BRAVIA Internet Video Link - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 89 Old 02-11-2008, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
ilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New for BIVL, 3 providers added: Singing Fool; Video Detective; FearNet

anybody tray this, looks interesting, i look forward for improvement.

send2mytv http : // dev . internet . sony . tv / extensions / send2mytv

Send2MyTV adds a context menu item to Windows/IE Explorer. Right click on
a file/Link in Windows Explorer/IE and the Menubar that pops up now has a
"Send2MyTV" link. If you select it, the File location shall be
converted to a usable URL and sent to the TV.

If you have not configured Send2MyTV earlier, it shall ask you for configuration
the first time you do "Send2MyTV". The settings are (all of these are mandatory) -
1. TV IP -> IP Address of the TV
2. TV Port -> Port Number on TV to connect to (default is 9784)
3. Map Local Directory & Local Webserver Directory
In order for Send2MyTV to convert the File location to a URL usable by
the TV, you need to do the following -
a) Install Apachefriends XAMPP (or any other HTTP server) on your local machine
b) Configure Apache/HTTP Server to export e.g D:\\ as /d_drive (for XAMPP edit apache\\conf\\httpd.conf file)
i) To do this in Add the following lines in the section

Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all

ii) Add the following line to the list of aliases
Alias /d_drv/ "D:/"
iii) Restart Apache
c)Enter "D:\\" in Map Local Directory and "/d_drive/" in Local Webserver Directory

Its all set to Go now !!!

Try the Send2MyTV Firefox extension to send internet links from Firefox to the TV -
http : // dev . internet . sony . tv / extensions / send2mytv
ilas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 89 Old 02-13-2008, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
FCEEVIPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pulling The Gotham National Bank Job
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilas View Post

New for BIVL, 3 providers added: Singing Fool; Video Detective; FearNet

anybody tray this, looks interesting, i look forward for improvement.

send2mytv http : // dev . internet . sony . tv / extensions / send2mytv

Send2MyTV adds a context menu item to Windows/IE Explorer. Right click on
a file/Link in Windows Explorer/IE and the Menubar that pops up now has a
"Send2MyTV" link. If you select it, the File location shall be
converted to a usable URL and sent to the TV.

If you have not configured Send2MyTV earlier, it shall ask you for configuration
the first time you do "Send2MyTV". The settings are (all of these are mandatory) -
1. TV IP -> IP Address of the TV
2. TV Port -> Port Number on TV to connect to (default is 9784)
3. Map Local Directory & Local Webserver Directory
In order for Send2MyTV to convert the File location to a URL usable by
the TV, you need to do the following -
a) Install Apachefriends XAMPP (or any other HTTP server) on your local machine
b) Configure Apache/HTTP Server to export e.g D:\\ as /d_drive (for XAMPP edit apache\\conf\\httpd.conf file)
i) To do this in Add the following lines in the section

Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all

ii) Add the following line to the list of aliases
Alias /d_drv/ "D:/"
iii) Restart Apache
c)Enter "D:\\" in Map Local Directory and "/d_drive/" in Local Webserver Directory

Its all set to Go now !!!

Try the Send2MyTV Firefox extension to send internet links from Firefox to the TV -
http : // dev . internet . sony . tv / extensions / send2mytv

Wait, what?! They actually added some new material?

So what sites can you search on Firefox?

"Some men aren't looking for anything logical.
They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with.
Some men just want to watch the world burn."

Dark Knight Saga - 072012
FCEEVIPER is offline  
post #33 of 89 Old 02-16-2008, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
ilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to Download "Send2MyTV" plugin from
http : // dev.internet.sony.tv/extensions/send2mytv/

It's the same for IE or Firefox Example: breaktaker.com they have wmv format
ilas is offline  
post #34 of 89 Old 02-20-2008, 04:41 PM
Newbie
 
ilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FCEEVIPER View Post

Wait, what?! They actually added some new material?

So what sites can you search on Firefox?

Install the FireFox/IE plugins
You can Right Click on a AVC/WMV/MPEG video link from any page you are browsing (IE and Firefox) on your PC and -


1. Send it to your TV (DMX-NV1) for Bookmark (adds the video to "My Favourites" of DMX-NV1)

2. Send it to your TV (DMX-NV1) for Playback

3. Control Playback from your PC (Browser) - Pause/Stop
ilas is offline  
post #35 of 89 Old 06-11-2008, 06:24 AM
Member
 
lmengel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is any of this stuff going to work with a imac and Safari?

