"Official" PowerDVD Ultra 8 thread - Page 24 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vern Dias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Allen TX USA
Posts: 4,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WARNING

PDVD 8 Patch 1622 will break DXVA HW assist for MP4 / AVC discs exactly like 3730d did for 7.3.

Workaround:

BEFORE installing the 1622 patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter and copy CL264dec.ax to a safe location. After installing the patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter, rename CL264dec.ax to CL264dec_O.ax and copy your saved CL264dec.ax to the subdirectory. You will be good to go.

This works for me, but I take no responsibility for your environment.

Vern
Vern Dias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 05:42 AM
Member
 
ConradWS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vern,

No worries. Thanks for the info...got it filed. Easy to make an hdd backup image first but since 3730d was poison in my evironment...maybe its a good idea to pass for a while until running across a 2.0 problem disc.

I'm wondering if these releases are developed for certain configurations and they leave it to the end user to figure it out.

BTW that stupid Register now pop-up screen doesn't come back after upgrading does it?

Later, Conrad
ConradWS is offline  
post #693 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post

PDVD 8 Patch 1622 will break DXVA HW assist for MP4 / AVC discs exactly like 3730d did for 7.3.

It was already broken on my ATI card with the initial version 8 release. 7.3 worked fine* though.

*fine = 20% more CPU usage than another AVC decoder.
vladd is offline  
post #694 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackyflipside View Post

I just found out my monitor is not HDCP compliant, could that be the reason bluray does not play?

I do not have a BR drive yet but do have HD DVD and my monitor is 1080p capable but not HDCP compliant however my video card is and I can play HD DVDs no problem. I am using the DVI to VGA connector to feed the monitor which maybe what you need to do.
Socio is offline  
post #695 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Patch impressions...

Cyberlink remote Menu button still doesn't work... argh..

However, they have greatly improved the player's responsiveness regarding scene switching, fast forward/rewind, chapter skipping etc. It's now instant whereas before it took an extra 1-2 seconds to skip a chapter or change a scene. Well done Cyberlink! Is 3730d the same? I went straight from 3730a to PDVD8 first release.

Some menus are also now displayed differently, for example... I, Robot now has animations in the menu which it didn't have before. Ironically, it actually makes it take longer to navigate the menu due to the extra animations.

Also I can confirm HD-DVD playback still works fine
XxDeadlyxX is offline  
post #696 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
They have not broken 7.3 HD-DVD playback yet.
jong1 is offline  
post #697 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post

WARNING

PDVD 8 Patch 1622 will break DXVA HW assist for MP4 / AVC discs exactly like 3730d did for 7.3.

Workaround:

BEFORE installing the 1622 patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter and copy CL264dec.ax to a safe location. After installing the patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter, rename CL264dec.ax to CL264dec_O.ax and copy your saved CL264dec.ax to the subdirectory. You will be good to go.

This works for me, but I take no responsibility for your environment.

Vern

Thanks. I can confirm this works here (on XP Pro) with seemingly no ill effects.
jong1 is offline  
post #698 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Peter Nagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post

WARNING

PDVD 8 Patch 1622 will break DXVA HW assist for MP4 / AVC discs exactly like 3730d did for 7.3.

Workaround:

BEFORE installing the 1622 patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter and copy CL264dec.ax to a safe location. After installing the patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter, rename CL264dec.ax to CL264dec_O.ax and copy your saved CL264dec.ax to the subdirectory. You will be good to go.

This works for me, but I take no responsibility for your environment.

Vern

What graphics card do you have? How can you tell if Hardware Acceleration is disabled while playing a movie? And which movie uses MP4 / AVC? Is the latest patch worth it?

Sorry for so many questions. Thanks for being a guienna pig.

Peter
Peter Nagy is offline  
post #699 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Happens with the ATI 3850 here, Cat 8.4, XP. Just bring up task manager while playing a movie with AVC and you will see how much higher the CPU utilisation is (about double).
jong1 is offline  
post #700 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rathbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HWA is not broken on my 8800GT.
Rathbone is offline  
post #701 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It probably depends on your graphics card and its driver as well. I ditched my ATI and nVidia cards for the G35 thing, so I don't get HWA anyway . I gotta say though, without HWA, you do need a powerful processor with PowerDVD for blu-ray. I could play all HD-DVDs very easily with a 2.25 GHz Pentium Dual-Core, but blurays now do 60-80% with a Wolfdale Core 2 Duo at 3.0GHz. I wonder how much impact does L2 cache makes for this stuff.
Andy o is offline  
post #702 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Peter Nagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

It probably depends on your graphics card and its driver as well. I ditched my ATI and nVidia cards for the G35 thing, so I don't get HWA anyway . I gotta say though, without HWA, you do need a powerful processor with PowerDVD for blu-ray. I could play all HD-DVDs very easily with a 2.25 GHz Pentium Dual-Core, but blurays now do 60-80% with a Wolfdale Core 2 Duo at 3.0GHz. I wonder how much impact does L2 cache makes for this stuff.

