VOOM Hardware User Reports! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
HollywoodSurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"I don't see why. Dish or DirecTV will not swap out your boxes for a new connection, so I can't imagine why VOOM would. I've also seen nothing firm about the next VOOM box having HDMI. Was this something you saw or read?"

Both Dish and D* were members of the HDMI Working Group so I expect them to go with HDMI. The assumption is that if they believe HDMI advantagous in order to transmit PP and PPV HD content, so will VOOM.
HollywoodSurfer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally posted by HollywoodSurfer
"I don't see why. Dish or DirecTV will not swap out your boxes for a new connection, so I can't imagine why VOOM would. I've also seen nothing firm about the next VOOM box having HDMI. Was this something you saw or read?"

Both Dish and D* were members of the HDMI Working Group so I expect them to go with HDMI. The assumption is that if they believe HDMI advantagous in order to transmit PP and PPV HD content, so will VOOM.
Well it's one thing going along with HDMI and it's an entirely different thing to swap out all the existing boxes. That was the original point. Do you really expect D* or E to do this when their first HDMI box comes out? As with most new technology, you want it, you buy it!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #183 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 06:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Compromise
I actually asked the HDCP question here and I believe it is an important reqution. I just signed up for this service and it is to be installed next Monday. It is a problem for people with Pio 503CMX plasma displays, as the DVI is not HDCP compliant. It is a hardware issue, and this is a hardware forum thread for the VOOM box. I do not think the discussion is irrelevant.
I have the same. Get used to Components for other than PC DVI. I have tried the Bravo & Sat 520 & no luck.

As far as HDMI goes, there will be DVI adapters.

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #184 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 08:33 PM
Member
 
mejensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Altos Hills, CA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just had a followup call from a Voom rep in Spokane for my install yesterday. She said the money back return has been extended to 3/31/2004. This is extremely good news.

Mark
mejensen is offline  
post #185 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 08:38 PM
Member
 
mejensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Altos Hills, CA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H
A guess, but I think so.
The answer is yes. I ran a second line from the 61.5 lnb which I use for dish to the voom box and I have signal levels above 50.

Mark
mejensen is offline  
post #186 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
HollywoodSurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After receiving a Noon to 5:00pm install time, the installer showed up at 4:40pm and said he needed 5 hours for the install. Told him I had evening plans (Heat-Wizzards game), so he split. Called yesterday to have the installer give me a tighter window. No call back today. ZOOM needs to work on the installation SOPs.
HollywoodSurfer is offline  
post #187 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
HollywoodSurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Do you really expect D* or E to do this when their first HDMI box comes out? As with most new technology, you want it, you buy it!"

Makes good business sense to upgrade for free. DBS companies further profit on HD PPV and PP. They will tie new HDMI enabled STBs with upgraded HD-content subscriptions.
HollywoodSurfer is offline  
post #188 of 1193 Old 11-14-2003, 11:14 PM
Member
 
mitti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by JimP
Tell us more about your projector. You might be able to use a scaler to go from 480i to 1080i, but if your projector doesn't do anything over 480i, I don't see what good a scaler will do for you.

Jim
Well, it does go resolutions above 480i, it's just missing 480p. It's very silly, here's what I can do via input and you'll see what I'm talking about:

S-Video: 480i only
Component: 480i ( I maybe able to do 720p and 1080i, but not 480p )
PC Input: upto 1248x1024 (1024x768 displayed)
DVI: 720p, 1080i and PC input (but no HDCP)

I'm not certain about the component's abilities yet.. This is basically my hang up. I don't want to buy VOOM until I certain I can even display HD.. I certainly don't have enough money for a scaler and the $750 for VOOM..

-Aaron
mitti is offline  
post #189 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 03:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Mitti
Since your projector has 720p and 1080i through your DVI cable, you're getting HD scan rates . Am I missing something??

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #190 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 04:30 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally posted by mejensen
I just had a followup call from a Voom rep in Spokane for my install yesterday. She said the money back return has been extended to 3/31/2004. This is extremely good news.
are you sure about this?

what I heard is that the free programming offer had been extended to 3/31/2004 but the money back return period is still only 30 days

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #191 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 06:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally posted by HollywoodSurfer
"Do you really expect D* or E to do this when their first HDMI box comes out? As with most new technology, you want it, you buy it!"

