PowerDVD 8 vs. PowerDVD 7 - Latest state of play? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 10-03-2008, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi. What do people think about this?

I have read that PowerDVD 7 now has "the same A/V quality/codecs" as PowerDVD8. Do people agree? Apart from all the moooooviiiieeeeeliiivvveeee rubbish, what does PDVD8 have that PDVD7 does not.

I ask because yesterday I had to uninstall PDVD8 and when i tried to re-install it refused to activate. I was forced to go back to PDVD7 and was amazed how much "lighter" it was - quicker to load, no annoying nag screens etc.

Cyberlink support have fix the PDVD8 problem, but I am wondering is there is any point at all in me going back to PDVD8 for Blu-ray playback and thought this might be a good time to contrast and compare the current state of the two products.
jong1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 10-03-2008, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
--Sclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aurora, IL USA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I dont want to go to PDVD8, but with several Blu Ray titles showing up with a TrueHD audio track and no direct access to english DD 5.1, I would like PDVD8 for its ability to output 5.1 DTS when TrueHD is detected. I'm going to work on PDVD8 installs this wknd with the HD DVD "fix" since I have several HD DVD titles. If audio wasnt a growing issue for me I wouldnt even consider PDVD8.

Vizio M801D-A3

JimK

--Sclaws is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-03-2008, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the input.

FYI the new "Reclock" beta has built-in full bit-rate AC3 encoding, so you could just output 6-channel PCM from PDVD7.

http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=19931

I know some prefer DTS, but I think @640kb/s, rather than the much lower 384kb/s or 448kb/s used on DVD, it is pretty much a wash. Here is a view

http://www.hifi-writer.com/he/dolbydts/dolbydts.htm

...and this was only comparing 384 and 448kb/s DD.

The current beta is a bit broken (AC3 encoding results in sound drops), but is being updated almost daily. I expect by the end of the weekend that it will be fixed.
jong1 is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 10-03-2008, 07:54 AM
Member
 
chrislynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IMO, there is no reason to go to PDVD8. In fact, I went back to PDVD7.3 Ultra as I have quite a few HD-DVD movies that PDVD8 would not play correctly with the HD-DVD hack. I'm waiting for the next major release from Cyberlink. I doubt that version will have HD-DVD playback support.
chrislynch is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-03-2008, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
--Sclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aurora, IL USA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

Thanks for the input.

FYI the new "Reclock" beta has built-in full bit-rate AC3 encoding, so you could just output 6-channel PCM from PDVD7.

http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=19931

I know some prefer DTS, but I think @640kb/s, rather than the much lower 384kb/s or 448kb/s used on DVD, it is pretty much a wash. Here is a view

http://www.hifi-writer.com/he/dolbydts/dolbydts.htm

...and this was only comparing 384 and 448kb/s DD.

The current beta is a bit broken (AC3 encoding results in sound drops), but is being updated almost daily. I expect by the end of the weekend that it will be fixed.

Hmm...I didnt realize Reclock would do this. Thx for the tip! I'll definitely try this over the wknd as I'd prefer not to put PDVD8 on my HTPC.

Vizio M801D-A3

JimK

--Sclaws is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 10-04-2008, 05:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
--Sclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aurora, IL USA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Tried ReClock and it works great for 5.1 audio with PDVD7/TrueHD via SPDIF(using DTS recoding at the moment). Thank you again for the tip...saves me from the headache of PDVD8!

Vizio M801D-A3

JimK

--Sclaws is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 10-04-2008, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No worries. One more reason why I wasted my money on PDVD8

I wonder if they will sucker me again next year?!
jong1 is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 10-21-2008, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
andynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys

Have been looking for a solution to playing Iron Man in PDVD7 with DD out on SPDIF and it looks like you found a solution using Reclock 1.8.1.8. Have been trying to find the settings to make this work but no luck yet. Could you tell me what the Audio settings should be in PDVD and Reclock to make the rencode work.

Cheers
Andy
andynz is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 10-21-2008, 05:35 PM
Newbie
 
andynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found what I was doing wrong, I had PDVD set to 8 channel out rather 6 for DD, works fine now.
andynz is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 10-23-2008, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
suraswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Sclaws View Post

Tried ReClock and it works great for 5.1 audio with PDVD7/TrueHD via SPDIF(using DTS recoding at the moment). Thank you again for the tip...saves me from the headache of PDVD8!

I tried the patch 19 and it didn't decode and pass thru SPDIF. I only get 2 ch output. I am using PDVD 7.3 ultra build 4102. Can someone post patch 18 of Reclock so I can try. Also if someone can post screen shots of the settings that needs to be set please do.

I am using XP pro.

Thanks,
suraswami is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 10-23-2008, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
19 works great. Much better than 18. But it does not decode. You need to decode in PowerDVD to 6-channel audio and then let Reclcok encode back to AC3.

Some versions of PowerDVD are only 2-channel capable, including so called "ultra" versions bundled with OEM cards, so you need to be sure your version of PDVD can output 6-channel audio, or upgrade to the retail version.
jong1 is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 10-23-2008, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
suraswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

19 works great. Much better than 18. But it does not decode. You need to decode in PowerDVD to 6-channel audio and then let Reclcok encode back to AC3.

