The Official AVS Antenna and Related Hardware Topic! - Page 546 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16351 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yes, the 7698 would be harder to aim for a compromise azimuth.

What I had in mind was 1Edge an 2Edge and some known Roamio tuner problems.
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15025

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; Yesterday at 11:53 AM.
rabbit73 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16352 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Alf Tanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
I suggest a Winegard HD7698P antenna and an Antennas Direct Juice, RCA TVPRAMP1R, or Channel Master 7778 preamp. The Juice, which is resistant overload, doesn't have an FM trap, so you need to add one because there are some strong FM signals that might interfere with CH 10.

Most of your main networks come from about 17 degrees magnetic, but Myn comes from 46 degrees.

The antenna coax should be grounded with a grounding block that is connected to the house electrical system ground with 10 gauge copper wire for electrical safety. For further compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner to drain any buildup of static charge, but the system will not survive a direct strike.
Noted, and was definitely planning on the grounding block. Thank you. Lightning is a huge problem, even with multiple UPS and decent grounding around the house we've lost a lot of equipment to lightning. I think the reason we get several channels so far is the main ranch house is on top of a hill an estimated 30-40 ft above everything to the north. We do have a mast outside on the north side of the house right now, I think it needs to be 20ft higher or moved to the west 50 ft to completely eliminate blockage from the trees that surround the house.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
I'm going to assume you're most interested in the 5 major network stations. I see that KWBM carries Fox even though TV Fool doesn't list it as so. Looking at your TV Fool report it is no surprise that an indoor antenna isn't working. But considering you're getting some stations you probably don't need the largest outdoor antenna. You also need to receive stations from 17 to 46 degrees. I also checked your FM Fool report and I see no stations that should give channel 10 a bad time.

All this considered I'd suggest the HBU33 antenna for a wider beamwidth and covers VHF/UHF. Point it at 32 degrees. I think the RCA TVPRAMP1R preamp would be good enough for you.

Edit: I see rabbit73 beat me to it by a few minutes. Normally I would have also recommended the HD7698P but I was concerned the beamwidth might be too narrow to split the difference between 17 and 46 degrees. I checked the models for that antenna and I see it's only down 2 dB at +/-15 degrees so it should be okay as long as it's pointed correctly.
This is a lot more involved than I initially thought, haha. Should have known, ive been setting up directional cellular boosters for years for work in remote places. The stations to the north are almost all Springfield Missouri stations, the ones to the west/southwest are Springdale/Fayetteville Arkansas stations. As it sits now they come in somewhat, most of the time.

Using google earth pro from the exact location of their antenna I looked at distances and headings:

348* 44 miles is to the KOLR 10 antenna at the very northern most part of springfield MO
294* 86 miles to Joplin MO
234* 66 miles to Fayetteville/Springdale AR
248* 58 miles to Rogers AR
158* 138 miles to Little Rock Arkansas
336* 185 miles to KC


Looking at that would it be possible to pick up Springfield, Rogers, Fayetteville and possible Joplin stations? (in a somewhat perfect world)
Alf Tanner is online now  
post #16353 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Yes, the 7698 would be harder to aim for a compromise azimuth.

What I had in mind was 1Edge an 2Edge and some known Roamio tuner problems.
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15025

I don't know what they're talking about. I have a TiVo Roamio and there are no tuner issues I've ever found. A station with an SNR about 16 dB shows 37 on the TiVo meter. I've run careful tests on the TiVo and its sensitivity is about 0.5 dB less than my Sony TV. This puts the noise figure close to 6 dB. I found it to be able to handle about 0.5 dB more multipath than the Sony before the signal drops out. The Sony tuner performance is almost identical to two other tuners I've had.

If someone is talking about the Roamio but really means the Premiere then that's another story. The Premiere is well known to have poor multipath performance.

The Roamio has an extensive diagnostic screen that reports all sorts of things except real signal strength. Too bad.
Calaveras is online now  
post #16354 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Alf Tanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
I don't know what they're talking about. I have a TiVo Roamio and there are no tuner issues I've ever found. A station with an SNR about 16 dB shows 37 on the TiVo meter. I've run careful tests on the TiVo and its sensitivity is about 0.5 dB less than my Sony TV. This puts the noise figure close to 6 dB. I found it to be able to handle about 0.5 dB more multipath than the Sony before the signal drops out. The Sony tuner performance is almost identical to two other tuners I've had.

If someone is talking about the Roamio but really means the Premiere then that's another story. The Premiere is well known to have poor multipath performance.

The Roamio has an extensive diagnostic screen that reports all sorts of things except real signal strength. Too bad.
That is good to know. In this case I am definitely talking about a Roamio (basic), not Roamio OTA. I have a Roamio Pro at the house and thats what convinced me to buy them the basic for their OTA
Alf Tanner is online now  
post #16355 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alf Tanner View Post
This is a lot more involved than I initially thought, haha. Should have known, ive been setting up directional cellular boosters for years for work in remote places. The stations to the north are almost all Springfield Missouri stations, the ones to the west/southwest are Springdale/Fayetteville Arkansas stations. As it sits now they come in somewhat, most of the time.

