Hauppauge WinTV HD PVR (H.264) screenshot - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
verdin77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called today.... myorder number is 342.. and she told me I "might" make one of the shipments this week but no later than early next week.
verdin77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 12:13 PM
Member
 
cfaslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmunkily View Post

Does anyone know whether any Linux video project has stated intentions to write drivers for this thing? I know it won't ship with drivers - but under whose umbrella (a dvb device?) does something like this fall?

I don't know of any that are ready yet except for SageTV which has a Linux version - it should work just fine.

HTPC and all-around Gadget Fanatic

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cfaslave is offline  
post #453 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ncinsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can't wait hope they go out this week...my order # is #339XX did she say what the cut-off might be?
ncinsguy is offline  
post #454 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
MichaelLAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by verdin77 View Post

I called today.... myorder number is 342.. and she told me I "might" make one of the shipments this week but no later than early next week.

Well I'm 34228 and she told me shipping by the end of the week, but I interpret your reply that this date is slipping...

I'll believe it when my live, warm fingers are wrapped around it!?!
MichaelLAX is offline  
post #455 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
MichaelLAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotsten View Post

Just received this email:

Thank you for your order for the HD-PVR. We know that you are anxiously awaiting delivery and we are doing everything we can to expedite shipment from our manufacturer. Unfortunately we have run into a short production delay on the plastic cases but we are expecting to ship your order by the end of the month. If they come in any sooner, they will immediately ship out to you.

We apologize for this delay. We understand your disappointment. We thank you for your patience.


Regards,

Dorothy
Hauppauge Sales Team
Direct 631-630-1302
Fax 631-434-3198

Damn: Here it finally comes and the plastic case splits apart when I opened the box!?!?!


Oops, sorry, my mistake: that's my Mac Mini getting a RAM upgrade to run Parallels/Windows XP in anticipation...
LL
MichaelLAX is offline  
post #456 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post

Damn: Here it finally comes and the plastic case splits apart when I opened the box!?!?!


Oops, sorry, my mistake: that's my Mac Mini getting a RAM upgrade to run Parallels/Windows XP in anticipation...

That was just mean.
vladd is offline  
post #457 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
MichaelLAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I am happy to report for us AppleTV users that the v1.3 software upgrade to the ElGato Turbo.264 transcoding hardware stick now successfully transcodes the hcw_hd_pvr2_1080i_h264.ts sample to AppleTV specs. In addition, this new software update will pass-thru AC3 when present...

You can download the transcoded file from my Public Folder on my iDisk; remember the original sample file was stereo and not 5.1:

http://idisk.mac.com/MichaelLAX-Public
MichaelLAX is offline  
post #458 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ftaok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Media, PA (SE Pennsylvania - Philly Area)
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post

I am happy to report for us AppleTV users that the v1.3 software upgrade to the ElGato Turbo.264 transcoding hardware stick now successfully transcodes the hcw_hd_pvr2_1080i_h264.ts sample to AppleTV specs. In addition, this new software update will pass-thru AC3 when present...

You can download the transcoded file from my Public Folder on my iDisk; remember the original sample file was stereo and not 5.1:

http://idisk.mac.com/MichaelLAX-Public

This is too sweet. Being a Mac user sucks sometimes when the cool cutting edge stuff is PC only.

Now that there's a solution for converting the output files of the HD-PVR for aTV use, there's nothing stopping me from getting a bunch of new toys (namely an aTV, an HD-PVR, a Turbo.264, and an elGato tuner to boot). Well, there's always the money issue, but at least it'll work.

Now I just need confirmation that my lowly PCs will be able to handle the recording duties.

ft
ftaok is offline  
post #459 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ftaok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Media, PA (SE Pennsylvania - Philly Area)
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

Some people cannot put up a dish due to trees facing the direction a dish has to point, or for some other similar reason. My apartment allows dish on parts of the building that I rent(basically just the porch/balcony), but it totally faces the wrong direction so I cannot put one up.

