D*: can 5LNB dish go on roof? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkh1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had an installer come out yesterday. Said that in the back of my yard, he cannot get a clear signal because my house blocks it. I line in a 3 story townhouse.

Can this dish go on my roof and replace the 3 LNB I have installed? I know they go on different size polls, but the installer said that it is too big to be put on a roof.
jkh1978 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkh1978 View Post

I had an installer come out yesterday. Said that in the back of my yard, he cannot get a clear signal because my house blocks it. I line in a 3 story townhouse.

Can this dish go on my roof and replace the 3 LNB I have installed? I know they go on different size polls, but the installer said that it is too big to be put on a roof.

With a bigger sturdy enough mount it shouldn't be an issue. This is not a C band dish we're talking about.
biker19 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkh1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I'm new, so I do not know what the C band dish is. I'm guessing thats for non-Directv and is the typical other kind of satellite.

Do the professional installers that Directv hires be able to supply an appropriate mount?
jkh1978 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
C band dish is a huge dish (like 6+ ft).

I assume they'd have the correct mount since they do new installs also for which you need the mount. The only question is whether they'll provide it free.

You could have some reluctant installer that doesn't want to go on the roof.
biker19 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker19 View Post

With a bigger sturdy enough mount it shouldn't be an issue. This is not a C band dish we're talking about.

believe it or not i have actually seen a house with a c band dish on it the house was not all that big and it was in a development.
rviele is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rviele View Post

believe it or not i have actually seen a house with a c band dish on it the house was not all that big and it was in a development.

That's probably rare and did some strengthening of the roof to support it.
biker19 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 08:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
greywolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Evanston IL 60202 11 mi from Chicago transmitters
Posts: 7,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roof rafters in snow country are plenty big enough to hold a 5LNB dish. Some installers are just intimidated by the idea of working on a roof and or don't have the equipment to find a rafter. Whenever I go up there to check or work on a dish or antenna, I get the willies for a while before I get used to being up there. It can be scary. I guess a high wind, no snow area might mean a higher wind load on a lighter rafter to the point of causing a problem but I doubt it. 5LNB dishes should also be mounted with two struts called monopoles to create a tripod effect. It's very strong but takes a little more time. DirecTV contracted installers get paid very little and want to spend as little time as possible at the job site. Paying an experienced professional a decent amount out of pocket to do a better job than a DirecTV subcontractor may be worth it.

Pat

While I may link to and mention products as examples, I don't recommend specific products.
greywolf is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
rviele's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker19 View Post

That's probably rare and did some strengthening of the roof to support it.

you are probably quite correct in your assumption but i'm just wondering could they have just put a 2x6 on the roof and nail to the underlying rafters . it looks like the dish is on the roof peak .
rviele is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rviele View Post

you are probably quite correct in your assumption but i'm just wondering could they have just put a 2x6 on the roof and nail to the underlying rafters . it looks like the dish is on the roof peak .

Could be - depends on the construction of the roof and the load of the dish.
biker19 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkh1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much do you think it owuld cost to get a professional installer myself? (of course approximate). But then I'd have to pay for the dish, and multiswitch,etc...
jkh1978 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 12-27-2006, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkh1978 View Post

How much do you think it owuld cost to get a professional installer myself? (of course approximate). But then I'd have to pay for the dish, and multiswitch,etc...

You can still get the equipment from D - just have it installed by a pro. The install cost varies by the installer and how much he has to do - and he might want more to do it in bad weather.$100-$200?
biker19 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 12-28-2006, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
N.B. Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkh1978 View Post

I had an installer come out yesterday. Said that in the back of my yard, he cannot get a clear signal because my house blocks it. I line in a 3 story townhouse.

Can this dish go on my roof and replace the 3 LNB I have installed? I know they go on different size polls, but the installer said that it is too big to be put on a roof.


I'm a D* sub, have an hdtv, and no HD reception. If you like, send me a pm and I'll tell you a story.
N.B. Forrest is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 12-28-2006, 06:54 PM
Member
 
G.Drayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Anaheim, Ca
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my at9 dish installed at the edge of my roof. I purchased the antenna from Ebay and installed it myself. Since it was installed at the edge I could see the rafters and I made sure it was centered and lag screws went into them.

At the time the outriggers were not available. I have now purchased them but not installed them yet. I have gone through several Santa Ana wind storms with no problems.
G.Drayer is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 01-28-2007, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
foamcows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have directv in Michigan. They installed the 5lnb dish on my roof, no problem at all.
foamcows is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off