Using google earth pro from the exact location of their antenna I looked at distances and headings:

348* 44 miles is to the KOLR 10 antenna at the very northern most part of springfield MO
294* 86 miles to Joplin MO
234* 66 miles to Fayetteville/Springdale AR
248* 58 miles to Rogers AR
158* 138 miles to Little Rock Arkansas
336* 185 miles to KC


Looking at that would it be possible to pick up Springfield, Rogers, Fayetteville and possible Joplin stations? (in a somewhat perfect world)

I'm not familiar with which stations are in which cities without looking them all up but any station with a negative noise margin in TV Fool is going to be very hard to receive. There's a lot of variance with 2 edge signals and sometimes weak signals can be received when it seems impossible. Sometimes the opposite is true. Unless you're on top of a hill with a clear view to the distant station, anything over about 70 miles is likely impossible without ducting help which of course is unreliable.

If want to try for the more distant stations you'll need a large high gain antenna on a rotor as high as possible. Most people aren't interested in going to all that trouble. See my link below for the kind of antennas you'll need for stations over 70 miles.
Calaveras is online now  
post #16356 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alf Tanner View Post
That is good to know. In this case I am definitely talking about a Roamio (basic), not Roamio OTA. I have a Roamio Pro at the house and thats what convinced me to buy them the basic for their OTA
I don't know what a Roamio OTA is but I have the Roamio Basic which I use exclusively for recording OTA.
Calaveras is online now  
post #16357 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Alf Tanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
I don't know what a Roamio OTA is but I have the Roamio Basic which I use exclusively for recording OTA.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/tivo-roa...&skuId=8758098 this is the Roamio OTA
Alf Tanner is online now  
post #16358 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,754
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alf Tanner View Post
Looks like the same as mine but without cable capability.
Calaveras is online now  
post #16359 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,053
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 98
There are now FOUR Roamio versions..."Roamio OTA" is OTA ONLY, plain 'ol "Roamio" is OTA & Cable and the other two are Cable ONLY...note that the "Premier" name has been relegated to History:
https://www.tivo.com/shop/roamio#/roamio
holl_ands is offline  
post #16360 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 118
The TiVo Premiere can still be found on clearance at select Walmart locations. It is nice for offering 2 separate cable and antenna inputs, and nicely integrates the channel guide for both. The Roamio only has one selectable input to choose between antenna or cable, but the tuner is indeed improved, especially with multipath.
tylerSC is offline  
post #16361 of 16362 Old Yesterday, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alf Tanner View Post
I think the reason we get several channels so far is the main ranch house is on top of a hill an estimated 30-40 ft above everything to the north. We do have a mast outside on the north side of the house right now, I think it needs to be 20ft higher or moved to the west 50 ft to completely eliminate blockage from the trees that surround the house.
This is a lot more involved than I initially thought, haha. Should have known, ive been setting up directional cellular boosters for years for work in remote places. The stations to the north are almost all Springfield Missouri stations, the ones to the west/southwest are Springdale/Fayetteville Arkansas stations. As it sits now they come in somewhat, most of the time.
Using google earth pro from the exact location of their antenna I looked at distances and headings:
348* 44 miles is to the KOLR 10 antenna at the very northern most part of springfield MO
294* 86 miles to Joplin MO
234* 66 miles to Fayetteville/Springdale AR
248* 58 miles to Rogers AR
158* 138 miles to Little Rock Arkansas
336* 185 miles to KC
Looking at that would it be possible to pick up Springfield, Rogers, Fayetteville and possible Joplin stations? (in a somewhat perfect world)
"348* 44 miles is to the KOLR 10 antenna" doesn't seem to agree with your tvfool report.

Maybe you should redo your report using the interactive map feature of tvfool and move the teardrop cursor to the exact location of the antenna, and click on Make Radar Plot at the upper right corner of the map:
http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90

In the somewhat perfect world you would need a 500 ft tower.



Using an estimate of your location this is what the report looks like at 500 ft:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0f48b1ced9e

294* 86 miles to Joplin MO
KSNF 82.9 mi, 2Edge, NM -14.7 dB

234* 66 miles to Fayetteville/Springdale AR
KHOG 65.9 mi, 1Edge, NM 5.8 dB

158* 138 miles to Little Rock Arkansas
KARK 131.2 mi, Tropo, NM -18.8 dB

336* 185 miles to KC
Forget it, you are fighting rough terrain and the curvature of the earth which starts to cause problems at 70 mi.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AlfTanner map500ft (2)_1.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	181.3 KB
ID:	676721  

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; Today at 06:03 AM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #16362 of 16362 Old Today, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Alf Tanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
"348* 44 miles is to the KOLR 10 antenna" doesn't seem to agree with your tvfool report.

Maybe you should redo your report using the interactive map feature of tvfool and move the teardrop cursor to the exact location of the antenna, and click on Make Radar Plot at the upper right corner of the map:
http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90

In the somewhat perfect world you would need a 500 ft tower.



Using an estimate of your location this is what the report looks like at 500 ft:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0f48b1ced9e

294* 86 miles to Joplin MO
KSNF 82.9 mi, 2Edge, NM -14.7 dB

234* 66 miles to Fayetteville/Springdale AR
KHOG 65.9 mi, 1Edge, NM 5.8 dB

158* 138 miles to Little Rock Arkansas
KARK 131.2 mi, Tropo, NM -18.8 dB

336* 185 miles to KC
Forget it, you are fighting rough terrain and the curvature of the earth which starts to cause problems at 70 mi.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0ff27b05922
Thank you for the response. I never thought KC stations would be a possibility, but it would be cooler if they were. I attached the link to show from the exact address, which may still be somewhat off because weve been fighting the post office for the last 60 years to get them to have our address listed. Currently still using a post office box as a result. Estimated height will be 30ft above the ground for antenna placement.
Alf Tanner is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Channel Master Cm 4228 8 Bay Hdtv Uhf Antenna Cm4228hd
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off