Does HD antenna works w/ non-HDTV (yes/no?) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

I just got an indoor HD antenna made by Phillips (PHDTV1 Digital HDTV-UHF Indoor Antenna), and I was wondering if it will still work with a non-HDTV?

Reason why I ask if because I've got a Toshiba TV (Model #32A40), built around 2000, and I was hoping to use this new antenna to feed signals into this Toshiba TV?

Thanks for your time!

mychen
mychen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
An antenna has no idea if it is receiving analog SD, digital SD, or digital HD.
Since almost all digital channels either SD or HD use UHF frequencies and since digital signals are more subject to reflecton problems then are analog signals so called digital TV antennas are more directional then analog antennas.
Your UHF "HD" antenna should have no problem receiving the UHF analog channels (Channels above 13) that it is pointed at.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nmlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mychen View Post

Hi there,

I just got an indoor HD antenna made by Phillips (PHDTV1 Digital HDTV-UHF Indoor Antenna), and I was wondering if it will still work with a non-HDTV?

Reason why I ask if because I've got a Toshiba TV (Model #32A40), built around 2000, and I was hoping to use this new antenna to feed signals into this Toshiba TV?

Thanks for your time!

mychen

Yes, it should work fine. The antenna you bought is for UHF so it wont do real well with VHF channels (2-13) but should work fine for those in the UHF band.
Nmlobo is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
To be clearer -

If the set you have only has an analog tuner, and not specifically an ATSC digital one, even an antenna that's labeled as an "HD" one WILL NOT pick up digital HD or SD signals. You will need to get an outboard digital tuner for that.

The "HD" reception capability is not inherent in the antenna - you need an "ATSC digital" tuner to receive OTA HD.

But, once you have that, the antenna you have is a very good antenna to use to receive most of the signals. (It's UHF-only, but the majority of signals are in the UHF range.)
Rammitinski is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rammitinski:

Thank you for the clarification. The thing is, I went to Toshiba's site and downloaded the manual appropriate for the model... but I can't seem to figure out whether this TV has an ATSC digital tuner or not.

The model is 32A40.

Any ideas? Thanks again for your time.

(I can't post full links... b/c <5 posts)
mychen is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just read over my own post... thought I'd try to clear it up:

TV: Toshiba 32A40 (which is a non-HDTV, but not sure what tuner it has?)

Indoor Antenna: PHDTV1 Digital HDTV-UHF Indoor Antenna

Goal: Try to pick up basic channels, such as local news, weather, sports, etc. I've also gone to antennaweb [org] and saw that there are some channels available in my building.

Now the question is -- Will this particular HDTV-UHF indoor antenna meet my goal? Or would I need to get a different antenna, one that is *not* HD?

Thanks very much for your time.

mychen
mychen is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I could post the link...

But I'm getting this error message from the forum:

"Your Post contains one or more URLs or image calls, please remove them before submitting your message again. To prevent the abuse of spam, we have set this restriction in place until after you make 5 posts."

A little bit annoyed, but understandable.

Let me try this...

tacpservice.toshiba???

/ConsumerProductSupport/Manuals/TV/

2000tvct (.asp)

(Replace the ??? with proper designation)
mychen is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Damonb10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No such thing as an HD antenna. That is a marketing ploy. There are only VHF, UHF, FM antennas.
Damonb10 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damonb10 View Post

No such thing as an HD antenna. That is a marketing ploy. There are only VHF, UHF, FM antennas.

Great, thanks for your input. But you just completely disregarded my questions, no?
mychen is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

An antenna has no idea if it is receiving analog SD, digital SD, or digital HD.
Since almost all digital channels either SD or HD use UHF frequencies and since digital signals are more subject to reflecton problems then are analog signals so called digital TV antennas are more directional then analog antennas.
Your UHF "HD" antenna should have no problem receiving the UHF analog channels (Channels above 13) that it is pointed at.


Hey Walford, Thanks for your time responding to my inquiry.

So does this mean that even though my TV is NTSC standard, this HDTV antenna should still be able to provide me with some channels?

Thanks,

mychen
mychen is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
dc10forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mychen View Post

Hey Walford, Thanks for your time responding to my inquiry.

So does this mean that even though my TV is NTSC standard, this HDTV antenna should still be able to provide me with some channels?

Thanks,

mychen

Yes, you will be able to pick up the NTSC channels with your TV. Remember, anonlog (NTSC) broadcasts stop in Feb. 2009. At some point you will need to buy an atsc tuner for this TV.
dc10forlife is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey dc10forlife: thanks for your response. i appreciate the heads-up for feb. 2009.. hopefully by then, i'll have some money saved up for a higher quality tube.

best wishes,
mychen
mychen is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 06-02-2007, 10:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mychen View Post

hey dc10forlife: thanks for your response. i appreciate the heads-up for feb. 2009.. hopefully by then, i'll have some money saved up for a higher quality tube.

best wishes,
mychen

Or you could get the Samsung DTB-H260F ATSC/QAM tuner from Circuit City (or wherever), and just hook that up to your TV, and then hook the antenna up to the Samsung and try and receive digital channels OTA now.

They will only be displayed in standard def (on the SD TV you've got now), but they will be clear and look a lot better than the analog versions.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 06-03-2007, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mychen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Rammitinski: That's a great idea. I'll keep that in mind as the imminent date approacheth. Thanks again!

mychen
mychen is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off