*Official* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 9551 Old 09-09-2008, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
come on ASUS USA!!
ymarker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 9551 Old 09-09-2008, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACZML120 View Post

link to confirm? how would it know its an ISO file anyway?

As a long time PDVD user, I can confirm that the latest PDVD8 patch posted, yesterday, 9/8, none of the ISO is playable anymore I need to re-installed the last patch in order the ISO working again.

But I truly hope that it is just a stupid mistake not deliberate remove playing an ISO format.

PDVD - No ISO, no HDD, no HDDVD & no bitstream.
TMT (Xonar special build) - Yes ISO, yes HDD, yes HDDVD & yes bitstream (from myAV's review)

Personally, I think there must be some obvious reasons perhaps some legal issues that we are not aware of it (just yet). If not, then I just simply don't get it why one company can do ISO, HDD, HDDVD, and bitstream and competitor cannot do all of them
hlkc is offline  
post #453 of 9551 Old 09-09-2008, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

As a long time PDVD user, I can confirm that the latest PDVD8 patch posted, yesterday, 9/8, none of the ISO is playable anymore I need to re-installed the last patch in order the ISO working again.

But I truly hope that it is just a stupid mistake not deliberate remove playing an ISO format.

PDVD - No ISO, no HDD, no HDDVD & no bitstream.
TMT (Xonar special build) - Yes ISO, yes HDD, yes HDDVD & yes bitstream (from myAV's review)

Personally, I think there must be some obvious reasons perhaps some legal issues that we are not aware of it (just yet). If not, then I just simply don't get it why one company can do ISO, HDD, HDDVD, and bitstream and competitor cannot do all of them

The patch yesterday for PDVD broke regular disc playback as well. It's not an ISO issue, as nothing can tell the difference between an ISO and a physical disc.

Logic can sometimes be your friend.

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #454 of 9551 Old 09-09-2008, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

The patch yesterday for PDVD broke regular disc playback as well. It's not an ISO issue, as nothing can tell the difference between an ISO and a physical disc.

Logic can sometimes be your friend.

In this case, it is a stupid QA mistake and they will fix it just a matter of time. How can they sell a BD playback software and with a physical disk and it is not able to play? What a QA team they got there???
hlkc is offline  
post #455 of 9551 Old 09-09-2008, 07:55 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I laughed so hard I messed up and did not hit the quote button.

Logic and PDVD used in the same sentence...

I think PDVD is a victem of their own success. They were the only real player for so long they stopped caring.
cybrsage is offline  
post #456 of 9551 Old 09-09-2008, 11:56 PM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do I understand right? You canĀ“t install the Asus TMT without the Asus card in the System?
flyingernst is offline  
post #457 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 01:13 AM
Member
 
nosurrender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least, that's what it looks like.
Of course there could be another reason for why the installation aborts...
nosurrender is offline  
post #458 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 01:23 AM
Senior Member
 
arttext's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Every now and then I see some sheer panic here. OK, people calm down, this thread is already way too large for new people to catch up with. And there will be a lot of new readers once the card will hit the markets.
And you know what? And that's really funny! Some spammers apparently have noticed our frantic Google searches with (either of) the terms "Xonar HDAV" that a search right now will give you a lot of pages with no info on the Xonar at all. The words just have been put into the meta data of a HTML page to attract eye balls. It's an old trick, "porn" is being use for that same purpose for ages too.
  • Latest PDVD hickup is without any doubt a stupid mistake. Things like that happen in the software world all the time, like some one remarked: it will be corrected.
  • There are a lot of Q's in latter posts which already have been answered by aV, so don't put them again but read earlier posts. In general a search would be a good idea, I noticed posts with Ebay link I already posted earlier.
  • I have an ATI Radeon 3850, quite similar (same and latest driver) as the 4xxx series.I never had any problem playing BD, HDVD or either in the form of an ISO over HDMI to my AVR (downsampled of course) and Plasma with TMT v3.0.0.91. So if there are any problems with the combo ATI-HD cards it might be someting else.
arttext is offline  
post #459 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 03:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not available in the US anywhere yet... Anyone have a place to buy it?

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #460 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
darth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Avalable today at Overclockers UK GB
darth1 is offline  
post #461 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:03 AM
Member
 
spida_singh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
18 In stock Here in the UK as well.
spida_singh is offline  
post #462 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
myAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys can download the manual here
http://support.asus.com/download/dow...Language=en-us
myAV is offline  
post #463 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
jojoxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In my mind
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since the Xonar HDAV1.3 is finally starting to show up in stores, I figured creating a new non-speculation thread.
jojoxl is offline  
post #464 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
jojoxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In my mind
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I created a new owner's thread @ *Officeal* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 owner's thread
jojoxl is offline  
post #465 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You have to laugh, I decided to go ahead and order one but I seem to have lost my Debit Card ... someone up there doesn't want me to have one
AngelEyes is offline  
post #466 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:51 AM
Member
 
nosurrender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myAV View Post

You guys can download the manual here
http://support.asus.com/download/dow...Language=en-us

I'm trying it since yesterday but it doesn't work for me. The TMT-evaluation and the driver do work though.
Did anybody succeed downloading the manual, yet?
nosurrender is offline  
post #467 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosurrender View Post

I'm trying it since yesterday but it doesn't work for me. The TMT-evaluation and the driver do work though.
Did anybody succeed downloading the manual, yet?

