*Official* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 150
I'm anxious for this to hit the shelves. I just picked up an Onkyo Pro PR-SC885P preamp/processor that can handle all of the latest HD audio formats with HDMI 1.3a switching. I'm dying to watch my Blu-Ray rips with HD audio on my HTPC. Since I can use HDMI directly I won't need the analog out daughter card.
captain_video is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I'm anxious for this to hit the shelves. I just picked up an Onkyo Pro PR-SC885P preamp/processor that can handle all of the latest HD audio formats with HDMI 1.3a switching. I'm dying to watch my Blu-Ray rips with HD audio on my HTPC. Since I can use HDMI directly I won't need the analog out daughter card.

Way to go, welcome to the club
hlkc is offline  
post #33 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I'm anxious for this to hit the shelves. I just picked up an Onkyo Pro PR-SC885P preamp/processor that can handle all of the latest HD audio formats with HDMI 1.3a switching. I'm dying to watch my Blu-Ray rips with HD audio on my HTPC. Since I can use HDMI directly I won't need the analog out daughter card.

Yeah I'm getting the non-daughterboard (non-deluxe) edition as well. I don't have any need for analog on an HDMI card.

I am slightly concerned about the width of this thing. Hopefully it respects it's boundaries and won't encroach on the mammoth nvidia 8800gtx video card.
ymarker is offline  
post #34 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
rkgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahd View Post

I think they're good odds you'll be disappointed. The card looks to be about the same length as a graphics card.

So I'm guessing it'll be hovering around the 8 inch mark. The Auzentech HDMI card looks to be a little over half the length though, so that's the alternate option.

Yeah looks like it will be close to my 8" length limit. I was able to fit an Asus 3650 with the huge passive heatsink in my case. It was right at 8". Really hoping I can fit this card in too. Will have to wait until someone has one and can post the exact length.

Thanks for the pictures.
rkgriffin is offline  
post #35 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
ZenithPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just 10 days to go before true hdmi dolby and dts hd sound (I hope)!
ZenithPete is offline  
post #36 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 01:48 PM
Member
 
JACZML120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm if the 7.1 lossless is available out the analog ports as well as over HDMI? This would be handy for me for now until i upgrade my HT audio gear.
JACZML120 is offline  
post #37 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
odditory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACZML120 View Post

Can anyone confirm if the 7.1 lossless is available out the analog ports as well as over HDMI? This would be handy for me for now until i upgrade my HT audio gear.

Based on everything I've read, yes it will be. That analog daughtercard is mighty sexy with its BurrBrown DAC's!
odditory is offline  
post #38 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 01:53 PM
Member
 
JACZML120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by odditory View Post

Based on everything I've read, yes it will be. That analog daughtercard is mighty sexy with its BurrBrown DAC's!

Thanks.

Sadly by looking at the Pics it is a full height card, so having to go back to a full size chassis to use this puppy!
JACZML120 is offline  
post #39 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
odditory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fahd View Post


this is a god-awfully big pill for an HTPC case to have to swallow (literally) for bitstreaming! So much for a microATX case for my HTPC if I want bitstreaming for now. Oh well, I'll probably get it until my G45 motherboard ever gets bitstreaming/PAP, "just because" I really want bitstreaming.

To think, we finally reached the point now where we no longer need a separate graphics card for flawless Bluray playback (with powerful IGP's stuffed nicely underneath the northbridge heatsink) and now we take a step back again from being able to have as small an HTPC case as possible by having a giant audio card to be able to get bitperfect audio. I realize this card's bitstreaming crown will probably be short-lived; that the IGP's of motherboards will slowly gain PAP compatibility with Cyberlink/Corel/Arcsoft, but still.

By the way I love how some of these 'foreign' companies overuse the word "unprecedented" - seems to keep popping up. I just bought a gaming case that had on the box as a feature "unprecedented mid-case fan!" Now when I show my friends the case, I say "and this is the unprecedented mid-case fan".
odditory is offline  
post #40 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by odditory View Post

Based on everything I've read, yes it will be. That analog daughtercard is mighty sexy with its BurrBrown DAC's!

That is another reason for me to hook this up with my already boxed CBIII 6 channels analogue versus my current HDMI pre-amp.
hlkc is offline  
post #41 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by odditory View Post

this is a god-awfully big pill for an HTPC case to have to swallow (literally) for bitstreaming! So much for a microATX case for my HTPC if I want bitstreaming for now. Oh well, I'll probably get it until my G45 motherboard ever gets bitstreaming/PAP, "just because" I really want bitstreaming.

To think, we finally reached the point now where we no longer need a separate graphics card for flawless Bluray playback (with powerful IGP's stuffed nicely underneath the northbridge heatsink) and now we take a step back again from being able to have as small an HTPC case as possible by having a giant audio card to be able to get bitperfect audio. I realize this card's bitstreaming crown will probably be short-lived; that the IGP's of motherboards will slowly gain PAP compatibility with Cyberlink/Corel/Arcsoft, but still.

