Intel CIR headers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 10-01-2008, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HaLo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have two Intel boards (DP35DP, DG33TL) with CIR headers and went ahead and purchased the IR module that integrates with them. The documentation says that the Winbond chip is capable of receiving, emitting, and learning... my question is how, is their a software interface that takes commands? Is it only compatible with a MCE remote? how do you make IR commands for it? Any help would be appreciated! hopefully someone has tinkered with it... I have a Media Keyboard from MS, and the Philips RC197 MCE remote that came with my Omaura IR kit, and a Universal Remote MX-850with MCE commands programmed into it. (which doesnt work for some odd reason)... (thats why I am using the CIR headers instead)... is there a good website to learn about this stuff? I goggle it and not much come up about CIR headers, archebeal do you have any good info on this stuff?
HaLo6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 10-01-2008, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HaLo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
afternoon bump
HaLo6 is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-01-2008, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doug_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaLo6 View Post

So I have two Intel boards (DP35DP, DG33TL) with CIR headers and went ahead and purchased the IR module that integrates with them. The documentation says that the Winbond chip is capable of receiving, emitting, and learning... my question is how, is their a software interface that takes commands? Is it only compatible with a MCE remote? how do you make IR commands for it? Any help would be appreciated! hopefully someone has tinkered with it... I have a Media Keyboard from MS, and the Philips RC197 MCE remote that came with my Omaura IR kit, and a Universal Remote MX-850with MCE commands programmed into it. (which doesnt work for some odd reason)... (thats why I am using the CIR headers instead)... is there a good website to learn about this stuff? I goggle it and not much come up about CIR headers, archebeal do you have any good info on this stuff?

afaik, the IR port/chip is simply capable of operating like a serial port, sending and receiving data. You still need software that will send commands or listen and interpret the commands.

I don't think the driver is set up on your computer to receive the commands. If you were using an MCE remote (or another combo), the receiver would be auto-detected via USB and the driver automatically loaded. In this case, what was installed was probably some low level IR driver that doesn't do much but allow APIs to use it. So, you just need the software. Take a look at Girder, that's the only windows prog that I know of. Not sure of web site.
doug_k is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 10-10-2008, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HaLo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the CIR headers work out of the box with MCE remotes... extremely well too... I can power the computer on via remote and control MCE entirely... I think I will try Girder to see if I can do macro's or program PowerDVD for HD DVD/BluRay to automatically start via a button press...

The onlt hing is I get a blue screen saying "Driver power state failure" When it is suspended (via shutting off with power button on remote) Is this a Vista Power settings issue?
HaLo6 is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-17-2008, 06:05 PM
Member
 
makryger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did you manage to take advantage of the CIR headers? Did you use the (seemingly) one available device from meritline? If so, is the IR back panel bracket low profile?

For something that has been in intel products for such a long time already, im surprised there is no better solution yet.
makryger is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 10-17-2008, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HaLo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't remember where I ordered it from , there is only like 3 places, and I ordered it along time ago... but the rear IR bracket isn't low profile...
HaLo6 is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 10-17-2008, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HaLo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HaLo6 is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 02-06-2009, 11:52 AM
Member
 
enb141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They don't have it in stock anymore, do anyone else knows where else to buy it?
enb141 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 02-18-2009, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by enb141 View Post

They don't have it in stock anymore, do anyone else knows where else to buy it?

Also looking for this or other CIR solution I can integrate into my new build. I really only care about basic IR remote functions, don't need learning or IR emiters.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 02-25-2009, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmm... no responses on this thread or the other thread related to the Infrared CIR header?

I asked the reseller, distributor, and manufacture if they will be stocking these or providing an alternate way to purchase and have not received any response. It seems imposible to actually purchase a CIR device to plug into the CIR header on a motherboard.

I am now considering building a CIR transceiver. There is a little information from Microsoft here. If others have some experience or information that would help please post it.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 03-11-2009, 03:03 PM
Member
 
enb141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see I would like to buy one of this devices pre-assembled if not I think I will end buying an USB dongle.
enb141 is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 04-07-2009, 12:57 PM
Member
 
danwallie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by user4avsforum View Post

Hmm... no responses on this thread or the other thread related to the Infrared CIR header?

I asked the reseller, distributor, and manufacture if they will be stocking these or providing an alternate way to purchase and have not received any response. It seems imposible to actually purchase a CIR device to plug into the CIR header on a motherboard.

