ATI Radeon HD 4600 & 4800 series support 7.1 channel HDMI audio! - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 02:03 PM
Member
 
plat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone run DXVA checker on this card? be nice to see what it supports
plat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 02:09 PM
 
LilGator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I thought the point of this card was 7.1 via HDMI. With all of the owners/reviewers out there, how come no one has tested/confirmed this to be working?
LilGator is offline  
post #363 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
redtyler1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilGator View Post

I thought the point of this card was 7.1 via HDMI. With all of the owners/reviewers out there, how come no one has tested/confirmed this to be working?

Well, for folks here you may very well be correct. But, it is a video card primarily after all. Plus, the reviews have it beating the NVIDIA card it is supposed to compete with the 9800GTX and is competitive with the newly released and way more expensive 260. So, I agree, I want some more folks to test this, like anandtech, and address the PAP and downsampling issues that are present. Its only be out a little while so I'm sure some folks on here will help us out!

Alex
redtyler1 is offline  
post #364 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtis104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, with the reviews. I just went to Best Buy in Cherry Hill, NJ and pick up one of the cards. Fortunately I called during lunch and had a salesman hold one for me because there were none left on the shelf. I think they only got 4 in there shipment. They had them on the shelf marked down 25% off. But when I went to the register it rang up as $199.99. But I got the video card for $149.99 +tax. Well I just got in some I am going to uninstall the drivers for the HD2600XT that is currently installed and install the VisionTek HD4850.

What exactly do you all want me to test. I have a LG Combo HD Drive in my system. My system is and HP Pavillion m8010y Cablecard PC with 3 ATI Cable card tuners and HDHomerun. It is running audio via HDMI into a Yahama 663 receiver and outputting video to a Mitsubushi HD1000. HDMI is going into a MonoPrice 4x1 HDMI switch and then into the Yamaha receiver. I have a few HD-DVDs' and as far as Blu Ray I only have Black Hawk Down and Jumper. I am sure I can download some test material if you like. Ohhhh I am going to install Arcsoft Total Media for software playback.

So what do you want me to test? And what different scenarios would you like me to test given my setup?

Curtis
Xbox Live ID: Blaze104
MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1
Ahanix MCE701 case
LG Blu-ray/HD-DVD
3 Cable Card
1 HDHomerun
Windows 7 32bit
42" HP MediaSmart
WHS Norco 4020 case w/ WHS 2011
curtis104 is offline  
post #365 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
redtyler1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curtis is the man.

I suppose I am assuming that TMT and PDVD will downsample uncompressed LPCM. So, that'd be one thing you could test if your receiver will tell you what its outputting. Your HDDVD and BD may not have some of the audio tracks though. But, regardless, I'm interested to see what your receiver tells you!

The other thing I'm curious about was apoint that renethx raised a while ago with regard to the 780G board's performance with post-processing. I think he noticed a difference between the performance of the IGP with a 4850e proc v. using a Phenom proc. I think he did this using an HD HQV test, but I coul dbe mixing up some of th ehistory. Basically, (I relaize you probably don't have an HD HQV disc) but I am curious as to how the 4850 performs in terms of post processing. THere may be some video clips avaliable on the interwebs that could give us an idea. Smarter people han I could chime in.

Thanks for your offer to test, its looking like such a great video card, having 7.1 uncompressed aduio passed along with it (even if it is downsampled by TMT or PDVD) would be great.

Alex
redtyler1 is offline  
post #366 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
tosehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: George, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
curtis104.

Jumper supposed to have DTS-HDMA audio. why don't you play that in PDVD8, and see if you can hear 5.1 surround sound with your system. That's a start.

Speakers: Monitor Audio GR60, GRLCR, GR-10
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92
Amp: (Still searching...)
tosehee is offline  
post #367 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jruser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Some screen shots of the sound options in the Vista conrol panel would be a good starting place.

Then tell us what your receiver reports it is receiving. Also, of concern is how 2ch content is handled when outputting 7.1 LPCM.
jruser is offline  
post #368 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
curtis,
please continuous tosehee and redtyler1 advices for now and discard my idea below. Thanks for checking out for us.


tosehee and redtyler1,

I believed we all are the same boat one way or the other and want to know that 4800 is LPCM and if we hit the jackpot it can do bit-stream.

But based on my thought before I was wrong and with the player we have today, PDVD8 or TMT, they both will down sampled all streams including LPCM. Take a look this thread and I think we will have a hard time to find out.
hlkc is offline  
post #369 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtis104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay this is starting off bad. I am unable to get any sound via hdmi. Is the sound suppose to still come via spdif. I didn't think so. Here is a screen shot of my sound menu.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8317538@N06/2596660206/

I am not sure whats wrong here.