No go on the manual.
ymarker is offline  
post #468 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
LOL you guys are so impatient
AngelEyes is offline  
post #469 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
Fahd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couple of questions:

1) Does the xonar come with the full version ot Arcsoft TMT, or just a trial?

2) Is anyone with a Yamaha RX-V663 planning to get this card? The 663 doesn't work with the HDMI out on ATI's 4850 unless you get a Genfen DVI detective. So I'm sort of wary of putting any money down for this until it's confirmed that it works.

Thanks .
Fahd is offline  
post #470 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
rkgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arttext View Post

[*]I have an ATI Radeon 3850, quite similar (same and latest driver) as the 4xxx series.I never had any problem playing BD, HDVD or either in the form of an ISO over HDMI to my AVR (downsampled of course) and Plasma with TMT v3.0.0.91. So if there are any problems with the combo ATI-HD cards it might be someting else.[/list]

Are you playing back your movies at 24p? I had zero issues when playing movies with my ATI 3650 through TMT until I turned on 24p. Then I got lipsync issues in almost all movies and a slight studder in a few movies. Turn off 24p and everything worked great again. This was all on a clean Vista install with only drivers (tried 3 different ATI driver versions) and TMT installed. I switched to a nVidia 9500GT and 24p works great. Lipsync is perfect, the only issue I get it a very slight studder once in awhile that if you are not looking for it you can't see.

Once the get the Xonar I will be testing it with the 9500GT and will probably pick up an ATI 4650 to test with also.
rkgriffin is offline  
post #471 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
rkgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahd View Post

Couple of questions:

1) Does the xonar come with the full version ot Arcsoft TMT, or just a trial?

Thanks .

Full version.
rkgriffin is offline  
post #472 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oh well I decided to go ahead and order one but looks like I missed tomorrows delivery slot. Not sure when I will have a chance to play but will keep you posted.

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #473 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

Oh well I decided to go ahead and order one but looks like I missed tomorrows delivery slot. Not sure when I will have a chance to play but will keep you posted.

Adam

from where? it's not on any US sites yet, is it?

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #474 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

from where? it's not on any US sites yet, is it?

Sorry, I'm in Blighty old bean

Maybe we pay more but for once it is satisfying to get something over here first
AngelEyes is offline  
post #475 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't you have to be an owner of the card to start the owner's thread? Just kidding, be prepared to update the first post though. If you start an "Official owner's" thread you should continually monitor and update it.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #476 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahd View Post

Couple of questions:

1) Does the xonar come with the full version ot Arcsoft TMT, or just a trial?

2) Is anyone with a Yamaha RX-V663 planning to get this card? The 663 doesn't work with the HDMI out on ATI's 4850 unless you get a Genfen DVI detective. So I'm sort of wary of putting any money down for this until it's confirmed that it works.

Thanks .

Yes I will buy the ASUS card once it is released in the US. I have the RX-V663 and the Gefen device so I should be able to determine if it works once it is released here.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #477 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
arttext's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkgriffin View Post

Are you playing back your movies at 24p?

Good point! How can I tell? My physical BD's are all region 2 hence 25p. But most of my (ripped) are regionless or untouched. I don't know how to tell the are 24p.
arttext is offline  
post #478 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So instead of studing for my exam next week, I'm madly refreshing this thread.
ymarker is offline  
post #479 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
arttext's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spida_singh View Post

18 In stock Here in the UK as well.

Well, they suck.
The sell UK only (through Google pay **** not to: alot of countries amongst whom Netherlands an USA)

BTW, this Polish link
http://gothotvidtosee.com/exclusive5.../xonar%20hdav/ wants to install a virus cloaked as a video codec!

And alot of nice images here:
http://www.pcgameshardware.de/aid,65...DAV_13_Deluxe/
arttext is offline  
post #480 of 9551 Old 09-10-2008, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by arttext View Post

Good point! How can I tell? My physical BD's are all region 2 hence 25p. But most of my (ripped) are regionless or untouched. I don't know how to tell the are 24p.

all bds are 24p regardless of region. The question was about what your gfx card was set to.

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Asus , Nvidia

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off