Hughes HTL-HD! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alacazam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any specifications on this unit? How does it compare with the New LG 3200A and Sony SAT 300 as far as features?
alacazam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 07:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's going to be built by LG, like the Sony, so the assumption is that it will be very similar to the current LG & Sony products.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alacazam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City has it in stock now and it is VERY Inexpensive. Thats what makes me wonder if it could possibly be the SAME or CLOSE to the same as the LG and Sony???????
alacazam is offline  
post #4 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmmm...

Now that I look at the price and specs, it looks like a low price alternative. Unfortunately the CC web site does not have much info.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
alacazam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, A low price alternative IF it is the same unit. I would like to order one if I could find out IF they are the same or at the very least a few more features like DVI, Component Out, Optical Digital Output etc.???
alacazam is offline  
post #6 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jaypb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Monroe Twp NJ
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by JFerg
No RF Remote
I was somewhat surprised to see this just "pop up" on Circuit City's site. Great price though. I can live without the RF remote....I'm more interested in the menus/on screen guide. If this is supposed to be a "re-branded" LG/Sony....I havne't tested any current generation receivers other than the Hughes GCEBO's?GAEBOA'S....so am I to assume the on-screen graphics/menus won't be like the current Hughes receivers ?!?!:confused:
jaypb is offline  
post #7 of 1251 Old 10-31-2003, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
HD_JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City is selling the new Hughes for $370 which is $200 less than the HD300. I was told by D* Engineering back in July that the forthcoming Hughes HD receiver was to be built my LG. I suspect its built on the HD300/LSS-3200A chassis but with such a price difference I also suspect its a bit feature stripped.

JFERG has already hinted that the Hughes will not include the RF remote option. My guess is that it doesn't stop there. Maybe other things are removed or scaled back.... I could suggest a few things, but wouldn't want to speculate.

Assuming the Hughes is the same as the Sony/LG now I understand more why the HD300 price dropped $130 within the first month of release. That said, I would suspect the Sony and LG to be in the $450 price range before year end!!!

I sure hope someone buys one of these new Hughes boxes real soon and does a compare to the Sony/LG. I've still got about 27 days to do an exhange with CC.
HD_JUNKIE is offline  
post #8 of 1251 Old 11-01-2003, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Lefty4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got off the phone with Hughes tech support that they confirmed that the HTL-HD has the following:

1 DVI Output
1 Component Output
1 S-Video Out
2 RCA Outputs

Only 3 Day Guide
No Caller ID
No Closed Captioning
NO RF

I'm still considering this receiver instead of the Sony or LG. I don't need RF and I let TIVO handle all of my guide questions. The questions about guide speed and antenna frequency will have to wait until someone actually get hold of one. Anyone?
Lefty4 is offline  
post #9 of 1251 Old 11-01-2003, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Lefty4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Almost forgot, Optical audio out but no coax.
Lefty4 is offline  
post #10 of 1251 Old 11-01-2003, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What about an audible digital tuner?
bhambrad is offline  
post #11 of 1251 Old 11-01-2003, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
DVI but no RGB/VGA? What a shame.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #12 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 12:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
DVI is required by DirecTV.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #13 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 12:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Circuit City Web Page:
http://www.circuitcity.com/detail.js...rk_6&oid=81891

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #14 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 03:13 PM
 
openhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it the Next Reciever upgrade since the E86

Does it have Local OTA ATSC Digital Tuner ?
openhouse is offline  
post #15 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 04:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,301
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1203 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Very reasonably priced. Might be worth checking out.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #16 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Huntington Beach,CA
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 107
i saw a new hughes HD receiver today at CC,OTA only,no DVI.nothing fancy.actually kinda cheap looking
**check that=it was motorola** doh!

hobbs47 is offline  
post #17 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 06:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
seldenpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Selden, NY
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by hobbs47
i saw a new hughes HD receiver today at CC,OTA only,no DVI.nothing fancy.actually kinda cheap looking
**check that=it was motorola** doh!
This post confuses me...

Is this a post for the Hughes (that the thread is about) that provides me potentially inaccurate information based on the link that Ken posted, or some Motorola that I have never heard of?

"The truth is you're the weak. And I'm the tyranny of evil men. But I'm tryin', Ringo. I'm tryin' real hard to be the shepherd."
seldenpat is offline  
post #18 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
HD_JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's one point made by the Hughes rep you spoke with that leads me to believe they don't know what they're talking about.....That is their claim of "no closed captioning". I think this is required by law......