I'm thinking that the percentage of people that can't get satellite is probably around 20%. Then I'm guessing that the percentage of people that can't get cable is around 10%. Mixing the two (and accounting for people that can't get either), I guess that probably around 25% of the population/households have only one (or none) provider. But like I said, I'm just guessing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

I did not think about the satellite providers - completely slipped my find!

FiOS will soon be in my area. Which of these providers do you use, I am curious about the FiOS.

I use Comcast, but I only subscribe to Total Basic (Limited + Expanded). I have some QAM devices, so I get the local HDs and a couple of digital channels.

Verizon has been available for about 4 months now, even though they dug up my yard about a year ago or so. I would switch over to Verizon, but their prices aren't significantly better than Comcast, plus I'd need to rent a box for every TV, which eats into the savings. Right now, I'm happy with Comcast. I'm thinking of taking them up on a TriplePlay, but we're not watching much TV these days because we just had a baby (to go along with the 2 year old).

As for satellite, I never considered them since it cost more (keeping in mind that I'd have to pay more for Internet) and at the time, I would need two cables coming up to the family room. Plus the whole "box at each TV" deal.

ft
ftaok is offline  
post #460 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 02:43 PM
Newbie
 
Hoooar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, will this allow me to take component out of my cable box and put it into my computer or what, cause that would be awsome to be able to watch live HDTV (including HBO) all on my HTPC. Then i will have offically defeated the Input button on the TV remote.
Hoooar is offline  
post #461 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoooar View Post

So, will this allow me to take component out of my cable box and put it into my computer or what, cause that would be awsome to be able to watch live HDTV (including HBO) all on my HTPC. Then i will have offically defeated the Input button on the TV remote.

Yes.
vladd is offline  
post #462 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by wokwokabc View Post

You can find samples with a google search.

ftp://ftp.shspvr.com/download/moive_..._1080i_h264.ts
ftp://ftp.shspvr.com/download/moive_..._1080i_h264.ts

They are mpeg transport streams with h.264 video (with PAFF and MBAFF) and AC3 audio.

Thanks for posting these. Downloaded the 1st one last week and finally got around to trying it on the PS3. Girls picture looked fine at 7-8 mbps but 3 stutters in 9 seconds and PS3 says there is no audio. Played back using Nero 8 as media server to PS3. Assuming HD-PVR produces good PQ and 5.1 audio it still may be a struggle to get good playback. Damn PS3 and Fat32 file format requirement for external HDs!
dsinger is offline  
post #463 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 02:59 PM
Member
 
jtack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those wondering, like I was, whether the eventual AC3 support will involve reencoding an incoming AC3 or simply remultiplexing it with the encoded h264 video will be happy to know that it will not be reencoded.

I emailed Hauppauge:

Quote:


I understand that the initial release will not support input of AC3 (it requires PCM), but that this (quite significant) restriction will be eventually overcome with updated firmware and/or drivers.

What I'm particularly interested in knowing is, once the updated drivers are released to support AC3 input, if the AC3 input will be reencoded, or if the original stream will be multiplexed with the encoded h264 video.

Hauppauge replied:

Quote:


According to the engineering staff, AC3 (when supported) will stay it's it original form and be multiplexed into the video adding time stamps to sync it up.

jtack is offline  
post #464 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
Hoooar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Yes.

Sweet finally, looking at the page, it just seems that it is USB, is that right?
Hoooar is offline  
post #465 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 04:21 PM
Member
 
jakep_82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoooar View Post

Sweet finally, looking at the page, it just seems that it is USB, is that right?

Read much? It's not hard to find the answer to this question on your own.
jakep_82 is offline  
post #466 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
verdin77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post

Well I'm 34228 and she told me shipping by the end of the week, but I interpret your reply that this date is slipping...

I'll believe it when my live, warm fingers are wrapped around it!?!


