Need help with connecting my PC to a Samsung LN32A550 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 09-14-2008, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was told to move this thread from the LCD display board to this one.

I've been browsing these forums a lot lately and finally decided to pick up a Samsung LN32A550. I was going to use it mainly for cable TV and blu-ray movies played from my computer. I've been looking for an HDMI cable along with an HDMI(f) to DVI(m) adapter would connect my PC to the TV, but after doing a little research I found out that audio also needs to go from my PC to my TV if I'm going to watch BD movies from my computer (I'm only going to use 2.1; surround sound is out of the question). I'm pretty new to the whole LCD TV technical stuff, so I'd like some help if possible.

Lastly, is it even worth the trouble to hook-up my computer to my TV, seeing that I could just get a PS3 or a stand alone BD player? I'm not sure of how the native resolution of 1920x1080 would look on the TV, or even how I would configure it so that I would get the full benefit of HD and blu-ray. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Specs of my comp (for the most part):

C2D E8400
2x eVGA 8800GT 512MB
4GB PC2-6400
X-Fi XtremeGamer
LG Blu-Ray and HD-DVD optical drive
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-14-2008, 06:28 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mantis44 View Post

Lastly, is it even worth the trouble to hook-up my computer to my TV, seeing that I could just get a PS3 or a stand alone BD player?

Probably.

Other alternatives include a sound card like the Asus Xonar that outputs audio/video over HDMI. There are a few MBs that does this too.
Or get a receiver and use DVI -> HDMI cable to the TV and SPDIF to the receiver for the sound.

/Anders
post #3 of 4 Old 09-14-2008, 09:01 PM