*Official* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 thread - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by as5606 View Post

now showing IN STOCK here in the uk (uklaptopspares.co.uk)
Just called them and they said their suppliers have 19 available NOW!

Not the cheapest place but the only ones with them in stock so far.


I was going to post a smart ass comment about their only being 18 left now
...but not at that price!!!

£200 and £240 for the Basic and Deluxe respectively
($355 and $425)

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The stupidest thing is that we probably will hear ZERO difference when we get them

That is a hell of a lot of money 'just to be sure you are getting the real deal'
AngelEyes is offline  
post #423 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'd need the 240 one as I'd be connecting via analogue

I think I'll just stick to a D2X - presumably for analogue the only real difference is the decent op-amps all round on the HDAV Deluxe ? (plus convenience of proper phono line-outs)
markabuckley is offline  
post #424 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosurrender View Post

The new TMT Evaluation-Version can be downloaded at Asus.com:.

Downloading now but not sure it is for XP only...

Also it stated below:

LPCM from Blu-ray Disc for analog and S/PDIF output is limited to 48KHz at this version (Lossless LPCM feature with AACS compliance will be updated soon)
hlkc is offline  
post #425 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

I'd need the 240 one as I'd be connecting via analogue

I think I'll just stick to a D2X - presumably for analogue the only real difference is the decent op-amps all round on the HDAV Deluxe ? (plus convenience of proper phono line-outs)

And the fact that there will be no software downsampling of the source material. However if exlusive mode isn't implemented then it will still go through the windows mixer and could be subject to molestation...

At that price I would stick with what you have unless you are unhappy with the sound. I can't really use my Xonar because of a nasty hum when using the analogues so HDMI is the only option for me.

I was contemplating the deluxe model just in case I need the daughterboard for something in the future... but not now, just can't justify it

I assume at some point it will be available seperately?

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #426 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
hi thanks - I thought the TMT thread had determined that if using analogue out there was no downsampling ?

I'm just using SPDIF at the moment from my mobo, I had a X-Fi Prelude but was disappointed with the sound quality and drivers (!!!) - I've been keeping my eye on this thread and have considered as an alternative a D2X.

cheers, Mark.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

And the fact that there will be no software downsampling of the source material. However if exlusive mode isn't implemented then it will still go through the windows mixer and could be subject to molestation...

At that price I would stick with what you have unless you are unhappy with the sound. I can't really use my Xonar because of a nasty hum when using the analogues so HDMI is the only option for me.

I was contemplating the deluxe model just in case I need the daughterboard for something in the future... but not now, just can't justify it

I assume at some point it will be available seperately?

Adam

markabuckley is offline  
post #427 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:44 AM
Member
 
lilohtpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!
Check ASUS support site out, they have posted the new driver and TMT for download.
I think the disclamer shows they have indeed put lots of efforts in this project, although not finished but for sure they are still working on it.

Knowing that they are working on it and new patch is coming somehow makes me feel better...

DRIVER: Beta Version 5.12.8.1745-RC02

Description Xonar HDAV 5.12.8.1745(XP3264-RC-02)Review
Xonar HDAV1.3 /Deluxe driver for XP 32/64-bit Version
Supports DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby Digital Plus bitstream pass-through via HDMI under PAPS (with the latest Arcsoft Total Media Theatre evaluation version "ASUS_EVAL V2.1.0.122")

*Disclaimer: Please be noted that this is still beta version, please kindly feedback in our support forum should you encountered any error during operation, we appreciate your assistance to make Xonar HDAV1.3 and TMT better.
Please visit ASUS Xonar support forum at here:
http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx...Language=en-us
Thanks.


BD Player: Beta Version ASUS_EVAL V2.1.0.122

Description Arcsoft Total Media Theater (ASUS_EVAL)V2.1.0.122
Arcsoft Total Media Theater (Media Review Version) DVD/Blu-ray disc Player

The TMT version is for media review and will expire within 15 days of use.

Supports DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby Digital Plus bitstream pass-through via HDMI (with 5.12.8.1745-RC02 XP driver) .

*Disclaimer: Please be noted that this is still beta version, please kindly feedback in our support forum should you encountered any error during operation, we appreciate your assistance to make Xonar HDAV1.3 and TMT better. Thanks.
Please visit ASUS Xonar support forum at here:
http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx...Language=en-us
Thanks.

LPCM from Blu-ray Disc for analog and S/PDIF output is limited to 48KHz at this version (Lossless LPCM feature with AACS compliance will be updated soon)

Lilo loves my HTPC ... ^_^
lilohtpc is offline  
post #428 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

I was going to post a smart ass comment about their only being 18 left now
...but not at that price!!!

£200 and £240 for the Basic and Deluxe respectively
($355 and $425)

Adam

Wow isn't that like double of the estimated MSRP?
hlkc is offline  
post #429 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:45 AM
Member
 
nosurrender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

Downloading now but not sure it is for XP only...

Installation doesn't work in my case, neither on XP Professional nor on Vista Home Premium.
InstallShield opens, a message appears (15 days evaluation "OK" or "Cancel"), but nothing happens.

Moreover I just realized the downloads don't seem to be available any more. Reloading the page, I can't choose an OS anymore, same problem as earlier today..
nosurrender is offline  
post #430 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not able to download it; Global keep saying "servers busy" and China one is not downloading "0%" for 10 mins already
hlkc is offline  
post #431 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosurrender View Post

Installation doesn't work in my case, neither on XP Professional nor on Vista Home Premium.
InstallShield opens, a message appears (15 days evaluation "OK" or "Cancel"), but nothing happens.

