The Official AVS Antenna and Related Hardware Topic! - Page 543 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16261 of 16294 Old 07-28-2014, 09:23 AM
Member
 
bernieoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Current setup is 4 TV's. On one of them (the one in question) I would like to have two DVR's (CM DVR+ and DTV Pal DVR - each with two tuners.
Thanks for your response.
bernieoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16262 of 16294 Old 08-10-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Per HDTVPrimer website model, Silver Sensor has Raw Gain ~ 7 dBi across entire UHF Band....which is more than a 2-Bay Bowtie (e.g. Mohu Leaf, WallTenna) and much more than a simple Loop used with most Rabbit-Ear Antennas. If you look at the detailed Azimuthal Pattern chart for the Silver Sensor, you'll also see that it has a very broad Beamwidth with significant suppression of Multipath coming in from the rear:
http://www.hdtvprimer.com/antennas/comparing.html

For more Gain, you're gonna need a bigger Boat....err Antenna.....
However, a higher Gain Antenna also means a narrower Beamwidth, which means it will have to be more carefully pointed toward signal sources. Perhaps located in the top of a convenient closet....

FF4, Free-Form 4-Bay Bowtie provides UHF Raw Gain = 9.7 to 12.6 dBi in a simple DIY project that can be as easy as AWG10 wire or even metallic or aluminized tape on Cardboard (perhaps hidden behind a Picture if the direction to stations permits). It also provides Hi-VHF Raw Gain = 3.5 dBi, with only a slightly higher than desirable SWR:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/mult...aybowtienorefl

If you have room for it, adding a Reflector to the FF4 can increase Gain by about 3 dB, with much more suppression of Multipath from the rear. The only Reflector I've modeled for the FF4 is a HUGE Double Angled Reflector:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/mult...dblanglreflopt

For a "flatter" FF4, you might want to consider using a 36"Hx36"W FLAT Reflector 5.5-inches away from the Bowties, made from either a piece of Cardboard covered in Aluminum Foil or METAL "Mesh Hardware Cloth" which should be available in your local hardware store, such as:
http://www.midlandhardware.com/25695...A#.U-fGdGOc6jM

UHF Quad Trapezoid Loop with 15 Reflector Rods provides UHF Raw Gain = 10.1 to 11.8. [Without RR's Gain isn't much higher than Silver Sensor.] This SIMPLE DIY project is useful when the station directions make it difficult to mount the antenna on a wall, since it has a very wide Beamwidth of 60+ degrees all across the UHF Band. It also provide Hi-VHF Raw Gain ~ 6 dBi, but with excessive SWR that may *or may not) limit it's usefulness to strong local signals. Instead of 15 Reflector Rods (RR), you could use the same overall size Alum. Foil or Metal Mesh Hardware Cloth:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/loop...dtrapezoidloop

Last edited by holl_ands; 08-10-2014 at 01:06 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
post #16263 of 16294 Old 08-10-2014, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Don_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Holl, for the FF4 feed point, how does the balun attach. Should the balun wires be spread diagonally to attach, or should the balun wires make a sharp right angle?

Would it be possible to maximize the peak gain for ch 35?
Don_H is offline  
post #16264 of 16294 Old 08-10-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Don_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Maintaining no reflector, can a narod be added to enhance the gain and lower the swr for high vhf?

Last edited by Don_H; 08-10-2014 at 04:46 PM.
Don_H is offline  
post #16265 of 16294 Old 08-10-2014, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_H View Post
Holl, for the FF4 feed point, how does the balun attach. Should the balun wires be spread diagonally to attach, or should the balun wires make a sharp right angle?

Would it be possible to maximize the peak gain for ch 35?
Doesn't really matter how you route the Balun Wires...

The max (or any other frequency point) for ANY Antenna can be Rescaled to another Frequency by multiplying ALL Dimensions by the Rescale Factor = Current Frequency / New Frequency.
Hence moving the Max Gain to a LOWER Frequency requires INCREASING all dimensions....and vice versa. When making drastic frequency changes, the Wire Size should also be changed according to the Rescale Factor.....but for changes within the same TV Band, it's okay to use the same Wire Size.
holl_ands is offline  
post #16266 of 16294 Old 08-10-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Don_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ok, ty much for the info
Don_H is offline  
post #16267 of 16294 Old 09-13-2014, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have been using a dual vertically stacked 4228 and I am looking to replace it with another antenna. I see the replacement for it is the 4228HD. I am not sure that that antenna can be stacked.
I was wondering what the best options would be
Choice 1 Stack a 4228HD
Choice 2 CM-3020
Choice 3 CM- 5020
Most of my viewing is on UHF, very little on VHF only a couple
I am also concerned with the weight of a stacked 4228HD
Thank You

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #16268 of 16294 Old 09-13-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 1,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Please Include a Link to your TVFool Report

Hi,

Zip 43952 has stations in several directions.

