rent a refurbed or used one for a month though. :)

Chris
----------------------------------------------
Ten 99 is offline  
post #98 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 06:23 AM
Member
 
andr3wpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the 811 / Superdish hardware will support OTA as-is or will you still need a regular mast UHF antenna?

Ditto the 6000u with the 8VSB cartridge.
andr3wpd is offline  
post #99 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any HD STB that supports "over the air" signals will require an antenna.

Did I understand your question correctly?
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #100 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 09:06 AM
Member
 
andr3wpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rob

I am about to invest about $200 in a CM antenna, amp and install in order to receive OTA. I keep reading that the new E* and Voom hardware will integrate OTA in someway, and not just at the receiver level. I am wondering if this will be done by them bolting something on to their dish or running a proprietary / one-size-fits-all antenna thru the dish in some way.

Andrew
andr3wpd is offline  
post #101 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 11:36 AM
Member
 
paulr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perrysburg OH
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by GATER
I just got off the phone with a csr from Dish and they quoted me 149$ for a new 6000, free intallation, and a 1 year commitment to AT50. I have the AT100 so thats no big thing. It doesn't come with the 8vsb, thats another 149$.
Heres the ?. I have a 47" panny HDTV, and 5.1 setup, and Dish 500 right now. I would like to watch OTA HD material and maybe a get the HD program package that Dish offers. Do I go for the 300$ 6000 with 8vsp and free install, or wait for the 811 and whatever deal that has? The csr stated I did not need a new antenna or sat. dish. Is that true? Thanks for the help in advance.
You must have talked to the same guy I had... first he quoted me $149 for the 6000u with the 8psk, then he quoted me $199 for the 600u with the 8psk and 8vsb modules. It's anyone's guess what will appear when the installer comes tomorrow.
paulr is offline  
post #102 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just had to get this off my chest.
As a long term subscriber (at least 7 years) to DISH, this thread has my brain scrambled trying to make sense of it all.

Sure I have the 6000, 2 5000's with HD mods,etc. and it used to be simple to hookup and understand but after reading all of this, is it no wonder that many of my friends are ditching Satellite in favor Cable?

I too am thinking of going the Cable route and ditching my ground station cause this is getting way to complicated for my family to deal with (including me who is looking for simplicity in life)

This is getting so convoluted that Charlie must really want his company to go under. I wonder if there is some hidden agenda where he hopes to get bought out (not sure who that would be though).

When the consumer needs to be an engineer to figure all this sat stuff out but merely needs to hit the 'play/watch' button with cable, is it any wonder that DISH and Directv are going to go the way of the dinosaur?

I have made these comments before and no one ever responds to my comments but hey, in a few years when the Sat companies are bankrupt, I will have already jumped ship to Cable and have something that actually works.

Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #103 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Belcherwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Haymarket, Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just did the deal. 6000u/8vsb installed with all the hardware to go from a two receiver setup to a three receiver setup looking at three satellites for $199. Tried for the preferred sub, but I didn't qualify.

Took a little bit of discussion, but I just kept repeating what I needed and I kept getting the right answers from the CSR.
Belcherwm is offline  
post #104 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 08:25 PM
Member
 
new_hd_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the PVR921 (or any other Dish PVR for that matter), are you required to subscribe to Tivo or some other program guide? Does Dish charge additional monthly fees for using the PVR?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
new_hd_fan is offline  
post #105 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 09:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe Q,

What exactly are you confused about? You subscribe to a year of the TOP50 + HD package and you will get the Superdish and all the equipment you need with a professional installation. The Superdish gets you more HDTV channels and eliminates the need for the second dish (for most customers).

You will need to replace your Dish5000 + modulator receivers because they won't support the Superdish, but you can get fully equipped 6000s with everything needed for $149. Or you can wait and get the more modern 811 at $399 or 921 at $999 come November.

I don't understand why you are confused. The installer will setup the Superdish for you, install the switches, and run the cables. There is nothing you have to do except connect the receiver to your television. Just like cable.

