Samsung 360 problems: Yes or No - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 02-19-2004, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just thought this would be interesting with all the discussion lately about this box. I know it will probably be skewed, but please vote even if you have had no problems with your initial unit.
Sid
labmansid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 02-20-2004, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
As far as I can tell, the audio/video dropouts are just momentary versions of the problem that eventually turns into the '745 problem', so I voted for '745' rather than '3 and 4'. I will not know better for sure until I return home this weekend and do tests.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 02-20-2004, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
patrickpiteo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Middle Village
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the color fade problem and the no information on the guide problem. Both are not listed here.
patrickpiteo is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 02-20-2004, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured the color fade would fit under the Audio and/or Video problem.
Sid
labmansid is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 02-22-2004, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
labmansid is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 02-22-2004, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
ArchieGates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVI port is completely worthless. Crushes blacks and picture is extremely dark through DVI. As far as I can tell, this is the case on every T360.

EDIT: Nevermind! I was thinking of the T160, not the 360 which I don't have. Sorry for the misinformation.

Listen to my songs about games at: www.archiegates.com
ArchieGates is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 02-22-2004, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My problems are completely gone since I moved the receiver off the top of my amplifier.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 02-24-2004, 08:15 AM
Member
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA reception is very poor to useless.

Red
RedNecker is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 03-01-2004, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, OTA on this box definately seems to be a low priority in Samsung's collective mind. :mad:
Sid
labmansid is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 03-06-2004, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump
labmansid is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 03-06-2004, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've got DVI-HDCP sync issues and it's a major problem. I voted as such.

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 03-06-2004, 03:05 PM
Member
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a setting in the TS-360 to reduce the volume of the Commercials. Since I got the DirecTV HD option the Commercials are about 6db louder than the programs.

Anyone else notice the extremely loud commercial problem.

I do not know if this is the TS-360 or DirecTV.

Red
RedNecker is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 03-06-2004, 10:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 646
OTA air reception is much better than my DSt3000. If the 360 reception is supposed to be bad then I hope the HDTivo has even better reception because this 360 has worked great for not dropping the OTA signal with a low signal strength.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 03-07-2004, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Audio was cutting out with the coax digital connection. Jiggling the connector on the 360 would get it back. Switched to fiber cable and been good since. Had to re-position my in-attic antenna to get the digital stations and still don't get them all, not getting PBS and UPN.

Was getting digital OTA video drop-outs yesterday afternoon for the first time, seemed to be due to storm activity.

For better digital OTA reception I'll probably have to go to an outside antenna.

Jim
Jim Clark is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 03-08-2004, 07:22 PM
Member
 
jwiatt000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently puchased an NEC 42VP4, 42" plasma EDTV display, taking advantage of the AVS forum special buy from 1800plasmas.com. The NEC was giving my excellent PQ from my older DirecTV box, using S-Video. I use component cables for my DVD.

So, the next logical step was to get an HDTV STB. Even though the NEC is EDTV, it should work well with HD input.

So, I ordered and HDTV STB DirecTV on March 2 and it was delivered and installed today, March 8. DirecTV would not specify what STB I would get. I am a DirecTV customer since 1995, so was able to get the $99.00 deal.


I was not at home when a new Sammy 360 was delivered and professionally installed -- my wife was home.

The DVI output will not work on the NEC because the NEC is NOT HDCP complaint. So I am left to using component out to the NEC. This works fine -- good PQ on SD and excellent PQ for HD.

The problem is with the audio. There is some delay -- like watching a foreign language film dubbed in English.

I am at a loss on troubleshooting this problem. Would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.
jwiatt000 is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 03-08-2004, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary Whitaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EDTV's only support up to 720p. Have you experimented with Resolution Mode = 720p, 480p, Native mode 1 or 3, and Output Mode (front panel also) = Component Out? Also verify that your aspect ratio set to your screen size.
Gary Whitaker is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 03-09-2004, 06:19 AM
Member
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Clark
Audio was cutting out with the coax digital connection. Jiggling the connector on the 360 would get it back. Switched to fiber cable and been good since. Had to re-position my in-attic antenna to get the digital stations and still don't get them all, not getting PBS and UPN.

