DirecTV HD Channels gone? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bob142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having problems with DirecTV's HD channels? I get "Searching for satellite" message on 73, 75, 95, and most if not all of the other HD channels. I'm wondering if it's my setup or if it is a central problem.
bob142 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 04:49 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob142 View Post

Anyone else having problems with DirecTV's HD channels? I get "Searching for satellite" message on 73, 75, 95, and most if not all of the other HD channels. I'm wondering if it's my setup or if it is a central problem.

I was watching the news on KABC 10 minutes ago.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #3 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bob142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching ch. 95 10 minutes ago, then flipped the channel to something else and by the time I got back the HD channels were gone.
bob142 is offline  
post #4 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob142 View Post

I was watching ch. 95 10 minutes ago, then flipped the channel to something else and by the time I got back the HD channels were gone.

Have you reset your reciever?

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #5 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inman, SC & Melbourne Beach, FL
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All working fine in Florida.

Anything worth doing, is worth doing to excess.
mgtr is offline  
post #6 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 05:23 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx6bfast View Post

Have you reset your reciever?

did you pay your bill?
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #7 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
StuDBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

did you pay your bill?

If you don't pay your bill wouldn't all the channels disappear? Or does D* know that one is an HDTV Fanatic and torture that person by only making HD channels disappear?
StuDBaker is offline  
post #8 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rbmcgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: carmel, in, usa
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just reported a very similar issue on this thread.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=772944

Bob
rbmcgee is offline  
post #9 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 06:54 PM
Member
 
bgipson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live Upstate NY and I'm having the same problem. I've had a technician out three times to fix the problem. The last time, it said searching for signal on satellite 2 and then fixed itself while the tech was changing channels. What is going on?
bgipson is offline  
post #10 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 07:03 PM
Member
 
wrightwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
perhaps they compressed them so much, they disappeared!
wrightwing is offline  
post #11 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 07:19 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuDBaker View Post

If you don't pay your bill wouldn't all the channels disappear? Or does D* know that one is an HDTV Fanatic and torture that person by only making HD channels disappear?

Wouldn't know....I never go to triple digit channels on D*....only use it for LA and NY local Newscasts.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #12 of 53 Old 12-21-2006, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrightwing View Post

perhaps they compressed them so much, they disappeared!

Now thats funny.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #13 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

did you pay your bill?

Xylon is offline  
post #14 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob142 View Post

Anyone else having problems with DirecTV's HD channels? I get "Searching for satellite" message on 73, 75, 95, and most if not all of the other HD channels. I'm wondering if it's my setup or if it is a central problem.

I've been having a similar problem for a couple of months now with my HR10-250. It is intermittent so when they came out to look at it, everything was fine. I've also been seeing a lot of reboots in the system, so I'm getting more and more convinced that maybe the box is failing.
carltonrice is offline  
post #15 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I used to get that, but mine was because of a bad combiner module on the dish. Switched it out and all is fine now. Only get it periodically now because of weather.

Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #16 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 08:19 AM
Member
 
mbarloewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a similar problem that affected 70,71,72,75,76,77,78,95.

The issue was either a bad lnb on the dish or a bad multiswitch. An installer came out and replaced both and the problem was solved.

Perhaps that is your issue.

Mike
mbarloewen is offline  
post #17 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could be that Rupy is moving some channels around - getting ready to add the 100 by Christmas he promised.
keeper is offline  
post #18 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeper View Post

Could be that Rupy is moving some channels around - getting ready to add the 100 by Christmas he promised.

I don't think "Rupy" gives a crap at this point.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #19 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Had the same problem in the past, the built-in multiswitch in the LNB was bad.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #20 of 53 Old 12-22-2006, 06:19 PM
Member
 
DwntwnWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The same thing just happened to me tonight. The local channels were OK, but not the rest of HD channels. Luckily resetting the receiver corrected the issue. I have new HR20 and slimline dish.
DwntwnWS is offline  
post #21 of 53 Old 12-23-2006, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been having this issue on and off for about 3 weeks. Using LG LSS3200A.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #22 of 53 Old 12-23-2006, 01:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=757494

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #23 of 53 Old 12-23-2006, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
digital_b_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
why ask this question here instead of asking directv?
digital_b_avs is offline  
post #24 of 53 Old 12-24-2006, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Digger16309's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digital_b_avs View Post

why ask this question here instead of asking directv?

Have you ever talked with D* customer service in India? It's a nightmare.

Anytime I have a programming issue, I look and/or post here first to see if it's just me, regional, or system-wide. If the problem does not correct itself, and if I'm not alone, I can call D*, ask for a Level II Tech, then reference the thread.

This is particularly helpful when problem arise with Sunday Ticket, or other HD aspects of the sports subscriptions.
Digger16309 is offline  
post #25 of 53 Old 12-27-2006, 08:11 AM
Member
 
opie168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had this problem for a bit also. My issue is that ALL my channels work fine HDTV and non-hd but ESPNH never comes in and I have the searching for sattellite signal. I think its chann3l 73.
opie168 is offline  
post #26 of 53 Old 12-27-2006, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Tcole6414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been having similar problems for the last couple of weeks. HD channels drop pixelize and then drop out and I get a "channel not purchased" message.

Problems persist with only light rain or fog. Now that the sky is clear, everything works.
Tcole6414 is offline  
post #27 of 53 Old 12-29-2006, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
lokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I had a similar problem with an H20 and disconnected the Ka-filter and just plugged the satellite dish straight into the H20. Didn't affect me much since there is no MPEG 4 in my area, I then called D* and they sent me a replacement filter within a couple of days.
lokar is offline  
post #28 of 53 Old 12-30-2006, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Rosa Ca
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This issue is effecting me also....Have had to reset my HDDVR three times in the last two weeks.......talk about a SLOW reset.......ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..."almost there!" Calling D* is my last option always

Life is short, don't wait...do it today!
HDGreg is offline  
post #29 of 53 Old 12-30-2006, 11:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by digital_b_avs View Post

why ask this question here instead of asking directv?

Because here, we solve problems.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #30 of 53 Old 12-30-2006, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The latest from me:

It happened again last Sunday (lost a number of HD channels), just after NFL ST was finished. By later that night everything was back to normal.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off