It was more like my order was just far enough down the line that it is on the cusp of being shipped this week. It didn't sound like she said things were slipping.... though she did mention that memorial day slowed them down some. Boy that holiday was sure unexpected. One thing for sure is that it's great to talk to a real live person and get a real live answer.
verdin77 is offline  
post #467 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 06:45 PM
Member
 
proudgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
339xx here and was told by vinnie yesterday that it will ship out this week
proudgeek is offline  
post #468 of 5196 Old 05-28-2008, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 2,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jake asked:
> Did you guys ask Hauppauge about shipping, or did they just send you an email? I ordered within hours after the pre-order page went up and have an order number starting with 338. I've not received anything regarding my order other than the initial confirmation more than 7 weeks ago. I would assume I'm near the front of the line. <<br />
Same situation here. Same day. Mine was 338xx, and I've heard nothing. But I didn't inquire, so if you're antsy (and who amongst us is not? ), I'd give them a call or e-mail. Maybe you could get a tracking # that way, or at least find out what carrier they're shipping with.

- Tim

P.S. I assume "shipping this week" means they'll all be going out on the truck at 5pm, Friday.

- Tim
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #469 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 05:00 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoooar View Post

So, will this allow me to take component out of my cable box and put it into my computer or what, cause that would be awsome to be able to watch live HDTV (including HBO) all on my HTPC. Then i will have offically defeated the Input button on the TV remote.

Maybe. It depends on your OS and Front End. Sure, you can hook it up and plug it in, but you might not be able to view the output.
cybrsage is offline  
post #470 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed them Tuesday evening, surprisingly I haven't gotten a response back yet. Hopefully I get shipped out next week, I'm #343xx. I recall being told when it ships I would get a "Quantum Notice", which is a UPS tracking email, so I'm pretty sure they will be shipping UPS ground. Great for me, ground shipping should only take 1 day from NYC/Long Island to Philly!
ak3883 is offline  
post #471 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
jpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Albuquerque, N.M., USA
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hauppauge says mine will ship early next week. Order # 345xx

John
jpoet is offline  
post #472 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 4,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I'm in the 338xx group, just checked my checking account online and it hasn't been charged to my debit card yet.
I'd be amazed if it actually shipped by the end of this week. Wonder where it's being shipped from? I'm less then 10 miles away from their US headquarters in Hauppauge, NY... maybe I can shoot over and pick mine up at the "will call" window

"If we ain't outta here in ten minutes, we won't need no rocket to fly through space."
replayrob is offline  
post #473 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nearly had a heart attack a few minutes ago when I opened my e-mail and saw one from Quantum !!! But, alas, it was for some esata cables I ordered

My number is 334xx... something

Jim

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #474 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
iamlindoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my shipping number for the HD-PVR. My order number was 33750. I paid for two-day and expect it Monday.
iamlindoro is offline  
post #475 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
MichaelLAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My notice came in at 1:30pm PDT; an hour ago: order number 34228
MichaelLAX is offline  
post #476 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Got my notification at the same time. Order #33731
vladd is offline  
post #477 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 05:32 PM
Member
 
mcwups1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
34431

I haven't heard a thing yet.

I was wanting to get this straight....

I will be able to transfer HD video from my SA8300 to my computer by just using component cables....right?

If so....I can't wait!
mcwups1 is offline  
post #478 of 5196 Old 05-29-2008, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
wokwokabc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcwups1 View Post

I will be able to transfer HD video from my SA8300 to my computer by just using component cables....right?

That's the idea. We'll find out how well it works soon.

Unless by "transfer" you mean copy the cable company's MPEG transport stream exactly as it is from the cable box to the computer. It doesn't do that.
wokwokabc is offline  
post #479 of 5196 Old 05-30-2008, 12:43 AM
Member
 
Carterhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone who has receiving or will soon be receiving this awesome piece of hardware could let me know if WinTV6 will work with it for plain tv and hdtv watching (ie, using the hd-pvr purely for passthrough of the component video to the wintv program) I would be very grateful. Since WinTV6 already works with all the other HD capable devices hauppage sells, I'm hopeful it can just treat the HD-PVR as another video source and display a full and glorious HD picture with no trouble.
Carterhawk is offline  
post #480 of 5196 Old 05-30-2008, 06:58 AM
Member
 
KCZT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My order # was 337xx. Got mine this morning via UPS here at the office. Can't wait to go home and play with it...
KCZT is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off