Review my HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-26-2008, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
amonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my initial build, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Motherboard: P5K-VM
Processor E7200
RAM OCZ 6400 4GB
HDD: Caviar GP 1TB IntelliPower Serial ATA-300 Hard Drive OEM

I'm still looking for a case and video card and would just use the S/PDIF out for audio. Eventually I would add a blu-ray drive and a tuner card to the setup.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
amonteiro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-26-2008, 05:12 PM
Member
 
sunny5011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it seems good but why would you use laptop memory??
sunny5011 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-26-2008, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
amonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good catch

I didn't realize it was laptop memory.

How about this Corsair 6400 instead.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
amonteiro is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-28-2008, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
amonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a lot of research today, I made some changes. Hopefully this is final.

Case - Antec New Solution NSK2480 Black/Silver 0.8mm cold-rolled steel MicroATX Desktop Computer Case 380W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...tec-_-11129034
~ 89.99

Motherboard - ASUS P5E-VM HDMI LGA 775 Intel G35 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131237
~ 129.99

Processor - Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 Wolfdale 2.53GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...5052&Tpk=E7200
~ 131.99

HDD 1 (For Data) - Caviar GP 1TB IntelliPower Serial ATA-300 Hard Drive OEM
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0266876
~ 179.99

HDD 2 (For OS)- Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...822135106#spec
~ 39.99

RAM - Kingston 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134636
~ 83.98

Total - 655.93


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
amonteiro is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-28-2008, 12:48 PM
Member
 
sunny5011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you might want to make your terabyte hard drive the second hdd because if anything happens then you wont have to format that hard drive
sunny5011 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-28-2008, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
lakaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could also create a 50GB partition on the TB HD and ditch the 80 GB HD.
lakaw is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-28-2008, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Fredrik Rasmussen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, why put in a 80GB HDD today? It will just generate additional heat and noise.
Fredrik Rasmussen is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-29-2008, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
amonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking of putting in the 80GB for the OS as HD1 (not HD2), with the assumption that it will speed up the computer since the OS and media are separated. The 80GB seems to be a lot faster too. Is this not the case?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
amonteiro is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off