Avisynth Script for doubling video frame rates - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1968 Old 01-22-2011, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
widezu69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IS NOT?! I'm using both of them together and they work beautifully. I like madvr because the internal scalers are much faster than the ffdshow ones.
widezu69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1968 Old 01-22-2011, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want to use reclock vsync correction with MadVR, you must turn off ALL the MadVR vsync options. Can you???
PetitDragon is offline  
post #813 of 1968 Old 01-22-2011, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
 
widezu69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
?? I don't have any vsync options in madvr, are you sure we are talking about the same renderer? Are you talking about EVR?
widezu69 is offline  
post #814 of 1968 Old 01-22-2011, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
gs8778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been reading the thread for a couple of days and would like to ask what script you guys think I should use. I have been using mpc-hc x32, ffdshow, and evr custom. Thanks in advance. My specs are as follows...

CPU : Intel Core i7 Extreme 980X @ 4.00GHz
RAM : 12.0GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 801MHz (6-8-6-20) G.SKILL (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin 1600 (PC3 12800)
Motherboard : ASUS Rampage III Extreme LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel
Display : Nec 90GX2 (1280x1024@60Hz) secondary : HP ZR30w (2560x1600@60Hz) primary
Graphics : ASUS ARES/2DIS/4GD5 Radeon HD 5870 X2 4GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
gs8778 is offline  
post #815 of 1968 Old 01-22-2011, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by widezu69 View Post

?? I don't have any vsync options in madvr, are you sure we are talking about the same renderer? Are you talking about EVR?

You are correct, there are no settings that are adjustable in MadVR in regards to vsync.

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings

Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is offline  
post #816 of 1968 Old 01-22-2011, 06:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widezu69 View Post

?? I don't have any vsync options in madvr, are you sure we are talking about the same renderer? Are you talking about EVR?

Yeah we are having the same page to talk about MadVR.

The problem is MadVR's build-in vsync is not able to be disabled (conflict with reclock's vsync). And if you want totally stutter-hiccup-judder free playback with high motion, you are better to use Reclock to handle it all.
PetitDragon is offline  
post #817 of 1968 Old 01-23-2011, 12:25 AM
Newbie
 
ayawlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so my question is still that, why are all my m2ts files go out of sync when i use the avisynth script in ffdshow?

don't get me wrong, the mpc-hc plays it perfectly when avisynth script is not enabled, same as in wmp12.

i also don't have any sync problems with avisynth on with any other filetypes especially mkv, it's just m2ts
ayawlex is offline  
post #818 of 1968 Old 01-23-2011, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widezu69 View Post

Alright, so, you should look into mpc-hc and madvr. Because with madvr the picture comes out natural without the need to adjust anything in ffdshow plus it is good at scaling, in the options you have all sorts of scaling options. For your 720p videos, try out this script, it might be a bit too much but it works ok for me.

SetMTMode(1,12)
V = ffdshow_source()
SetMTMode(2)
S = V.MSuper(pel=2, hpad=0, vpad=0, rfilter=4)
A = S.MAnalyse(isb=true, blksize=16, search=3, plevel=0, searchparam=3, badrange=(-24))
B = S.MAnalyse(isb=false, blksize=16, search=3, plevel=0, searchparam=3, badrange=(-24))
C = S.MRecalculate(A, blksize=8, search=3, searchparam=1)
D = S.MRecalculate(B, blksize=8, search=3, searchparam=1)
E = S.MRecalculate(C, blksize=4, search=3, searchparam=0)
F = S.MRecalculate(D, blksize=4, search=3, searchparam=0)
V.MFlowFps(S, E, F, num=FramerateNumerator(V)*5, den=FramerateDenominator(V)*2, mask=2, ml=10000)
SetMTMode(1)
GetMTMode(false) > 0 ? distributor() : last

The 5/2 frame algorithm interpolates a 60fps from a 24fps film.

If it is too slow, change mask=2 to mask=1. I'm still working on a good 1080p script because the ones here work very well for 720p but on 1080p sometimes they are overkill and don't do much but eat lots of cpu.

Havn't tried any of this yet, have only used WMP or WMC with my avisynth scripts with excellent results, Do you leave all mpc-hc at all default settings and what should the Madvr settings be at? I watch mainly 1080p but some 720p as well.
johnifehr is offline  
post #819 of 1968 Old 01-23-2011, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Forfront's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayawlex View Post

i also don't have any sync problems with avisynth on with any other filetypes especially mkv, it's just m2ts

why not just remux the m2ts to mkv?
Forfront is offline  
post #820 of 1968 Old 01-24-2011, 07:01 AM
Member
 
rinorho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: italy
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone use Avsynth's scripts with:

1) Windows 7 x64
2) Zoom Player

and i7 CPU?
Thanks
rinorho is offline  
post #821 of 1968 Old 01-24-2011, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
ayawlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i tried and waited for a day and a half using meGui, video is not smooth and bad. tsk tsk.
could it be some video codecs issue?

