Can I cut off HDMI cable then re-attach the adapter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-22-2008, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of pulling HDMI cables to distribute HD signals throughout the house, can I cut the end of the HDMI cable off for easy fishing through the wall, then re-connect the adapter?

How far can an HDMI cable go without signal boost?

Thanks in advance.
jacmyoung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-22-2008, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raouliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ponchatoula, LA.
Posts: 1,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You would have 19 conductors and maybe a shield to reattach. Seems like a lot of work. The HDMI plug is relatively small. Wiki HDMI Info has the pinout and a discussion on cable length.

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin
raouliii is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-22-2008, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
tlniec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There are other options out there. I believe several companies make HDMI extenders (HDMI from source to sender, 2xCat5e cables from sender to receiver, HDMI from receiver to display). There's also a company called RapidRun that makes modular cabling -- you fish the cable without any ends on it, and then you can field-terminate it with any of several 'pigtails' (including an HDMI version, if I remember correctly).

Otherwise, you're stuck fishing cables with the ends attached. If your walls are open, not such a big deal. If not, it can be a big deal!
tlniec is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-22-2008, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 411
I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron, but there is no way I would attempt to reconnect an HDMI connector. Aside from the number of pins, those things are really tiny. Those things are machine soldered at the factory.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-22-2008, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron, but there is no way I would attempt to reconnect an HDMI connector. Aside from the number of pins, those things are really tiny. Those things are machine soldered at the factory.

And I don't even solder.

tlniec, thank you for the RapidRun link, judging from the pictures those connectors are not going to make my work much easier. Guess I will have to drill bigger holes than I like.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-22-2008, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I had seen an announcment somewhere on here that some company has figured out how to convert HDMI to coax and back again - you might do some looking for that ?

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-23-2008, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooper View Post

I had seen an announcment somewhere on here that some company has figured out how to convert HDMI to coax and back again - you might do some looking for that ?

Is that the $700 device by Gefen you were talking about? Well it is still vaporware and not worth the expenses unless it can do a lot more, such as network several receivers.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-23-2008, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 44
When looking at HDMI over COAX solutions it is worth ensuring that they are lossless - i.e. they don't recompress the video to reduce the bitrate and will pass a full HDMI signal untouched.
sneals2000 is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-23-2008, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

When looking at HDMI over COAX solutions it is worth ensuring that they are lossless - i.e. they don't recompress the video to reduce the bitrate and will pass a full HDMI signal untouched.


They say they can do 1080i now and is working on 1080p.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-23-2008, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah I think it was Gefen, but holy cow - that's pricey !

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off