"Official" PowerDVD Ultra 8 thread - Page 77 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2309 Old 12-05-2009, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by klillevo View Post

Which sample size/rate is it downsampling from and to?

All HD audio gets downsampled to 48/16 LPCM when no PAP is involved.
SamuriHL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2309 Old 12-05-2009, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

All HD audio gets downsampled to 48/16 LPCM when no PAP is involved.

And I read that TrueHD and DTS-HD Master is limited to 96 kHz*/24bit resolution in multichannel mode with up to 8 channels, but the article does not mention what typical Blu-ray content uses.

*) 192 kHz for 2 channels.
klillevo is offline  
post #2283 of 2309 Old 12-05-2009, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by klillevo View Post

And I read that TrueHD and DTS-HD Master is limited to 96 kHz*/24bit resolution in multichannel mode with up to 8 channels, but the article does not mention what typical Blu-ray content uses.

*) 192 kHz for 2 channels.

That's entirely possible. I don't honestly know. However, I think that's wrong, though, because if memory serves Akira was 192/24 TrueHD and I can tell you that wasn't just 2 channel. So, I doubt the accuracy of that information when it comes to BD's.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2284 of 2309 Old 12-05-2009, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Akira does have 192 kHz /24-bit TrueHD audio. That 96/24 limitation was for the DVD-A specs actually, and it was 6-channels, not 8. That's probably where the confusion comes from.
Andy o is offline  
post #2285 of 2309 Old 12-05-2009, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
klillevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried PowerDVD 8 Ultra on Netbook (Win 7). On mine it installed without errors, but when I attempt to start it, I get the attached very useful error message....



I guess it does not meet minimum system requirements.
LL
klillevo is offline  
post #2286 of 2309 Old 12-07-2009, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
crakarjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post

Incorrect. All 4xxx cards support LPCM 7.1.

Do you know this from experience? Their website says otherwise.

HD 4770 & 4830 spec page:
HDMI output support
* All display resolutions up to 1920x10803
* Integrated HD audio controller with support for stereo and multi-channel (up to 7.1) audio formats, including AC-3, AAC, DTS5, enabling a plug-and-play audio solution over HDMI

HD 4850 spec page:
HDMI output support
* All display resolutions up to 1920x10802
* Integrated HD audio controller with support for stereo and multi-channel (up to 7.1) audio formats, including AC-3, AAC, DTS, DTS-HD & Dolby True-HD4, enabling a plug-and-play audio solution over HDMI



Of course this could be them trying to further differentiate their product lines while actually having the same capabilities. However, the 4200 series spec page states:

HDMI output support
* Supports all display resolutions up to 1920x10801
* Integrated HD audio controller with multi-channel (5.1) AC3 support, enabling a plug-and-play cable-less audio solution


So clearly, not ALL 4xxx cards support 7.1, no less 7.1 LPCM.
crakarjax is online now  
post #2287 of 2309 Old 12-07-2009, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
He meant the desktop ones, all in the same family. I'm not sure the 4200 can be considered the same "family".
Andy o is offline  
post #2288 of 2309 Old 12-07-2009, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Exactly. I don't consider their laptop chipsets(which the 4200 is) to be anywhere near the same as their desktop ones...trust me, I have 3 laptops in the family with ATI chipsets and none of them support 7.1 LPCM. I assumed we were discussing desktop solutions. Which those, to my knowledge, all support 7.1 LPCM. In any case, at this point, I'd hope people would just wait for the 5xxx solution of their choice and skip the 4xxx cards altogether.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #2289 of 2309 Old 12-09-2009, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
crakarjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
HD 4300 spec page:
HDMI output support
* Supports all display resolutions up to 1920x10802
* Integrated HD audio controller with up to 2 channel 48 KHz stereo or multi-channel (7.1) AC3 enabling a plug-and-play cable-less audio solution4

... if it could do LPCM, it would probably say the same thing as the 4850, and it specifically notes AC3 whcih probably means SPDIF. Again, which 4xxx cards have you successfully used with 7.1 LPCM output? I was looking into replacing my 3850 in the past but decided not to due to lack of 7.1 PCM support in anything less than 4850. I'm not interested in gaming, so I basically want the cheapest card that does 7.1 LPCM and onboard VC1 decoding.