Moreover I just realized the downloads don't seem to be available any more. Reloading the page, I can't choose an OS anymore, same problem as earlier today..

I was using Firefox and ran into the same problem. But when I use IE I can still go there but "server busy" for Global.

After multiple try I successful downloaded from Global site.
hlkc is offline  
post #432 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:54 AM
Member
 
nosurrender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't do the OS-selection any more, no matter which browser I am using.
I guess they shut it down since the installation doesn't work...
nosurrender is offline  
post #433 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosurrender View Post

I can't do the OS-selection any more, no matter which browser I am using.
I guess they shut it down since the installation doesn't work...

I just try and I still can do it with IE but not Firefox.
hlkc is offline  
post #434 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
cheapest I can find is 220 pounds for Deluxe

http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductId=869929

what a price ! - not cost effective at all I'd guess
markabuckley is offline  
post #435 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am instating this beta/15 day trial in my XP box now. If success Iw ill try it in my Vista HTPC with 4850 next. Stay tuned...
hlkc is offline  
post #436 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No luck installing anywhere... After below screen shot it abort the installation and I assume I have no Xonar HDMI card in the system.

hlkc is offline  
post #437 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Domenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So no official Vista support? What about Vista 64?

DOM
Domenic is offline  
post #438 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Sizam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TMT Doesn't have a 64 bit binary.

Panasonic 60VT60, Integra 9.9, Outlaw Amp, Sunfire EQ10, Liquid cooled Windows 7 Media Center

Sizam is offline  
post #439 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Domenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
32bit TMT is fine, we just need Vista x64 drivers for the card. Strange that it seems XP 64 is supported...

DOM
Domenic is offline  
post #440 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domenic View Post

So no official Vista support? What about Vista 64?

DOM

I think we are, at least I, are so eagle to try this in such as early stage today... I think they are still upload and preparing the downloads...

I am pretty sure that it will support Vista but not 100% about Vista X64 (just yet). It will be a suicide mission to make sure product and not work in Vista nowadays. No one in such company will sign off such project to begin.
hlkc is offline  
post #441 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

hi thanks - I thought the TMT thread had determined that if using analogue out there was no downsampling ?

I'm just using SPDIF at the moment from my mobo, I had a X-Fi Prelude but was disappointed with the sound quality and drivers (!!!) - I've been keeping my eye on this thread and have considered as an alternative a D2X.

cheers, Mark.

I haven't followed that thread for months so can't say either way but I have seen plenty of people 'prove' things which have later been disproved.

I guess to those with a deep enough pocket it doesn't really matter anymore.

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #442 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It looks like we will all be beta testers of this product. It seems obviously rushed to the market.

Now if I could only find somewhere to buy one . . .

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is online now  
post #443 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

It looks like we will all be beta testers of this product. It seems obviously rushed to the market.

Now if I could only find somewhere to buy one . . .

Hi Lawguy,

Based on MyAV's review and the TMT he is using, it is good to go except TrueHD.
hlkc is offline  
post #444 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
jojoxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In my mind
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

I think we are, at least I, are so eagle to try this in such as early stage today... I think they are still upload and preparing the downloads...

I am pretty sure that it will support Vista but not 100% about Vista X64 (just yet). It will be a suicide mission to make sure product and not work in Vista nowadays. No one in such company will sign off such project to begin.

If it's based off of v.120 or later of TMT, it should work on Vista x64.
jojoxl is offline  
post #445 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My question is, will this card output 48Khz /16 bit or higher PCM when it is used with PDVD8? I like TMT but I have had problems with some discs and I would still want to have the option to use PDVD.

Has anyone tested the ATI 4850 with the new TMT software? I wonder if that card will output bit stream?
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #446 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

My question is, will this card output 48Khz /16 bit or higher PCM when it is used with PDVD8? I like TMT but I have had problems with some discs and I would still want to have the option to use PDVD.

Has anyone tested the ATI 4850 with the new TMT software? I wonder if that card will output bit stream?

Until someone have this card to verify, no one can be sure now.

I have the TMT/Asus 15 days trial version already and as soon as I have this card in my possession. I plan to do all the testing... But based on myAV, he did all the testing and except TureHD, everything are working and looking good so far.
hlkc is offline  
post #447 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

Until someone have this card to verify, no one can be sure now.

I have the TMT/Asus 15 days trial version already and as soon as I have this card in my possession. I plan to do all the testing... But based on myAV, he did all the testing and except TureHD, everything are working and looking good so far.

I can't get to the download page. It keeps popping up a window asking to select OS and gets stuck there. Tried FF3/IE7/Chrome
ymarker is offline  
post #448 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

I can't get to the download page. It keeps popping up a window asking to select OS and gets stuck there. Tried FF3/IE7/Chrome

I just tried it as soon as I see your message and I am able to download it using FF2. Now I have 2 copies in my desktop. But it is not doing any good to us since after I double click the exe, I have above message, post #436, shown up and it just abort the installation after that. I assume I have no Xonar in my system (I guess).
hlkc is offline  
post #449 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 02:54 PM
Member
 
JACZML120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

TMT just got a big boost because PowerDVD no longer supports playing .iso files!

link to confirm? how would it know its an ISO file anyway?
JACZML120 is offline  
post #450 of 9541 Old 09-09-2008, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
double post
ymarker is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Asus , Nvidia

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off