Anyway, here's the questions I'd like answered:

1) Is this indeed built on the same chassis as the new LG and Sony?
2) Does it support ATSC, D* and cable/off air inputs that can all be mixed (like the LG and Sony)?
3) Does it support simultaneous 480i output
4) Does it include aspect ratio control of 1080i material?
5) Can 480/720/1080 be switched via remote?
6) 3 or 7 day guide?
7) VCR control?



Quote:
Originally posted by Lefty4
Just got off the phone with Hughes tech support that they confirmed that the HTL-HD has the following:

1 DVI Output
1 Component Output
1 S-Video Out
2 RCA Outputs

Only 3 Day Guide
No Caller ID
No Closed Captioning
NO RF

I'm still considering this receiver instead of the Sony or LG. I don't need RF and I let TIVO handle all of my guide questions. The questions about guide speed and antenna frequency will have to wait until someone actually get hold of one. Anyone?
HD_JUNKIE is offline  
post #19 of 1251 Old 11-02-2003, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhambrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chelsea, AL
Posts: 1,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think he is talking about a new hughes stb that is over the air only and not a directv model.
bhambrad is offline  
post #20 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 05:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,301
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1203 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
The main thrust of this thread is the new HUGHES HD D* sat receiver for just $369 (not a Motorola, not an OTA only box). I would be shocked if the Hughes didn't receive OTA HD, since I've never seen a D* HD STB that couldn't do this. I would also be shocked if this is another SonyHD300/LG clone, I'm sure it isn't. It will be very interesting to hear reports from those folks that get it. I may be wrong, but it seems that prior Hughes boxes didn't have many of the problems that some of the other STBs do. However, I would be surprised if the upconversion to 1080i is done as well as the LG versions. I think this capability probably drives up the price somewhat, but who knows?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #21 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jaypb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Monroe Twp NJ
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hopefully they upgraded their cooling fan capability as well. Most Hughes HD STB owners *probably* want to know this ahead of time as well :confused:
jaypb is offline  
post #22 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
HD_JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suspect the new Hughes will run much cooler without the need for fans. My new Sony HD300 runs cool and has no fans. Processing power and specialized digital TV components have improved significantly over the last 2+ years.


Quote:
Originally posted by jaypb
Hopefully they upgraded their cooling fan capability as well. Most Hughes HD STB owners *probably* want to know this ahead of time as well :confused:
HD_JUNKIE is offline  
post #23 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JFerg
Well, their tech support is WRONG. There is also a RGB output. The APG is 7 days. It HAS Closed Captioning.
Are you confirming that it is built by LG?

Does it have simultaneous HD and SD output?

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
post #24 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
krboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pearland, south of Houston
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just put $80 down at Circuit City to lock in price. They said it should be here Friday. The price in the computer was $599 for existing customers and $549 for new, but they matched the website's price. Salesman had no idea about this receiver and also didn't know how long the price would be $369. I will post more once installed.
krboo is offline  
post #25 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
gmshoemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by krboo
Just put $80 down at Circuit City to lock in price. They said it should be here Friday. The price in the computer was $599 for existing customers and $549 for new, but they matched the website's price. Salesman had no idea about this receiver and also didn't know how long the price would be $369. I will post more once installed.
What would be $369? This is a typo, right?

Gary

|||--Sony SATHD300
Component
|==============Sony HS10--->100" Firehawk---> eyeballs
DVI
|-------Bravo D1
gmshoemaker is offline  
post #26 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
krboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pearland, south of Houston
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City is now selling the new Hughes receiver for $369 on their website. I haven't seen this box in any of their stores. They showed me the price in their computer at $599, but they matched their website's price.
krboo is offline  
post #27 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
gmshoemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by krboo
Circuit City is now selling the new Hughes receiver for $369 on their website. I haven't seen this box in any of their stores. They showed me the price in their computer at $599, but they matched their website's price.
Sorry, I thought I was on an HD300 thread. Almost had a heart attack, my 30 days was up yesterday. :-)

Gary

|||--Sony SATHD300
Component
|==============Sony HS10--->100" Firehawk---> eyeballs
DVI
|-------Bravo D1
gmshoemaker is offline  
post #28 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,301
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1203 Post(s)
Liked: 1367
Krboo, great deal! I'm very curious to see how it works out for you. I'd be amazed if this was an LG unit in different clothing, but I guess you never know. Good luck!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #29 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 07:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Budget_HT
Are you confirming that it is built by LG?
Read the HDTV STB Synopsis.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #30 of 1251 Old 11-03-2003, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Uther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken and JFerg, good crossposts, but there are still a few things that aren't confirmed. Is scaling controllable via remote? Is A/R selectable via DVI? What other features are missing on this versus the LG/Sony models? Also, doesn't APG by definition mean that the guide integrates local, cable, and D* channels into one guide?
Uther is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off