By the way I love how some of these 'foreign' companies overuse the word "unprecedented" - seems to keep popping up. I just bought a gaming case that had on the box as a feature "unprecedented mid-case fan!" Now when I show my friends the case, I say "and this is the unprecedented mid-case fan".

Some people are never happy I can't believe you are now complaining about the size of it after waiting all this time. LOL

I know it will fit just fine in my OrigenAE H6 as the Xonar D2 does and there is plenty of room for a GFX card and the daughterboard if I need it. I can't imagine there are many mATX cases that can take a gfx card that won't take this too?

Adam
AngelEyes is offline  
post #42 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 04:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gamers build around graphics, htpc will build around this. It doesn't look longer than the graphic card. My issue is two slots for Mother and Daughter. Another board.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #43 of 9551 Old 08-12-2008, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mATX cases severely limit your options. It's not a laptop! Build a 'normal' size HTPC and enjoy one of the key HTPC benefits: flexibility and upgradeability.

Lifespeed
lifespeed is offline  
post #44 of 9551 Old 08-13-2008, 10:19 AM
Member
 
JACZML120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by da Choge View Post

Although the trend at ASUS seems to have reversed recently, once they get a product actually included in their lineup on their website Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 (as already linked to in the initial post of this thread), it isn't too long until we see it on the marketplace, however limited the availability may be. It used to be that the website was so lagging behind what was actually available, it was almost useless.

My question is (naive though it may be), what video card will sync well with this awesome audio card? Since the card is HDMI 1.3, wouldn't a compatible HDMI 1.3 GPU card be appropriate? Are there any 1.3 cards available? Asus's own EN9600GX Matrix (prolly a fairly quiet choice for an HTPC) or their EN9800GX2 (overkill, though it may be) seem to me to be great choices. I don't really believe either are 1.3 certified (but, does it really matter?).

This new Xonar card has renewed my interest in the HTPC thing, and I think I'm about ready to dive in to build another. My last was over 2 years ago, and I've kinda lost track of the whole HTPC scene, so forgive me if I seem hopelessly uninformed.

- da Choge

If you want the gaming benefits, Apparently you will need to pair this puppy with an ASUS graphics adapter.

Splendid HD Modes: -Photo, Video, Gaming (Gaming mode requires ASUS graphics card)

http://news.thomasnet.com/fullstory/547373
JACZML120 is offline  
post #45 of 9551 Old 08-13-2008, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

Yeah I'm getting the non-daughterboard (non-deluxe) edition as well. I don't have any need for analog on an HDMI card.

I am slightly concerned about the width of this thing. Hopefully it respects it's boundaries and won't encroach on the mammoth nvidia 8800gtx video card.

I've got an Asus Xonar D2X and the HDAV1.3 appears to be the same size based on the pictures I've seen. I never actually installed the D2X in my HTPC but it appears that it will only take up a single slot. The photos show the 1.3 and the daugherboard side by side so it shouldn't interfere with your graphics card. I could be wrong but isn't the 1.3 a combo audio and graphics card? If so, then it will eliminate the need for your mammoth nVIDIA card.
captain_video is offline  
post #46 of 9551 Old 08-13-2008, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I've got an Asus Xonar D2X and the HDAV1.3 appears to be the same size based on the pictures I've seen. I never actually installed the D2X in my HTPC but it appears that it will only take up a single slot. The photos show the 1.3 and the daugherboard side by side so it shouldn't interfere with your graphics card. I could be wrong but isn't the 1.3 a combo audio and graphics card? If so, then it will eliminate the need for your mammoth nVIDIA card.

It's not a gfx card. Though it does do video processing with it's "splendid" engine. You're probably thinking of the ati 4xxx series which was an attempt towards a combo card as you refer to it.

Everytime I see this thread bumped up, I come on hoping someone somewhere has found word of pre-ordering it or some news of actual sighting or some such news. Alas . Soon, I suppose. I waited for so long for the denon 1909 that I'm going to pair this up with. Now I have that all setup and ready to go...just waiting on this lil gem.
ymarker is offline  
post #47 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AngelEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am only going to buy it if it works with a PAP enabled PowerDVD, I can't get TMT to play anything on my current motherboard. I guess I will have a wait on my hands before someone can confirm it does work with Bitstream, Analogue and LPCM.
AngelEyes is offline  
post #48 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

It's not a gfx card. Though it does do video processing with it's "splendid" engine. You're probably thinking of the ati 4xxx series which was an attempt towards a combo card as you refer to it.

Everytime I see this thread bumped up, I come on hoping someone somewhere has found word of pre-ordering it or some news of actual sighting or some such news. Alas . Soon, I suppose. I waited for so long for the denon 1909 that I'm going to pair this up with. Now I have that all setup and ready to go...just waiting on this lil gem.

