*Official* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
myAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roscoe62 View Post

myAV,

First off, thank you so much for your early info on the HDAV 1.3 - it's really appreciated!

My question is - most of the media I'll be using the card for will simply be mkv files with 5.1/7.1 LPCM audio. Do you know whether the HDAV 1.3 will still pass this data out via HDMI without any issues - I won't be using TMT as the software player, and my OS is XP.

Again, any info you can provide is appreciated!!

Cheers
Ross

I don't have any mkv files with 5.1/7.1 LPCM audio to try.But I can tell you, this card sends plain old AC3/DTS 5.1 tracks with any player like KMplayer and MPC-HC..etc.
myAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:24 AM
Senior Member
 
myAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingernst View Post

hei myAV, received my question?!

I received it. Just be cool.
myAV is offline  
post #273 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by myAV View Post

Here is what I did
I ran some comparative scenes from Die hard 4.0 through both the PS3 and Pioneer LX80. I selected a few bass heavy action sequences for the test.

First I ran them through the PS3 with it internally decoding the DTS-HD MA signal and outputting it as LPCM to my Integra 8.8. And then running the same scenes through the LX80 output via bitstream to the integra offered a substantial difference over the LPCM decoded signal from the PS3 in LFE output, dynamics and detail. This was not what I would call a subtle difference but one that was plainly obvious.

I used the same output level on the receiver and just simply switched sources. It didn't simply sound like a difference in volume. The quality of the audio via the LX80 sounded better articulated and distinctly punchier with definitively deeper bass.

Sorry if it seems I am picking on you, I really appreciate your info on here.

When using LPCM can you confirm the Audio on the 8.8 was set to LPCM and not another 'surround' setting?

Do you know whether the 8.8 applies Audyssey to both LPCM and Bitstream? I know the new Marantz Pre/Pro for instance does not, as it does not have enough processing power to decode HD and apply Audyssey. Easiest way to check is to disable Audyssey of course

Thanks,

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #274 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
myAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Do you know what the power draw is? I am curious why this board needs an external power connector?

- Rich

It is for the Splendid HD chip for smooth 1080p/24Hz processing.
myAV is offline  
post #275 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:58 AM
Newbie
 
Glyn-Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myAV View Post

It is for the Splendid HD chip for smooth 1080p/24Hz processing.

Actually didn't the previous Xonar models that didn't have HDMI or a Splendid processor also use the extra power cable too? I think the card's generally power hungry - might be the lights on the back to help you wire speaker cables into the correct holes.
Glyn-Green is offline  
post #276 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 05:33 AM
Member
 
ausvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

Sorry if it seems I am picking on you, I really appreciate your info on here.

When using LPCM can you confirm the Audio on the 8.8 was set to LPCM and not another 'surround' setting?

Do you know whether the 8.8 applies Audyssey to both LPCM and Bitstream? I know the new Marantz Pre/Pro for instance does not, as it does not have enough processing power to decode HD and apply Audyssey. Easiest way to check is to disable Audyssey of course

Thanks,

Adam

From my experiences with my Onkyo 875 I'm pretty sure it won't apply post-processing on lpcm input which is why I assumed it sounds different. I don't have a lpcm input to test with at the moment. But I did particularly notice that with lpcm 5.1 from a playstation it wouldn't even provide 7.1 expansion and rear channels were just dead. So theres certainly limitations to what it will do with a pcm source compared to a bitstream.

Certainly same issue with feeding it analogue. I found it sounded much better feeding it a DD 5.1 bitstream, have Audyssey post processing and 7.1 expansion than feeding it a high quality lpcm -> analogue input and having no Audyssey, 7.1 expansion and whatever other processing it normally does.
ausvette is offline  
post #277 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausvette View Post

From my experiences with my Onkyo 875 I'm pretty sure it won't apply post-processing on lpcm input which is why I assumed it sounds different. I don't have a lpcm input to test with at the moment. But I did particularly notice that with lpcm 5.1 from a playstation it wouldn't even provide 7.1 expansion and rear channels were just dead. So theres certainly limitations to what it will do with a pcm source compared to a bitstream.

Certainly same issue with feeding it analogue. I found it sounded much better feeding it a DD 5.1 bitstream, have Audyssey post processing and 7.1 expansion than feeding it a high quality lpcm -> analogue input and having no Audyssey, 7.1 expansion and whatever other processing it normally does.

