ATI Radeon HD 4600 & 4800 series support 7.1 channel HDMI audio! - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg2 View Post

My understanding was that some users were able to successfully test (8 or 6) channel 24/192 audio (using flac or similar unprotected content). Could anybody confirm this? If this is true, then the bandwidth information in the specs would be wrong.

Is there even multichannel 24/192 content? I am not sure about that, but it seems to me excessive anyway. I'd actually be happier if the original content was just 16/48 and they got rid of all this PAP nonsense. 96 kHz has never proven to be an audible difference in any properly set-up blind test that I know of, and 24-bit audio only had a very slight audible difference in base noise at VERY high output levels. I wish I had the link to that test...
Andy o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 08:00 AM
eg2
Member
 
eg2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy o View Post

Is there even multichannel 24/192 content? I am not sure about that, but it seems to me excessive anyway. I'd actually be happier if the original content was just 16/48 and they got rid of all this PAP nonsense. 96 kHz has never proven to be an audible difference in any properly set-up blind test that I know of, and 24-bit audio only had a very slight audible difference in base noise at VERY high output levels. I wish I had the link to that test...

You are right, never seen 24/192 mutlichannel, however some users definitely tested 24/96 5.1 flacs and my understanding was that this worked.

Regarding the ability to be able to differentiate between various bitrates and frequency ranges, that's a different discussion altogether. Generally I find that 24/96 sounds better to me (there just seems to be a bit more definition / precision in the sound), but I can not tell if it is just better mixing, etc. However, this point is mute, I have a receiver that supports lpcm at 24/192 so if content is available, I would like to get it passed on without any downsampling.
eg2 is offline  
post #453 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
hceuterpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aroound the net I've seen the specification for 8 channel audio at 24-bit 192khz at 6.144
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Displayport

May that's per channel bandwidth??
hceuterpe is offline  
post #454 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg2 View Post

You are right, never seen 24/192 mutlichannel, however some users definitely tested 24/96 5.1 flacs and my understanding was that this worked.

I believe the Chris Botti Blu-ray disc I have is 7.1 Channels of 24/192. I have to check that though.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #455 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,079
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Chris Botti: Live with Orchestra & Special Guests:

LPCM 5.1 24-bit/96kHz (6x24x96/1000 = 13.824 Mb/s)

according to Unofficial Blu-ray Audio and Video Specifications Thread
renethx is offline  
post #456 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,079
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg2 View Post

some users definitely tested 24/96 5.1 flacs and my understanding was that this worked.

I checked both threads, but couldn't find the confirmation. Who tested 24/96 5.1 FLAC with HD 4850?
renethx is offline  
post #457 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 09:34 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rush Hour 3 DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio between 4 and 5,5 Mbit/sec, the same with Alien vs Predator 2...thats what I have on Bluray...most of my other Blurays have not this bitrate

http://pics.computerbase.de/2/2/0/6/1/6.jpg

Time will bring answers...but I´m still waitoing for my 4850...damn sleeping Parcel Services
flyingernst is offline  
post #458 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,079
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingernst View Post

Rush Hour 3 DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio between 4 and 5,5 Mbit/sec, the same with Alien vs Predator 2...thats what I have on Bluray...most of my other Blurays have not this bitrate

http://pics.computerbase.de/2/2/0/6/1/6.jpg

Time will bring answers...but I´m still waitoing for my 4850...damn sleeping Parcel Services

Andy o is right, 18Mbps is the theoretical max bandwidth. The actual bandwidth of Dolby TrueHD/DTS-HD MA in BD movies is < 6Mbps. But it is limited by DRM ... hopefully AnyDVD HD helps.