I'm still a bit confused as to how the audio and video are provided by the single HDMI output (but I'm getting better). I see that the HDAV1.3 has both HDMI inputs and outputs. Would it be safe to assume that the input is provided by the output of your graphics card so the video can be combined with the audio from the HDAV1.3 and output together via the HDMI out to your receiver or preamp/processor? I noticed that the card comes with a DVI to HDMI cable so I'm guessing you would use that to interconnect the graphics card and the HDAV1.3.
captain_video is offline  
post #49 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 05:07 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelEyes View Post

I am only going to buy it if it works with a PAP enabled PowerDVD, I can't get TMT to play anything on my current motherboard. I guess I will have a wait on my hands before someone can confirm it does work with Bitstream, Analogue and LPCM.

Then you will not be buying it anytime in the near future. Asus teamed up with Arcsoft to provide the needed hardware to software interfaces.

PowerDVD teamed up with Auzentech.
cybrsage is offline  
post #50 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 05:09 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I'm still a bit confused as to how the audio and video are provided by the single HDMI output (but I'm getting better). I see that the HDAV1.3 has both HDMI inputs and outputs. Would it be safe to assume that the input is provided by the output of your graphics card so the video can be combined with the audio from the HDAV1.3 and output together via the HDMI out to your receiver or preamp/processor? I noticed that the card comes with a DVI to HDMI cable so I'm guessing you would use that to interconnect the graphics card and the HDAV1.3.

You are correct. You would turn off the sound chip for your HDMI output (if you have one) of your video, connect a cable from the video out to the HDMI in of the HDAV 1.3, and connect a cable from the HDMI out of the HDAV 1.3 to your AVR / TV.

The HDAV 1.3 adds the audio to the video, does its magic to the video (if you turn on Splendid), and sends the combined stream out.
cybrsage is offline  
post #51 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gunbunnysoulja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

You are correct. You would turn off the sound chip for your HDMI output (if you have one) of your video, connect a cable from the video out to the HDMI in of the HDAV 1.3, and connect a cable from the HDMI out of the HDAV 1.3 to your AVR / TV.

The HDAV 1.3 adds the audio to the video, does its magic to the video (if you turn on Splendid), and sends the combined stream out.

Is it possible to still use VGA for video from my current video card, and just run HDMI out from the Xonar to my receiver for audio?

With my 8500 GT to my Sammy 6187, IMO, the pq is better (and easier to get 1:1) via VGA.
gunbunnysoulja is offline  
post #52 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 09:31 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone make a image /zip File of the drivers and updates? Thats not illegal, I´m not speaking about protectet Video Software...thanks...
Please don´t clear my reply again
flyingernst is offline  
post #53 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbunnysoulja View Post

Is it possible to still use VGA for video from my current video card, and just run HDMI out from the Xonar to my receiver for audio?

With my 8500 GT to my Sammy 6187, IMO, the pq is better (and easier to get 1:1) via VGA.

you need to have some HDMI in to this card and this card will add the rich color and bit stream and send it out from the HDMI out port to your AVR.
hlkc is offline  
post #54 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 10:02 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbunnysoulja View Post

Is it possible to still use VGA for video from my current video card, and just run HDMI out from the Xonar to my receiver for audio?

With my 8500 GT to my Sammy 6187, IMO, the pq is better (and easier to get 1:1) via VGA.

I do not know. HDMI audio must be inserted between video segments. I think this card will create blank video if an audio only source is used.

You might be able to send video to the TV and audio to the AVR.
cybrsage is offline  
post #55 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingernst View Post

can someone make a image /zip File of the drivers and updates? Thats not illegal, I´m not speaking about protectet Video Software...thanks...
Please don´t clear my reply again

the card is not available yet, also asus posted only the manual on their site, no drivers yet
720p is offline  
post #56 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 11:16 AM
Member
 
flyingernst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany, Zuffenhausen
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes sure, I thought wenn the time has come..sorry
flyingernst is offline  
post #57 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gunbunnysoulja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

I do not know. HDMI audio must be inserted between video segments. I think this card will create blank video if an audio only source is used.

You might be able to send video to the TV and audio to the AVR.

I will deal with HDMI for video if I have to, but yes, I would like to send VGA directly to the TV, and HDMI to the receiver for audio.
gunbunnysoulja is offline  
post #58 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbunnysoulja View Post

I will deal with HDMI for video if I have to, but yes, I would like to send VGA directly to the TV, and HDMI to the receiver for audio.

I doubt anyone can confirm that until after the card released. We just not sure if you don't plug the HDMI in to this card, will it have any problem such as sync is one thing that I can think of right away. Even work, it might have other problems... Once we have that in hand, I sure can let you know. But before that except Asus please don't take it as official answer yet.
hlkc is offline  
post #59 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gunbunnysoulja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlkc View Post

I doubt anyone can confirm that until after the card released. We just not sure if you don't plug the HDMI in to this card, will it have any problem such as sync is one thing that I can think of right away. Even work, it might have other problems... Once we have that in hand, I sure can let you know. But before that except Asus please don't take it as official answer yet.

Sounds good.
gunbunnysoulja is offline  
post #60 of 9551 Old 08-14-2008, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MickeyDora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone able to get the manual from the Asus site? I keep getting 404 errors. If you got it, can you RapidShare it till Asus fixes the link. Thanks.
MickeyDora is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Asus , Nvidia

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off