Makes good business sense to upgrade for free. DBS companies further profit on HD PPV and PP. They will tie new HDMI enabled STBs with upgraded HD-content subscriptions.
Mabye true, but nobody does it in this business.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #192 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 06:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Great news! It does appear the money back guarantee on VOOM has been extended to the end of March. Everyone that has been calling has been able to verify this. All customers of VOOM as of 1/1/04 will have until the end of March to decide whether to keep the system or not. I personally haven't called, but Wilt has confirmed there were discussions underway about extending the guarantee.

This is quite a commitment by these folks and, as far as I know, unparalleled in this industry!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #193 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 06:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Ken

This is a cut and paste from Wil over at the yahoogroups. Do you have anything more definitive?

"Okay, I can’t confirm anything here but I can tell you all a couple of things that *are* facts:
1. We have been discussing the state of things and the extension of the “30 day†offer,
2. It has been through the ranks and I think is going to be, or may already be, put into effect but I’m not positive so I won’t/can’t confirm or deny,
3. But, if it is, it’s for all who have the service.
That help at all? I’m sure that after the weekend, on Monday, a normal business day, the confirmations will flow, one way or the other, but all the speculation here won’t effect that. ;-)
Wilt"

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #194 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 06:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Jim, only the responses that everyone has been getting when calling VOOM. There appears to be a consistency in response from the CSRs that is encouraging. One guy had called and was told "no" by the CSR UNTIL the caller asked him to check. The CSR came back and said "I'm sorry, I wasn't aware of the change, yes, it has been extended"....I'm paraphrasing.

BTW, I started another thread on this subject since I thought it was unquestionably an important enough topic to stand alone.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #195 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 07:09 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 284
this would be very welcome news for all

it gives VOOM a chance to "tweak" their system and add more HD content

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #196 of 1193 Old 11-15-2003, 08:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mejensen
The answer is yes. I ran a second line from the 61.5 lnb which I use for dish to the voom box and I have signal levels above 50.
Thanks. Friday I'll do the same.

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #197 of 1193 Old 11-16-2003, 07:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We'll phase 1 complete. I DirecTV box gone, 508 moved to the family room. (Still on the SW64 but w/o 61.5 - actually half of 61.5 until Fri). One side of 61.5 going to a Dish 5000 for recording (working perfectly). The Sat520 comes down Fri when VOOM gets turned on.

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #198 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Broderick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Huntington Station, NY, USA
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken Ross
This is quite a commitment by these folks and, as far as I know, unparalleled in this industry!
I don't know if I'd call it a "commitment". If just makes sense. They haven't gotten all of their programming up yet (not necessarily through any fault of their own) and it doesn't look like all of the promised programming will be up until early next year (once again, not necessarily through any fault of their own).

Without this programming being available, more people would be likely to cancel the service than if the programming was available.

What they are really saying is "Don't quit on us yet. It will get better."

I think that this is a good business decision. It doesn't cost them anything to allow people to continue to receive the service, while uninstalls and $750 refunds would be very expensive.
Bill Broderick is offline  
post #199 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 11:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Broderick
I think that this is a good business decision. It doesn't cost them anything to allow people to continue to receive the service, while uninstalls and $750 refunds would be very expensive.
Let's put it this way Bill, I think they are doing the "right thing". How many companies do the "right thing" these days? I certainly agree with you that it's a good business decision too, but it's still the right thing to do. I sound like Wilber Brimley (sp.?).
Ken Ross is offline  
post #200 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Compromise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Be ready, however, for install fiasco. Voom contracts Installs Inc., who in return contracts other companies such as Direct Broadcast Ltd.

I was scheduled today for 8:00 am to 12:00 noon install. No one ever called or showed up. I called Voom at 9:30, and a supervisor, Moriah Wenning, gave me the run around:

"you need to wait until 12:00 because they may show up a any time between 8 and 12"
"the are probably installing someone else, you will have to wait"
"I cannot give you that information (Installs Inc phone number)"
"We will call you back" never does,
etc., etc.

I called again about 12:00 and the new supervisor (whos name I didn't bother to write down) said it was Installs Inc fault, not Vooms. I indicated that they contract them. And while they are at it, who is going to pay for my used vacation day to sit around at home with my thumb you know where.