Is there an advantage of HWA disabled over enabled?

Peter
Peter Nagy is offline  
post #703 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
hpmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Nagy View Post

Is there an advantage of HWA disabled over enabled?

Not an advantage per se, considering that HD material is presumptively cleaned up, but when HWA is off, you can proceed to adjust picture settings such as contrast, brightness, etc.
hpmoon is offline  
post #704 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vern Dias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Allen TX USA
Posts: 4,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


HWA is not broken on my 8800GT

Yes, I'll bet it actually is. At least it is on my 8800GT and my 9800GTX and my ATI HD3780. All with the latest drivers. However you have to be playing an MP4 AVC encoded disc to see the issue. MPEG2 and VC1 HW decodes are fine. Use the configuration context menu Information tab to check while the disc is playing. If it says Overlay Mixer in the Video section rather than DXVA you are in software decode mode.

Quote:


but when HWA is off, you can proceed to adjust picture settings such as contrast, brightness, etc.

You can so the same with HWA enabled, you just have to do it from the video card's control panel, rather than in the application.
Vern
Vern Dias is offline  
post #705 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rathbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post

Yes, I'll bet it actually is. At least it is on my 8800GT and my 9800GTX and my ATI HD3780. All with the latest drivers. However you have to be playing an MP4 AVC encoded disc to see the issue. MPEG2 and VC1 HW decodes are fine. Use the configuration context menu Information tab to check while the disc is playing. If it says Overlay Mixer in the Video section rather than DXVA you are in software decode mode.

You can so the same with HWA enabled, you just have to do it from the video card's control panel, rather than in the application.
Vern

Playing Baron Munchausen, HWA is ticked and information tab says :

Display information:
Video mode: Progressive
Display mode: DirectShow
FourCC code: NV24
Surface type: Hardware Video Accelerator (DxVA)

Video attributes:
Video compression mode: MPEG-4 AVC
Aspect ratio: 16:9
Source picture resolution: 1920x1080
Frame rate: 23.00
Bitrate: 24.95Mbps


I'm using Forceware 175.12 in Vista 64 btw. Maybe it is only a WinXP problem.
Rathbone is offline  
post #706 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 11:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I too get AVC HWA with latest patch on both my ATI 3850 (Cat 8.3) and 8600gts (175.12) on Vista x32.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
post #707 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by frytom View Post

PowerDVD 8 Ultra 1622 patch is out there at Cyberlink.

http://www.cyberlink.com/multi/downl...dId=1&lang=ENU

It:
does not mess with 7.3 Ultra install or stop HD DVD
does fix Across the Universe
haven't tried Ratatouille or other stuff yet

So:
basically cust service the other day tried to grift me into giving up my $40 upgrade price and talk me into getting that refunded and buying 8ultra for a full price!
the official patch doesn't mess stuff and is way different than one they linked me to.


anyway, whatever, luckily I wasn't that dumb to give up my original 8 Ultra CD key to them and give them an extra $35 for nothing.


It's disturbing that they broke AVC decoding from what I read, at least on XP, (not that it affects me this moment since my card doesn't do AVC well yet and I run Vista, but I was plannign to get one soon though.... since it's too choppy on a few titles). Hopefully they will fix that for you.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #708 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 11:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does this patch do anything other than break HWA for H.264 for some people and better BDLive support?

The below items were supposed to be addressed per Cyberlink support responses:

1) Being forced to see Resume playback every time you start a movie.
2) Player opening up in the middle of the screen instead of last location it was closed
3) Player vertical size hardcoded to not allow making it small discrete size.
4) Disables Vista Aero effects even with the Nvidia driver that provides specific support for that.

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #709 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1) Is definitely not fixed.

Some movies work that do not in earlier versions - Across the Universe & Ratatouille have been mentioned (I do not have either).
jong1 is offline  
post #710 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

Does this patch do anything other than break HWA for H.264 for some people and better BDLive support?