On the other hand LPCM is limited to 8ch/16bit/48kHz if 6.144Mbps is true.
renethx is offline  
post #459 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 10:11 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well...he says it is a full "nativ" HDMI 1.3 port...I forgot to translate
flyingernst is offline  
post #460 of 2819 Old 06-25-2008, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

I believe the Chris Botti Blu-ray disc I have is 7.1 Channels of 24/192. I have to check that though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Chris Botti: Live with Orchestra & Special Guests:

LPCM 5.1 24-bit/96kHz (6x24x96/1000 = 13.824 Mb/s)

according to Unofficial Blu-ray Audio and Video Specifications Thread

eg2 was talking about FLAC audio because currently with the PAP thing you cannot test original 24/96 multichannel content. Although I imagine that one can set up their 4850 to output 8-channel 24/96 in the audio device and just see if it does. Probably in the specification what was meant was that it won't work for original content like bluray or HD-DVD, i.e. it is not compatible with a PAP solution.
Andy o is offline  
post #461 of 2819 Old 06-26-2008, 04:37 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
still waiting for my parcel...like every time...germans services are the most worsted you can Imagine...they lost also nearly my Onkyo 805...after 8 days it came to me...the distance was only 109km...
flyingernst is offline  
post #462 of 2819 Old 06-26-2008, 05:17 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingernst View Post

still waiting for my parcel...like every time...germans services are the most worsted you can Imagine...they lost also nearly my Onkyo 805...after 8 days it came to me...the distance was only 109km...

DHL is the German Post Office, right?

They suck in the US as well...lose things quite often.
cybrsage is offline  
post #463 of 2819 Old 06-26-2008, 07:17 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes they are...as a german I feel cheap about them...there are some more companys in Germany that would need people like Mr. Wiedeking or similar. The good times are over...to many people without ideology and auto-criticism...fighting while doing their job only for money, all of their jobs done with rules they learned in school, not able to work with intent and creativity. Like that you feel if you are talking to the DHL support...these people have only a function as protection shields for the company, have nothing to do with real service and problem solutions. I went to the parcel centre for the Onkyo..there was one person who helped me to find and receive it.
...wow...now I have a new status: "carrying to your local parcel centre after error-correcting" ... oh man..

Greetings, Michael
flyingernst is offline  
post #464 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 04:10 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wrote a mail to realtek:

Dear support Team,

see my problem:

Normal 5.1: Front / Center / Surround
Normal 7.1: Front / Center / Surround / Backsurround

7.1 HDMI of my Ati 4850:

5.1: Front / Center/ Back Surround
7.1: Front / Center / Backsurround / Surround

Pictures see:

http://www.pictureupload.de/pictures...125349_5.1.jpg

http://www.pictureupload.de/pictures...125439_7.1.jpg

In the Realtek config Panel itself every speaker gets the right signal, (compared the sound to the lightend speaker in the configdisplay), but in 5.1 mode, the wrong surround speakers are activated!!!

Thats wrong, if I change between PCM Stream 5.1 to DTS/AC3 Passthrough:

Multichannel-PCM: Backsurrounds play as Surrounds:
AC3/DTS: Surrounds play as Surrounds

Can you help me?! That's not right, you changed the speakers in your driver!!!Back surrounds are only for center Support between und behind the main Surrounds Speakers (of the 5.1 configuration)not for player the surround sound in 5.1 movies!!!

Thanks a lot, greetings, Michael Weber, Germany
Sapphire 4850
Onkyo 805 7.1 configuration


But sound is....wow...
I use PowerDVD, I can change between HDMI out and my other Realtek devices (all are working), while HDMI out I can change bitwenn AC3/DTS Streaming and MultichannelPCM

Greetigns Michael
flyingernst is offline  
post #465 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Escrotumus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Manassas Park, Va.
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, I bought a visiontek 4850 yesterday and wanted to know what the story was with passing audio out the dvi interface with the provided hdmi adapter? Wouldn't there need to be a cable connecting the sound card to the 4850 to do this? I didn't see any plug to do this with. I know the card passes the sound but can't seem to find any info about how it is supposed to be configured. The instructions with the card mention it can do it but not how to do it.
Escrotumus is offline  
post #466 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Escrotumus View Post

