Terk HDTVa and my house... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-21-2007, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
saintjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a Terk HDTVa antenna (indoor amplified one). We live in a split level with the tv and antenna in the bottom level. I get most channels, however in order to get one specific one (FOX), I have to elevate the antenna about 4 ft off the ground. Not a big deal, but it looks cheesy. Anyway, rather than buy a new outdoor antenna, I am thinking of running cable to the garage and mounting the Terk HDTVa antenna in there.

My question is really...

The antenna is indoor rated, but is the garage "indoor" enough that it wont get ruined by the cold/heat/humidity/etc? It would be up off the ground on a shelf.

Thanks

saintjo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-21-2007, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
CHeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintjo View Post

I just bought a Terk HDTVa antenna (indoor amplified one). We live in a split level with the tv and antenna in the bottom level. I get most channels, however in order to get one specific one (FOX), I have to elevate the antenna about 4 ft off the ground. Not a big deal, but it looks cheesy. Anyway, rather than buy a new outdoor antenna, I am thinking of running cable to the garage and mounting the Terk HDTVa antenna in there.

My question is really...

The antenna is indoor rated, but is the garage "indoor" enough that it wont get ruined by the cold/heat/humidity/etc? It would be up off the ground on a shelf.

Thanks

The big thing would be keeping it dry. I don't think humidity would be a problem. However, would it be near the door? or far enough away that a windy rainstorm wouldn't affect it?

Otherwise, best of luck and have a great turkey day.
CHeath is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-23-2007, 10:01 AM
Member
 
tyromark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's probably a fine idea. Height is always your ally in reception. Make sure you buy RG-6 cable for that and not RG-59.
tyromark is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-23-2007, 12:48 PM
Member
 
OneTruMag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had my HDTVa in the bedroom and rcvd everything fine but had to elevate for ABC, the only VHF chnl here. I'm on the 2nd flr w/an attic above so I took the antenna up there and dropped the coax with another 6ft piece between the antenna and the amp. I used RG-59 since that's what's already on the antenna. I'm pegging out the signal strength meter now on almost every chnl. I'll try the RG-6 but wouldn't its freq range benefits be negated by the fact that the signal's coming thru RG-59 1st?

PURPLE and lovin' it!!
Hi-Res Audio is worth a kidney ... or a kid
OneTruMag is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off