Directv Channels - Which Satellite/Transponder? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 10-28-2006, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can someone point me to the list that contains all of Directv channels and which satellite and transponder that they go to.

I know it is out there somewhere. I can't seem to find it using the "search" function.

I had to relocate my AT9 dish and having trouble with a couple of channels. That is one heavy sucker by the way.

Thanks in advance.

Mike

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 10-28-2006, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
A link to DirecTV's 101 degree satellite transponder list can be found on DBSForums's home page and is updated daily.

http://www.dbsforums.com/tx_map.html

There is also the Scott Seligman map that shows which Satellite A beams are pointed at which markets. http://www.scottandmichelle.net/scott/dtv.html

And I think someone posting under the name timf produced this old table: DirecTV Locals Spot Beam Information: Listing by Channel Number, but I don't think DirecTV spot beam assignments change much, other than in instances when DirecTV is forced to carry more stations in a market than they can fit into one beam.

Greg Bimson posted which locals were on which DirecTV Satelliite B spotbeam in this thread, DirecTV 7S - the map!.
AntAltMike is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 10-28-2006, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's great info AntAltMike. Thank you very much.

The channel I am having with right now is TNT HD, which may be located on Sat 110. It is breaking up very bad. Any other info on the other Satellites 110 and 119?

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 10-28-2006, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, to possibly pinpoint my problem, it seems my problem with the 110 satellite is limited to transponder number 8. I am pulling in 70s for transponders 10 and 12. Perhaps reaming the dish will not help for this.

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 10-28-2006, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Here is an old (Jan 4, 2005) list of HD programming on Sats B (119) and C(110) from WidescreenMovies

B Tr 22: 86 ABC East, 89 Fox West

B Tr 24: 87 ABC West, 88 Fox East

B Tr. 28: 72 ESPN2, 79 HDN, 97 DTV

C Tr. 8: 75 TNTH, 94-98 DTV, 99 PPV, 724 NFL, 726 NFL

C Tr. 10: 78 HDNM, 509 HBO, 543 SHO

C Tr 12: 73 ESPN, 74 UHD
AntAltMike is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 10-28-2006, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks again. I will be sure to print this info.

That would explain my problem with TNTHD. I am pulling in a signal reading of 0-30 on transponder 8 on Sat C.

Since I am already pulling in 70 readings for transponders 10 and 12, I am correct in assuming that reaming the dish will not help? Is this a problem with my receiver? I have an H20.

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 10-29-2006, 12:52 AM
Member
 
SRIBB43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i;m getting and error message on my at9 during satellite setup saying that only 4 of the 5 satellites are hookup. anyone got a message like this
SRIBB43 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-29-2006, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dsanbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chichester, NH....5 miles E of Concord
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRIBB43
i;m getting and error message on my at9 during satellite setup saying that only 4 of the 5 satellites are hookup. anyone got a message like this
SRIBB43......
A while back this "error" message showed up if the LILs on the 99 degree transponder weren't active in a particular area (the "fix" was/is to hit "IGNORE/DON'T FIX").....Not familiar with the Dallas DMA....Are your LILs on 99?
dsanbo is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-29-2006, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think I got this error message when setting up as well. I just selected ignore. I think my LILs are on Sat 101.

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 10-29-2006, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hockeynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MO
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By the way my reading on transponder 8 is now back to reading in the 70s. Must be a problem with Directv.

Mike
hockeynut is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 10-29-2006, 12:15 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeynut
By the way my reading on transponder 8 is now back to reading in the 70s. Must be a problem with Directv.
More likely you have something getting ready to fail, such as a combiner, or some moisture in your line or just a bad connection between the Sat C LNB and the combiner. If yours is a newer dish (no external combiner), then it's time to check the positioning or look for obstructions.

There are other factors which can afffect Sat C reception that are specific to areas on the edge of its footprint.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off