The below items were supposed to be addressed per Cyberlink support responses:

1) Being forced to see Resume playback every time you start a movie.
2) Player opening up in the middle of the screen instead of last location it was closed
3) Player vertical size hardcoded to not allow making it small discrete size.
4) Disables Vista Aero effects even with the Nvidia driver that provides specific support for that.

1. no idea
2. opens in middle
3. no idea
4. no idea, only have a G80 core

It does fix Across the Universe and it does fix the audio dropouts issue with Ratatouille though.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #711 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rathbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it fix the audio dropouts in AvP2?
Rathbone is offline  
post #712 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 03:15 PM
Member
 
scribe5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maryville, Tennessee
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post

WARNING

PDVD 8 Patch 1622 will break DXVA HW assist for MP4 / AVC discs exactly like 3730d did for 7.3.

Workaround:

BEFORE installing the 1622 patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter and copy CL264dec.ax to a safe location. After installing the patch, go to C:\\Program Files\\CyberLink\\PowerDVD8\\VideoFilter, rename CL264dec.ax to CL264dec_O.ax and copy your saved CL264dec.ax to the subdirectory. You will be good to go.

This works for me, but I take no responsibility for your environment.

Vern


Just want to say a big thanks to Vern for this fix. It's the second time he's come up with a solution to Cyberlink's breaking HW acceleration in their latest updates. The first was the latest update for PDVD 7.3 and now this for Power DVD8. I have an 8600 gt and XP. Also have a Pentium D 825 overclocked to 3.3 ghz (don't laugh, it runs hot but has been working for the last 4 months). Before Vern's fixes, HW accecleration became disabled and processor was running 99% on both cores, with massive stuttering. After his fixes, cores were 30% to 55% and no problems with HW now enabled.
scribe5 is offline  
post #713 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Evidence is suggesting this HA problem is an XP issue.

Anyone have HA of AVC on XP, or HA broken on Vista?
jong1 is offline  
post #714 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Peter Nagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scribe5 View Post

Just want to say a big thanks to Vern for this fix. It's the second time he's come up with a solution to Cyberlink's breaking HW acceleration in their latest updates. The first was the latest update for PDVD 7.3 and now this for Power DVD8. I have an 8600 gt and XP. Also have a Pentium D 825 overclocked to 3.3 ghz (don't laugh, it runs hot but has been working for the last 4 months). Before Vern's fixes, HW accecleration became disabled and processor was running 99% on both cores, with massive stuttering. After his fixes, cores were 30% to 55% and no problems with HW now enabled.

I hope this fix does not cause side effects for certain movies. Make sure you save the latest CL264dec.ax for as long as possible until future patches fix it.

Vern, how the hell did you figure this out? Did Cyberlink suggested this? Good job!

Peter
Peter Nagy is offline  
post #715 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CPU usage for me is the same as before the patch. I'm Q6600/8800GTX on Vista though.
XxDeadlyxX is offline  
post #716 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Nagy View Post

I hope this fix does not cause side effects for certain movies. Make sure you save the latest CL264dec.ax for as long as possible until future patches fix it.

Vern, how the hell did you figure this out? Did Cyberlink suggested this? Good job!

Peter


i'm guessing since AVC is also called H.264 that he looked around and saw that file and figured it stood for CyberLinkH.264Decoder and gave it a shot.

anyway good catch by him and glad it helped out on your system.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #717 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rathbone View Post

Does it fix the audio dropouts in AvP2?

i might get to try it tonight or tomorrow
skibum5000 is offline  
post #718 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vern Dias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Allen TX USA
Posts: 4,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have spent any time with Directshow filters in Zoom Player or Theatertek, this stuff is actually pretty intuitive. There is a Directshow filter (.ax) for each of the main codecs used for HD. Pretty simple to test and it worked in both 7.3 and 8.0.

PDVD 8 is definitely the current leader in image and audio quality of any of the current players and as long as Cyberlink doesn't break the HD DVD capabilities with any future patches, I'll be happy.

Vern
Vern Dias is offline  
post #719 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post

If you have spent any time with Directshow filters in Zoom Player or Theatertek, this stuff is actually pretty intuitive. There is a Directshow filter (.ax) for each of the main codecs used for HD. Pretty simple to test and it worked in both 7.3 and 8.0.

PDVD 8 is definitely the current leader in image and audio quality of any of the current players and as long as Cyberlink doesn't break the HD DVD capabilities with any future patches, I'll be happy.

Vern

yeah, kock on wood, it does appear to be working pretty well with everything now.
skibum5000 is offline  
post #720 of 2309 Old 05-02-2008, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I get PDVD8 to quit asking me if I want to register it!!!!!!!!!!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off