VOOM offers great new deals! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 08:10 AM
reo
Member
 
reo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by pisay87
Makes me rethink my current D* subscription...

Yes I feel the same way. I am going to wait a little longer to see if the firmware upgrade due in march fixes the guide, timer, dropout issues in the hd300 box, if not I will definitely way my options in changing from D* to Voom


:confused: :confused: :confused:
reo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 08:37 AM
reo
Member
 
reo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Translucent Blue Plastic Fork $4500, Translucent Blue Plastic Spoon $2500 Translucent Blue Plastic Knife $1000
Blue-tinted Paper Plate $300 Blue-tinted Paper Napkin $250 "Honey, do we really need these for the HT?" says the wife ...
WanMan, I couldnt help but respond after reading your sig that I thought it was going to end like this

Translucent Blue Plastic Fork $4500
Translucent Blue Plastic Spoon $2500
Translucent Blue Plastic Knife $1000
Blue-tinted Paper Plate $300
Blue-tinted Paper Napkin $250
Responce from wife "Honey, do we really need these for the HT?

Priceless

There are some things in life money can't buy, for everything else there's MASTERCARD.
reo is offline  
post #93 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 10:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would jump for this deal in an instant if they had ESPN-HD and SciFi...
bfdtv is offline  
post #94 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 11:17 AM
 
WanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lat: 34.0725288 Lon: -83.9337082
Posts: 9,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooo, that's good!
WanMan is offline  
post #95 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 11:27 AM
jcg
AVS Special Member
 
jcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got the same questions. I'm planning a trip to Sears later today to check out VOOM, but would like to upgrade to a PVR in the not too distant future. Anyone know anything regarding that? And there is no time commitment, so if I don't like the service after a month (probably not likely)I just return the STB?

John

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoolDu4
I am going to take advantage of this offer because it will take DirecTV years to broadcast as much HDTV as what Voom has out now. I was waiting for the DirecTV HDTV Tivo, but this deal here looks too good to be true. I cant believe I'm going to get this with $0 down and no commitment though. I dont mean to come accross so negative, but theres gotta be a catch. You cannot get this deal online ?? I'd be interested to hear from someone who has called and gotten this deal. I do have a couple questions, which way does this dish aim ? Is there a HDTV PVR in the future ?
jcg is offline  
post #96 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 11:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Topics merged again.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #97 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by jcg
....would like to upgrade to a PVR in the not too distant future. Anyone know anything regarding that?
The VOOM PVR system should be available this Summer. See the VOOM topic in the HDTV Recorders Forum for more details.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #98 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
rollerfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From that other thread -- sounds like an awesome DVR but may not be available until beginning of 4th Quarter:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0&pagenumber=1

Quote:
Originally posted by Vasim Pathan
VOOM will have one reciever with HD recording capabilites that can be broadcast throughout your house, to every tv. Only one recording device needed.

http://www.ucentric.com/index.php?products/multitvpvr


# DVR functionality available on all connected TVs
# Single, in-home library of recorded programs
# Single, whole-home list of parental controls and other user preferences
# Multiple, independent sessions among connected TVs
# Follow-Me TVTM: Pause-and-play seamless viewing from TV to TV


Here is the Voom press release in case you missed it.

http://www.satelliteguys.us/forum/fi...ease_final.pdf
Quote:
Originally posted by DarthJedi
I just got off the phone with Rainbow TV's corporate office. They said they are ahead of schedule with the development of their DVR. This is a conformation of what I was told by a VOOM CSR. They said the DVR is based on the Motorola 580 and that they are working on the software to turn the 550 into a thin client. The thin client is what is holding the DVR up and that it will be late in the third quarter to the beginning of the fourth quarter that the whole system will come out. As for the price of the unit, the person that I talked to said any upgrades will be in favor of current customers and that VOOM is sensitive to the backlash they are receiving from early adopter about the current promotions. VOOM will also start using MP4 (H 2.64 10 A/V) when they reach their last major milestone in adding new programming (no actual date but it will me sooner than anyone thinks. I joked and said "I think today") The last thing I was told was that the new system (Quote "being much more advanced than anything that is currently out there and on the horizon") will be priced in such a way that the competition will be hard pressed to match.
rollerfink is offline  
post #99 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 12:41 PM
Member
 
sgtjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Waldorf, Md.
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote]Originally posted by jcg
[b]I've got the same questions. I'm planning a trip to Sears later today to check out VOOM, "


Good luck in finding a Sears store that actually has Voom working. I have been waiting almost 5 months now and it has never worked at the local Sears in Waldorf, Md.
sgtjim is offline  
post #100 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 12:51 PM
Member
 
pisay87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by twelly
Hey eric (pisay87), is that you buddy? Are you getting voom? Let me know how it goes as far as both hd content & video quality.