Please reply with your TVFool report and what stations / Networks you are interested in.

And the direction your current antenna is pointed. Do you have a rotor? Height of antenna would also be useful.

Are you using an amplifier?

TVFool
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29

Pasting an image is not the same as a link. Here is mine.

Nani's ZIP Code
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d2434989f75b87

The experts here will then be able to help you better.

Be sure and enter your exact address in to TVFool, I see lots of terrain differences in that zip code.

Your exact address is hidden by TVFool.

SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 09-13-2014 at 07:28 PM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #16269 of 16294 Old 09-15-2014, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
Hi,

Zip 43952 has stations in several directions.

Please reply with your TVFool report and what stations / Networks you are interested in.

And the direction your current antenna is pointed. Do you have a rotor? Height of antenna would also be useful.

Are you using an amplifier?

TVFool
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29

Pasting an image is not the same as a link. Here is mine.

Nani's ZIP Code
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d2434989f75b87

The experts here will then be able to help you better.

Be sure and enter your exact address in to TVFool, I see lots of terrain differences in that zip code.

Your exact address is hidden by TVFool.

SHF
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243367f6bb01b
40 foot tower and a preamp

Thank You

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #16270 of 16294 Old 09-15-2014, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by firemantom26 View Post
I currently have been using a dual vertically stacked 4228 and I am looking to replace it with another antenna. I see the replacement for it is the 4228HD. I am not sure that that antenna can be stacked.
I was wondering what the best options would be
Choice 1 Stack a 4228HD
Choice 2 CM-3020
Choice 3 CM- 5020
Most of my viewing is on UHF, very little on VHF only a couple
I am also concerned with the weight of a stacked 4228HD
Thank You
I would suggest a pair of 91XGs. Works great for me and my signals are weaker, farther away than yours and 2 edges. See my avatar. You can add a separate VHF antenna if you want.
Calaveras is offline  
post #16271 of 16294 Old 09-15-2014, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks great


Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #16272 of 16294 Old 10-11-2014, 08:07 PM
Member
 
naednek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the deal...



I have a MOHU leaf. Its the 30 mile range which is more than enough for the channels I need. I also have the Hauppage WINTV 2255 installed on my HTPC. My first test before mounting the antennae, I had signal to almost anything in range other than KVIE station, which sucked because that was my solution for the kid shows....

I found I received better reception near the window, so I got a longer coax cable and got it installed. I was able to get the same signal as before.

While browsing channels I eventually started dropping signal, and now I can't pull down any station. I"ve ran the signal setup on WMC as well as the setup program on the WINTV software and still nothing.

What am I doing wrong?

I'm tempted to get an outdoor attenae and mount it to the house.

This is my coverage. Any ideas?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243691389b81d
naednek is offline  
post #16273 of 16294 Old 10-11-2014, 08:59 PM
Member
 
rdcollns's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Naednek, I had a similar problem with an attic antenna, then one day I remembered that my issues started when they re-sided a tiny part of our house and they put foil faced insulation underneath. It was weird because I didn't lose the stations all at once, but one at a time. I tried everything to get our reception back. What finally worked was placing an old metal window screen directly behind the antenna. No scientific reason I am aware of, I just tried anything I could imagine and that screen happened to be in the attic.
rdcollns is offline  
post #16274 of 16294 Old 10-11-2014, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Those Mohu and similar Leaf style antennas have reception limitations. Maybe add an inline amp such as Winegard LNA-100 or the Sears/Kmart Alphaline version and see if that helps. But if you upgrade the antenna, consider a Clearstream 2V from Walmart or an Antennacraft HBU-22. And possibly the inline amp.
tylerSC is offline  
post #16275 of 16294 Old 10-12-2014, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
I'm tempted to get an outdoor attenae and mount it to the house.
Do that, it will solve a LOT of problems if properly selected and installed.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #16276 of 16294 Old 10-12-2014, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by naednek View Post
Here's the deal...



I have a MOHU leaf. Its the 30 mile range which is more than enough for the channels I need. I also have the Hauppage WINTV 2255 installed on my HTPC. My first test before mounting the antennae, I had signal to almost anything in range other than KVIE station, which sucked because that was my solution for the kid shows....