Browsing through some of your earlier posts...

Quote:
I can just go to digital cable, get the Explorer 8000HD (when it ships in the fall) and have Cable PVR,HD recording/timeshifting capability and not have my house look like a ground station.
With Superdish, you'll likely get more HDTV channels than cable -- increasing HDTV capacity is the entire point of the Superdish. Don't hold your breath waiting for the 8000HD from Cox or Comcast this year. And when the 8000HD is more widely deployed next spring, it will only get you ~10 hours of HD recording capacity, and most units will probably lack functional Firewire. Not to mention the fact that the 8000 is incredibly unresponsive/slow compared to the latest Dish and Tivo PVRs.

Of course, the good thing about cable is that it doesn't require any investment. So you can try it, and if you don't like it, switch to something else without losing anything but a month or two of subscription, rental, and pvr fees.
bfdtv is offline  
post #106 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 09:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
For the PVR921 (or any other Dish PVR for that matter), are you required to subscribe to Tivo or some other program guide? Does Dish charge additional monthly fees for using the PVR?
Yes, Echostar recently instituted DVR fees. The DVR fee is $9.99 if you have the TOP50 package, $4.99 if you have the TOP100/TOP150 package, and $0 if you have the Americas Everything package (corrected - thanks FrankS).
bfdtv is offline  
post #107 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bfdtv
Yes, Echostar recently instituted DVR fees. The DVR fee is $9.99 if you have the TOP50 package, $4.99 if you have the TOP100 package, and $0 if you have the TOP150 package.
To get free DVR fees you must have America's Everything pack not just the AT150 pack.
FrankS is offline  
post #108 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those looking to go the Cable HD route let me tell you that I just got a Cable HD box for just my locals (it's cheaper to have locals w/Cable HD box & Cable Internet then just having Cable Internet) and as a bonus I get ESPN-HD. After watching a few days it is quite evident that the compression cable wants (and is doing) is making a quite noticably inferior picture to OTA local HD's and ESPN-HD on Dish! Cable companies are doing their HD channels at 14Mb while Dish is doing the full 19.2Mb and it definately shows!
FrankS is offline  
post #109 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 09:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
To get free DVR fees you must have America's Everything pack not just the AT150 pack.
Thanks, don't know what I was thinking.

Quote:
After watching a few days it is quite evident that the compression cable wants (and is doing) is making a quite noticably inferior picture to OTA local HD's and ESPN-HD on Dish! Cable companies are doing their HD channels at 14Mb while Dish is doing the full 19.2Mb and it definately shows!
I think that depends on the cable company. Some are passing through the full bit rate, while others are not.
bfdtv is offline  
post #110 of 1126 Old 09-22-2003, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I should have indicated the cable company is Comcast.
FrankS is offline  
post #111 of 1126 Old 09-23-2003, 06:40 AM
Member
 
paulr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perrysburg OH
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by paulr
You must have talked to the same guy I had... first he quoted me $149 for the 6000u with the 8psk, then he quoted me $199 for the 600u with the 8psk and 8vsb modules. It's anyone's guess what will appear when the installer comes tomorrow.
Well, the installer has come and gone... I got the 6000u and 8psk module, but the 8vsb module is being shipped from Dish. When I called, I spoke to a very helpful CSR (Kathy, who has 6 kids) who explained that, effective 9/20, any 6000/6000u owner who wants an 8vsb cartridge can get one for free , plus $8.95 s&h. Since I was already expecting to get one for free as part of the package deal, this isn't a big deal, but it's very good news for other 6000 owners. It does mean that I can't watch anything on the local PBS station for the next couple of days, but I suppose that's a small price to pay.

