Roku: HD still image player - Page 41 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Carlton Bale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Indianapolis IN, USA
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The website is slow but I finally managed to download the PDF. Here are the differences:

Thanks for downloading the Roku HD1000 Software Version 2.0.7. There have been many improvements to this software release, we hope you enjoy it!
New Features in 2.0 Beta 1 (2.0.7)
• Many performance enhancements resulting in snappier user interface.
• Native video playback directly from the Browse application.
• Seamless playback of sequential video files.
• Full UTF-8 multilingual support.
• Network software upgrade
• System information panel
• 2GB file size limit removed
• New fast screengrab program for sdk users to capture screenshots of their programs

New Features to be completed before official 2.0 is released
• UPnP A/V support – allows you to access content on UPnP servers utilizing the server’s organization scheme for media.
• Support for PAL modes.
• Internet Radio support (via UPnP Server)
• AAC music format support
• XIMETA Network Attached Storage driver

Bugs Fixed in 2.0 Beta 1
• many audio/video sync issues
• Support for more varied MPEG files

Bugs to be fixed before official 2.0 is released:
• Network scan is SLOW and doesn’t always find all shares
New classes in the Cascade SDK for 2.0 Beta 1
• class CascadeHTTPClient – easy to use http client
• class CascadeHTTPStream – use this for streaming from http
• class CascadeMemoryStream – use this when streaming from memory
• class CascadeMD5, class CascadeCRC32 – use these to generate md5 or crc32 sums
• class CascadeHashTable – an easy to use template class hash table
• class CascadeNewArray – an easy to use template class array
New classes to be added to the Cascade SDK before official 2.0 is released
• class CascadeCodec – base class of Cascade codecs
• class CascadeAudioCodec – base class of audio codecs
• class CascadeAudioCodecWAV, CascadeAudioCodecAIFF, CascadeAudioCodecMP3, CascadeAudioCodecPCM, CascadeAudioCodecAAC – audio codecs
• class CascadeAudioPlayer – a new audio player that supports plug-in codecs, visualization and content streaming from any CascadeStream derived class.
• class CascadeUPnP – an easy to use UPnP class
Carlton Bale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
spearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely an improvement, but doesn't get me what I wanted-- playback of DVDs in normal .vob format.

Folks, the best solution is what I did-- buy a cheap PC from outpost.com ($179) and plug it into your HDTV. Then you get DVD's, HD pictures, music, and EVRYTHING ELSE a regular computer does (play .avi, divx, xvid, and browse the internet!).

________________
Spearse
spearse is offline  
post #1203 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
hummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: mo
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Roku. . .
Thanks for this Christmas Present and we trust
it is a first step to many good things to come.
What this demonstrates is that your hearts are in
the right place and you're attempting to improve
the system. Please keep up the good work.
Hummer
P.S. a Merry Christmas to you and yours
hummer is offline  
post #1204 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 10:22 AM
Member
 
RokuPatrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We will be adding support for vobs in the next release (it's really just allowing a new extension).

Sorry for the website issues, we got hit by a worm (Santy), it should be better now.

Patrick
Sr. Software Engineer, Roku
Visit the Roku Forums
RokuPatrick is offline  
post #1205 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Patrick, is it a hardware limitation of the 30 Mbs stream? I've tried 34 to 40 Mbs streams and the Roku just chokes, does this firmware change any of this?

Thanks

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #1206 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
spearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RokuPatrick-
If by adding .vob support you mean the ability to read the .ifo and play the DVD via DVD menu, then that is great. What I read in the release notes, though, imply you have to rip the dvd as a single file, which really nobody does. You need to do more than just sequentially play .vob files in the next release.

________________
Spearse
spearse is offline  
post #1207 of 1226 Old 12-24-2004, 10:09 PM
Member
 
RokuPatrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It doesn't have to be ripped as a single file, sequentially named files should work fine. I'm not sure about ifos, menus etc.


Re: 30mbps, from what source? SMB, NFS, Compact Flash?

Patrick
Sr. Software Engineer, Roku
Visit the Roku Forums
RokuPatrick is offline  
post #1208 of 1226 Old 12-25-2004, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by RokuPatrick
It doesn't have to be ripped as a single file, sequentially named files should work fine. I'm not sure about ifos, menus etc.


Re: 30mbps, from what source? SMB, NFS, Compact Flash?
Streamed from Satellite via TSReader to the CinemaSIX application across my network.

