Comcast Technology Topic - Page 57 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 134Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 1697 Old 08-13-2017, 02:45 PM
Member
 
MikeMc5506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Xfinity wireless set top box?

I've used Directv wireless boxes where there's no cable outlet available, and they work well. Just heard that Xfinity now has a wireless box but it works from a signal from your router. The Xfinity service tech wasn't high on the performance. Has anybody had any experience with them?
MikeMc5506 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 1697 Old 08-13-2017, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,905
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeMc5506 View Post
I've used Directv wireless boxes where there's no cable outlet available, and they work well. Just heard that Xfinity now has a wireless box but it works from a signal from your router. The Xfinity service tech wasn't high on the performance. Has anybody had any experience with them?


I believe it is theXi5 which has been discussed in this thread. It is a 1080p box with HDR. It does not have a tuner and needs either a X1 DVR or a SG2v2 plus a Comcast router / modem to function (or an alternative also discussed in this thread). I assume it need a good signal from the router to function properly.
PaulGo is online now  
post #1683 of 1697 Old 08-13-2017, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
What kind of premium channel series?

If they put Game of Thrones episodes in 4K HDR on VOD, their customers would clamor to get access to that.

Or just put most HBO and Showtime series in 4K.
Is GoT even produced in 4k? DirecTV will probably have more 4k content sooner than Comcast, even for NBCU content like the Olympics. They have the bandwidth to push a lot of 4k quickly.
BiggAW is offline  
 
post #1684 of 1697 Old 08-13-2017, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,474
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1466 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Supposedly they're filming the last two seasons in 4K or maybe producing 4K masters.
BiggAW likes this.
wco81 is online now  
post #1685 of 1697 Old 08-14-2017, 03:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Is GoT even produced in 4k? DirecTV will probably have more 4k content sooner than Comcast, even for NBCU content like the Olympics. They have the bandwidth to push a lot of 4k quickly.
Anyone making new high-end 'BoxSet' type dramas will be shooting in UHD/4K now - even if they don't currently operate a 4K/UHD consumer platform of their own.

There are enough international purchasers of these programmes that DO run UHD/4K services already that premium stuff is expected to be made in that format, plus longevity suggests shooting in 4K/UHD for future sales/release makes sense. GoT is on Sky in the UK (Sky have a big, exclusive, deal with HBO) - which has a 4K satellite and streaming service, and is a big customer for 'Box Set' style content.

However existing series may well stick with a 2K/HD workflow, particularly if they are coming to the end of their run. (Which I believe is the case for GoT).

Obviously series with Netflix/Amazon production involvement are likely to favour UHD/4K (and in some cases HDR) production.
BiggAW likes this.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #1686 of 1697 Old 08-26-2017, 07:21 AM
Member
 
KLEEEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: DC area
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Gigabit internet in DC area

Comcast allowed me to upgrade from Blast to Gigabit internet for $17/mo! Docsis 3.1 modem arriving Monday, will update with results. Without a 2 year contract the upgrade would cost $30/mo according to the CSR. I have Premier Double Play and my account now shows Gigabit Internet Tier. I am located in Chevy Chase MD.
markrubin and PaulGo like this.
KLEEEG is offline  
post #1687 of 1697 Old 08-26-2017, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,865
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2470 Post(s)
Liked: 2315
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLEEEG View Post
Comcast allowed me to upgrade from Blast to Gigabit internet for $17/mo! Docsis 3.1 modem arriving Monday, will update with results. Without a 2 year contract the upgrade would cost $30/mo according to the CSR. I have Premier Double Play and my account now shows Gigabit Internet Tier. I am located in Chevy Chase MD.
Be sure to check your first bill that has the changes to see if what the rep told you is what you're actually paying. What a Comcast rep says and what actually happens are very often two different things.
VideoGrabber likes this.

