I did the registry, i still can't get my DVD folders to show in Media Center? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yellow360f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked it over and over again. I don't have a tuner, but that should not be a problem, right? Why doesn't my 2 DVD's that are ripped don't show. I have them in my local drive. The writeup says, right click or you should see DVD in the menu, i don't see either one. Right click won't show anything either. Plz help.

yellow360f is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 39
This is what your registry settings should look like after the modifications.

- Note the path at the bottom of the image. That's where you should be making the changes.
- Note the "FolderSearchDepth" parameter. I have mine set to decimal 20, but you can choose to use whatever you want. (20 is a fairly safe number).
- After you have made the changes, reboot.
- If the changes your successful, you should have a "dvd library" icon on your "TV + Movies" strip. IF not, something went wrong.
- If it was successful, GO INTO the DVD library, THEN right click and select "Add Movies" and choose the folder where you stored your movies.

kapone is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Kapone - do you think you could link the thread that discusses this in detail? I'd like to apply this mod also!
rdjam is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
umdivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota (aka the frozen tundra)
Posts: 5,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
umdivx is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yellow360f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have done it correct. see the picture.

hmmmm. first step of HTPC and failed. oh well. should have known, it's darn microsoft product.

yellow360f is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Does it show the "DVD Library" icon in the "TV + Movies" strip?
kapone is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yellow360f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No. nothing, just like the snap shot i posted earlier.

I can open powerdvd , browse to those folders and play them. The files have been ripped using dvd shrink. Dvd shrink creates the Video + Audio folder. Also, i don't have a high end video yet, but powerdvd plays the dvds just fine.

also no tuner yet. I don't believe tuner or video card can affect the DVD not showing up.

could it be ripping from DVD shrink?
yellow360f is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Do you have a DVD Drive in this machine? The reason I ask is because, by default it should have a "Play DVD" option in the "TV + Movies" strip This is what changes to DVD Library, but I don't see a Play DVD in your screenshot either.

Try going into Settings and run the Express setup once again, and then reapply the registry changes (and reboot).
kapone is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yellow360f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have 2 dvd writer/burner +- all the options that come with the DVD. it's not the Blue-ray , just regular dvd burner/player.

this is a new install of vista ultimate, interesting that it doesn't show play DVD.

I am really confused now.

thanks again.
yellow360f is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-30-2008, 10:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yellow360f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The video card had 32mb, i guess for DVD (even though powerdvd works just fine), media center wanted 64mb or more for the DVD option to show up on the menu. I installed a 64mb agp video card i had and the DVD menu came up.
yellow360f is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 04-22-2008, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
wsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having this exact same problem but with a brand-new HP 9200T machine. Vista SP1 plus BluRay/HD drive and a custom HP BluRay/HD player integrated into the Vista media center interface.

This green button thread has someone with the same issue and said it was a registry setting (different than the "Gallery" one) that is specific to new HP machines with BluRay/HD drives. Does anyone know what the registry setting is?

thegreenbutton.com/forums/257922/ShowThread.aspx#257922

FWIW, HP has nicely integrated their BluRay/HD playback software right into the interface. But I can't get it to play any of ripped DVDs.
wsharp is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 04-22-2008, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
gtfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the problem too. Just installed Vista Home Premium, and pointed VMC to my ripped DVDs, and it doesn't see them. I'll try this registry trick tonight. Thanks.
gtfoltz is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 04-28-2008, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
wsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally tracked down the new key by comparing two HP machines I have (one with BluRay and one without) using Process Monitor. Setting this key to "0" makes the DVD Library show up after the "Gallery" key change.

HKLM\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\Windows\\CurrentVersion\\Media Center\\Start Menu\\HideDVD
wsharp is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 04-28-2008, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
gtfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Valley of the Sun
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I never did get mine to show up either--I just installed MyMovies instead, and it found them just fine...
gtfoltz is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off