Also, can any of these put out TrueHD via HDMI? It looks like the 5xxx series can...
crakarjax is online now  
post #2290 of 2309 Old 12-09-2009, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post

HD 4300 spec page:
HDMI output support
* Supports all display resolutions up to 1920x10802
* Integrated HD audio controller with up to 2 channel 48 KHz stereo or multi-channel (7.1) AC3 enabling a plug-and-play cable-less audio solution4

... if it could do LPCM, it would probably say the same thing as the 4850, and it specifically notes AC3 whcih probably means SPDIF. Again, which 4xxx cards have you successfully used with 7.1 LPCM output? I was looking into replacing my 3850 in the past but decided not to due to lack of 7.1 PCM support in anything less than 4850. I'm not interested in gaming, so I basically want the cheapest card that does 7.1 LPCM and onboard VC1 decoding.

Any desktop graphics chipset (4350 - 4870) will pass 7.1 LPCM. I have a 4670 that does it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post

Also, can any of these put out TrueHD via HDMI? It looks like the 5xxx series can...

No. Only the 5xxx series.
vladd is offline  
post #2291 of 2309 Old 12-19-2009, 07:08 PM
Member
 
wzabka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok, I've had PDVD8 ultra for over a year now with virtual no problems with playback of bluray until I tried to play a newer BD and I was forced to go onto cyberlinks page and download a patch/update to play the disc.
I don't know if I downloaded a incorrect patch or what but since then nothing but issues. So I tried to delete it and start from scratch. But then Vista wouldn't let me uninstall it. So, I used revo unintaller to get in removed.
Next, I had cyberlink send me a link to build 2521 which I installed. Everything downloads correctly but the player is not saved to the desktop. There is an icon saved to my desktob that says pdv8 but when I click it has a message that says something along the lines of browsing for file and then after a while comes back with the error message that no files were found matching that drive location. I've looked look through all the program files and everything looks like it always did, but I can't find the player and can't launch it from anywhere.
DOes anyone know what's going on with this? Please help
wzabka is offline  
post #2292 of 2309 Old 01-01-2010, 05:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone have the full installer for PowerDVD8.2521_DVD081202-02? ... or any 2521 full version? Could you PM immediate if you do?

I cant seem to find my version after doing a restore. There were only a couple of versions that supported Vista Aero for my machine even after the registry hack for Aero support and the option in the app itself. Thanks!

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #2293 of 2309 Old 01-01-2010, 11:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just downgraded my display adapter to the one that came with my PC....

The old 8500GT with builtin HDMI.

I just realized that the drivers, PowerDVD version, and settings I used to use that support Aero effects during playback no longer work. The only explanation is the older display card.

I can regain my aero effects via restarting the Desktop Window Manager Session Manager service after I start video playback without any video issues during Bluray playback.

Can anyone think of a way to prevent PowerDVD from telling Desktop Window Manager Session Manager to temporarily disable Aero effects or somehow automatically restart Desktop Window Manager Session Manager service?

There's absolutely no good reason to disable aero effects with this display adapter during during any kind of hardware accerated video playback as far performance goes.

Anyone have suggestions besides all the known PowerDVD registry setting to enable aero? Believe me, I've tried them all... and it's not that.

And, no... I cant upgrade my display adapter... without causing other issues (not worth discussing).

Thanks if anyone has any ideas besides getting a new display adapater.

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #2294 of 2309 Old 01-18-2010, 06:44 AM
Newbie
 
podge3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know where I can download PowerDVD Reloaded?

I sent MKANET a PM but he doesn't seem to be on here too much.
podge3 is offline  
post #2295 of 2309 Old 01-20-2010, 10:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sorry I have been away on a project. Check your PM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post

Anyone know where I can download PowerDVD Reloaded?

I sent MKANET a PM but he doesn't seem to be on here too much.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #2296 of 2309 Old 01-20-2010, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
podge3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheers
podge3 is offline  
post #2297 of 2309 Old 02-04-2010, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
does PDVD9 do anything better than 8 yet?