Leslie
lmengel is offline  
post #36 of 89 Old 06-12-2008, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
asthenopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
asthenopia is offline  
post #37 of 89 Old 10-28-2008, 08:23 AM
Member
 
rvarneyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone successfully connected their BIVL to a secured, wireless network using an ethernet wireless-G networking adapter? If so, does it intergrate well and securely with your network or are there issues? How about streaming performance? Smooth? Poor?

Thanks.
rvarneyy is offline  
post #38 of 89 Old 11-12-2008, 05:53 AM
Member
 
anjanir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can any one help me in finding this pluggin for IE/ Firefox. The URL mentioned below does not work.

Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by ilas View Post

You have to Download "Send2MyTV" plugin from
http : // dev.internet.sony.tv/extensions/send2mytv/

It's the same for IE or Firefox Example: breaktaker.com they have wmv format

anjanir is offline  
post #39 of 89 Old 11-26-2008, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
johnston21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
johnston21 is offline  
post #40 of 89 Old 01-14-2009, 10:09 AM
Newbie
 
SybErkRimInAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Bravia Link came bundled with my TV when I bought it back in November. Initially it was pretty sweet but now I'm starting to realize it's pretty obsolete. If you have a PS3, there is no reason to get this. The only upside I can see to having this hardware is for firmware upgrades to your TV (if there ever are any) and the gift card to Amazon that it came with. Other than that, I wouldn't waste my money.
SybErkRimInAL is offline  
post #41 of 89 Old 01-26-2009, 05:33 PM
Newbie
 
journeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Hi Folks, I just learnt about this forum. I did some experiments with the firefox extension and have blogged about my experience here.

http : / / amit . chakradeo . net /2008 /12 /17 /sony-bravia-internet-link-unofficial-api/

(Sorry for the stupid spaces in URL, they won't allow posting urls)

I have also tweaked the extension so that it works with firefox 3.0.X.

Do let me know if there are any comments.

Cheers!
Amit
journeyer is offline  
post #42 of 89 Old 01-27-2009, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
FCEEVIPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pulling The Gotham National Bank Job
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SybErkRimInAL View Post

My Bravia Link came bundled with my TV when I bought it back in November. Initially it was pretty sweet but now I'm starting to realize it's pretty obsolete. If you have a PS3, there is no reason to get this. The only upside I can see to having this hardware is for firmware upgrades to your TV (if there ever are any) and the gift card to Amazon that it came with. Other than that, I wouldn't waste my money.

I agree.

"Some men aren't looking for anything logical.
They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with.
Some men just want to watch the world burn."

Dark Knight Saga - 072012
FCEEVIPER is offline  
post #43 of 89 Old 02-27-2009, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
Spyder63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a Sony TV with Bravia Link and am wondering what people are using as a wireless bridge? Should I buy an 802.11g device or upgrade my router to 802.11n and buy a compatible bridge? If 802.11g is good enough I would just as soon not spend extra money. I plan to test the Link out with a CAT-5 cable for now, but I have to run 40 feet of cable from TV location to demark.

Also I cannot get Firefox 3.0.6 to install Send2MyTV plugin. Getting error screen from FF "Send2MyTV" will not be installed because it does not provide secure updates." Any thoughts on that one? Tried opening file direct and that does not work. Also tried installing the tweaked version and no joy there either. Got the IE version of Send2... to install, but cannot get very far until I have internet link established.

Thanks
Spyder63 is offline  
post #44 of 89 Old 04-08-2009, 01:23 PM
Member
 
asi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a wrt54gl with dd-wrt (3rd party firmware) as the wireless bridge for the Bravia link. The same bridge also connects the TV, BD player, and game console.

I think the Bravia Internet link (software 1.1.29.27) is buggy. Too often, I get the blue screen message, by triggering network activity via scrolling back and forth among video thumbnails.

"The service you were attempting to acquire
could not be accessed at this time.
Try refreshing services in the Internet Video
settings menu or restarting, reference code (1A)"

Further network activity gets stuck on the same error. Recovery requires rebooting the Bravia video link unit. As far as I can tell, the problem is with the video link unit, and not the wireless bridge. I will be hooking a PC up to the bridge later to verify.