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #1209 of 1226 Old 12-25-2004, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
spearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rokupatrick,
Like I said, playing sequential .vob files won't do. Unless you can read native DVD format .ifo or menus, my Roku is still worthless to me. I don't see what you're trying to solve by simply allowing a .vob to play. DVD playback should be your obvious goal. Or isn't it obvious?

________________
Spearse
spearse is offline  
post #1210 of 1226 Old 12-25-2004, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by vfrjim
Patrick, is it a hardware limitation of the 30 Mbs stream? I've tried 34 to 40 Mbs streams and the Roku just chokes, does this firmware change any of this?

Thanks
I think it's a limitation due to a combination of the speed of the network connection (100Mbps) and the limited available memory of the HD1000. I know that in theory a 100Mbps connection should be fast enough, but I think that in the real world it perhaps doesn't provide enough headroom for higher bitrate streams. This is especially true when you factor in the Roku HD1000s very limited onboard memory. With the HD1000s extremely limited memory you get very little buffering of the stream. Therefore if there's the slightest interruption or pause of the stream, you run into problems with glitches in the playback. Anway, I suspect the only way this could really be fixed would be either by increasing the speed of the connection to 1000Mbps, adding more memory to the HD1000 to buffer the stream, or a combination of both. Anyway, that's just my opinion on the matter and others may disagree, but I really believe that if Roku added gigabit support to the HD1000 and doubled it's ram, it would probably greatly improve the HD1000s performance in playing back HD streams.

Nowadays ram is cheap, and gigabit PCI cards can be had for as low as $30-$40. If you can buy a PCI gigabit adapter for this price, you know the chips used on those cards are probably a great deal cheaper than this. So adding a Gigabit ethernet chip and maybe 32MB more ram to the HD1000 would probably add less than $50, at most, to the cost of the unit. I think it would likely be worth it and if Roku introduced a new model tomorrow with those 2 enhancemants, I'd be first in line to buy one.
Stefan is offline  
post #1211 of 1226 Old 12-25-2004, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still don't understand why you'd have an HD stream that's 30Mbps or more. Broadcast HDTV is 19.2 Mbps. Cable HDTV goes up to around 15Mbps for the better channels. D-THEATER tapes are like 25Mbps.

So is this just a C-band Satellite thing? Or are you getting Blue-Ray discs from the future delivered via time warp?
jimre is offline  
post #1212 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 04:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jimre
I still don't understand why you'd have an HD stream that's 30Mbps or more. Broadcast HDTV is 19.2 Mbps. Cable HDTV goes up to around 15Mbps for the better channels. D-THEATER tapes are like 25Mbps.

So is this just a C-band Satellite thing? Or are you getting Blue-Ray discs from the future delivered via time warp?
It's just what is being broadcasted, I wish that they would drop the rate, but it does look sweet via software and would really like to decode it via the Roku device because it does take a good computer to do it via software.

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #1213 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by vfrjim
It's just what is being broadcasted, I wish that they would drop the rate, but it does look sweet via software and would really like to decode it via the Roku device because it does take a good computer to do it via software.
WHO is broadcasting at that rate?
jimre is offline  
post #1214 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jimre
WHO is broadcasting at that rate?
Feeds(raw) of many Broadcasters, before the local stations compress/rebroadcast them.

Jim

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #1215 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the only folks who will see bitrates that high (for the forseeable future) are folks with C-band satellites, right? The vast majority of us (edit: just realized that's funny - the "vast majority" of the tiny minority who have HD in the first place) will never see anything higher than 19.2 Mbps, at least not until we start getting our super-duper-ultra-HD movies on Blue-ray in a few years...
jimre is offline  
post #1216 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vfrjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jimre
So the only folks who will see bitrates that high (for the forseeable future) are folks with C-band satellites, right? The vast majority of us (edit: just realized that's funny - the "vast majority" of the tiny minority who have HD in the first place) will never see anything higher than 19.2 Mbps, at least not until we start getting our super-duper-ultra-HD movies on Blue-ray in a few years...
I would say that you are right since all the stations usually want to divide thier bandwidth into "sub-channels" to get more bang for the buck. All the LSD, cable and local broadcasters need to keep the space used to a minimum and most viewers will not notice the "compression" of the signal.