i have re-encoded 2 californication videos with meGui with the avisynth quality script and it was impressive but the m2ts is just messed up...
ayawlex is offline  
post #822 of 1968 Old 01-24-2011, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
noods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can any of you get these scripts to work as well as "resize & aspect" in ffdshow?
That's my biggest gripe - Mine only drops frames when I have resize ticked as well... without resize anything <1080p looks all chunky/blocky.
noods is offline  
post #823 of 1968 Old 01-25-2011, 01:22 AM
Member
 
magnetite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So am I to understand that the way to do this without streaming, would be to just have sort of a dual monitor setup going with my main LCD monitor as my Windows screen, but duplicate it so you can see my Windows desktop on my Panasonic G25?
magnetite is offline  
post #824 of 1968 Old 01-25-2011, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
widezu69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@noods make sure your resize is under avisynth, it is essential that the interpolation is performed before resizing or else the interpolation would be trying to process massive picture with little gain. If it is still slow, in your resize options select lanczos with just 2 taps (default is 3 I think) and uncheck accurate rounding (it hardly makes any difference)
widezu69 is offline  
post #825 of 1968 Old 01-26-2011, 04:12 AM
Member
 
soulkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: caldera!
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@SubJunk
in the changelog of your last quality script you mention
"Re-introduced divisible framerates, which increases interpolation accuracy and speed"
What exactly this means?
soulkeeper is offline  
post #826 of 1968 Old 01-26-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Forfront's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok since coreAVC is still delaying there release of v2.5 with dxva2 support here another means by which those with hi-end ATi cards can free up there CPU without a complete graphic overhaul. This is for someone who has a hi to mid ATi card (5870 per say) and a mid to low NVidia card with CUDA (9400gt per say) support.

The idea is to use the ATi card as the primary display device and NVidia card for CUDA only, for this to work the directions in this link must be followed:
http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/1...3-v1-04ff.html

If the mod installs successfully (in theory) coreAVC should be able to find the CUDA pipline if its installed after the mod, then the ATi card will be left to perform madVR upscaling. Though seemingly impractical this method could be beneficial for user who use madVR renderer for 1080p content with CUDA enabled &/or for those who plan on using dxva2 or AMD app. U see CUDA cores & ATi streamline processors (i.e. GPGPU) both work on the GPU they aren't separate hardware architectures cores. So CUDA + madVR means the single GPU has to do both decoding and the rendering, this can cause conflicts thous render errors in realtime playback of mostly hi bitrat 1080p streams. When I get a chance I will test this method and confirm whether it works are not.....

Disclaimer: please do not try this if u aren't a experienced pc user, If done improperly it could result in driver conflicts!
Forfront is offline  
post #827 of 1968 Old 01-26-2011, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulkeeper View Post

@SubJunk
in the changelog of your last quality script you mention
"Re-introduced divisible framerates, which increases interpolation accuracy and speed"
What exactly this means?

Hi soulkeeper Good question.
Before, it would always encode at exactly 60FPS, but now it uses different framerates that are directly divisible with the original one.
So:

29.97 = 59.94
30 = 60
25 = 50
23.976 = 59.94

In other words, it doubles the framerate for every popular framerate except for 23.976, because to double that means 47.952 and I think that is too low, it isn't smooth enough for me, plus most TVs don't support that framerate AFAIK. So for 23.976 we use 59.94, which means every 5th frame synchronises.
SubJunk is offline  
post #828 of 1968 Old 01-27-2011, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
| have tried to get madvr working together with avisynth scripts on mpc-hc, it all works but a soon as I enable the avisynth in ffdshow mpc crashes and it will not work untill I disable the avisynth tap in ffdshow. What am I missing here?
johnifehr is offline  
post #829 of 1968 Old 01-27-2011, 02:41 PM
Member
 
mark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also getting random crashes at times like switching movies or seeking. Without avisynth and these framerate changing scripts that doesn't happen so is this avisynth mt or the mflowfps functions that are still unstable?

Are these in active development, ie are these problems know about / being worked on by some developers?

What bothers me is some of my scripts will work fine for maybe 20 minutes of playback, then I'll get a second or two of madness where I'll see 300 frame drops, then 0 frame drops for another half an hour. If I could figure out why that happens and stop it, I could increase the overall quality of my 1080p script significantly. ATM this is stopping me from using any frame rate increase on 1080p as I will be guaranteed a big bunch of frame drops somewhere in the movie, even though cpu usage is very low, using 16 threads on my core i7...
mark007 is offline  
post #830 of 1968 Old 01-27-2011, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should mention with windows media player or media center I'm as stable as can be never any crashes, I just wanted to give Madvr a chance and the only way was with mpc-hc, So I don't think its the avisynth mt, ffdshow or mflowfps since it works flawlessly with windows media player or center.
johnifehr is offline  
post #831 of 1968 Old 01-28-2011, 09:55 AM
Member
 
rinorho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: italy
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnifehr View Post

I should mention with windows media player or media center I'm as stable as can be never any crashes, I just wanted to give Madvr a chance and the only way was with mpc-hc, So I don't think its the avisynth mt, ffdshow or mflowfps since it works flawlessly with windows media player or center.