I am now considering building a CIR transceiver. There is a little information from Microsoft here. If others have some experience or information that would help please post it.

I posted on this over in the DG45FC forum.
danwallie is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 09-08-2009, 01:53 PM
Member
 
HDBones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just came across this thread so thought I'd post my info here instead of in the DG45FC thread.

So I'm trying to get my CIR receiver working. I laid it all out on a breadboard but when I plug it into my DG45FC I loss all video, no bios video, no console video, no Xorg video. I'm running HDMI out directly to a TV.

Here are the parts I'm using:
This is the capacitor I'm using:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062393

Put the longer lead on the 5V line, and the shorter lead on the GND line.

And the resistor:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062339

Put the red band towards the 5V pin and the gold band on the capacitor side.

Is that correct?
LL
HDBones is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 12-28-2009, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I saw a couple of people in other threads looking for CIR solutions so I figured it is better to direct them to this thread.

Anyone get the build-your-own CIR working? Or find a commercial product that is available to purchase?

Note there is additional discussion in this older thread.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 01-18-2010, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
grampney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can now buy a CIR Receiver with a cable to attach to your CIR header. It comes with or without an MCE Remote for around $20 on EBay. This unit is for internal mounting and it is very small. It has been tested on Vista and W7 and works great using the "winbond" driver at the Intel download site.

Go to EBay and do a search for "CIR Receiver"
grampney is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 09-09-2011, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
Dannyboyni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems a bit expensive. and the wait is quite a few months until it will arrive, there must be others surely.
Dannyboyni is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 09-09-2011, 01:08 PM
Member
 
pimpbotmcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know I'm responding to an ancient thread, but I just bought my Intel CIR header here:

http://shop.inteset.com/Products/5-i...-receiver.aspx
pimpbotmcfly is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 09-09-2011, 01:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Those reading this thread have you tried or considered the Antec IR receiver? It taps into your PSU power supply so you can turn on your PC via remote from off.



assassin is online now  
post #19 of 23 Old 09-09-2011, 09:40 PM
Member
 
pimpbotmcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the Intel CIR header can also wake the system from S5 (soft off) and S3 (suspend). I can't confirm yet since my system isn't set up.

http://www.missingremote.com/review/...tx-motherboard

"includes a feature not supported by the standard USB receivers - wake from off (S5) and hibernate (S4) in addition to standby (S3)"
pimpbotmcfly is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 09-23-2011, 10:36 AM
Member
 
HDBones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimpbotmcfly View Post

I know I'm responding to an ancient thread, but I just bought my Intel CIR header here:

http://shop.inteset.com/Products/5-i...-receiver.aspx

Nice! I just picked up 2 of these. Hooked up one to my gentoo amd64 DG45FC mobo. But I can't get the winbond-cir driver to load without error. CIR is enabled in my bios. I'm on kernel 2.6.38.3 and I get the following in dmesg after modprobe:

Code:
Registered led device: cir::activity
Winbond CIR 00:04: disabled
Winbond CIR: probe of 00:04 failed with error -22
Does anyone have any experience setting up CIR in linux? I've posted to the LIRC mailing list, but no replies. Not sure if that was the best place to post.
HDBones is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 10-01-2011, 04:53 PM
Member
 
oddauc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimpbotmcfly View Post

I know I'm responding to an ancient thread, but I just bought my Intel CIR header here:

http://shop.inteset.com/Products/5-i...-receiver.aspx

This looks like the person thats selling them on ebay. The pictures are the same
oddauc is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 07-27-2012, 10:44 PM
Member
 
ryeandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if the ebay receiver will work on non-ASRock MBs? I have a Biostar B75MU3+ with a header and I'd like to try this but don't want to spend $25 to find out it doesn't work. I'd think the drivers would work as this is an intel feature but want to be sure. Has anyone used this thing? How's it do with Harmony remotes (specifically the "One")?
ryeandi is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 07-30-2012, 12:13 PM
Member
 
ryeandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm answering my own post for anyone interested. The shop.inteset.com device will NOT work with a Biostar board. The company's plug is for 8-pin headers and the Biostar board has 6. Luckily, I found a much cheaper option as Biostar makes their own IR remote that matches their header. It's cheap (only $9) and, according to a reviewer on Newegg, programmable with Harmony remotes. Not sure about wake from sleep functions. I'm guessing yes.
ryeandi is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off