Support C-band, the only true satellite signal, More information HERE
vfrjim is offline  
post #1217 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr_mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Brighton, CO
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jimre
at least not until we start getting our super-duper-ultra-HD movies on Blue-ray in a few years...
I thought Blu-Ray and HD-DVD were both due by next Christmas.

You are indeed a wise man! - TotallyPreWired
dr_mal is offline  
post #1218 of 1226 Old 12-26-2004, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure - and we'll probably also see Microsoft Longhorn by then, too. Maybe even then final Roku HD1000 2.0 release, too :-)
jimre is offline  
post #1219 of 1226 Old 12-27-2004, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Loker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This third party app has been updated and will play .vob without renaming them. Also has some tweaks to just show you the 1st .vob file and then play sequentially from there. A lot more info in the Roku Forum Beta forum.

http://home.pacbell.net/mar_ross/roku/MPlay.207.zip
Chris Loker is offline  
post #1220 of 1226 Old 02-02-2005, 02:14 PM
Member
 
KillaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by vfrjim
Patrick, is it a hardware limitation of the 30 Mbs stream? I've tried 34 to 40 Mbs streams and the Roku just chokes, does this firmware change any of this?

Thanks
I don't have an HD1000 to test with yet but I think Stefan may be right about the problem being LAN performance related.

I just read over the latest TSReader readme and noticed Rod quotes the Roku being able to handle up to around 50Mbps streams.
http://www.coolstf.com/tsreader/readme.html
KillaB is offline  
post #1221 of 1226 Old 02-02-2005, 03:02 PM
Member
 
marcelo3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

Or visit the Official MPlay webpage:
http://www.permanence.com/MPlay/index.html

M.-
marcelo3d is offline  
post #1222 of 1226 Old 03-07-2005, 07:38 PM
Member
 
flabingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Port St Lucie Florida
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have owned the unit for six months and have only used it for showing still pictures with the flash memory card. I am hopeful that your software can fulfill the promises that were made a year ago. Can I transfer a file from my Replay TV through the ethernet port and play it back on the Roku unit using your software? I would be happy to support your effort as I better understand your program. Are the people at Roku willing to support your efforts financially? David
flabingo is offline  
post #1223 of 1226 Old 03-07-2005, 09:45 PM
Member
 
marcelo3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by flabingo
I am hopeful that your software can fulfill the promises that were made a year ago.
Hey, we did not promise anything a year ago! I did not even have an HD1000 back then :)
Quote:
Can I transfer a file from my Replay TV through the ethernet port and play it back on the Roku unit using your software?
I think you can, but I don't have the details. Drop by the Roku forums, I think there are a couple of users that frequent it and have a Replay.
Quote:
I would be happy to support your effort as I better understand your program. Are the people at Roku willing to support your efforts financially? David
All contributions are greatly appreciated, but no one should feel obligated. (actually, most people don't feel anything :) ) Definitely try MPlay and let us know what you think.
Our development effort is totally independent from Roku LLC and so far they haven't contributed financially, and that is fine with us.
They do give us technical support when we get in trouble, though.

M.-
marcelo3d is offline  
post #1224 of 1226 Old 04-07-2005, 06:36 PM
Member
 
TrainWreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
14 months after I purchased it my Photobridge has gone dead. No lights, no sound, no picture. Dead. I'm sure the warranty has expired by now. But the part that really angers me is that the thing has NEVER worked right. It was great that they rebated us when the price dropped but the software has never been close to right and now that Roku us finally paying attention to this product again the F ing thing dies! Moral of the story is never buy a product from a start up... :mad: :mad: :mad:

Ray

Once you pull the pin, Mr. Grenade is no longer your friend
TrainWreck is offline  
post #1225 of 1226 Old 04-07-2005, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imlucid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or... Never buy a product in the hopes that it will do something in the future. The Dish 921 HD PVR is one of those prime examples where the pre-hype never matched the end product :(

-- Kevin Arnold
-- CouchPotato Software Engineer
-- High Tech Luddite searching for simpler times...
-- My job IS my hobbie :D

HT Equipment
My HomePage
imlucid is offline  
post #1226 of 1226 Old 04-08-2005, 08:23 AM
djs
AVS Special Member
 
djs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bolton, MA
Posts: 1,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you buy it with a C/C that doubles the manufacturers warranty? The Roku carries a 12-month warranty - I know, because mine failed after 11 months.

You should try contacting Roku anyway - maybe they'll be in a good mood and replace it.
djs is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off