Some versions of PowerDVD are only 2-channel capable, including so called "ultra" versions bundled with OEM cards, so you need to be sure your version of PDVD can output 6-channel audio, or upgrade to the retail version.

How to configure Reclock to encode back to AC3 and pass thru SPDIF? Yes I have downloaded Full (Retail) version PDVD 7.3 ultra with 4102 patch. I can currently select 2,4,6,8 and SPDIF in Audio options in PDVD. And I do get DD and DTS 7.1 for DVDs and BDs with that option also built in. It just doesn't work for True HD. But DTS HD works for 7.1 thru spdif.
suraswami is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 10-23-2008, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
suraswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraswami View Post

How to configure Reclock to encode back to AC3 and pass thru SPDIF? Yes I have downloaded Full (Retail) version PDVD 7.3 ultra with 4102 patch. I can currently select 2,4,6,8 and SPDIF in Audio options in PDVD. And I do get DD and DTS 7.1 for DVDs and BDs with that option also built in. It just doesn't work for True HD. But DTS HD works for 7.1 thru spdif.

This is what I selected in Reclock. anything I missed? On the advanced tab I left everything to default.
LL
suraswami is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Those settings look fine, assuming it is your default audio device you wish to use.

It sounds like PDVD is not outputting 6-channel audio. You need to set PDVD to 6-channel output (not s/pdif). Then, if it still does not work, bring up the Reclock properties panel while a video is playing (double-click on its icon on your system tray) and do a screen grab of that and post here. it will tell you how many channels of audio it is being sent and whether AC3 is being used.
jong1 is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
suraswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

Those settings look fine, assuming it is your default audio device you wish to use.

It sounds like PDVD is not outputting 6-channel audio. You need to set PDVD to 6-channel output (not s/pdif). Then, if it still does not work, bring up the Reclock properties panel while a video is playing (double-click on its icon on your system tray) and do a screen grab of that and post here. it will tell you how many channels of audio it is being sent and whether AC3 is being used.

Thanks.

But I didn't see anything in the system tray. I uninstalled it. But I will install it tonight and try one more time.
suraswami is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Maybe you have not got it setup to work in PDVD at all? There should be a little "clock" icon in the systray that will be yellow, or red ,or green, or switching between red and green, depending on what is happening.

Check the advanced settings tab in Reclock configuration. Make sure "Do not show icon in tray" is NOT ticked. And, for now, select "Do not restrict Reclock replacing default renderer" (Once you have it working in the players you need you can set up an include or exclude list so it does not load when you play music etc.)
jong1 is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 10:03 AM
Member
 
ShadowKntSDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is using reclock necessary if you have support for DD-Live or DTS connect? I don't see why it would be a problem to have PowerDVD output multi channel and then have your sound card repackage as a DD (or DTS) signal.

I haven't had any problems with bluray audio play back yet, but I also haven't tried Ironman. Currently I am just selecting SPDIF and then AC3 or DTS in the audio section which I can only presume is the "core" audio extracted from TrueHD or MA.
ShadowKntSDS is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You are right, IF you have DDL or DTS-Connect there is less of a need. However, there are still benefits:

1. DDL/DTS-Connect uses CPU all the time. I have found sleep to be less reliable on my system with them enabled.

2. If you play music then movies you would need to switch DTS:neo/Dolby Prologic mode manually in your sound card drivers. If you use Reclock you can let your Receiver decide - 2-channel PCM = Music; 2-channel AC3 = movie
jong1 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
suraswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

Maybe you have not got it setup to work in PDVD at all? There should be a little "clock" icon in the systray that will be yellow, or red ,or green, or switching between red and green, depending on what is happening.

Check the advanced settings tab in Reclock configuration. Make sure "Do not show icon in tray" is NOT ticked. And, for now, select "Do not restrict Reclock replacing default renderer" (Once you have it working in the players you need you can set up an include or exclude list so it does not load when you play music etc.)

"Do not show icon in tray" is NOT ticked - yes its not ticked.
"Do not restrict Reclock replacing default renderer" - I tried this and the other option too.
suraswami is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 12:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For those of you who like PDVD 7's non-bloated interface with ability to use skins, not being FORCED to see a resume screen in PDVD 8, but want PDVD 8's latest A/V decoding options, heres something to consider...

Reloaded 3.0
http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=16668

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 10-24-2008, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraswami View Post

"Do not show icon in tray" is NOT ticked - yes its not ticked.
"Do not restrict Reclock replacing default renderer" - I tried this and the other option too.

Then the icon should be there in your systray when you play a video. Play a video, pres "Start" on your keyboard and look.
jong1 is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 10-28-2008, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
suraswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jong1 View Post

Then the icon should be there in your systray when you play a video. Play a video, pres "Start" on your keyboard and look.

Woo Hoo! It worked. I re-installed and selected the options mentioned and selected 6 ch output in PDVD audio output. Now I receive as DD 5.1 signal.

I watched Indiana Jones new movie and The Bee movie all decoded thru SPDIF to Receiver.

Does this tool expire by any chance?
suraswami is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 11-01-2008, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jong1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry for the delay, been away.

The latest betas expire the end of Nov I think. There will either be a new beta extending this or Slysoft will decide how they intend to commercialise the final release.
jong1 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off