That said, I don't think the Bravia video link is worth the money at this time. There's a lot of potential, if Sony would release better or more open software for the module. At the present time, all the content is available with a PC anyway, and the PC connects to the TV too.
asi7 is offline  
post #45 of 89 Old 04-08-2009, 01:55 PM
Member
 
asi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bravia Internet Video Link

Video Channels:
ten exclusives
you tube
yahoo
amazon
blip.tv
the minisode network
sports illustrated
fear.net
wired
epicurious.com
concierge.com
style.com
men.style.com
myplay
timeless tv
inside sony pictures
crackle
fordmodels
dailymotion
howcast.com
video detective
singing fool
podcasts
cbs hd

Music Channels:
Slacker Personal Radio
asi7 is offline  
post #46 of 89 Old 05-05-2009, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
maneki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I registered and linked up my Bravia Internet Video to Amazon on Demand and Sony. Numerous channels show up fine in XMB's video scroll menu except Amazon's so I can't browse the Amazon online store. Where does the Amazon show up on XMB menu? (P.S. I've hooped through several things-rebooting device, relinking to Amazon, to no avail. Emailed support to Sony and Amazon and each points to the other to get support!)

P.S. I did update the software to 1.1.29.27, but noted in someone's earlier post it might be "buggy." Could this be the culprit?
maneki is offline  
post #47 of 89 Old 05-17-2009, 10:20 AM
Member
 
asi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maneki View Post

Where does the Amazon show up on XMB menu?

Amazon shows as one of the video channels without registration or linking. If the channel doesn't show, then try unlinking the amazon service for your device at internet.sony.tv. Then work on the problem from there.

That said, my last attempt to link yahoo to an yahoo account broke My Page. More specifically, the weather pane just reported service unavailable. Unlinking the yahoo service fixed it. ..And I haven't figured out the benefit linking the yahoo service either.
asi7 is offline  
post #48 of 89 Old 05-17-2009, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
maneki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks asi7. Yeah, even after unlinking at internet.sony.tv with no success, I persisted in emailing support to both Sony and Amazon. Somewhere between them my registration got setup correctly and the Amazon On Demand channel finally showed up. The viewing experience on some videos I purchased (thanks to the promo gift) isn't bad, given that my broadband is zippy enough. (Am on Mac OS so can't offload my purchases, so future buying not likely.) Am hoping Amazon will provide some previews on the Bravia video link--lack of previews doesn't make renting and purchasing from the TV a good experience.
maneki is offline  
post #49 of 89 Old 06-16-2009, 03:04 PM
Member
 
BarsAntone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyder63 View Post

Also I cannot get Firefox 3.0.6 to install Send2MyTV plugin. Getting error screen from FF "Send2MyTV" will not be installed because it does not provide secure updates." Any thoughts on that one? Tried opening file direct and that does not work. Also tried installing the tweaked version and no joy there either. Got the IE version of Send2... to install, but cannot get very far until I have internet link established.

The plugin isn't compatible with FF3.x and the info at http://internet.sony.tv doesn't indicate they have any plans to make it compatible. I kept a copy of FF2.x installed on my PC specifically to run this plugin. IMO, that's preferable to running IE.
BarsAntone is offline  
post #50 of 89 Old 06-16-2009, 03:08 PM
Member
 
BarsAntone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asi7 View Post

That said, my last attempt to link yahoo to an yahoo account broke My Page. More specifically, the weather pane just reported service unavailable. Unlinking the yahoo service fixed it. ..And I haven't figured out the benefit linking the yahoo service either.

AFAIK, the only benefit of linking Yahoo to the BIVL is that when linked, the "My Page" shows weather from all of the cities you have defined as favorites for weather on your "My Yahoo" page. Otherwise, it only shows weather for 1 city. Probably not a huge advantage, and it may even be a disadvantage if you don't care about weather elsewhere when you're in front of your TV at home.
BarsAntone is offline  
post #51 of 89 Old 06-16-2009, 03:14 PM
Member
 
BarsAntone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asi7 View Post

Bravia Internet Video Link

Video Channels:
ten exclusives
you tube
yahoo
amazon
blip.tv
the minisode network
sports illustrated
fear.net
wired
epicurious.com
concierge.com
style.com
men.style.com
myplay
timeless tv
inside sony pictures
crackle
fordmodels
dailymotion
howcast.com
On Networks

video detective
singing fool
podcasts
Videocast.com

cbs hd

Music Channels:
Slacker Personal Radio

Couple of programming provider additions popped up this month. I updated the list provided by asi7 and highlighted the new arrivals in bold.
BarsAntone is offline  
post #52 of 89 Old 07-22-2009, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to use the "Save this link" feature?

