Dish Network Satellite Location - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-13-2007, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
prodwel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in an apartment with a balcony that has a view of the eastern portion of the southern sky. I had DirectTV come over and the tech could not get a clear line of sight to the satellite as it is a more western view of the southern sky I need.

Is the DISH Network satellite in the same position as the DirecTV satellite in the southern sky?
prodwel1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-13-2007, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dayton
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The main satellites are *generally* in the same direction. It's possible that one service can have line-of-sight when the other doesn't but it's not that common.
hall is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-13-2007, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You do not post your location so it is hard to tell how you will see their satellites. However if you are in the very eastern U.S. Dish has a 61.5 satellite that contains all their HD. This satellite is approximately over the Bahamas. The Dish satellites for their SD channels are over Los Angeles and some are further east but these are approximately the same as DirecTV's. Dish has a HD satellite for the western U.S. at 129 that is further west than Los Angeles but with the 61.5 you do not need it.

The bottom line. The HD channels are east of you but the SD channels are west of you. Where you are located in the U.S. controls whether whether your HD locals are on the 61.5 or the 129.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-13-2007, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
prodwel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rick and hall, thank you for the posts. I am located in Rochester, NY, therefore, from my location and the fact that my balcony faces southeast, it seems as though I am fine for HD, but I would not get access to the SD satellite. Looks like I'm stuck with Time Warner.
prodwel1 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off