I've decided to wait for Nvidia 9300/9400 for HTPC - Page 38 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1130 Old 02-11-2009, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Darin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Generally speaking, most full ATX cases also have screw holes for mATX boards. At least all the ones I have do.

My dual Rythmik Servo sub project (actually quad now, need to update page)
HDM format neutral thanks to the pricing wars of the '07 xmas shopping season :)
Darin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1130 Old 02-11-2009, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PanamaMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX, US
Posts: 2,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know when ION might come out? Looks pretty cool.

Mike
PanamaMike is offline  
post #1113 of 1130 Old 02-11-2009, 08:53 AM
Member
 
The Huntsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post

Generally speaking, most full ATX cases also have screw holes for mATX boards. At least all the ones I have do.


Yeah, I will go down that route if need be... but since I have an ATX case I figure I might as well try and find a mobo that best utilizes the space, if only for the extra expansion slots.
The Huntsman is offline  
post #1114 of 1130 Old 02-11-2009, 10:57 AM
Member
 
mzemina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanamaMike View Post

Anyone know when ION might come out? Looks pretty cool.

Mike

I agree, for a very small footprint this looks like it will fit the HTPC mold.
mzemina is offline  
post #1115 of 1130 Old 02-11-2009, 01:52 PM
Member
 
dCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Huntsman View Post

I think I am going to switch from my current mobo + video card + audio over optical SPDIF solution to an Nvidia 9300/9400 solution... But I love my HTPC case and it is full ATX. Are there ANY more of these boards in a full ATX form factor or just the one EVGA 113-YW-E115-TR board?

I am also looking for an ATX form factor motherboard, but unfortunately, the EVGA hasn't been made available in Europe, and ECS, my alternative, is not answering my mails.

Regarding optical connection, I am afraid ECS does not offer this option, but it's OK for me , as I plan to use a x-fi PCI card.
dCrypt is offline  
post #1116 of 1130 Old 02-14-2009, 08:25 PM
Member
 
Ender17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Huntsman View Post

I think I am going to switch from my current mobo + video card + audio over optical SPDIF solution to an Nvidia 9300/9400 solution... But I love my HTPC case and it is full ATX. Are there ANY more of these boards in a full ATX form factor or just the one EVGA 113-YW-E115-TR board?

what's wrong with the EVGA?
Ender17 is offline  
post #1117 of 1130 Old 02-19-2009, 09:49 AM
Member
 
The Huntsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender17 View Post

what's wrong with the EVGA?

Have seen multiple reports of BIOS issues with it -- Apparently it shipped with an engineering "not for production use" BIOS and has never been updated. Have seen too many people reporting random BSODs, memory incompatibility, missing features, etc.

Too bad because it looks like a great board.
The Huntsman is offline  
post #1118 of 1130 Old 02-20-2009, 03:37 PM
Member
 
dCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As no MCP7A ATX will be available in my country (and most of the european continent), I will choose a uATX. But now, my main concern is whether I can use a PCIe x1 in the PCIe x16 slot, or it is reserved for a graphics card.

Did anyone try it?
dCrypt is offline  
post #1119 of 1130 Old 02-20-2009, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
denyart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ames, IA
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dCrypt View Post

As no MCP7A ATX will be available in my country (and most of the european continent), I will choose a uATX. But now, my main concern is whether I can use a PCIe x1 in the PCIe x16 slot, or it is reserved for a graphics card.

Did anyone try it?

I have tried it on 780G based systems and it worked just fine. This does not prove using a tuner or other 1X card in the 16X slot will work on a 9300/9400, but I would be a little surprised if it didn't work. Anyone else have first hand knowledge with a nForce 9300/9400?

Win7Ult x64:P8Z77V Deluxe, 8GB DDR3, ATI 6670, i5-3570k, 3 Ceton InfiniTV4 PCIe, Hauppauge 2250, Fractal Arc Midi SSP
denyart is offline  
post #1120 of 1130 Old 03-04-2009, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Turtleggjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided to do some more experiments with my earlier issue with 1080i clips. Unfortunately, my original problem is still there, but luckily there seems to be a simple (but should not be necessary) fix. As long as I have the GeForce 8500GT card installed in the x16 slot, everything plays back just fine. As soon as I take it out, the problem comes back. Not sure what the GeForce 8500GT card is doing to make the problem go away, but it makes it work, even with Hybrid SLI disabled in the BIOS. I recently confirmed this issue with a friend of mine who has built a similar system to mine, except that he runs Windows XP 32 bit and uses a E5200 CPU instead of a Celeron 440.