(i use analog out for sound, my pc card is much higher quality than my receiver)

has nayone been getting trouble where the audio continues but the video stays stuck on a frame for a second or two before continuing again (it's not the discs since the location of these video pauses is random and changes viewing to viewing, sometimes it starts happening annoyingly often)
skibum5000 is offline  
post #2298 of 2309 Old 02-04-2010, 01:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Video for bluray is the same. If you have an older version of PowerDVD 8 with AnyDVD-HD, you have support for HD-DVD as well. on PowerDVD 8. PowerDVD 8 has less bloat and nicer looking player; especially with the reloaded addon with optional skins. I dont think you're going to hear any night and day difference between PowerDVD 8 and 9 for digital multi-channel audio. It certainly wouldnt make much sense to upgrade from PowerDVD 8 to 9 if you already have PowerDVD 8.. money better spent would be with AnyDVD-HD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum5000 View Post

does PDVD9 do anything better than 8 yet?

(i use analog out for sound, my pc card is much higher quality than my receiver)

has nayone been getting trouble where the audio continues but the video stays stuck on a frame for a second or two before continuing again (it's not the discs since the location of these video pauses is random and changes viewing to viewing, sometimes it starts happening annoyingly often)


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #2299 of 2309 Old 02-26-2010, 08:56 PM
Member
 
mryerse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a lite on drive and it can't seem to play more than a minute of previews before it stops responding altogether. Lame!
mryerse is offline  
post #2300 of 2309 Old 02-26-2010, 11:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
PowerDVD 8 is an old version. The current version is PowerDVD 9 with the latest patch/update for PowerDVD 9. If you want to play newer discs using PowerdVD 8... you will need AnyDVD-HD installed on that PC. I personally prefer PowerDVD 8 over PowerDVD 9; hence, I installed AnyDVD-HD. Works like a charm. Plus, it let's you backup your discs if you have (or want start) a collection of your blu-ray movies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mryerse View Post

Just bought a lite on drive and it can't seem to play more than a minute of previews before it stops responding altogether. Lame!


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #2301 of 2309 Old 02-27-2010, 12:04 AM
Member
 
mryerse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it integrate well with Media Center? I ended up downloading a trial of TMT3 so I could at least enjoy my new HTPC.
mryerse is offline  
post #2302 of 2309 Old 02-27-2010, 10:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Maybe you should also try downloading PowerDVD 9 trial and see for yourself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mryerse View Post

Does it integrate well with Media Center? I ended up downloading a trial of TMT3 so I could at least enjoy my new HTPC.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #2303 of 2309 Old 02-10-2011, 10:09 PM
Member
 
audiophile_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have recently got terminator salvation, and iron man 2 i keep getting audio drop outs for these. Anyone else experienced this ?

Surely cyberlink would update for new types of dics....... nto sure if i want to upgrade to 9 or 10 to play 2 discs.

Might try other options if they do not release a patch soon
audiophile_au is offline  
post #2304 of 2309 Old 02-11-2011, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiophile_au View Post

i have recently got terminator salvation, and iron man 2 i keep getting audio drop outs for these. Anyone else experienced this ?

Surely cyberlink would update for new types of dics....... nto sure if i want to upgrade to 9 or 10 to play 2 discs.

Might try other options if they do not release a patch soon

Install AnyDVD-HD...
21 days of free trial with full functionality...

PDVD is on version 10, you can be rest assured your ain't getting any patch for PDVD8...
balky is online now  
post #2305 of 2309 Old 04-13-2011, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
hanly2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a quick question, I just installed this software, It came with my lg drive. I ran the bd-advisor and it tells me that my i3 2100 is not able to play back. It gives me the red light for my graphics too (onboard intel). I thought that this pc would be more then capable of playing br?
hanly2 is offline  
post #2306 of 2309 Old 04-13-2011, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does it actually play?
Andy o is offline  
post #2307 of 2309 Old 04-14-2011, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
hanly2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeh it seemed to play no problem, I didn't watch the whole movie though?
hanly2 is offline  
post #2308 of 2309 Old 04-14-2011, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Then it's fine. The BD advisor is just outdated. If it plays, it plays.
Andy o is offline  
post #2309 of 2309 Old 05-07-2011, 06:48 PM
Member
 
audiophile_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well they did not fix the issue they upgraded me to 9 to resolve the issue
audiophile_au is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off