*Official* Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2008, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ZenithPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

Why is there no pre-order in the US?

I blame Microsoft.....I dont know why but its a good bet to blame them when you dont know who else is responsible.
ZenithPete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2008, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uplift1 View Post

Actually, the term "certification" implies there is some third party that does the certifying (i.e. an AACS technical review board)--which I don't think actually exists. It seems like what's been going on over the past year is that Cyberlink and Arcsoft are so terrified of getting their Blu-ray player licenses revoked and getting sued, that they have taken the precautionary legal measure of downsampling hi def audio barring any special arrangements made by a hardware company (in this case, Auzentech, Asus, and from recent news, Intel).

I believe the hardware does go through a certification. But perhaps I'm misinformed, or it's a self-certification with a very high bar.

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 09:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else notice this is a PCI-Express card only? How many people actually have a PCI-express slot open for an audio card? Maybe I need to upgrade my computer.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MickeyDora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

Did anyone else notice this is a PCI-Express card only? How many people actually have a PCI-express slot open for an audio card? Maybe I need to upgrade my computer.

Its a PCIe x1 so its the smaller of the PCI-e slots. And I have 3 open slots. lol
MickeyDora is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Kotches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Troy, IL USA (St. Louis Area)
Posts: 7,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

Did anyone else notice this is a PCI-Express card only? How many people actually have a PCI-express slot open for an audio card? Maybe I need to upgrade my computer.

As with the other poster I have three available PCI-e x1 slots and my motherboard is the better part of 2 years old.

Cheers,

Contributing Editor & Surround Music Reviewer Widescreen Review
Opinions are mine, not the publication I write for.
John Kotches is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yamahaSHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PCIe x1 will work in any PCIe slot (x4, x8, x16). My one PCIe slot is covered by my video card cooler, so I use my other 4 x16 slots for anything else. I currently have and HVR-1800 in one of the x16 slots, the rest are open.

-Jason

The "Z" Family Theater - Almost "complete".
-Not your average sub build
-Klipsch Sonosub Build

SONY quality and customer service FTMFL
yamahaSHO is online now  
Old 08-19-2008, 12:17 AM
Member
 
nosurrender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davinleeds View Post

Yeah, you're right it was Euro. Interesting that there's still a conversion rate, if there's no DM.

It is no real floating exchange rate like there is between the Euro an the US-Dollar. When the Euro was established the European Central Bank defined a fixed exchange rate for every currency of the participating countries which will be applied in case somebody still finds some Marks somewhere at home.

Mentioning the exchange rate, I just wanted to underline the difference between 230 Marks and 230 Euro (which is twice as much).

Regards, nosurrender
nosurrender is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
arttext's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davinleeds View Post

I saw 230 German Marks yesterday for the two cards - pre/pre-order.

No, that would be Euro's. The German Mark doesn't exist any more.
arttext is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:08 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosurrender View Post

Are you kidding?
There is no German Mark anymore since 2002!
The "new" currency is called Euro (1 Euro = 1,95583 DM), just for your information...

Regards, nosurrender

Sure there is. I have a 500 Mark piece sitting in my coin collection right now.

I also have some pfennigs.

The mark piece is from just after WW1 and the pfennigs are from during WW2.

I wonder if I can trade in my old German Mark piece for Euros...
cybrsage is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when is this thing supposed to be released? I want one...

U.S. person here, prefer NewEgg...

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:45 AM
Member
 
nosurrender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Sure there is. I have a 500 Mark piece sitting in my coin collection right now.

I also have some pfennigs.

The mark piece is from just after WW1 and the pfennigs are from during WW2.

I wonder if I can trade in my old German Mark piece for Euros...

No, you don't!
The German Mark was introduced in 1948 after WWII. What you seem to have in your pockets might be some "Reichsmarks" which existed in the earlier days, but no German Marks.
German Marks can still be traded into Euros at the European Central Bank in Frankfurt while Reichsmark can't.

Regards, nosurrender
nosurrender is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Available in Germany from here.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:22 AM
Member
 
R10KYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

Available in Germany from here.

Still nothing in the UK or US though

That website doesn't appear to goive a release date though, but the fact it is showing up seems to suggest the release is soon...

Is the 22 Aug correct, here's hoping
R10KYJ is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by R10KYJ View Post

Is the 22 Aug correct, here's hoping

Yes. I think that it is correct.

It will show up in the US soon.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:21 AM
Member
 
kennethhoeiland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ship date has been changed from Aug 23. to Aug 28.

Kenneth
kennethhoeiland is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennethhoeiland View Post

My ship date has been changed from Aug 23. to Aug 28.

Kenneth

From where?

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
arttext's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Sure there is. I have a 500 Mark piece sitting in my coin collection right now.

I also have some pfennigs.

The mark piece is from just after WW1 and the pfennigs are from during WW2.

I wonder if I can trade in my old German Mark piece for Euros...

With "exist" I meant as a universal accepted currency, which it is not anymore, like the French and Belgin Franks, the Dutch Guilder etc.etc. You still can change them for euro's though, only under special conditions at branches of national central banks.
arttext is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 02:25 PM
Member
 
kennethhoeiland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post

From where?