You can try with ZOOM PLAYER, it works fine in MADVR.

Now I'm looking best way to configure avsynth scipts in ZOOM PLAYER on W7 x64 OS.

bye
rinorho is offline  
post #832 of 1968 Old 01-29-2011, 11:05 AM
Member
 
soulkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: caldera!
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubJunk View Post
Hi soulkeeper Good question.
Before, it would always encode at exactly 60FPS, but now it uses different framerates that are directly divisible with the original one.
So:

29.97 = 59.94
30 = 60
25 = 50
23.976 = 59.94

In other words, it doubles the framerate for every popular framerate except for 23.976, because to double that means 47.952 and I think that is too low, it isn't smooth enough for me, plus most TVs don't support that framerate AFAIK. So for 23.976 we use 59.94, which means every 5th frame synchronises.


Ok!
so for 23.976 you still use 60(59.94)..
i remember many posts ago where you suggested doubling the framerate (24->48) and i thought you use that again...
24->48 still looks best to me concerning fewer artifacts and good smoothing ,but the problem ,as you mention,is that my pj doesn't support 48hz..
so i'll stick with 59.94..

Also,are these two the same

num=60000, den=1001

num=FramerateNumerator*5, den=FramerateDenominator*2 (posted by @widezu69 earlier)

if we want to have 59.94 with 23.976 movies?
soulkeeper is offline  
post #833 of 1968 Old 01-29-2011, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
widezu69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the source is 23.976 then it is the same. If you want specific frame rates go with the first option, the second is really just for testing and calculating the best frames. Now if you want to use 24 -> 48 fps but your pj doesn't support it, if your pj supports 50hz, try using the 48fps method and use reclock to speed it up to 50fps. Reclock will resample the sound and also you get the advantage of fewer artifacts at native refresh rate. There shouldn't be a big difference in speed, plus PAL countries would watch it in that speed anyways.
widezu69 is offline  
post #834 of 1968 Old 01-29-2011, 11:38 AM
Member
 
soulkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: caldera!
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi @widezu69!

yes,that's the last option i'll try but as @jong responsed over at reclock forum,
in that case i'll have to give up with bitstreaming...
i should decode audio at my htpc (with ffdshow audio) and send pcm to my avr otherwise i'll have too much distortion/problems with the sound, due to the speed up of 48->50...

But life is full of compromises!!
soulkeeper is offline  
post #835 of 1968 Old 01-29-2011, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulkeeper View Post
Ok!
so for 23.976 you still use 60(59.94)..
i remember many posts ago where you suggested doubling the framerate (24->48) and i thought you use that again...
24->48 still looks best to me concerning fewer artifacts and good smoothing ,but the problem ,as you mention,is that my pj doesn't support 48hz..
so i'll stick with 59.94..

Also,are these two the same

num=60000, den=1001

num=FramerateNumerator*5, den=FramerateDenominator*2 (posted by @widezu69 earlier)

if we want to have 59.94 with 23.976 movies?
Those 2 are different, since:
60000 / 1001 = 59.94
119880 / 2002 = 59.88
SubJunk is offline  
post #836 of 1968 Old 02-04-2011, 08:37 AM
Member
 
HolyWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubJunk View Post

Those 2 are different, since:
60000 / 1001 = 59.94
119880 / 2002 = 59.88

For 23.976, FramerateNumerator is 24000, not 23976, otherwise it would become 23976/1001=23.952
So those two are the same actually.
HolyWu is offline  
post #837 of 1968 Old 02-04-2011, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
yayo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This maybe a dumb question but if it is possible to do this through an HTPC, then could it be possible for future BluRay players to incorporate this Frame interpolating feature? Especially for 3D movies where motion judder would just ruin the experience.
yayo is offline  
post #838 of 1968 Old 02-04-2011, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post

For 23.976, FramerateNumerator is 24000, not 23976, otherwise it would become 23976/1001=23.952
So those two are the same actually.

You're right. I think I had a brain-fart
SubJunk is offline  
post #839 of 1968 Old 02-05-2011, 03:42 AM
Senior Member
 
widezu69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@yayo modern tvs have this technology anyways. The only reason for this is the achieve this for the pc. I understand as tvs don't do it for 3d movies as the refresh rate is not a multiple but for all blu rays, if you have a decent tv made within the last 3 to 4 years, there will be motion interpolation built in.
widezu69 is offline  
post #840 of 1968 Old 02-05-2011, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widezu69 View Post

@yayo modern tvs have this technology anyways. The only reason for this is the achieve this for the pc. I understand as tvs don't do it for 3d movies as the refresh rate is not a multiple but for all blu rays, if you have a decent tv made within the last 3 to 4 years, there will be motion interpolation built in.

You're right, however it should be noted that no TVs - as of January 2011 - have as good quality as we have.
I had a walk around a big TV retailer and saw all of the best models and was disappointed with all of them in terms of motion interpolation.
SubJunk is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off