This is completely untrue, there are any number of post processing audio presets you can apply to LPCM. You need to check the manual

Adam

EDIT: Check page 72 for the presets that can be applied, I would suggest Neural THX 7.1 for expanding the soundfield. BTW don't set your PC to output 192khz as the Onkyo assumes you are connecting a DVD-A/SACD connection and disables the presets I mentioned so this may be your problem.
AngelEyes is offline  
post #278 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Sept 10th! calendar marked! I've been waiting for this card to finish my htpc client down in the HT room!!

btw, I don't see it's been mentioned, but what's this "It is for the Splendid HD chip for smooth 1080p/24Hz processing." mean??? does it mean we also finally have a good 24p solution from htpc??? (I know pretty much all current video card/chipset output has problem w/ 24fps)

my projector has a 24hz mode that works great when receiving 1080p/24hz materials (e.g. PS3) and will only display it at 48hz mode to make it more film like for movies.

~ Gary

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

landshark1 is offline  
post #279 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

Sept 10th! calendar marked! I've been waiting for this card to finish my htpc client down in the HT room!!

btw, I don't see it's been mentioned, but what's this "It is for the Splendid HD chip for smooth 1080p/24Hz processing." mean???....

It is post processing circuitry that should be avoided.
William is offline  
post #280 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausvette View Post

From my experiences with my Onkyo 875 I'm pretty sure it won't apply post-processing on lpcm input which is why I assumed it sounds different. I don't have a lpcm input to test with at the moment. But I did particularly notice that with lpcm 5.1 from a playstation it wouldn't even provide 7.1 expansion and rear channels were just dead. So theres certainly limitations to what it will do with a pcm source compared to a bitstream.

Certainly same issue with feeding it analogue. I found it sounded much better feeding it a DD 5.1 bitstream, have Audyssey post processing and 7.1 expansion than feeding it a high quality lpcm -> analogue input and having no Audyssey, 7.1 expansion and whatever other processing it normally does.

Not true at all. But, this highlights an issue with LPCM that has nothing to do with the quality (which is identical to bitstream). That is, some LPCM sources open up the full 7.1 channels, no matter what's being sent. Doing that prevents any matrixing, since technically your AVR is receiving 7.1 channels (just that 2 are blank).

But I know the matrixing does work given a properly configured source device. I send 5.1 LPCM from my HTPC, and my Onkyo 905 happily matrixes the rear surrounds to turn it into 7.1.

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #281 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
is the manual available for this yet ?

I'm very interested in one - but concerned about the analogue outs

whether this card finally has proper bass management for D.Digital/DTS etc, and or Dolby/DTS on-board decoding ? Speaker delays in drivers, eq for speakers ?

if not then the Deluxe is no step forward for analogue users other than it having decent op-amp drivers all-round
markabuckley is offline  
post #282 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
angel72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

is the manual available for this yet ?

I'm very interested in one - but concerned about the analogue outs

whether this card finally has proper bass management for D.Digital/DTS etc, and or Dolby/DTS on-board decoding ? Speaker delays in drivers, eq for speakers ?

if not then the Deluxe is no step forward for analogue users other than it having decent op-amp drivers all-round

would you use this card as pre-amp ? i'd like to do the same, but on asus international i cannot find the manual yet.
someone can help us?
angel72 is offline  
post #283 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not quite Angel72 as an input into a high end receiver - but had by fingers burnt with a X-Fi Prelude which did not do what I wanted (bass management was a nightmare) as was speaker delays (which some programs allowed for and others not)

makes difference to next amp I buy ... if I go for

HD-audio via HDMI - then something like a Yamaha 3800, Pioneer 94TX etc

but HD-audio via analogue - then the lure of a Arcam AVR-350 (cheap in the UK at now as end ofline) - is very tempting

I still feel away from the alure of HD audio, bitstream etc the Arcam would be the better amp - but if I can't get the analogue I need out of my HTPC then its not an option
markabuckley is offline  
post #284 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't suppose this thing will do the pre-amp job well by accepting DD5.1 in from the cable box to be sent out the analog outs? I know My Xonar D2X does not do this function . . .