Link to my original post:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post15629004

I am uploading a short clip that exhibits this behavior. The problem can be seen by watching the moving text at the bottom of the screen. It happens as the static graphic in the background quickly changes, thus leading me to the conclusion that something is not quite powerful enough to handle the de-interlacing. I'm also uploading a clip that I shot with my video camera of my TV showing the stuttering. It is an AVI file encoded with XviD and I reducde the frame rate to 20 fps (down from 60fps) to make it easier to see. You can also see combing during the stuttering, which is what lead me to believe that the de-interlacing had been falling behind.

Sample clip:
http://www.mediafire.com/?wtt11ikyayn

Video camera clip demonstrating the stuttering:
http://www.mediafire.com/?33aqjmjt4yy

I would appreciate it if anyone else who has one of these motherboards (any 9300/9400) could try out this clip and see if you notice the stuttering when you do hardware de-interlacing on this clip. I also tried playing it with Media Player Classic using its software MPEG2 filter, and even though it uses about 60% of the CPU, it plays back perfectly. Thanks!

Matt
Turtleggjp is offline  
post #1121 of 1130 Old 03-05-2009, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
joikd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone know what the cheapest 9300/9400 mobo is? Used, refurbished, open box is okay, too.
joikd is offline  
post #1122 of 1130 Old 03-05-2009, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Turtleggjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can probably find out at Newegg.com. You can filter the motherboards by their chipset, and just have it show the items with the lowest priced ones first. The often have open box items too.
Turtleggjp is offline  
post #1123 of 1130 Old 05-02-2009, 01:50 AM
Member
 
brandon12777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious if there is any sort of agreement on which is the best 9300/9400 board? I would like to keep the cost down so I was mostly looking at the 9300's but it seems like I see alot of people saying their ASUS or MSI died for whatever reason and I don't really know if I trust ZOTAC as much as the bigger brands.

Are they all pretty much equal? Do I just need to spend the extra cash and go with the Gigabyte 9400?

Thanks,
Brandon
brandon12777 is offline  
post #1124 of 1130 Old 05-29-2009, 08:08 AM
Member
 
kronic24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon12777 View Post

I'm curious if there is any sort of agreement on which is the best 9300/9400 board? I would like to keep the cost down so I was mostly looking at the 9300's but it seems like I see alot of people saying their ASUS or MSI died for whatever reason and I don't really know if I trust ZOTAC as much as the bigger brands.

Are they all pretty much equal? Do I just need to spend the extra cash and go with the Gigabyte 9400?

Thanks,
Brandon

Yes. The motherboard of any computer is one of the major components of a computer that will seriously @#$ up your system if you go cheap. Treat her nice, spend a little $$ on her, and she will be nice back.

I have seriously regretted going cheap and have learned my lesson, NEVER by a no-name, and ALWAYS spend a little extra $$ for a better MB, when your computer crashes due to a MB falure you realize it would have been worth a little extra $ to NOT have it happen.

Go Giga or even DFI.
kronic24601 is offline  
post #1125 of 1130 Old 06-01-2009, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandon12777 View Post

I'm curious if there is any sort of agreement on which is the best 9300/9400 board? I would like to keep the cost down so I was mostly looking at the 9300's but it seems like I see alot of people saying their ASUS or MSI died for whatever reason and I don't really know if I trust ZOTAC as much as the bigger brands.

Are they all pretty much equal? Do I just need to spend the extra cash and go with the Gigabyte 9400?

Thanks,
Brandon

I have running the 9300 ASUS mbo in my daughter's HTPC since early Decembger without any problems. None, zippo, nadda