-twelly
Yep it's me. Considering Voom? I thought you had E* installed.
pisay87 is offline  
post #101 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
bernster2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hollywood, Fl. USA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't resist $0 down deal and will have Va Va Voom installed on 3/4 on my Tosh LCOS. I also have Total Choice Premier on 3 D* set top boxes and 1 DirectvTivo. I will probably cancel part of my D* packages due to overlap. Too bad Voom doesn't have HDNET, HDNET movies, Fox News, etc. So for now I will probably cancel only HBO, Showtime and Starz on D*
bernster2001 is offline  
post #102 of 611 Old 02-28-2004, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
patrickpiteo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Middle Village
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bernster2001
I couldn't resist $0 down deal and will have Va Va Voom installed on 3/4 on my Tosh LCOS. I also have Total Choice Premier on 3 D* set top boxes and 1 DirectvTivo. I will probably cancel part of my D* packages due to overlap. Too bad Voom doesn't have HDNET, HDNET movies, Fox News, etc. So for now I will probably cancel only HBO, Showtime and Starz on D*
Sounds just want I am going to do... I really want to see just how good Voom is and with this deal it is too good to pass up...
patrickpiteo is offline  
post #103 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Talked to a knowledgeable guy at Voom- he said you cannot reasonably share a Dish 61.5 sat dish to still get CBSHD and Voom because

A. they currently use a different voltage to power the LNB (Voom currently is at 11-12 volts)

B. when Voom uses up all the odd side transponders it will need both leads from the LNB at an unknown powering and switching voltage.

For this reason, even single box Voom installs now are being done with multi-switches to provide for a growing program lineup's use of both sides of 61.5 Dual LNB.

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #104 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 12:33 PM
Member
 
robert dawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I had mine installed 2/28 and was pleased the way it went....I had two guys who had never installed Voom..... So I knew more about it than these two Heckel and Jeckel...I had everything ready and all they had to do was install a new sat dish ( they didnt know where to point it and I told them 61.5 you will be alright ). They hooked up my over the air antenna on the wrong input but I corrected it Sunday the right way and wal la ...local Hd was showing up.....I will say that the picture quality was better than D*on Sd channels as well as Hd channels.....My meter only read 45 while my D* is 95 .....could not believe the difference in the picture quality. Im glad I chose Voom and you will too....No Contract and lease for only $9.50 installed with antenna as well.......What a deal.....

Im am using the DVI connection and it looks great. ( My cable was not in the Package so I used my Sammy 160 DVI cable and hooked up D* with the component.):p :p

Sonyws500 57"RPTV,Pioneer 1014 reciever,HKTW6 Towers Fronts L & R,HKC,HKB6 BRS & BLS ,Inf Entra 2 towers RS,Pany S97 dvd player,Pioneer 420 dvd / wHd dvd recorder,Sammy 160 D*,SonySAWX700 sub
robert dawson is offline  
post #105 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tulsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I had mine installed 2/28 with the same lease program and have no
regrets so far. Great PQ and choices of HD. I am using the DVI to the
HDMI on my Pio 1110 and was very pleased with the PQ, noticably
better than D*. The channels are easy to surf too.
One bonus.....the low res ouputs are alive at the same time
if you want to feed it to a DVR or DVD recorder.
Their OTA guide even mapped to all but two of my local digitals.
Only thing I noticed that bugs me is the OTA is not operational if the SAT
signals go away. I still have two other great sources for OTA so thats no
biggy for me.
I am having serious second thoughts now about my D* service.
I will probably do what Bernster2001 is doing and scale back the D*
overlap till I can eval this Voom more.

Cheers:D
Martin

Is it LIVE or is it on a Sony XBR 65X950B
Tulsa1 is offline  
post #106 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 02:07 PM
Member
 
bsic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where does the voom dish point? 61.5? 110? 148?
bsic is offline  
post #107 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
61.5W

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #108 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Taucherguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just went to Sears and they offer VOOM for $399 and you get the reciever + unlimited free programming until the end of may.

Anybody seen this too?
Taucherguy is offline  
post #109 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 04:32 PM
Member
 
windoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glenville Pa
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seven days now since my de-install. Still waiting for them to refund my money. Has anyone out there got a refund yet?

Windoor
windoor is offline  
post #110 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 05:17 PM
Member
 
TC_Lauderdale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale Florida
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by el-georgeo
Mine points towards the Bahamas and I am in Ft.Lauderdale FL
El-georgeo, how did the install go and where the technicians knowledgeable? I have Comcast HD right now but am getting raped on the charges for the whole shebang. You've had Voom for about a week now correct? Would you still recommend it?

Oh, does anyone know if or when they are going to add HGTV to the lineup? If I droped Comcast and went with Voom -HGTV, my wife would kill me.

