Comcast Technology Topic - Page 42 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 39Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1238 Old 07-27-2016, 03:42 PM
Member
 
nrs111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
In our area one cannot generalize. The upgraded towns are decent (not like uncompressed HD of course), but the non- upgraded towns are not so great. I have some channels where a sports field looks like an algae bog.
I'm actually nearby in central CT. I'll have to see if I can find out if they've upgraded in my town.
Thanks.
nrs111 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1238 Old 07-27-2016, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jhachey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have any idea whether or how Comcast will distribute the 4k Olympics content that NBC is providing to its distribution partners?

I gather the 4k X1 box will not be available until 2017, so I assume that's not an option. Comcast did (does) have a UHD Sampler app for some smart TVs. Will they put out a new app for the Olympics? Maybe we could stream 4k from a computer with a good video card, or maybe Olympics in 4k will be a no-go from Comcast?
jhachey is offline  
post #1233 of 1238 Old 07-27-2016, 04:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,967
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1845 Post(s)
Liked: 1520
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoReDist View Post
one bit of reasoning is that then they would be obligated to deploy & support Tuning Adapters in those markets switched to SDV, so that customers with Tivos or other third-party devices would have two-way comm.
One also has to figure that given how problematic SDV can be Comcast probably didn't want to add to their already massive customer service problem.
Keenan is online now  
post #1234 of 1238 Old 07-27-2016, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimv1983 View Post
Just curious, any idea why Comcast refuses to switch to switched video? Seems like kind of a no brainer. Happier customers and less unneeded traffic hogging bandwidth.
They want to jump directly to IP, but it's taking WAY too long. They should have done SDV like 5+ years ago and they would be enjoying the results today. Instead they use anti-competitive bundling practices to force TV down people's throats. When I own my own place, I'm giving up my TiVos, settling for Genie, and enjoying DirecTV's high PQ, and 100% coverage of Connecticut basketball in HD, which no cable provider offers (some are at like 95%+, non-rebuild Comcast systems are significantly lower than that, with CBSSN in HD but crummy looking and having stereo audio).

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoReDist View Post
one bit of reasoning is that then they would be obligated to deploy & support Tuning Adapters in those markets switched to SDV, so that customers with Tivos or other third-party devices would have two-way comm.
Not if they did it through software with TiVo. They would still be required to have a few in a closet somewhere in case someone pulled out some outdated CableCard device that's not a TiVo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
In our area one cannot generalize. The upgraded towns are decent (not like uncompressed HD of course), but the non- upgraded towns are not so great. I have some channels where a sports field looks like an algae bog.
I disagree. I have done comparisons between my parents' house on the Branford system, and my apartment on the Groton system. Branford is an 860mhz rebuild, circa 2011. Groton is a 625mhz non-rebuild.

What I have found is that the 70 or so HDs that are on all the systems are heavily compressed centrally for the whole state or maybe a larger area so that they can fit on the creaky old systems like Groton and Clinton. Meanwhile, the other 50 or so HDs that are only on the rebuild systems aren't nearly as heavily compressed. Since the 70 more popular HDs are compressed centrally, everyone suffers from the limited bandwidth on the non-rebuild system. ESPNU HD is only on rebuild systems, and it looks absolutely incredible. Most other channels look like crap. Channels only available in SD anywhere, like when AJAM existed, looked great in SD, but ESPNU in SD looks horrendous because most systems have it in HD, so they compress the snot out of it, but here in Groton, there is no HD version of it, so we are stuck watching the horrendous SD channel. If ESPN's streaming is better this season, and I'm still in Groton, I might just stream them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrs111 View Post
I'm actually nearby in central CT. I'll have to see if I can find out if they've upgraded in my town.
Thanks.
What system? Plainville is an oddball 750mhz non-rebuild, New Haven, Hartford, Danbury, Branford, Norwich, and I believe Vernon are 860mhz rebuilds. Groton and Clinton are 625mhz and 650mhz non-rebuilds. Not sure about Old Lyme.
BiggAW is offline  
post #1235 of 1238 Old 07-27-2016, 06:13 PM
Member
 
nrs111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What system? Plainville is an oddball 750mhz non-rebuild, New Haven, Hartford, Danbury, Branford, Norwich, and I believe Vernon are 860mhz rebuilds. Groton and Clinton are 625mhz and 650mhz non-rebuilds. Not sure about Old Lyme.[/QUOTE]

I'm in Bristol so I guess it's Plainville. Doesn't sound good.
nrs111 is online now  
post #1236 of 1238 Old 07-28-2016, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
They want to jump directly to IP, but it's taking WAY too long. They should have done SDV like 5+ years ago and they would be enjoying the results today. Instead they use anti-competitive bundling practices to force TV down people's throats. When I own my own place, I'm giving up my TiVos, settling for Genie, and enjoying DirecTV's high PQ, and 100% coverage of Connecticut basketball in HD, which no cable provider offers (some are at like 95%+, non-rebuild Comcast systems are significantly lower than that, with CBSSN in HD but crummy looking and having stereo audio).