Hey all, I bought a visiontek 4850 yesterday and wanted to know what the story was with passing audio out the dvi interface with the provided hdmi adapter? Wouldn't there need to be a cable connecting the sound card to the 4850 to do this? I didn't see any plug to do this with. I know the card passes the sound but can't seem to find any info about how it is supposed to be configured. The instructions with the card mention it can do it but not how to do it.

no. providing you have the right dongle, you will able to get the 8 channels LPCM from that DVI port out to DVI-HDMI to your receiver.
hlkc is offline  
post #467 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 01:07 PM
Member
 
phigment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anything been announced yet about when the lower end cards are to be release? I.e. 4650, or 4450?

Anybody care to guess whether the 4450 will be able to handle simultaneous 1080i decode and vector adaptive deinterlace?
phigment is offline  
post #468 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 02:05 PM
Member
 
ChrisM47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to post my experience with this card........

Been completely issue free for me I'm running Windows XP with SP3 bought the card popped it in installed only the hotfix drivers nothing else.....

Plugged into my Pioneer Elite VSX-72TXV does 1080\\720 to my PJ and my Pioneer shows 7.1 PCM when playing HD Movies over Media Player Classic and it sounds great! Played Mass Effect with everything cranked up and still had 7.1 PCM sounded amazing no problems whatsoever here =).

Biggest thing is just to go into Start -> Control Panel -> Sound and Audio Devices and Under Speaker Settings go to Advanced set it to 5.1\\7.1 when I did this it changed 5.1\\7.1 PCM when I first installed it I was only getting 2.0 cause it was set on Desktop Stereo Speakers.
ChrisM47 is offline  
post #469 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
mcnabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisM47 View Post

Played Mass Effect with everything cranked up and still had 7.1 PCM sounded amazing no problems whatsoever here =).

Is the game/PC/card sending distinct channels of audio when gaming, or is it just matrixing stereo into 5.1/7.1?
mcnabney is offline  
post #470 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 02:34 PM
Member
 
ChrisM47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
k now I feel retarded I see 7.1 PCM on my Amp but never bothered to check the speakers seems I'm only getting Stereo with LFE just front Left and Right audio comes out and I know the sources are 5.1\\7.1 anyone else seem to have this issue?

Should I try ftp://202.65.194.211/pc/audio/HDMI_R196.exe ? what is this for

Sorry guys guess I got a little excited -_-
ChrisM47 is offline  
post #471 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 04:05 PM
Member
 
ChrisM47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PowerDVD was set to 2speakers I put it on S/PDIF got Dobly Digital on my reciver came out as 5.1 and then tried setting it to 6speakers came out and 5.1 PCM thanks a lot. But this is only with a normal DVD that I tried. Question is on my HD mkv\\mp4\\wmvHD files that I know have 5.1 in them I can't seem to get anything out of them other then 2.1 even tho it shows 5.1\\7.1 PCM on my Pioneer....... i'm mostly just using Media Player Classic I installed the CCCP Pack for Filters and stuff but dunno what to try options in Media Player Classic are endless whole bunch of options about filters I tried adding externals ones but I have so many ;\\ dunno what to do ....... any suggestions?
ChrisM47 is offline  
post #472 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 04:12 PM
Member
 
ChrisM47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
k I got it all working now getting all 5.1\\7.1 sound just took bit of messing with my players
ChrisM47 is offline  
post #473 of 2819 Old 06-27-2008, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sodaboy581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Concord, California
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just thought I'd chime in about temperatures...

Just affixed a Zalman VF1000 aftermarket cooler to my Radeon 4850. Idling @ 38c and load @ 50c in with the fan speed roughly in the middle of the Fanmate.

I don't know how to get the BEST load but I pretty much just checked my temperatures after every 3DMark06 test.

When I had the fan at the max setting, the temps were @ 35C idle and 47C load running the same tests.

The fan isn't even loud at max speed but I could hear a very slight whine when near the tower from the fan. Moving it around the middle, I couldn't hear it anymore. So that's where I'm keeping it.