I found I received better reception near the window, so I got a longer coax cable and got it installed. I was able to get the same signal as before.

While browsing channels I eventually started dropping signal, and now I can't pull down any station. I"ve ran the signal setup on WMC as well as the setup program on the WINTV software and still nothing.

What am I doing wrong?

I'm tempted to get an outdoor attenae and mount it to the house.

This is my coverage. Any ideas?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243691389b81d

If you're not receiving any stations at all something must have happened to the antenna or coax. You're in a very good location for the Walnut Grove stations and your TV Fool report shows you should be able to receive many other stations too. Indoor antennas can be problematic under any signal conditions so an outdoor antenna is always preferred. A small outdoor antenna like the ANT751 should work well for you. No preamp necessary.

I'd suggest posting further questions on the Sacramento OTA thread where there are more people familiar with the area.
Calaveras is offline  
post #16277 of 16294 Old 10-13-2014, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I haven't done a search as this thread is 10 years and 16,000 posts old. But, for reasons explained below, I am thinking about putting a preamp (signal amplifier) in my OTA set-up.

Any of you much more intelligent people about this subject have recommendations on which one(s) you would recommend? Any one(s) to stay clear of?

The situation is that I am very close to my local (Omaha) stations so I get a great signal. But I am about 90 miles from some more channels in Sioux City, IA. Yesterday our local Fox affiliate did not carry the Bears game I wanted to watch. But the Sioux City Fox affiliate did. So it was great that I could watch my Bears. But my Magnavox MDR533 DVD recorder/tuner would not display the channel. So I couldn't pause the game/time shift/scroll through commercials. But my TV (Samsung 6600) would tune it in so that I could watch it. Clearly there is a difference in the tuners that is above my understanding.

Not just for the games but this opens up the entire subject of access to more viewing opportunities with a signal boost. And with that the potential using the DVD/tuner.

Any recommendations are appreciated.

Chubby, old guy in Omaha, Nebraska
matonanjin is offline  
post #16278 of 16294 Old 10-13-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 1,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by matonanjin View Post
... Yesterday our local Fox affiliate did not carry the Bears game I wanted to watch. But the Sioux City Fox affiliate did.
...
FYI: NFL Maps: Week 6, 2014

http://506sports.com/nfl.php?yr=2014&wk=6

Talk about NFL Gerrymandering.

---------------------------------

I think that the FCC may have eliminated the non sold out blackout rule.

http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/2014/9/3...ule-lifted-fcc

But nothing may change.

SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #16279 of 16294 Old 10-13-2014, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
FYI: NFL Maps: Week 6, 2014

http://506sports.com/nfl.php?yr=2014&wk=6

SHF
Thanks, SHF! That map would have been helpful yesterday. but now I know that I can go to it. Thanks again, Ron

Chubby, old guy in Omaha, Nebraska
matonanjin is offline  
post #16280 of 16294 Old 10-13-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 1,910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by matonanjin View Post
Thanks, SHF! That map would have been helpful yesterday. but now I know that I can go to it. Thanks again, Ron
BTY, posting a link to your TVFool report will allow the experts to help you better on the original request.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHF
San Francisco, CA - OTA

TVFool authors are fools

We need to tell the TVFool authors that something needs to be changed.

Too many people are not pasting the link.

Perhaps something like the words I typed a while ago, "Pasting an image of your TVFool results is not the same as posting the link because there is additional data available by clicking on links which of course cannot be done on an image". Your exact address will NOT be included.

"If you would like to share these results with others" is too weak IMHO.
SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 10-14-2014 at 07:05 AM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #16281 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 05:47 AM
Member
 
howlinrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Novice here and I need some advice and support. I'm going to dump AT&T U verse (Rip) and plan to install a antenna on my roof or attic. Don't know all the components that will make this all happen and I'm looking for advice. I have a been using an A/V receiver Yamaha RX- A 3020 into TV Sharp LC-70C8470U. I also have 2 other TV's in other rooms and they are cabled under the house. What path and components will make this happen into the TV. Do I need a Tuner, Amplified Splitter. What components and Antenna needed ? I'm going to by a DVR and I'm open to any and all suggestions.


