*Official* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by myAV View Post

Bitstreaming is working fine. Just wait for better drivers. Vista drivers aren't there yet.

Hi myAV,

Where did you get your Vista driver then? Why don't you share it with Adam?
hlkc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

I know it is not likely to work, but I would greatly appreciate it if someone who gets the Xonar and also has a 4xxx series card from ATI try and see if the 4xxx is able to do bitstreaming with the new version of TMT. At minimum, confirmation of LPCM in TMT would be nice. Thanks!

That is one of the thing I really want to know. I prefer to use my 4850 and bit-stream and be done with it. But more and more I think and look, I really doubt it. At the end, I plan to stick the 3650 back and with Xonar and bit-stream.
hlkc is offline  
post #543 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

I know it is not likely to work, but I would greatly appreciate it if someone who gets the Xonar and also has a 4xxx series card from ATI try and see if the 4xxx is able to do bitstreaming with the new version of TMT. At minimum, confirmation of LPCM in TMT would be nice. Thanks!

+1 on this one! If it ever comes out in the US then I will test it.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #544 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

I know it is not likely to work, but I would greatly appreciate it if someone who gets the Xonar and also has a 4xxx series card from ATI try and see if the 4xxx is able to do bitstreaming with the new version of TMT. At minimum, confirmation of LPCM in TMT would be nice. Thanks!

+1 on this one!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #545 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

I know it is not likely to work, but I would greatly appreciate it if someone who gets the Xonar and also has a 4xxx series card from ATI try and see if the 4xxx is able to do bitstreaming with the new version of TMT. At minimum, confirmation of LPCM in TMT would be nice. Thanks!

You sure can count on mpgxsvcd and I to do that for sure
hlkc is offline  
post #546 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Those first two answers are way, way wrong.

You absolutely need a Video card, the Xonar post processes video, but it has no 2d or 3d rendering engine.

The price is way off base as well. MSRP is expected to be right aroung $200USD for the base card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftheaded View Post

how do the connections work? you install the xonar and use either a vga card or mobo with igp. then do you have to connect a video input signal to the xonar? and then send the hdmi out from the xonar to the receiver/display? is the user manual available anywhere yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Woodhall View Post

ya, that's right, it has an HDMI in and HDMI out. You connect the video out from your video card (i think it comes with DVI-HDMI cable) to the HDMI input on the Xonar and then the HDMI output goes to your receiver/display.

Craig

leftheaded,

Craig is correct. You use whatever HDMI out source from your video card and plug it in this card HDMI in and use HDMI out from this card to your AVR. That's!
hlkc is offline  
post #547 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Adam,

Thank you and you must have some good connection and have this so soon in your hand

Anyway, may I ask you few questions:

1) What do you think about the Splendid Video? Do you see any different before and after?

2) Based on what I read from you so far, even LPCM is still downconverting, going thru Vista mixer now because the PAP driver is not in your system, right?

3) I assume it is not creating any noise, right?

4) What about heat? I assume it is not generating any heart too, right?

5) What about CPU load? I assume it is not affecting much too, right?

6) The HDMI-to-HDMI cable come with the box, is it HDMI 1.3?

7) Any noticeable different in your TMT compare to retail TMT? Do you have some button such as "bit-stream" in TMT?

Thank you.
hlkc is offline  
post #548 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

Adam,

Thank you and you must have some good connection and have this so soon in your hand

Anyway, may I ask you few questions:

1) What do you think about the Splendid Video? Do you see any different before and after?

2) Based on what I read from you so far, even LPCM is still downconverting, going thru Vista mixer now because the PAP driver is not in your system, right?

3) I assume it is not creating any noise, right?

4) What about heat? I assume it is not generating any heart too, right?

5) What about CPU load? I assume it is not affecting much too, right?

6) The HDMI-to-HDMI cable come with the box, is it HDMI 1.3?

7) Any noticeable different in your TMT compare to retail TMT? Do you have some button such as "bit-stream" in TMT?

Thank you.

1) Haven't tried it yet... preocupied with Bitstream atm.
2) AFAIK it isn't downsampled but will be going through the windows mixer, can't say for sure though.
3) Silent
4) Haven't checked for heat really , it was warm but maybe from latent heat from other components.
5) I haven't checked CPU load
6) Pretty dumb if it wasn't. The cable is so short even a crap HDMI cable should be able to handle 1.3.
7) Never had retail as I couldn't get the trial to work. This preview version works fine, the only difference I noticed is an extra Audio setting in the drop down menu 'HDMI'.
AngelEyes is offline  
post #549 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 12:08 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks AngelEyes
Been waiting to hear that info.