Curtis
Xbox Live ID: Blaze104
MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1
Ahanix MCE701 case
LG Blu-ray/HD-DVD
3 Cable Card
1 HDHomerun
Windows 7 32bit
42" HP MediaSmart
WHS Norco 4020 case w/ WHS 2011
curtis104 is offline  
post #370 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 05:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
saiga6360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are these DVI out or HDMI? If DVI, are you using a dongle that comes with it?

Also, what drivers are you using?
saiga6360 is offline  
post #371 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis104 View Post

Okay this is starting off bad. I am unable to get any sound via hdmi. Is the sound suppose to still come via spdif. I didn't think so. Here is a screen shot of my sound menu.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8317538@N06/2596660206/

I am not sure whats wrong here.

I don't think so since spdif can only carry 2 channels.
hlkc is offline  
post #372 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtis104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the DVI to HDMI adapter and the ATI drivers off the CD that comes with the card.

Curtis
Xbox Live ID: Blaze104
MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1
Ahanix MCE701 case
LG Blu-ray/HD-DVD
3 Cable Card
1 HDHomerun
Windows 7 32bit
42" HP MediaSmart
WHS Norco 4020 case w/ WHS 2011
curtis104 is offline  
post #373 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
IronChef75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis104 View Post

Okay this is starting off bad. I am unable to get any sound via hdmi. Is the sound suppose to still come via spdif. I didn't think so. Here is a screen shot of my sound menu.

I am not sure whats wrong here.

Well, it says your speakers aren't connected. I would imagine this means you're either not using the HDMI dongle, or the device you're connected to is not suitable. Do you still have your onboard sound enabled, and what's the difference between the Digital Output Device (HDMI) and Realtek HDMI output? It's a bit confusing.
IronChef75 is offline  
post #374 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtis104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is definitely outputting sound. I can see the volume going up and down when I play something though the wmp11 or any other source. It must be something within the receiver settings. But I am also concerned that I am not seeing no other audio setting outside of 2 ch stereo.

Curtis
Xbox Live ID: Blaze104
MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1
Ahanix MCE701 case
LG Blu-ray/HD-DVD
3 Cable Card
1 HDHomerun
Windows 7 32bit
42" HP MediaSmart
WHS Norco 4020 case w/ WHS 2011
curtis104 is offline  
post #375 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
IronChef75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you see the speaker test screen where it allows you to play a test tone through each individual speaker? How many speakers does it show, and do you have any options to select the number of speakers?
IronChef75 is offline  
post #376 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
kdssrugby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Curtis, I just installed the card as well and had a number of headaches getting sound out of it. I m on Vista as well BTW. It created anIDT HDMI device, but no usable drivers. There is a folder on my Sapphire driver cd that has hdaudio files in it. I tried using them (even though they were for XP) but no luck. I then ended up searching the net and found this:

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false

I installed this and its been working fine. Just configure it to 7.1
kdssrugby is offline  
post #377 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtis104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdssrugby View Post

Hey Curtis, I just installed the card as well and had a number of headaches getting sound out of it. I m on Vista as well BTW. It created anIDT HDMI device, but no usable drivers. There is a folder on my Sapphire driver cd that has hdaudio files in it. I tried using them (even though they were for XP) but no luck. I then ended up searching the net and found this:

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...&GetDown=false

I installed this and its been working fine. Just configure it to 7.1

I had a feeling that would be the solution because people have been using Realtek drivers for these cards over the past year. I don't understand why ATI state this anywhere or just leave out the fact that there are no sound drivers included. Lets see what happens.

Curtis
Xbox Live ID: Blaze104
MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1
Ahanix MCE701 case
LG Blu-ray/HD-DVD
3 Cable Card
1 HDHomerun
Windows 7 32bit
42" HP MediaSmart
WHS Norco 4020 case w/ WHS 2011
curtis104 is offline  
post #378 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
kdssrugby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ve played all sorts of MP3's and all come out as stereo, so the card doesn t upmix all content to 7.1. I played MP3 files using Powerdvd 8 and Winamp. I also played 3:10 in Powerdvd and it gives 7.1 so it seems to work fine. Switching the settings in Powerdvd between 8ch and HDMI created a slight difference but that could just be volume levels. As for what my receiver is showing, it says 96khz because thats what I configured the realtek driver (in sound options) to output it as. But more than likely the audio is still getting down mixed.
kdssrugby is offline  
post #379 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
kdssrugby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What annoys me is that technically the card doesn t come out until Wednesday so they don t have the new drivers up yet, only the ones that support up to the 3 series. I would almost bet that the drivers that they release will solve our problems, only because we ve gone to so much trouble, its murphys law.
kdssrugby is offline  
post #380 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtis104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What driver did you use? Was it the Vista_R196?

