Can I use two antennas with a splitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Channel Master 3021 four-bay bowtie antenna. I can only pick up two of four HD OTA channels. If I move the antenna, I can pick up new channels, but then lose some others.

I'm wondering if I can use two antennas with a Y-splitter?? Point one antenna in one direction and the other antenna in another direction.

Any help would be great!
Thanks
jester805 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
WillieAntenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern, WI
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jester805 View Post

I have the Channel Master 3021 four-bay bowtie antenna. I can only pick up two of four HD OTA channels. If I move the antenna, I can pick up new channels, but then lose some others.

I'm wondering if I can use two antennas with a Y-splitter?? Point one antenna in one direction and the other antenna in another direction.

Any help would be great!
Thanks

You have come to right place. If you post your Zip code so some of member could see what you can get and also state what channel you get at one spot and what channel you loose and gain at the other spot, also state where your antenna is at in the attic, on the roof or indoor do and do you have rotor and pre-amp state those also. You will get quicker response with all the info.

-Willie
WillieAntenna is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-30-2007, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
plumeria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jester805 View Post

I have the Channel Master 3021 four-bay bowtie antenna. I can only pick up two of four HD OTA channels. If I move the antenna, I can pick up new channels, but then lose some others.

I'm wondering if I can use two antennas with a Y-splitter?? Point one antenna in one direction and the other antenna in another direction.

Any help would be great!
Thanks

It is worth a shot and may or may not work. I use a splitter backwards and add an attenuator to one antenna (6dB from Radio Shack) - works great...

If this does not work you may want to purchase a Jointenna. Here is a good link on combining signals from two antennas.
http://www.tvantenna.com/support/tut...combining.html

peter
plumeria is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-01-2007, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m_vanmeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
usually there is about a 3db loss when you join two antennas with a splitter and they point in different directions. But, as the previous poster mentioned, try it......it just might work
m_vanmeter is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-01-2007, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You could also use a rotor.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-01-2007, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillieAntenna View Post

You have come to right place. If you post your Zip code so some of member could see what you can get and also state what channel you get at one spot and what channel you loose and gain at the other spot, also state where your antenna is at in the attic, on the roof or indoor do and do you have rotor and pre-amp state those also. You will get quicker response with all the info.

-Willie


Thanks for the greeting. My zip code is 61554. The stations I currently get are CBC & NBC. I don't care about getting ABC, but the one I cannot get is FOX. I do not have a rotor nor do I want one because I like to setup the DVR to record different channels at different dates & times. I have Dish network and I pay for locals. It would be not if I didn't have to pay for them, but right now I cannot tune in all of my locals.
jester805 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-03-2007, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
WillieAntenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern, WI
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jester805 View Post

Thanks for the greeting. My zip code is 61554. The stations I currently get are CBC & NBC. I don't care about getting ABC, but the one I cannot get is FOX. I do not have a rotor nor do I want one because I like to setup the DVR to record different channels at different dates & times. I have Dish network and I pay for locals. It would be not if I didn't have to pay for them, but right now I cannot tune in all of my locals.


jester805, I see Rick0725 has look up your zip code and the antennaweb result and I agree what Rick has suggested. If you got any more question on the setup I would ask Rick as he works with the jointenna and muti-antenna setup more than I do.

-Willie
WillieAntenna is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-03-2007, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick0725 View Post

* yellow - uhf WEEK-DT 25.1 NBC PEORIA IL 45° 6.1 57
* blue - uhf WYZZ-DT 43.1 FOX BLOOMINGTON IL 77° 24.2 28

suggest to combine the two antennas with a cm jointenna for ch 28

-aim one antenna directly to fox ch 28 and connect this antenna to the ch 28 input of jointenna
-aim the other antenna at about 40 degrees and connect to the "all channel" input of the jointenna
-the "to tv" output of the jointenna to the tv.

purchase the jointenna here...special order takes about 3 weeks. looks like picture. cm 0585-1 ch 28

the jointenna might attenuate ch 30 alittle but do not be concerned. that station is yellow.

http://www.warrenelectronics.com/ant...Jointennas.htm

Do you think I should get the Jointenna and another Channel Master 3021?? Or should I go with a different antenna for my second one??

I get confused with all the different styles & models of antennas out there.

Also, why is WYZZ called channel 28? It's actually channel 43-1 on my TV.
jester805 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-04-2007, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is channel 28 the frequency??
jester805 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-04-2007, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
WillieAntenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern, WI
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jester805 View Post

Do you think I should get the Jointenna and another Channel Master 3021?? Or should I go with a different antenna for my second one??

I get confused with all the different styles & models of antennas out there.

Also, why is WYZZ called channel 28? It's actually channel 43-1 on my TV.



uhf WYZZ-DT 43.1 FOX BLOOMINGTON IL 77° 24.2 28

WYZZ-DT 43.1 is a digital channel and it really transmitt on channel 28 but it is remapped as Channel 43.1, as Analog channel is on 43 now.

Understand ?

-Willie
WillieAntenna is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-16-2009, 08:21 PM
Newbie
 
internetuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For details of why this will sometimes work, search google for hdtvprimer merging feedlines.
internetuser is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off