From norwegian internet shop komplett.no

Kenneth
kennethhoeiland is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that show 5 Sept for availability?
http://translate.google.com/translat...3DLQt%26sa%3DG
not it.
http://www.komplett.no/k/search.aspx?q=Xonar+HDAV+1.3

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:35 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosurrender View Post

No, you don't!
The German Mark was introduced in 1948 after WWII. What you seem to have in your pockets might be some "Reichsmarks" which existed in the earlier days, but no German Marks.
German Marks can still be traded into Euros at the European Central Bank in Frankfurt while Reichsmark can't.

Regards, nosurrender

We are both right and both wrong. It is 500 Mark from the Deutches Reich. So it is a German Mark (as seen in the picture). Sorry if they are not too clear, I just scanned them moments ago.



You are correct in that the latest version says Deutches Mark on the back and nothing more.

During WW2, the money printed said Reichsmark on it, and Reichspfennig, but prior to then it did not.







I do think you are right, though, in that they would not give me Euros for the older Marks.

Sorry for the OT, back to the topic at hand.
cybrsage is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:44 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by arttext View Post

With "exist" I meant as a universal accepted currency, which it is not anymore, like the French and Belgin Franks, the Dutch Guilder etc.etc. You still can change them for euro's though, only under special conditions at branches of national central banks.

I understand. The English Pound still exists, the German Mark does not.

Gotcha.
cybrsage is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
soyuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK...I'm confused on how the connection/interface would lay out.

The card is primarily used for the Audio decoding (TrueHD/DTS-Master) via HDMI. So for the audio portion, I would have Xonar(HDMI)-->Pre/Pro/Recv(HDMI) that is capable of decoding the audio codec.

Then there's the video which is output by another video card via DVI->HDMI to TV.

1. So does this mean you need 2 HDMI interface now from the HTPC? So much for having one single cable to handle both audio and video.

2. Or does it mean that the Xona is cable of doing all the video processing and ouput 1080p(on a 1x PCIe?), so the video card is no longer required?

3. Or ???
soyuppy is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MickeyDora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soyuppy View Post

OK...I'm confused on how the connection/interface would lay out.

The card is primarily used for the Audio decoding (TrueHD/DTS-Master) via HDMI. So for the audio portion, I would have Xonar(HDMI)-->Pre/Pro/Recv(HDMI) that is capable of decoding the audio codec.

Then there's the video which is output by another video card via DVI->HDMI to TV.

1. So does this mean you need 2 HDMI interface now from the HTPC? So much for having one single cable to handle both audio and video.

2. Or does it mean that the Xona is cable of doing all the video processing and ouput 1080p(on a 1x PCIe?), so the video card is no longer required?

3. Or ???

It looks like you plug in your video card via HDMI to the in-port of the XDAV and it will process and pass through the video/audio via the HDMI output.
MickeyDora is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, this isn't good news... from the Asus Xonar HDAV web page, regarding the packaged version of TMT:
Quote:


NOTE: Bundled version supports high-definition audio decoding and playback, including DTS-HD, Dolby TrueHD, and Dolby Digtial Plus. Advanced HDMI 1.3 HD audio pass-through feature will be available soon via TMT patch update.

So we won't get bitstream when this card is released? Super lame...

Here's the product page:
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...55&modelmenu=1

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's been there for a while, unfortunately.

I think originated by temax?

photo 3
http://www.myav.com.tw/forum/showthr...hreadid=345113

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeffreydeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Last post (08-20-2008 02:07 AM) says that the shipping will be delayed to Sept. 10th.
jeffreydeng is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreydeng View Post

Last post (08-20-2008 02:07 AM) says that the shipping will be delayed to Sept. 10th.

I wonder what the three companies referred to inthat post are. Two are obvious: Asus and Arcsoft. I wonder what the third is? Microsoft? Realtek?

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 06:07 AM
Member
 
frenchglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this might not even ship until about the time when the Auzentech is coming out (?). That IS lame.
frenchglen is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
benus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Well, this isn't good news... from the Asus Xonar HDAV web page, regarding the packaged version of TMT:
Quote:
NOTE: Bundled version supports high-definition audio decoding and playback, including DTS-HD, Dolby TrueHD, and Dolby Digtial Plus. Advanced HDMI 1.3 HD audio pass-through feature will be available soon via TMT patch update.
So we won't get bitstream when this card is released? Super lame...


I'd say we could still be able to reach for bitstreaming. Obviously they haven't mentioned the DTS-HDMA, only dts-hd as for not supported initially.

If you look carefully on the website where our friend from taiwan tests the new card, it seems to me that he compliments DTS-HDMA exclusively.

Anyway. When can we now expect our baby???
benus is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreydeng View Post

Last post (08-20-2008 02:07 AM) says that the shipping will be delayed to Sept. 10th.

I don't see that post anywhere... did they delete it, or did you make it up?

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
 

Tags
Asus , Nvidia
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off