Last edited by Keenan; 08-26-2017 at 11:14 AM.
Keenan is online now  
post #1688 of 1697 Old 08-26-2017, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLEEEG View Post
Comcast allowed me to upgrade from Blast to Gigabit internet for $17/mo! Docsis 3.1 modem arriving Monday, will update with results. Without a 2 year contract the upgrade would cost $30/mo according to the CSR. I have Premier Double Play and my account now shows Gigabit Internet Tier. I am located in Chevy Chase MD.
So - how do all your costs to Comcast break down?
snidely is offline  
post #1689 of 1697 Old 08-26-2017, 10:42 AM
Member
 
KLEEEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: DC area
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
So - how do all your costs to Comcast break down?
Double play went from $130 to $147 plus various taxes and fees.
KLEEEG is offline  
post #1690 of 1697 Old 08-29-2017, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLEEEG View Post
Comcast allowed me to upgrade from Blast to Gigabit internet for $17/mo!
Upgrading to Gigabit cost me $10 per month (for 1 yr). I have my own modem, so no rental fee.

Consistently have speeds of >850/41.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #1691 of 1697 Old 08-29-2017, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snidely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oakland, Ca. & Aventura (Miami), Fl.
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by egnlsn View Post
Upgrading to Gigabit cost me $10 per month (for 1 yr). I have my own modem, so no rental fee.

Consistently have speeds of >850/41.
Unless you have a very large family all doing diff. downloads at the same time, is there really any diff between having 50Mb and 100Mb or even a Gig? I never noticed any diff between Comcast' 30+/- and Google's/Webpass 100Mb. The main diff. is most of Comcast's plans have a SLOW upload of 5Mbps. Ours is now 100 up/down. Probably helps w. doing video calls which can make use of fast upload speeds.
Whether you have 50 or 150 - services like Netflix will still give you their best quality. Interesting to see they give you more upload speed.

Question - Is there a data cap?
snidely is offline  
post #1692 of 1697 Old 08-29-2017, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Yes the cap's 1 terabyte.

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.
kevin j is online now  
post #1693 of 1697 Old 08-29-2017, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
Unless you have a very large family all doing diff. downloads at the same time, is there really any diff between having 50Mb and 100Mb or even a Gig?
Absolutely no difference. Nor do I upload enough to need the 40+ Meg. It'll be fun for the next 10 1/2 months, though, at which time I'll be dropping back down to my previous 200Meg or 100Meg with an upload of 12Meg.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #1694 of 1697 Old 08-29-2017, 04:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mark12547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon, United States, Earth
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 524
As far as I can tell, picture quality has not improved from going 10 Mbps down to 200+ Mbps down. But then my HDTV is only HD (1080p) and there is only one person who live here.

My very humble setup:
Spoiler!
Mark12547 is online now  
post #1695 of 1697 Old 08-30-2017, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
Unless you have a very large family all doing diff. downloads at the same time, is there really any diff between having 50Mb and 100Mb or even a Gig? I never noticed any diff between Comcast' 30+/- and Google's/Webpass 100Mb. The main diff. is most of Comcast's plans have a SLOW upload of 5Mbps. Ours is now 100 up/down. Probably helps w. doing video calls which can make use of fast upload speeds.
Whether you have 50 or 150 - services like Netflix will still give you their best quality. Interesting to see they give you more upload speed.

Question - Is there a data cap?
It would be great for online backups to push up at 40mbps. The upload is far more significant of an upgrade than the download, as 200mbps is pretty much as fast as anyone needs for the next few years at least.
BiggAW is offline  
post #1696 of 1697 Old 09-08-2017, 08:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin j View Post
Yes the cap's 1 terabyte.
So with what egnlsn said, "Consistently have speeds of >850/41.", if he could find a source to push data that fast, he can burn through an entire month's allotment, in, oh, ~2h,45m.

That may help explain some of their willingness to upgrade to that tier, for a fairly low incremental cost. I.e., anyone making much use of it is likely to incur additional overage charges.
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #1697 of 1697 Old 09-08-2017, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,905
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I believe because of competition the Northeast and parts of the mid-Atlantic regions are exempt from the one terabyte cap.

https://dataplan.xfinity.com/faq/
PaulGo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off