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #285 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:25 AM
Member
 
whatthehell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if i will notice a difference on lossless audio on my setup Below, im planning on getting a Blu Ray rom and The Asus Card for xmas im currently using onboard sound with SPDIF out

Fronts: Kef Q7 Floorstanding
kef.com/history/2000/q/qseries7.asp

Rears: Kef Q1 Bookshelf
kef.com/history/2000/q/qseries1.asp

Centre: Kef Q6C
kef.com/history/2000/q/qseries6c.asp

Subwoofer: SVS 20-39 PCi
svsound.com/products-sub-cyl-pcpow2.cfm

(Add www. to above links couldnt add them properly as im a newbie)

With a recently bought Onkyo 606 Reciever

Thanks in advance

Mark
whatthehell is offline  
post #286 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

Not true at all. But, this highlights an issue with LPCM that has nothing to do with the quality (which is identical to bitstream). That is, some LPCM sources open up the full 7.1 channels, no matter what's being sent. Doing that prevents any matrixing, since technically your AVR is receiving 7.1 channels (just that 2 are blank).

But I know the matrixing does work given a properly configured source device. I send 5.1 LPCM from my HTPC, and my Onkyo 905 happily matrixes the rear surrounds to turn it into 7.1.

Thanks for adding that, I hadn't considered it in my answer to the same post.

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #287 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:42 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

Thanks for adding that, I hadn't considered it in my answer to the same post.

Adam

Agreed. I am currently suffering from that...I send 7.1 to my AVR, but when it is only a stereo souce, I only get 2 channels worth of sound.

With bitstream, I can set Windows to 2 channel and let the AVR matrix that out...then let TMT bitstream the proper channels to the AVR.
cybrsage is offline  
post #288 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifespeed View Post

I don't suppose this thing will do the pre-amp job well by accepting DD5.1 in from the cable box to be sent out the analog outs? I know My Xonar D2X does not do this function . . .

Oh no!!! So this new card won't decode DD and DTS over hdmi or optical in? I need that functionality! Can myAv confirm this?

I got my x-fi elite pro modded with cap and opamp upgrade but the guy who modded it royally screwed up my card. The center/sub doesn't work and my front channels exhibit crackling after prolonged use. Also, it made my HTPC unstable

I'm hoping the hdav 1.3 can be the replacement for my x-fi elite.
Salvador is offline  
post #289 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salvador View Post

Oh no!!! So this new card won't decode DD and DTS over hdmi or optical in? I need that functionality! Can myAv confirm this?

I got my x-fi elite pro modded with cap and opamp upgrade but the guy who modded it royally screwed up my card. The center/sub doesn't work and my front channels exhibit crackling after prolonged use. Also, it made my HTPC unstable

I'm hoping the hdav 1.3 can be the replacement for my x-fi elite.


That's more about the software players. Both TMT and PDVD, for example, will do this today. As will software like MediaPortal and just about everything else.

Don't panic!

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #290 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

That's more about the software players. Both TMT and PDVD, for example, will do this today. As will software like MediaPortal and just about everything else.

Don't panic!

I don't use my HTPC as my dvd/bluray player. Before my x-fi elite pro got borked, I was using my PS3 + optical out for dvd/bluray movies. I didn't need any extra software to decode the DD or DTS coming from the optical connection. The x-fi drivers would detect the stream and decode it automatically. I pretty much want to keep my setup that way.

I'm pretty much in a state of panic since my x-fi got damaged. As I mentioned before the front channels still work so I'm actually hearing the amazing difference the 4562+cap upgrade did. So with the xonar hdav 1.3 I would pretty much be getting the new found sound quality that I'm enjoying right now AND hopefully include DD/DTS decoding through hdmi/optical in.
Salvador is offline  
post #291 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salvador View Post

I don't use my HTPC as my dvd/bluray player. Before my x-fi elite pro got borked, I was using my PS3 + optical out for dvd/bluray movies. I didn't need any extra software to decode the DD or DTS coming from the optical connection. The x-fi drivers would detect the stream and decode it automatically. I pretty much want to keep my setup that way.

I'm pretty much in a state of panic since my x-fi got damaged. As I mentioned before the front channels still work so I'm actually hearing the amazing difference the 4562+cap upgrade did. So with the xonar hdav 1.3 I would pretty much be getting the new found sound quality that I'm enjoying right now AND hopefully include DD/DTS decoding through hdmi/optical in.

