Will DB8 work for HD stations labeled as VHF @ checkhd.com? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2006, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JAWJABOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just about to buy the DB8 but noticed that the description says "Targeted Band: UHF Channels 14-69"

checkhd.com shows one of my fringe area HD channels as "violet - vhf WTWC-DT"

Will the DB8 pull in this station or does it only work on the ones listed as UHF?
JAWJABOY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2006, 03:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Channel Master 4228 pulls in vhf down to 8. What is the vhf channel? close to 14?
http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/comparing.html Scroll to last chart .Shows how well DB8 picks up vhf.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rick0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
there are 2 words to describe the vhf performance of the

DB8
DB4
cm4221
pr8800
pr4400
squareshooter

Pretty Crappy!

The cm 4228 does a mediocar job on highband vhf (ch.8-13) and gain in the band is up and down with the high points on ch 10,11, and 13.

cm4228 high band vhf gain in dbd.
ch7 -1
ch8 -4
ch9 +3
ch10 +6
ch11 +5
ch12 +1
ch13 +4

violet - vhf WTWC-DT transmits on ch2 at 9.2 Kw. None of the uhf antennas including the cm4228 will receive ch2.

you would need a combo vhf/uhf with high gain on vhf ... winegard hd8200p or separate uhf/vhf antennas with a cm7777 preamp to receive the stations rated as purple especiall for ch 2 which is a challenge to receive over long distance.
Rick0725 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 09:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JAWJABOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick0725 View Post

you would need a combo vhf/uhf with high gain on vhf ... winegard hd8200p or separate uhf/vhf antennas with a cm7777 preamp to receive the stations rated as purple especiall for ch 2 which is a challenge to receive over long distance.

This VHF HD station is 80 miles or so away, so I guess I should just forget about trying to pull it in ?
JAWJABOY is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rick0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you would need a combo vhf/uhf with high gain on vhf ... a winegard hd8200p or separate uhf/vhf antennas with a cm7777 preamp to receive the stations rated as purple especially for ch 2 which is a challenge to receive over long distance.

the separate vhf / uhf choices would be

wade/delhi 306-vip vhf antenna with an antennas direct 91xg combined through a cm7777 preamp.

combo vhf/uhf choice would be a winegard hd8200P.

receiving ch 2 from 80 miles will be a challenge and may not be possible.
Rick0725 is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAWJABOY View Post

I was just about to buy the DB8 but noticed that the description says "Targeted Band: UHF Channels 14-69"

checkhd.com shows one of my fringe area HD channels as "violet - vhf WTWC-DT"

Will the DB8 pull in this station or does it only work on the ones listed as UHF?

Get a CM4228 instead of a DB8. It's a better UHF antenna and is less expensive.....but as Rick said, it won't get you channel 2!
texasbrit is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
PlanoDeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there - I bought the DB-8 based on antenna direct recommendation -but I've not installed it yet. Someone suggested the Winegard Sensar. I'd like it in the attic.
Any thoughts?
Can the CM work in the attic as the DB-8 would have?
PlanoDeb is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rick0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanoDeb View Post

Hi there - I bought the DB-8 based on antenna direct recommendation -but I've not installed it yet. Someone suggested the Winegard Sensar. I'd like it in the attic.
Any thoughts?
Can the CM work in the attic as the DB-8 would have?

forget about the sensor at 30+ miles.

your choices are.

winegard hd7082P combo vhf/uhf if you desire a big combo antenna or a cm4228 which will receive the high band vhf station below.

The db8 is not suggested to receive ch 9!!! you received bad info from the supplier. return it.

the dbd gain on ch 9 with the
DB-8 is -19 dbd.
cm 4228 +3
* yellow - vhf WFAA-DT 8.1 ABC DALLAS TX 198° 32.2 ch9 vhf

your station is yellow so you should not have issues with the cm4228 in the attic.
Rick0725 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
PlanoDeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will i need an amp?
PlanoDeb is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rick0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
your stations are at the yellow end. a preamp may not be necessary with the cm4228.

it all depends...determine the need after you install the antenna.
Rick0725 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
PlanoDeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome. Thanks.
Last question - Do I need to ground the antenna if it is in the attic?
PlanoDeb is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 10:36 PM
Member
 
DrCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanoDeb View Post

Last question - Do I need to ground the antenna if it is in the attic?

Anyone have an answer to this question?

Thanks
DrCR is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 10:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
prospect60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Do I need to ground the antenna if it is in the attic?

Pretty universal consensus is there is no reason to ground the indoor antenna.
prospect60 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 11:40 PM
Member
 
DrCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Figured, but just wanted to make sure. Didn't want to find out it was needed the hard way.

thanks
DrCR is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off