Very happy with these results.

EDIT: The only thing I'm concerned about is that the mosfets have nothing over them now, the Zalman VF1000 didn't come with enough sinks for those. I wonder if it even matters as everything seems stable so far...

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

sodaboy581 is offline  
post #474 of 2819 Old 06-28-2008, 02:26 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hei you 4850 users:

Do you have the same Problem as I have?
5.1 PCM: Surround Speakers are off und Backsurrounds are playing surround stuff

7.1PCM: same like with 5.1 configuration while playing a movie with 5.1 sound (DTS-HD/Dolby TrueHD/PCM 5.1)

5.1 Dolby Digital Bitstream, same Movie: Back Surrounds are off and Surrounds are Playing the surround stuff (which ist the right configuration)

Greetings, Michael
flyingernst is offline  
post #475 of 2819 Old 06-28-2008, 07:18 AM
Member
 
richt19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After reviewing this thread I think I came up with a new installation problem for the HD 4850. After installing the card and the hotfix all seemed ready to go. I tried starting Power DVD and I get the following message:

"PowerDVD has stopped working"

"A problem has caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

If I remove the card and go back to my G35 graphics w/HDMI the PowerDVD problem goes away.

Anyone have this problem or a recommended solution?
richt19 is offline  
post #476 of 2819 Old 06-29-2008, 06:33 AM
Member
 
alex.ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I just got my 4850 from Sapphire and installed it on a XP Sp3. Well I took the ATI 8.6 Hotfix, first with the embedded HDMI form ATI and then the Realtek 1.96. Both doesn't allow me an HDMI output Option in PowerDVD 8 (last Patch). So I wonder if I have to check it with Vista.

Does anybody here have HDMI Output Option (for e.g. the Passthrough) under XP (NOT VISTA)

Thanks a lot

Alex
alex.ba is offline  
post #477 of 2819 Old 06-29-2008, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex.ba View Post

Hi,

I just got my 4850 from Sapphire and installed it on a XP Sp3. Well I took the ATI 8.6 Hotfix, first with the embedded HDMI form ATI and then the Realtek 1.96. Both doesn't allow me an HDMI output Option in PowerDVD 8 (last Patch). So I wonder if I have to check it with Vista.

Does anybody here have HDMI Output Option (for e.g. the Passthrough) under XP (NOT VISTA)

Thanks a lot

Alex

Post #427 in this thread he has XP.
hlkc is offline  
post #478 of 2819 Old 06-29-2008, 07:03 AM
Member
 
alex.ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

thanks a lot. Well I also changed to 5.1/7.1. this is not the issue. I just wanted to know if you get an HDMi Output with PowerDVD under XP. I tried the emnedded and also the R1.96 driver from Relatek but no way,

So I install a Vista right now and will try if this works

Regards

Alex
alex.ba is offline  
post #479 of 2819 Old 06-29-2008, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,079
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex.ba View Post

Hi,

I just got my 4850 from Sapphire and installed it on a XP Sp3. Well I took the ATI 8.6 Hotfix, first with the embedded HDMI form ATI and then the Realtek 1.96. Both doesn't allow me an HDMI output Option in PowerDVD 8 (last Patch). So I wonder if I have to check it with Vista.

Does anybody here have HDMI Output Option (for e.g. the Passthrough) under XP (NOT VISTA)

Speaker Environment > HDMI (& Output Mode > PCM, AC3/DTS pass-through) is an exclusive mode, which is available only in Vista.
renethx is offline  
post #480 of 2819 Old 06-29-2008, 07:51 AM
Member
 
alex.ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi thanks a lot for this information.

This means: Under XP there is no chance to get HD Bitsream out of this card. The only possibilty I have is to use the 6 Channel Mode in PowerDVD.

I have the impression that the sound quality is a lot better than using SPDIF. Does anybody know what I get when using 6 Chennel over HDMI

Thanks a lot

Alex
alex.ba is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off