He said someone would call by 1:00 pm, it is now 12:30 and no call (I will edit at 1:00)
(Edit: now 1:00 pm, still no call)

Moral: Do not expect an install to be easy. Expect to waste many days trying to make it happen. Your time will cost more than the box.


Boat name: Summer Compromise; Power train: twin 490 HP (w ATI Prochargers); A/V: sufficient
Compromise is offline  
post #201 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Innova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mosinee, WI
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, because they contract out, there is no garuntee on what you will get. I will say that I had an excellent install. The installers were on-time, nice, and set everything up, just how I wanted.

But it is a crapshoot.
Innova is offline  
post #202 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 12:57 PM
Member
 
undercoverbrotha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had an excellent install as well as a follow up call. Great service!

I'm a bad mutha ( Shut yo mouth)...I'm just talking about HDTV
undercoverbrotha is offline  
post #203 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Compromise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys are lucky! I am still waiting for anything, giving up.


Boat name: Summer Compromise; Power train: twin 490 HP (w ATI Prochargers); A/V: sufficient
Compromise is offline  
post #204 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Noah Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a free wire from my satellite that I currently use for D*. Can I just hook up a Voom receiver to that wire and get reception? Would I have to reposition the satellite, thereby losing most of my D* service?
Noah Johnson is offline  
post #205 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 03:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
You can't use the same dish for D* and VOOM. I'm not sure what your "free wire" is attached to on the other end, but if there's no connection at the dish, an installer probably could use that line to connect to the VOOM dish and the other end to the VOOM receiver.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #206 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 04:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
zvogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken Ross
You can't use the same dish for D* and VOOM.
But one can use an E* dish and lnb to receive VOOM, correct?
(Assuming a target of 61.5)
zvogt is offline  
post #207 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
zmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: elon college, n.c. usa
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by wilth2001
Mark,
I'm specifically talking about these very boxes, the very same ones, no worries there. :-)

As to one of the other things here, right now there's a download of new code, planned for the 17th of this month that should address many of the intermittencies, channel changing with no picture or no sound as well as some of the lockups--I don't know if the DD fix will make it in this time--so you all should see some improvements on that stuff as well after that. No actions necessary by anyone, it will be automatic.
Thanks,
Wilt
Any news of this update?

Will VOOM ever allow a self install. I cannot wait hours for an installer to show!

nick
zmeister is offline  
post #208 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 06:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Zvogt, yes you can use the E dish, there are several people doing that as I understand it.

Zmeister, they've delayed the software update a bit. Apparently they are refining the code a bit prior to sending it. However, today I've noticed that VOOM is about as stable as I've seen it. I watched a Woody Allen movie from start to finish without any kind of video/audio hiccup.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #209 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
zmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: elon college, n.c. usa
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ken!

I am interested in this but since I'll have to cough up more $$$ for a transcoder &or component switcher, I'd like to think it will at least work half way decent....

I still have an issue with the lack of selfinstall.....I had a buddy of mine supposed to get a PACE HD cable box installed today but he waited almost 3 hours and the idiot installer put in a SD box instead. When my friend asked him about when TWC was going to get ESPN HD and the guy said that it was already available, he had seen it on a previous install. NOT TRUE!

nick
zmeister is offline  
post #210 of 1193 Old 11-17-2003, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Compromise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by zmeister

I still have an issue with the lack of selfinstall.....
Well, I am still waiting for the installer (see earlier issue here ) I agree the lack of selfinstall is a huge problem.

To finish the earlier story, I found out that for my particular location VOOM contracts with Installs, Inc., who contracts with Direct Broadcast Ltd., who then contracts with some independent guy who lives 60 miles from here.

When I finally tracked down the guy, it was 3:30 this afternoon. He said he'd call back in 15 min after he spoke with "his boss". One hour went by, he called back, and said it was too late today and couldn't do it until Saturaday.

By the way Direct Broadcast admitted to Installs, Inc. that they forgot to schedule the job today. I asked what about my vacation day, who will pay? As I sat around all day. Voom answer: take it up with Installs Inc.
Installs Inc answer: take it up with DBL
Installers answer: TFB

On to Saturday


Boat name: Summer Compromise; Power train: twin 490 HP (w ATI Prochargers); A/V: sufficient
Compromise is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off