Will OTA ant mount on same pole as directv dish? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-14-2004, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
scuuder3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be having my hdtv installed soon. i already have the hd dish, but i was wondering if the hd ant will mount on the same pole. i really don't want anymore holes in the roof.

thanks
scuuder3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-14-2004, 09:09 AM
Member
 
mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Beaverton, Or
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends on how the dish gets mounted. Normally the mast and foot they use is a one time thing, making you put a separate mount up for your OTA. There are a lot of different options for mounting though, discuss it with the dish technician and see what he/she says.
mudder is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-14-2004, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can try the DS-1000 mount from Winegard if you need a small OTA antenna, it clamps under the mount for the dish...

If you need a bigger antenna, a dedicated mast would probably be better...

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-15-2004, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigrushhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: flower city
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are many variables mostly determined by how far the local channels are that you are trying to pull in...As mjones73 stated, there are some smaller Antenn`s out there like, the winegard and channel master "stealth"....The stealth is pretty good with pulling in further signals...Another factor is do you have "super dish" or the DirecTV smaller HD dish...I`m not sure if the "mini-mount" brackets will work on a superdish as the bracket that clamps the dish on to the dish`s mounting bracket is bigger than a regular dish, a dish 500, or any DirecTV dish....If your local channels are a good distance away which typically requires a bigger Antenna, you are better off going with a separate tripod as the weight and wind load will be too much....Another variable would be whether or not you require a rotor...My situation is ,i require a big UHF only Antenna to pull in CBS from Buffalo 65 miles away, all the other networks i get locally, but to pull in Buffalo i need a rotor, and the whole setup is not terribly heavy, but heavy enough that it would never work mounting on top of my dish..I also needed to raise my Antenna another 5 feet to add 10% gain to lock on to the digital signal from Buffalo,Before that, the picture kept dropping out..Now its solid at 70-75%...So in a nutshell..Antenna`s are allot more work than Dishes..Well sometimes, sometimes if you are close and all your local channels come from one transmitter, you can get off easy..hopefully you fall into that category.
bigrushhead is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-03-2005, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Baldodome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Transplanted to NC
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bigrushhead
Another variable would be whether or not you require a rotor...My situation is ,i require a big UHF only Antenna to pull in CBS from Buffalo 65 miles away, all the other networks i get locally, but to pull in Buffalo i need a rotor, and the whole setup is not terribly heavy, but heavy enough that it would never work mounting on top of my dish..I also needed to raise my Antenna another 5 feet to add 10% gain to lock on to the digital signal from Buffalo,Before that, the picture kept dropping out..Now its solid at 70-75%...So in a nutshell..
"bigrushhead" I see your mention of pulling in Buffalo Stations. I am in the process of setting up my 1st HD system, and trying to decide on antenna's. Where about are you located, in reference to Buffalo. I am in a northern suburb, town of Wheatfield, aprox 15-20 miles form downtown Buffalo. Although to the best of my knowledge, most towers are not actually located in downtown. I thought they were in the southtowns, to get to the hills? Just curious where you are located and if I may be looking at a similar setup if I am that far form towers.

Bald, By choice!!
Baldodome is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-03-2005, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Gunny_Highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lake City, FL
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Head over to www.antennaweb.org to find out what kind of antenna you need for the various stations in your area.
Gunny_Highway is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off