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is offline  
post #1126 of 1130 Old 06-04-2009, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
dm233's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the dfi lanparty jr board is top notch. it's also the only board/chipset that has 3 pci-e slots in a mATX form factor. the few idiosyncrasies like sata ports 5/6 can only be run in achi or raid mode and most of the sites selling it state that it can do 1066ddr2 while it can only do 800 are trivial compared to the board quality and the potential. the issues with the board are minor when running a htpc setup. have yet to see a decent matx case that has more than 4 drive slots. the overly eager overclocking abilities kills any of the memory issues. have yet to have any major issues and thats even capturing 3 streams once on 2 hd-pvrs and a wintv2250 while watching a BD going through a asus xonar hdav. me thinks the quad cpu has much to do with that... but it comes down to selecting solid parts and getting the power and cooling right...
dm233 is offline  
post #1127 of 1130 Old 06-10-2009, 09:46 PM
Member
 
kronic24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm233 View Post

the dfi lanparty jr board is top notch. it's also the only board/chipset that has 3 pci-e slots in a mATX form factor. the few idiosyncrasies like sata ports 5/6 can only be run in achi or raid mode and most of the sites selling it state that it can do 1066ddr2 while it can only do 800 are trivial compared to the board quality and the potential. the issues with the board are minor when running a htpc setup. have yet to see a decent matx case that has more than 4 drive slots. the overly eager overclocking abilities kills any of the memory issues. have yet to have any major issues and thats even capturing 3 streams once on 2 hd-pvrs and a wintv2250 while watching a BD going through a asus xonar hdav. me thinks the quad cpu has much to do with that... but it comes down to selecting solid parts and getting the power and cooling right...

I've been torn between the Asus & DFI for awhile, how long have you had it? (they are about the same price ... so that's not an issue). I'm also torn between the Xonar HDAV Slim or regular (Slim being a PCI) ... I followed the Xonar thread for the first 100+ pages or so ... but then tapper-ed off. Have you had any 24p successes? Just curious for a few more specifics on your setup and results ...
kronic24601 is offline  
post #1128 of 1130 Old 07-20-2009, 04:33 AM
Member
 
davidh44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Village Vidiot View Post

Disconnected,

The GeForce 9300/9400 chipsets supports simultaneously playback over two digital outputs, but some motherboards implement it and some do not. You can achieve what you are trying to do with the ASUS GeForce 9300 board with HDMI output to your LCD TV and DVI via adapter from DisplayPort output to your Acer TFT screen. Most other boards share the one digital output between DVI and HDMI - though you could also output analog VGA to your TFT screen to also display on both screens.

Has it been determined which 9300 boards can do HDMI and DVI simultaneously? Is the eVGA 113-YW-E115-TR capable of it?
davidh44 is offline  
post #1129 of 1130 Old 07-20-2009, 06:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,110
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidh44 View Post

Has it been determined which 9300 boards can do HDMI and DVI simultaneously? Is the eVGA 113-YW-E115-TR capable of it?

Here.

EVGA: No.
renethx is offline  
post #1130 of 1130 Old 01-08-2010, 03:05 PM
Member
 
sumster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys -- I'm not sure if this is the right forum. I have a Vaio Z-590 notebook with an Nvidia 9300 video card (it's a hybrid solution so it's difficult to use non-Sony drivers).

I am using the official Sony 32-bit Windows 7 drivers (Forceware 186.84). However, I am having problems with deinterlacing and my notebook fails the "jaggies" test in HQV. I've tried all the settings in the Nvidia Control panel, WinDVD, PowerDVD, and even the SD & Blu-ray versions. I tried in Vista with the official Vista drivers and I had the same issues. Does anybody know of a solution??

I did find this online:

"Nvidia Drivers: Blu-ray IQ Enhancements Have Been Broken Since 182.5

This was a surprise. When we contacted Nvidia to confirm our image-quality results after our tests were completed, representatives there told us we weren't seeing what we should. Further investigation revealed that drivers newer than 182.5 have a bug that doesn't allow for jaggy reduction (diagonal filtering) in the GeForce 9300/9400 and turns off film-mode detection in the GeForce 8200.

After we learned about the bug, we re-tested with the 182.5 drivers and "voila," the image quality improved. We therefore tested the Nvidia chipsets using the 182.5 drivers, and now that Nvidia is aware of the problem, it is working on a solution for future driver releases. All will be well soon enough.

A final complaint about the Nvidia drivers: noise reduction still doesn't seem to be enabled by default. I assume this is because slower systems might take a notable performance hit with this feature enabled, but it would be nice if the driver would detect the CPU and automatically enable the feature if there was enough horsepower to handle it.

Update: Since this article was written, Nvidia has released a new 190.62 driver. We haven't had time to test it to see if this bug has been fixed, but Nvidia doesn't seem to have mentioned it as a resolved issue in the driver release notes."
sumster is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off