Notes will never die.
TC_Lauderdale is offline  
post #111 of 611 Old 03-01-2004, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
JChoice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Martin:

Did they give you that cable or did you have to buy it? I have a Pioneer 1110 and need a one foot DVI to HDMI cable.

Also - my install didn't go at all. The installer said that a very tall tree was going to block my signal. I own a townhome so I don't have a lot of install options nor do I want some dish hanging where everyone can see.

*SIGH* My Adelphia cable stinks... at least they just added CBS in HD.

-Justin

Quote:
Originally posted by Tulsa1
I had mine installed 2/28 with the same lease program and have no
regrets so far. Great PQ and choices of HD. I am using the DVI to the
HDMI on my Pio 1110 and was very pleased with the PQ, noticably
better than D*. The channels are easy to surf too.
Cheers:D
Martin
JChoice is offline  
post #112 of 611 Old 03-02-2004, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tulsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally posted by JChoice
Martin:

Did they give you that cable or did you have to buy it? I have a Pioneer 1110 and need a one foot DVI to HDMI cable.

Also - my install didn't go at all. The installer said that a very tall tree was going to block my signal. I own a townhome so I don't have a lot of install options nor do I want some dish hanging where everyone can see.

*SIGH* My Adelphia cable stinks... at least they just added CBS in HD.

-Justin
My receiver came with a DVI > DVI cable but no HDMI cable.
I robbed the one off of my Zenith SATHD520 to get it going.
I am very impressed with the PQ from Voom, better than D*.
My Zenith 520 and 230 is still the best PQ for OTA. I borrowed
another DVI > HDMI cable from a local vendor yesterday so I could
do a split screen comparison between the common channels of Voom
and D*. Voom's HD is hands down best PQ. It seems to handle motion
very well.
I got my HDMI cable from OneCall or Gefen.
My Voom dish barely cleared my roof top. Their Sat is in a tough place
being SE and very low on the horizon.
I hope you can find "line of sight"

Regards,
Martin

Is it LIVE or is it on a Sony XBR 65X950B
Tulsa1 is offline  
post #113 of 611 Old 03-02-2004, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
patrickpiteo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Middle Village
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had mine installed today.. all in all the install went pretty good. It took about 1 1/2. AWESOME PICTURE ! Now to go downgrade my D* package.
patrickpiteo is offline  
post #114 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For everyone who had Voom installed in the last 1-2 weeks:

1. Did the installer run one or both leads from the 61.5 dish Dual LNB?

2. Did they use a multi-switch from one, or, both leads even though you may only have a single Voom receiver?

I ask because I want to share a single 61.5 dish between Voom and Dish to get CBSHD as well as Voom, and, I talked to a supposedly knowledgeable guy at Voom- he said you cannot reasonably share a Dish 61.5 sat dish to still get CBSHD and Voom because

A. they currently use a different voltage to power the LNB (Voom currently is at 11-12 volts)

B. when Voom uses up all the odd side transponders it will need both leads from the LNB at an unknown powering and switching voltage.

He said, for this reason, even single box Voom installs now are being done with multi-switches to provide for a growing program lineups use of both sides of 61.5 Dual LNB.

I am by no means certain he's right.

Separately, I have read that others have in fact used one lead for Voom and one lad for Dish equipment to receive CBSHD off transponder 20 on 61.5.

Can anyone clear this up?

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #115 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
peter0302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do they offer the networks other than OTA? Without them it seems like nothing more than an extravagence and not an alternative to cable.
peter0302 is offline  
post #116 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 12:13 PM
Member
 
kdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by peter0302
Do they offer the networks? Without them it seems like nothing more than an extravagence and not an alternative to cable.
Do you mean OTA channels? yes
kdre is offline  
post #117 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 12:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not other than OTA, no. That makes it a little harder I will admit. It will depend on your local broadcast area.

-MP

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #118 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
OK some questions. Currently I have Comcast in Western Mass. I get HBO, ESPN, INHD1&2, NesnHD (For Red Sox), My local CBS,NBC,PBS in HD. I pay about $90 a month not including my Cable Internet. If I go to Voom I lose the INHD channels and NESNHD (This is hardest no HD Sox) but I also may lose the Off network HD since there's no Guarantee I'll get them OTA.

I'm trying to decide if Voom Is worth Switching, looking at the lineup most of the Cable Favorites i.e. TNT etc appear to be standard def. Zoom would probably be a bit cheaper but I'm not sure I'd be getting alot more HD Content (We don't have HD Discovery currently)

Any Comments?
Scarpad is offline  
post #119 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 12:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the cable favorites are all SD. You get something like 26-30 true HD channels, a lot of which are movies.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #120 of 611 Old 03-03-2004, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody confirm/deny if the receiver has HDMI connector? According to the manualmanual it doesn't but I think I over-read somebody suggeting it does.

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off