You can only use the Xonar in a HTPC. Your question was a panic that the Xonar didn't support DTS/DD to LPCM over HDMI (at least that's how I interpreted it). That only matters if you use your HTPC to play DVD's.

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #292 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

You can only use the Xonar in a HTPC. Your question was a panic that the Xonar didn't support DTS/DD to LPCM over HDMI (at least that's how I interpreted it). That only matters if you use your HTPC to play DVD's.

That actually wasn't my original question. My apologies if the wording was confusing. To clarify:

- I want to know if Xonar Hdav 1.3 decodes DD and DTS stream from its HDMI and Optical inputs without using any 3rd party software.

There you go, I hope that clears it up for everyone
Salvador is offline  
post #293 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salvador View Post

That actually wasn't my original question. My apologies if the wording was confusing. To clarify:

- I want to know if Xonar Hdav 1.3 decodes DD and DTS stream from its HDMI and Optical inputs without using any 3rd party software.

There you go, I hope that clears it up for everyone

I don't have the Xonar Hdav 1.3, I have the earlier D2X. I lost the DD decode when I ditched my X-Fi EP. I have a good, used, working one if you're interested

I think if it supports DD input decode it will loudly proclaim it in the specs. Apparently very few cards have useable (in the pre/pro sense) digital inputs.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #294 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifespeed View Post

I don't have the Xonar Hdav 1.3, I have the earlier D2X. I lost the DD decode when I ditched my X-Fi EP. I have a good, used, working one if you're interested

I think if it supports DD input decode it will loudly proclaim it in the specs. Apparently very few cards have useable (in the pre/pro sense) digital inputs.

Does your x-fi EP come with upgraded 4562 opamps and cap upgrade? If so, then I'll seriously consider your offer if the hdav1.3 doesn't decode DD/DTS.

Hopefully myAv can shed some light into this.
Salvador is offline  
post #295 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
myAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just going out of town for a couple of days. Meetings, meetings ... I will be back on Friday.
myAV is offline  
post #296 of 9551 Old 09-02-2008, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
etcarroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Living among the children of the corn in Oxford, (S.E.), PA.
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, that's really up to the combination of;
- your ears/sense of hearing
- room dynamics, and
- the speakers.

No one can actually answer that question but you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatthehell View Post

Can anyone tell me if i will notice a difference on lossless audio on my setup Below, im planning on getting a Blu Ray rom and The Asus Card for xmas im currently using onboard sound with SPDIF out

Fronts: Kef Q7 Floorstanding
kef.com/history/2000/q/qseries7.asp

Rears: Kef Q1 Bookshelf
kef.com/history/2000/q/qseries1.asp

Centre: Kef Q6C
kef.com/history/2000/q/qseries6c.asp

Subwoofer: SVS 20-39 PCi
svsound.com/products-sub-cyl-pcpow2.cfm

(Add www. to above links couldnt add them properly as im a newbie)

With a recently bought Onkyo 606 Reciever

Thanks in advance

Mark


"The Bundys' proud name was built on a philosophy of lying. Well, lying, owing money and perhaps beer. Yes, lying, owing money and beer. The only thing that separates us from the Kennedys is that they have money." - Al Bundy
etcarroll is offline  
post #297 of 9551 Old 09-03-2008, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jumping in to this thread late- has anyone confirmed that this card will pass un-decrypted un changed non-bitstream Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA out through the hdmi port?
iansilv is offline  
post #298 of 9551 Old 09-03-2008, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansilv View Post

Jumping in to this thread late- has anyone confirmed that this card will pass un-decrypted un changed non-bitstream Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA out through the hdmi port?

This card will either decode Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA and pass it as unmolested LCPM or it will bitstream the undecoded Dolby TrueHD or DTS MA
source to be decoded by the receiver.

Last we heard, on release, bitstreaming of DTS MA will not be ready. It will be available in a later update.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
post #299 of 9551 Old 09-03-2008, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And this has been confirmed?

If so- finally! I know there is no quality difference between compressed and lpcm, but the compressed bitstream might be used to trigger a d-box system if they ever get their act together with an hdmi enabled controller.
iansilv is offline  
post #300 of 9551 Old 09-03-2008, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Actually unless you do bitstreaming, it will go through the windows mixer (at least in vista).

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Asus , Nvidia

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off