Curtis
Xbox Live ID: Blaze104
MSI Media Live DIVA 5.1
Ahanix MCE701 case
LG Blu-ray/HD-DVD
3 Cable Card
1 HDHomerun
Windows 7 32bit
42" HP MediaSmart
WHS Norco 4020 case w/ WHS 2011
curtis104 is offline  
post #381 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
redtyler1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to all for reporting results. I am concerned that we won't get any real aswer as to whether the sound is being downsampled or not based on what kdssrugby stated above. What receiver are you using, kdssrugby?
redtyler1 is offline  
post #382 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,076
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdssrugby View Post

It created an IDT HDMI device, but no usable drivers.

It's a surprise. So ATI switched audio controller from Realtek to IDT?
renethx is offline  
post #383 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdssrugby View Post

What annoys me is that technically the card doesn t come out until Wednesday so they don t have the new drivers up yet,

No, the card's release was bumped up. There was an article about it.

And, the 8.6 drivers do officially support the 4 series... the ATI website just wasn't updated to say so.

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #384 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I went to my(Not so Local) best buy today. They were showing 4 in stock. However, when I got there I wasn't the only one searching for the card. They had misplaced the cards and they had no idea where they went. Two of us stuck around for a while but they could not find the cards. They took our names and said they would honor the 25% off when they find the cards.

I took off because I needed to get back to pick up my daughter. Unfortunelty, our fearless leader(Prez Bush) decided to cause a 30 minute road block at 5:00 PM on a Friday afternoon. I looked over as we sat idling on the highway and there was the other person that had waited for the card as well.

We were only about 15 seconds from getting through the road block before they closed it. Oh well, I guess saving 50 bucks was worth waiting for? However, my wife did make me sleep outside tonight because I couldn't pick up my daughter.

I should get my 4850 tomorrow(They finally called me tonight and said they found the cards). I will test the 8.1 channel PCM tommorrow.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #385 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
cghebert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdssrugby View Post

I ve played all sorts of MP3's and all come out as stereo, so the card doesn t upmix all content to 7.1. I played MP3 files using Powerdvd 8 and Winamp. I also played 3:10 in Powerdvd and it gives 7.1 so it seems to work fine. Switching the settings in Powerdvd between 8ch and HDMI created a slight difference but that could just be volume levels. As for what my receiver is showing, it says 96khz because thats what I configured the realtek driver (in sound options) to output it as. But more than likely the audio is still getting down mixed.

Could you put up a screenshot of your HDMI options when you get a chance? Also, are you configuring through the Vista Control Panel or the Realtek configuration utility?

Thanks in advance.
cghebert is offline  
post #386 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
cghebert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://support.ati.com/ics/support/d...asp?deptID=894

In case it hasn't been posted already.

They don't say exactly what it fixes, just that it improves overall performance and stability.
cghebert is offline  
post #387 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
tosehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: George, USA
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That seems to be all video related..

As for sounds, try to disable everything except the HDMI in the control panel. Sometimes, the players are confused which output device to use.

Speakers: Monitor Audio GR60, GRLCR, GR-10
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92
Amp: (Still searching...)
tosehee is offline  
post #388 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 10:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
kdssrugby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@ Curtis: I just used the one that came with the card so that is likely the driver.
@renethx: No they still use IDT, but no one has gotten it to work using the bundled driver
@cgherbert: I open the sound options (either through control panel or right click on speaker icon), select the output device and click the properties and play around in the supported formats tab
kdssrugby is offline  
post #389 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 11:31 PM
Member
 
todd612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the VisionTek 4850 from BB in San Francisco for $150. I noticed the specs are 512MB of GDDR3 memory. The first page of this post references the 4850 using GDDR5 memory type. Is the reference source wrong?
todd612 is offline  
post #390 of 2819 Old 06-20-2008, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I just installed the Hotfix driver for the 4850...

I notice it says has some performance and stability improvements... it hasn't been unstable for me today, as I've been playing a bit of Oblivion with it, but it did boost my 3DMark06 score ever so slightly.

Went from 12158 3DMarks to 12214.

The overall 3DMark improvement over the HD3870 OC I had in previously isn't that great.

I had 11666 with the HD3870 OC...

Was expecting something a little more dramatic, but eh, it's a start!

When the 4870 comes out, I will be testing that in this rig too.

(CPU is a Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 clocked @ 3.6ghz, so I know that my CPU isn't the bottleneck.)

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off