HD to SD downconverter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-27-2004, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cudahy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cudahy, California, USA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After buying an expensive SD tv in one room we activated our HD ready tv in the other room without realizing that HD doesn't downconvert to SD. We've been trying to find info on a downconverter but haven't been able to(only tech sites come up when we google it). There must be other people in similar situations. A downconverter would surely be much cheaper than replacing a $1,000 television.
Anyone have any helpful info?
Cudahy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-27-2004, 11:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know what you have but almost any HD STB can output s-video or composite to an SDTV.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-27-2004, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What brand model of TV are you haveing the problem with?
What is the source of the video signal that you are trying to send it?
At what resolution and with what interface are you trying to send the video?
walford is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-27-2004, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cudahy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cudahy, California, USA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our HDtivo activated our Hitachi HD ready TV to HD. All outputs from it to our Panasonic (SD)TV in the other room ceased to work. We can still get 480 from the HDtivo to the Panasonic but when its in HD(1080) nothing comes through.
I was informed at the time(Last May) that you can't downgrade from HD to SD without an expensive downgrader. That would still be much cheaper than replacing our 2year old $1,000 Panasonic with another expensive HD set.
At the time we bought the HDtivo to activate our Hitachi we had no idea that it would be so difficult to downgrade to an SD tv.
I've seen ads on very technical sites for $300 for something that might work but there was no way to contact them.
Cudahy is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-27-2004, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't understand what you mean by the HD Tivo activating your Hitachi TV ro 1080i. Do you mean that you have your Tivo set to always ouput a 1080i signal?
Are you also trying to concurrently send the 1080i signal to your Panasonic SD TV even though it is not capable of accepting it with some sort of splitter? Or are you using a different interface with each set such as component or DVI for the Hitachi and S-Video for the Panasonic? If the later is true you may be able to specify a standard SD resolution such as 640x480 or 800x600 for the S-Video output.
walford is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-27-2004, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can convert from 1080i/720p (YPbPr) to 480i (composite/S-video) for around $500 as described in a post at Tivo Community Forum.
Erik Garci is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-28-2004, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cudahy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cudahy, California, USA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Erik, that's what we were looking for. I'm amazed that a simple HD-SD downconversion would be so expensive. Still, it's a lot cheaper than replacing a fairly new quality 40" SD TV with a new HDTV.
Cudahy is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-28-2004, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But unless you will be watching the Tivo from both TV's at the same time it's not cheaper than just switching the Tivo to 480i when you need the Panasonic.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-28-2004, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cudahy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cudahy, California, USA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We usually watch the same program on Now Playing at the same time, so we can go from room to room while it's on; pause it ; etc.
Cudahy is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off