Front End that FULLY supports HVR-1600 Standard? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-04-2008, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Squeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm new to the HTPC and attempted several methods in order to connect my standard HVR-1600 to ASTC and STB. The only issue is I do not have a "Microsoft" USB IR, just the one that came with the 1600. Although I might have to bite the bullet and shell out another $40+ dollars for a new remove and receiver I'm attempting not too.

Is there a program that will allow me to use the standard HVR-1600 hardware. I have attempted MediaPortal 0.2.3 and Vista MCE, both need the additional receiver. I have tried the newest version on MP RC1 does not support the card at all.

I would like to be able to use one remote as well as the IR blaster that came with the 1600. If anyone has any input or workaround please let me know.

Squeeky
Squeeky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-04-2008, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can use the stock remote from my HVR-1250 (the one with IR receiver plugged in to the card) to control Media Center. I can also modify remote.ini to control other applications including SlingPlayer and VLC. Is that what you are looking for?
pixelation is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-04-2008, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Squeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not exactly, in order for me to tune the channels coming from s-video STB, it states I need the connect MCE receiver.
Squeeky is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 09-05-2008, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How well does the Hauppauge WinTV6 application work for your requirements?
walford is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-05-2008, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Widman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: There
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you looked at GB-PVR? I'm not 100% sure it supports the IR blaster but it is a free download, so it would be easy to try it out.

pete
Widman is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-05-2008, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
MediaPortal. 'Nuff said.
daMaster is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-07-2008, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Squeeky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having major issues with MP and 1600, I can't seem to pull anything off svideo just stays black
Squeeky is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 09-08-2008, 06:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
An S-video connection will downgrade to B&W if the sending device does not sense the proper impedence over the Chroma(color) pin connection. Check your S-video cable to be sure you don't have any bent pins and/or try a different S-video cable.
walford is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off