Not if they did it through software with TiVo. They would still be required to have a few in a closet somewhere in case someone pulled out some outdated CableCard device that's not a TiVo.



I disagree. I have done comparisons between my parents' house on the Branford system, and my apartment on the Groton system. Branford is an 860mhz rebuild, circa 2011. Groton is a 625mhz non-rebuild.

What I have found is that the 70 or so HDs that are on all the systems are heavily compressed centrally for the whole state or maybe a larger area so that they can fit on the creaky old systems like Groton and Clinton. Meanwhile, the other 50 or so HDs that are only on the rebuild systems aren't nearly as heavily compressed. Since the 70 more popular HDs are compressed centrally, everyone suffers from the limited bandwidth on the non-rebuild system. ESPNU HD is only on rebuild systems, and it looks absolutely incredible. Most other channels look like crap. Channels only available in SD anywhere, like when AJAM existed, looked great in SD, but ESPNU in SD looks horrendous because most systems have it in HD, so they compress the snot out of it, but here in Groton, there is no HD version of it, so we are stuck watching the horrendous SD channel. If ESPN's streaming is better this season, and I'm still in Groton, I might just stream them.



What system? Plainville is an oddball 750mhz non-rebuild, New Haven, Hartford, Danbury, Branford, Norwich, and I believe Vernon are 860mhz rebuilds. Groton and Clinton are 625mhz and 650mhz non-rebuilds. Not sure about Old Lyme.
I'll take your word for it that some of those systems are wonderful if my "uncompressed" comment is what you disagree with. I have only seen TV in those towns in bars where the adjustment could be goofy. I hope I live long enough to see a Top HD PQ in Clinton, but probably won't
sgbroimp is offline  
post #1237 of 1238 Old Yesterday, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrs111 View Post
What system? Plainville is an oddball 750mhz non-rebuild, New Haven, Hartford, Danbury, Branford, Norwich, and I believe Vernon are 860mhz rebuilds. Groton and Clinton are 625mhz and 650mhz non-rebuilds. Not sure about Old Lyme.
I'm in Bristol so I guess it's Plainville. Doesn't sound good.[/QUOTE]

Plainville's channel lineup looks a lot more like an 860mhz rebuild system than a 650mhz non-rebuild, so you're in decent shape. It seems to me that the extra channels use up around another 100mhz above what the 650mhz systems, although I'm not sure what that will mean for gigabit internet, which it looks like would require an 860mhz system to run MPEG-4 video AND DOCSIS 3 AND DOCSIS 3.1 to cobble together enough bandwidth for gigabit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
I'll take your word for it that some of those systems are wonderful if my "uncompressed" comment is what you disagree with. I have only seen TV in those towns in bars where the adjustment could be goofy. I hope I live long enough to see a Top HD PQ in Clinton, but probably won't
I was referring to the amount of compression. All channels are compressed at least twice. It would be impossible to offer them uncompressed, and only Google Fiber offers them without any re-compression.
nrs111 likes this.
BiggAW is offline  
post #1238 of 1238 Old Today, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
I was referring to the amount of compression. All channels are compressed at least twice. It would be impossible to offer them uncompressed, and only Google Fiber offers them without any re-compression.
Most Cable Systems obtain those "100's" of HD Channels via C-Band Satellite....which uses Stat-Muxes to Compress MPEG4 and MPEG2 signals (depending on the Channel)....and the Cable System picks and choses which of those COMPRESSED signals it wants to put on each of THEIR QAM-256 Channels, each of which usually runs through ANOTHER Stat-Mux, resulting in a SECOND level of COMPRESSION. If the Stat-Mux bundling in each Cable Stat-Mux matched the Stat-Mux bundling in the C-Band SAT, the amount of loss would presumably be minimized....but at least on MY TWC system, this does NOT appear to have happened.

Do you know the SPECIFICS on how Google Fiber receives HD Channels, incl. LOCAL Channels??? [They COULD simply pay to monitor Dishnet's or DirecTV's signals....and OTOH, they COULD be paying to get a feed from Local Stations PRIOR to going through their Transmit Stat-Mux.]

And how they are DELIVERED??? Do they simply transmit the SAME Stat-Muxed digital stream as the Local Station or did they make special arrangements with each Local Stations to grab the individual Sub-Channel signals PRIOR to the Stat-Mux??? Google Fiber is basically a high speed data pipe, but I have NOT seen any description as to HOW they are delivered, incl. whether they are monitoring the usual C-Band Satellites or are mostly using separate, non-compressed feeds...and whether they are adding any additional Compression when they DELIVER TV Signals.

Last edited by holl_ands; Today at 01:21 PM.
holl_ands is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off