I live in south Napa county in CA. http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d2435fb2372d8a

Thanks in advance
John
howlinrock is offline  
post #16282 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone give me the formula for computing the Total gain,Efficiency, Characteristics Impedance,Directivity,VSWR,Radiation pattern,Reflection coefficient, Power Transmitted and Power Received of a BATWING ANTENNA?please help me
yilits28 is offline  
post #16283 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by howlinrock View Post
Hi,
Novice here and I need some advice and support. I'm going to dump AT&T U verse (Rip) and plan to install a antenna on my roof or attic. Don't know all the components that will make this all happen and I'm looking for advice. I have a been using an A/V receiver Yamaha RX- A 3020 into TV Sharp LC-70C8470U. I also have 2 other TV's in other rooms and they are cabled under the house. What path and components will make this happen into the TV. Do I need a Tuner, Amplified Splitter. What components and Antenna needed ? I'm going to by a DVR and I'm open to any and all suggestions.


I live in south Napa county in CA. http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d2435fb2372d8a

Thanks in advance
John

First off, I'd recommend posting this in the San Francisco OTA thread where more people local to you will see it.

TV Fool shows all the SF stations are very strong and LOS so you shouldn't need the largest antenna just to get those. Even the Winegard HD7694P is probably good enough or something in the Antennacraft HBU series. Unless you have a very old TV they will all have tuners in them. A preamp should not be necessary but a distribution amp like the CM3414 would be helpful for 3 TVs. Use RG-6 coax. Quad shield in unnecessary. An outside antenna is always best but an attic antenna may be good enough for you. The antenna should not be looking into a tree or the side of a building.

Channel Master makes a DVR. I have a TiVo Basic that has 4 tuners in it which is more expensive overall but it works well.
Calaveras is offline  
post #16284 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 10:30 AM
Member
 
howlinrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
First off, I'd recommend posting this in the San Francisco OTA thread where more people local to you will see it.

TV Fool shows all the SF stations are very strong and LOS so you shouldn't need the largest antenna just to get those. Even the Winegard HD7694P is probably good enough or something in the Antennacraft HBU series. Unless you have a very old TV they will all have tuners in them. A preamp should not be necessary but a distribution amp like the CM3414 would be helpful for 3 TVs. Use RG-6 coax. Quad shield in unnecessary. An outside antenna is always best but an attic antenna may be good enough for you. The antenna should not be looking into a tree or the side of a building.

Channel Master makes a DVR. I have a TiVo Basic that has 4 tuners in it which is more expensive overall but it works well.

Thanks so much for your response and the suggestions. The CM3414 was on my list as necessary. The right antenna is my concern. not to small or big. I have also posted for advice in the SF OTA thread.
howlinrock is offline  
post #16285 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by yilits28 View Post
Can someone give me the formula for computing the Total gain,Efficiency, Characteristics Impedance,Directivity,VSWR,Radiation pattern,Reflection coefficient, Power Transmitted and Power Received of a BATWING ANTENNA?please help me
What batwing antenna are you talking about?
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=batwing+antenna

The guys on the DHC forum that do computer modeling of antennas might be able to give you those answers:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=186

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 10-14-2014 at 04:05 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #16286 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by yilits28 View Post
Can someone give me the formula for computing the Total gain,Efficiency, Characteristics Impedance,Directivity,VSWR,Radiation pattern,Reflection coefficient, Power Transmitted and Power Received of a BATWING ANTENNA?please help me
Can you be more specific???? Perhaps it's a variation of one of the fol. BATWING Antennas analyzed using 4nec2:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=1004148
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=1005063

The late L B Cebik analyzed the BATWING, which MIGHT be on the fol. (OLD & NEW) websites (requires FREE Registration):
http://www.cebik.com [OLD]
http://www.sage-american.com [NEW]


Or perhaps you mean one of the following Antennas, which RESEMBLES a BATWING:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=1319268

Last edited by holl_ands; 10-14-2014 at 06:26 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
post #16287 of 16294 Old 10-14-2014, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
we used antenna magus software for our simulation but we don't know where the results came from, we need some proof. We need formulas and calculations... please help us?
yilits28 is offline  
post #16288 of 16294 Old 10-15-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Your question is devoid of any content that would be useful in trying to determine what it is you are asking for which leads me to suspect that you simply don't know what you're actually looking for.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #16289 of 16294 Old 10-15-2014, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
We just need to prove the results that we got from the software antenna magus, we need it for our defense in our antenna project. Impedance,VSWR,Refelction Coefficient,Total Gain and wire diameter are some of the formulas we need.
yilits28 is offline  
post #16290 of 16294 Old 10-15-2014, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
There are several batwing antennas in the world which one are you modeling? You need to provide the make and model of the antenna or at least a detailed physical description. As was pointed out in previous posts your antenna may already have been modeled abd the results published.
John
ctdish is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Channel Master Cm 4228 8 Bay Hdtv Uhf Antenna Cm4228hd
Gear in this thread - Cm4228hd by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off