Was getting digital OTA video drop-outs yesterday afternoon for the first time, seemed to be due to storm activity.


Jim
I use optical audio & I get the drop outs. 1st week none, 2nd week 2 or 3 a day on HD, 3rd week several per day on HD & SD.

Sometimes the audio will only come back only after I switch channels & break the audio stream, then switch back & the audio is back.

I have SS 96-100 on all channels.


Red
RedNecker is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 03-09-2004, 10:16 AM
Member
 
waremg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My OTA reception was bad as well, but a tech came out and after some tinkering - he had a vision. He went up and turned the antenna around 180 degrees and everything came in just fine!

It was the antenna D* has provided, maybe the orginal tech had it pointing the wrong way. It was an odd situation, Fox CHannel 11 had a signal strength of 45% but no picture, which he said was very strange.

Not the only HD OTA channel I don't get is 13, which is UPN.

Over all my TS360 has had a few very brief audio drops but has been solid otherwise. PQ via the DVI port is excellent, but then again I have no other HD picture to compare.

Mark
waremg is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 03-13-2004, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Red:

Do you have the 360 in a nice open spot with good ventilation? It seems like a lot of 360 problems may be due to overheating. Mine has always been sitting on top of my equipment rack with open air all around.

It seems that my problem was a bad connection inside the box to the coax connector because jiggling the connector would get it back. Optical has been fine.

Jim
Jim Clark is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 03-13-2004, 10:12 AM
Member
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jim;

My TS-360 is on 1" standoffs & runs completely cool. Only has one slightly warm spot & that is near the rightside & near the rear. It runs cooler than most electronic devices.

Heat is not the problem, it may make it worse.

Red
RedNecker is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 04-06-2004, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow, just got my SIR-TS360 connected. It worked great for a few minutes then I started getting video dropouts and thought I would check here to see if others are having the problems. I have great signal strength on all three satellites and OTA is surprisingly strong since I am about 60 miles from the tower with my old rooftop antenna. Was able to get all channels I hoped for but darn the dropouts make it unusable. Oh well, this is my first HDTV STB and I shouldn't be surprised it won't work reliably. My 360 is well ventilated and in the open.

Chris
Chris Gerhard is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 04-06-2004, 02:12 PM
Member
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome to the club. You are not alone. Hundreds have that problem.

Red
RedNecker is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 04-27-2004, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any new reports??
labmansid is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 04-28-2004, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisW6ATV
My problems are completely gone since I moved the receiver off the top of my amplifier.
Silly me... I should have known that as soon as hot weather arrived, I would have problems. My '360' became a '745' again, when the temperature went above 90 degrees here. :(

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 04-28-2004, 04:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
steeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh Steeler country Hamilton, Va
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would be interested in seeing how many people are experiencing OTA signal meter problems. Is it possible to add this problem to your poll or can a new pole be started????
steeler is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 04-28-2004, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
TimGoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by steeler
I would be interested in seeing how many people are experiencing OTA signal meter problems. Is it possible to add this problem to your poll or can a new pole be started????
Try everyone who owns one.:mad:
TimGoodwin is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 04-28-2004, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by steeler
I would be interested in seeing how many people are experiencing OTA signal meter problems. Is it possible to add this problem to your poll or can a new pole be started????
Yes, this seems to be a bug inherent in all of the units, that is why it was not included in the poll.
Sid
labmansid is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 04-28-2004, 07:41 AM
Member
 
Michigan Golfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a lucky one.

I am only experiencing the OTA signal meter jump, of which I don't care about - since my OTA signals come in perfectly (Silver sensor in the attic and am only about 9 miles from all the towers). D*tv SD and HD working great as well. No A/V drops.

Other than that, my S360 works great.

---
M i c h i g a n - G o l f e r
Michigan Golfer is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off