If anyone hears where it is being sold at in USA location.

Please post it.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #550 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rudy81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the add-on board for analog output going to work. I don't have HDMI inputs into my pre/pro, but will be using the analog 7.1 out from the card. Anyone get one of these yet? Does the card software allow for speaker balancing etc?

Rudy81
Rudy81 is offline  
post #551 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

1) Haven't tried it yet... preocupied with Bitstream atm.

Based on my understanding, it should have nothing to do with audio. They should just add a better picture quality to original picture. Sharper, contrast...


Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

7) Never had retail as I couldn't get the trial to work. This preview version works fine, the only difference I noticed is an extra Audio setting in the drop down menu 'HDMI'.

What do you mean "trial" and "preview"? Are you refer to bundle version that come with this card? I was under the impression that it is free, a full version and we don't have to paid extra to get the anything after the trial. Am I right?
hlkc is offline  
post #552 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy81 View Post

How is the add-on board for analog output going to work. I don't have HDMI inputs into my pre/pro, but will be using the analog 7.1 out from the card. Anyone get one of these yet? Does the card software allow for speaker balancing etc?

Based on my understanding the deluxe version, all you have to do is instead of HDMI out to your AVR, you will have daughter card's analog RCA outputs to your AVR analog inputs.
hlkc is offline  
post #553 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 12:21 PM
Member
 
nephster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Adam,

Just to confirm mate, it works fine passed through the 875 (have the same myself) without AnyDVD? Any chance of uploading the manual if it's in pdf on the disk?
nephster is offline  
post #554 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

Based on my understanding, it should have nothing to do with audio. They should just add a better picture quality to original picture. Sharper, contrast...

I haven't tried it yet, I am precupied with getting bitstream to work so I haven't even bothered looking at it yet. When I get Bitstrem working I will worry about the other stuff.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

What do you mean "trial" and "preview"? Are you refer to bundle version that come with this card? I was under the impression that it is free, a full version and we don't have to paid extra to get the anything after the trial. Am I right?

TMT is available as a trial, I used it but never got it to work. The bundled (full) version works fine but doesn't have the HDMI setting and AFAIK doesn't bitstream. You have to download the Preview version from ASUS. Preview is just another word for beta.

Quote:


Does the card software allow for speaker balancing etc?

Levels yes, distances no. It offers a virtual speaker setting where you move the speakers about but it seems more of a gimmick to me and there are no exact measurements. Same solution as the Xonar D2 so check that manual if you want.

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #555 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nephster View Post

Adam,

Just to confirm mate, it works fine passed through the 875 (have the same myself) without AnyDVD? Any chance of uploading the manual if it's in pdf on the disk?

I suspect this is dependant on your graphics chipset. As I use G35 on my HTPC I have to use AnyDVD, it won't work without.

I am now installing it on my workstation nVidia/Vista64 so I will check then.

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #556 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can confirm that you don't need AnyDVD when using nVidia GX2 card and Onkyo 875 with LPCM.

Still working on the Bitstream issue, TMT keeps moaning the sound card isn't in HDMI mode. However there is nothing in the Sound driver to activate Bitstreaming.

Pants.
AngelEyes is offline  
post #557 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

I can confirm that you don't need AnyDVD when using nVidia GX2 card and Onkyo 875 with LPCM.

Still working on the Bitstream issue, TMT keeps moaning the sound card isn't in HDMI mode. However there is nothing in the Sound driver to activate Bitstreaming.

Pants.

It sounds like you need a Vista driver of this card in order to work.
hlkc is offline  
post #558 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hope this card is really beautiful to look at because functionality wise it appears to be exactly the same as G35 except for "splendid" engine

j/k thanks for the efforts AngelEyes very interesting stuff especially the exclusive mode
720p is offline  
post #559 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I give up I'll just wait for vista drivers.