Another thing about this thread: several folks have said that they're waiting for the 811. I had that same thought, but I rationalized it thusly:[list=1][*]I don't have any FireWire or DVI-capable equipment. I won't upgrade my TV until I move it to a media room, which is a couple of years off, so having it now isn't critical.[*]I really want an HD PVR, but my experience with previous Dish PVRs leads me to think that the 921 will be buggy and late. If D* comes out with a better product, I'll buy it. In either case, this 6000u will tide me over nicely until somebody starts selling a decent HD PVR.[*]The 6000u has an RGB output and can drive my analog projector. It's not much of a projector, but it was free, and it works well for movies, so now I can use it for HD and sat content too.[*]The 6000u will retain some residual resale value, so if I want to step up to an 811 or 921 later, I can recoup some of the cost.[*]I could get a 6000u now without waiting :)[/list=1]
paulr is offline  
post #112 of 1126 Old 09-23-2003, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
jamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In looking at the spec sheets posted on the Dishplayer 921 and the Dish 811 receiver, it looks as if the DVI outputs differ. The 811 is specified as having a DVI-D output (great for us Sammy DLP owners) while the 921 looks like it has a DVI-I output that is also labelled as RGB. If this is correct, does this mean that the 921 is putting out an analog signal via DVI? Is this a "solution" to the limited DVI input capabilities of the Sammy DLP's through the use of a DVI-A to RGB cable?
jamiller is offline  
post #113 of 1126 Old 09-23-2003, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jamiller,

DVI-D is only digital. DVI-I means that it can put out both analog and digital; the DVI interface on the 921 would deliver a digital signal to the DVI interface on your Samsung DLP. If you use the RGB mode / DVI-I -> RGB adapter cable, you won't have the full digital path for display on your DLP.
bfdtv is offline  
post #114 of 1126 Old 09-23-2003, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
jamiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx for the reply bfdtv. Your answer suggests that the 921 can output either a digital signal over the DVI connection (best for direct connection to the Sammy) or an analog signal (RGB) over the DVI connection and that the 921 allows one to select which mode to use. Thjis still might be a good alternative for folks with a DVI-out DVD player (931 or D1) and only one DVI input on their sets, i.e. use the RGB mode on the 921 to the TV and use the DVI connection on the TV for the DVD player.......
jamiller is offline  
post #115 of 1126 Old 09-23-2003, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Correct.

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
post #116 of 1126 Old 09-24-2003, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Why professional installation only? I can see it for the defunct 2way system or the DirectWay system. Can't have uplink dishes spraying a signal all over the Clark belt.

But this is a receive dish. What harm comes from improper install?

Wait till the "expert" installer sees this. 11 cables into a patch panel with many switches.

You really expect me to allow some hack in here?
LL

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
post #117 of 1126 Old 09-24-2003, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally posted by letMeIn

I know few people that work for dish and yes they are college graduates with degrees in computer science and engineering . They just work there, since they are fresh out of college with minimal experience and finding jobs in todays market is like playing lotto . Private installers get $100 + per installation. The more crappy jobs they do per day the more $ they make .
Come on, any CS or EE program these days includes job placement. Even lowly tech schools place their students. There is such an accute shortage of hardware engineers these days none should have to resort to installing dishes.

Why don't they work for Dish Enginering. They pay bottom rate too, hence the always large number of openings. But at least they would have an engineering position.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
post #118 of 1126 Old 09-24-2003, 02:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally posted by Glimmie
Why professional installation only? I can see it for the defunct 2way system or the DirectWay system. Can't have uplink dishes spraying a signal all over the Clark belt.

But this is a receive dish. What harm comes from improper install?

Wait till the "expert" installer sees this. 11 cables into a patch panel with many switches.

You really expect me to allow some hack in here?

Hey, what's that far right dish doing? :D

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #119 of 1126 Old 09-24-2003, 02:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JimP
Hey, what's that far right dish doing? :D
Looking around trying to figure out who snapped its picture, obviously. ;)
zvogt is offline  
post #120 of 1126 Old 09-24-2003, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Man, Glimmie, that is hard core. Cool. :cool:

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman

Do you want a nice Keystone Jack panel behind your TV with HDMI, and Toslink? Check This Thread at AVS
Lee L is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off