The manual says that it should show up in the options menu when I'm over a video thumbnail. As far as I can tell it doesn't work since the "Save this link" menu item never shows up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarsAntone View Post

The plugin isn't compatible with FF3.x and the info at http://internet.sony.tv doesn't indicate they have any plans to make it compatible. I kept a copy of FF2.x installed on my PC specifically to run this plugin. IMO, that's preferable to running IE.

I fixed the plugin to work in Firefox 3.5.* in case anyone's interested. You can get it from here. The add-on really needs a redesign as it's not very user friendly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BarsAntone View Post

AFAIK, the only benefit of linking Yahoo to the BIVL is that when linked, the "My Page" shows weather from all of the cities you have defined as favorites for weather on your "My Yahoo" page. Otherwise, it only shows weather for 1 city. Probably not a huge advantage, and it may even be a disadvantage if you don't care about weather elsewhere when you're in front of your TV at home.

Like asi7, the weather broke after I linked to Yahoo so I just leave it unlinked.
Morac is offline  
post #53 of 89 Old 07-24-2009, 02:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netflix is now showing up in the video list. It just says coming in fall though.
Morac is offline  
post #54 of 89 Old 07-29-2009, 10:44 AM
Member
 
BarsAntone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post

I fixed the plugin to work in Firefox 3.5.* in case anyone's interested. You can get it from here. The add-on really needs a redesign as it's not very user friendly.

Thanks for sharing. It's also not very Mac-friendly, but I will definitely check it out on my Windows machine.
BarsAntone is offline  
post #55 of 89 Old 07-30-2009, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarsAntone View Post

Thanks for sharing. It's also not very Mac-friendly, but I will definitely check it out on my Windows machine.

It should work on a Mac as the add-on isn't Windows specific. It just requires Firefox to be installed.

Technically all the add-on does is build the URLS that connect to the Bravia Link. If you wanted to you could build the links by hand to add videos.
Morac is offline  
post #56 of 89 Old 07-31-2009, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only bought this recently, but I've noticed that it sometimes reboots itself for no reason. It seems to get sluggish before it does this.

Has anyone else seen this?
Morac is offline  
post #57 of 89 Old 08-01-2009, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phantom Gremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tualatin Oregon
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post

I only bought this recently, but I've noticed that it sometimes reboots itself for no reason. It seems to get sluggish before it does this.

Has anyone else seen this?

Sorry. I just can't resist. Is this the product? WARNING! lot's of "F" words!
Phantom Gremlin is offline  
post #58 of 89 Old 08-01-2009, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom Gremlin View Post

Sorry. I just can't resist. Is this the product? WARNING! lot's of "F" words!

It's not that bad.

I'm just trying to determine if it's normal for the thing to occasionally reboot (it did it while I was watching a video) or if mine is defective.
Morac is offline  
post #59 of 89 Old 08-09-2009, 10:16 PM
Member
 
asi7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morac View Post

I only bought this recently, but I've noticed that it sometimes reboots itself for no reason. It seems to get sluggish before it does this.

Has anyone else seen this?

Yes, I have also encountered content from time to time that causes unhelpful error messages or crashes (reboots).

My unit has auto updated itself recently to BIVL software version 1.2.0. I haven't noticed any feature changes yet. Hopefully, the new release is more stable/reliable than the earlier ones.
asi7 is offline  
post #60 of 89 Old 08-10-2009, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asi7 View Post

Yes, I have also encountered content from time to time that causes unhelpful error messages or crashes (reboots).

My unit has auto updated itself recently to BIVL software version 1.2.0. I haven't noticed any feature changes yet. Hopefully, the new release is more stable/reliable than the earlier ones.

I think I'm going to call Sony about this. The BIVL software seems to have some kind of memory leak in it since it gets slower and slower then longer it's been up. Eventually it just reboots itself and the process repeats.
Morac is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off