On the plus side I have TMT working and it hasn't balked at anything yet, wish it hadn't cost me £180 though
AngelEyes is offline  
post #560 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Adam,

So far what you have, it's very different than what myAV preview. Let's hope the Vista driver will solve all the problems that you/we have. Since you're the owner now, did you email Asus support and demanding the Vista driver?
hlkc is offline  
post #561 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 03:10 PM
Member
 
nephster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all your input Adam, you're an absolute star!

Sigh. Well I just spent a few hours wiping Vista and installing XP in prep for getting this card. I got the trial of TMT (not the Asus one) working anyway, which it never did with Vista, although I had to apply the Japanese .ax files otherwise got no picture. And it won't play my Star Strek TOS hd-dvd. As it *still* seems to have the repeater bug however with the Asus card, according to Adam, I guess I have to buy another graphics card too and/or stump up for AnyDVD The g35 really was a bad buy.
nephster is offline  
post #562 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Domenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Domenic is offline  
post #563 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 05:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too bad about no receiver
"Sadly, we don't have a receiver that can make use of full Dolby TrueHD and the like here at Elite Bastards,"

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #564 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 05:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domenic View Post

Just found this review: http://www.elitebastards.com/cms/ind...=613&Itemid=27

Wonder what the variability on the high end range > 10khz of those charts means to real world sound quality...
ymarker is offline  
post #565 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

Wonder what the variability on the high end range > 10khz of those charts means to real world sound quality...

Nothing if you're bitstreaming, which is the only reason to get this card. So the review is kind of useless since they didn't have the equipment to test it.

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #566 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
chillspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

Nothing if you're bitstreaming, which is the only reason to get this card. So the review is kind of useless since they didn't have the equipment to test it.

Totally agree. I'm waiting for this to be available in North America (Canada specifically) and test it with my HT setup. Running a Yamaha RX-V2800 which will allow me to test out this baby.

Eric

Eric

My Stuff: Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 w/  Ideal-Lume Bias Lighting, Yamaha RX-V3800, Oppo BDP-103D

chillspace is online now  
post #567 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

Nothing if you're bitstreaming, which is the only reason to get this card. So the review is kind of useless since they didn't have the equipment to test it.

Bitstreaming is not the only reason, analog out would be the other.

Unfortunately, the test results from elitebastards seem to indicate the Xonar HDAV is a notch below the 'audiophile' quality of the Xonar D2X, Auzentech X-Fi, and (I'm guessing) some of Creative's X-Fi cards also. So sad.

Perhaps they'll rev the D2X for PAP support . . .

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #568 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifespeed View Post

Bitstreaming is not the only reason, analog out would be the other.

Unfortunately, the test results from elitebastards seem to indicate the Xonar HDAV is a notch below the 'audiophile' quality of the Xonar D2X, Auzentech X-Fi, and (I'm guessing) some of Creative's X-Fi cards also. So sad.

Perhaps they'll rev the D2X for PAP support . . .

I you're going analog out, does it really matter that much? I mean, just get really good DAC's, there are a bunch of cards out there.

I doubt the bitstripping to 16/48 will be noticable at all over analog out.

Seriously, if you don't have a bitstream capable pre-pro/AVR, just get a high-quality DAC card. There's no need for the Xonar HDAV.

TiVo is on it's way out -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #569 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
realtight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

I you're going analog out, does it really matter that much? I mean, just get really good DAC's, there are a bunch of cards out there.

I doubt the bitstripping to 16/48 will be noticable at all over analog out.

Seriously, if you don't have a bitstream capable pre-pro/AVR, just get a high-quality DAC card. There's no need for the Xonar HDAV.

this quote makes no sense whatsoever... if you're connecting this card's hdmi output to a sub $1000 receiver then the analog outputs will sound better. The 4 burrbrown dacs on this thing are far better then what you'll find in sub $1000 equipment.


also reading that review basically shows there is very little difference in quality from this and the D2X. The differences in real world applications are so minor anyone without a $10,000+ home theater system will not be able to tell any difference.
realtight is offline  
post #570 of 9551 Old 09-11-2008, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

I you're going analog out, does it really matter that much? I mean, just get really good DAC's, there are a bunch of cards out there.

I doubt the bitstripping to 16/48 will be noticable at all over analog out.

Seriously, if you don't have a bitstream capable pre-pro/AVR, just get a high-quality DAC card. There's no need for the Xonar HDAV.

It will be every bit as noticeable, if not more, than with a cheap AVR.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Asus , Nvidia

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off